Reading Reviews for Social Skills
  
16 Reviews Found

Review #1, by 800 words of heaven Social Skills

5th January 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

Aww! This was so ridiculously sweet! I didn't know what to expect exactly when I clicked on this. I just saw "Marcus Flint" and "out of your comfort zone" and went, "Ooh! Interesting!"

I actually liked Marcus here. He seemed incredibly... normal. Social skills can sometimes be a challenge, and I think Marcus really captured the spirit of that.

Okay, you're going to think I'm super weird, but I think Daphne and Marcus had about five lines of interaction, and already I'm shipping them. Is there a sequel? I hope there is, or will be in the future. I really want to know what happens with those two! And I loved how excited Marcus was about meeting his future wife! It was adorable in its own way!

I'm going to be keeping an eye out for that sequel now... ;)

Author's Response: TAG!
I love the review tag, I think it's so much fun, I'm glad you enjoyed this little piece. There is soo little written on Marcus Flint, heck if I had more time I'd turn this into a short story collection.

You should expect a sequel (hopefully this summer.)


 Report Review

Review #2, by angel_speaks Social Skills

26th July 2012:
Hiya!
EM here with a pass the parcel review!

Grammar/ spelling: There were only one or two of these. Nevertheless, good job!

Characterization: This is definitely the first fan fic that i've read that centered around Marcus Flint. I think that your Marcus was really well written but I think that adding more details describing how he looked (especially, at this point in his life) would really help 'stabilize' the this time frame. I say this because the last time any of us had seen him was during the CoS, I'm pretty sure he would've changed by now.

Plot: This is really interesting. The idea of him looking to establish a career and on top of that, facing an arrange marriage. I think adding a little bit more of emotion would add to the dramatic effect of those life events.

I think that you did a good job with this piece!

Happy Writing!

Author's Response: Hello! I would love to write more about Marcus because he is such an underrated character, though this was so short I wasn't given a chance to develop him as a character but I definitely want to write about him in the future :)

Thank you for your review :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by maskedmuggle Social Skills

12th May 2012:
This was really interesting and definitely something really different from the usual. I don't really see Marcus Flint in fics at all so it was nice to get this one-shot all about him. I loved the different perspective of him - lacking social skills and not really into quidditch. And the arranged marriage is understandable and Daphne Greengrass seems like a good match!

All in all, a nice story with a different kind of plot and different characters! :)

Author's Response: I love Marcus he's so underdeveloped that really you have the world open o you with him! Plus I had never written about a Slytherin before, since this one-shot I've wanted to write about Marcus. Hopefully I get around to that soon :D

I always thought Marcus was into Quidditch because he hated Oliver and it was a way to get under his skin, and Daphne was the first canon Slytherin I could think of XD


 Report Review

Review #4, by ewsoucf7 Social Skills

21st February 2012:
I decided to read this one as it is not something I would usually read, and I have never read a fic about Marcus Flint either. I must say I'm glad I read it. There were a few spelling mistakes (though not many), but I thoroughly enjoyed reading it. I'd love to see what happened next between the two as it wasn't the smoothest of introductions was it.

I noticed it was for a challenge? I assume then that Marcus is not a character you write often? You should consider writing him again...perhaps a sequel? I think you wrote him well...even if he wasn't as spiteful as I'd have thought. =]

Author's Response: Thank you for reading this :)

Marcus isn't someone I usually write and I would love to write him again :) He isn't as spiteful because I think he matured after school. (Plus I just think he like make Oliver mad) After I finish one of my WIPS I'll write about Marcus.


 Report Review

Review #5, by Cassius Alcinder Social Skills

28th January 2012:
Here from review tag!

i definetely like the idea behind this story, we don't really see a whole lot of Flint, and when we do he's usually a one dimensional big toothed idiot. It was nice to get to see a different side of him.

That was an interesting twist that he was only lukewarm about playing quidditch, he seemed really into the rivalry, but its believable that he would only be like that to try to get under Oliver's skin.

The end was very nice, how he was perfectly capable of winning over a girl on his own. If you wanted to add just a little more, it might help to have another paragraph or so to be a transition between the different parts, but other than that it was good.

Author's Response: Flint deserves love doesn't he :) I hate that in fanfiction he so one dimensional, I mean we could have so much fun with him.

Thank you! Though I really don't think of it as a twist even while reading the books I always thought Flint's mission was to get under Oliver's skin. Now why, we'll never know (unless someone writes a fic about it.)

It's a short one-shot and I've thought of adding to it. I'll get around it over the weekend hopefully.


 Report Review

Review #6, by EverMalfoy Social Skills

12th January 2012:
wonderful!

so cute,Im in love with it!

flow,characterization and details were beyond amazing!

excellently amazingly hypnotically BRILLIANT

I LOVE IT

I will be favoriting. You should be SO proud of this! It really shows your ability as a writer!

Beautiful!

xoxo

Ever
10/10

Author's Response: I love this one-shot as much as you do. Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #7, by academica Social Skills

29th December 2011:
Hey! Here from review tag :)

I really like the concept of this story. Marcus isn't written about enough, I think, and I was excited to see that you had a story about him. It seems fitting that he would use something he's good at to enhance his social skills and help mold himself into the pureblood society man his parents want him to be.

You might want to go back and tweak this a little at some point punctuation-wise. I noticed several places where you seemed to have a lot of run-on sentences that would benefit from the addition of commas or separation into different sentences. I noticed a few spelling errors as well.

The second half of this seemed to come on a bit abruptly for my taste. It would probably help if you did a "recap" paragraph that briefly summarized how Marcus had been successful at his new job and enjoyed playing for the team, just as a way of tying the two halves of the piece together. I did think the ending was cute, though - after all that effort to try to better himself, Daphne wound up liking him as he was.

Nice job! :)

academica

Author's Response: Thank you academica! :) I'm starting to see more people telling me the same about Marcus, he needs more fan fiction!

I'm thinking of adding to this one-shot maybe makes it a series of one-shots...I'm not sure but I definitely want to write more about Marcus :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by ariellem Social Skills

27th December 2011:
Hello! I like Marcus Flint, I plan on writing him sometime. I liked the you wrote him though. Not the bad boy everyone writes him as. :)

Good work!

Author's Response: I liked writing Flint and I plan to write about him as soon as I finish on of my WIPs or I could just start another one XD lol Nah I think he's a big bad softy lol :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by SpringSinger19 Social Skills

26th August 2011:
Haha I liked this!(: I've never really read a Flint story, so this was interesting to read! It seemed realistic and believable. I enjoyed it! There were a few grammatical errors here and there, but nothing major. Great job!

Author's Response: thank you :) I finally got a chance to answer back your reviews :) It was my first time writing something to do with Flint, and I liked it so you might see him again on this page in the near future :)



 Report Review

Review #10, by Cleopatraa Social Skills

8th August 2011:
Happy Gryffindor Monday!!

This little piece was just so adorable. Hmmm I love the fact Marcus Flints lacks social skills because not everybody is so smooth especially considering the fact he was a captain in his youth. Such an interesting way to woo your future spouse though. Swear when your dad steps on your foot. I liked the fact she burst out in laughing I can imagine that the two of them would have a very happy marriage. Nice idea to pair him with Daphne!

- Cleopatra ( Slytherin)

Author's Response: Marcus Flint was never smooth :P I mean he seemed like an odd Captain *scratches chin* maybe I should write a short story about him.

Lol I liked Daphne which is why I included her after all not are Slytherins were evil, maybe Daphen was a happy girl? Lol Marcus sure did woo her didn't he :)

Thank you for your review :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by Akussa Social Skills

6th August 2011:
Hello!!

This is a good little story my dear! You did a wonderful job portraying Marcus' nervousness and how he actually doesn't even care. I was impressed at how easy Marcus got into the team; the reasons the coach gave were really good though so that makes up for it!
I have to say that I absolutly loved the end and how the two families met. I laughed so much imagining what a great first impression he was making!

There were some typos scattered through this piece that bothered me a little. It took my attention away when I had to re-read sentences a couple times but it's nothing huge. I suggest you go back and re-read it and you will know what I'm talking about. It's mostly words in the wrong order and that sort of things.

Akussa (Gryffindor)

Author's Response: A lirate! The team Marcus is known for their rough play which is the reason I chose him to go to them :P I mean he wasn't all that bright in school so I thought hey maybe he'd play Quidditch. I mean he was half decent :)

Lol I don't think the Grengrasses agree about their first impression. I'll re-read this and pick out those annoying errors.

Thank you for your review fellow Lirate :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by Bookworm045 Social Skills

5th August 2011:
This was so fluffy! I loved it! Marcus, I almost feel bad for him--but he got Daphne, so I don't. Such an interesting way to woo a woman: swear when your dad steps on your foot. This was perfectly paced and cute and funny, and quite a lovely piece of writing! And that boy you used for Marcus is definitely not 'not good looking'. Just saying. . .
-Katherine045 (Slytherin!)

Author's Response: Lol I couldn't find another actor :P But I liked writing the one-shot. I sometimes think Marcus was a bit like Draco. Thank you for your review :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by Ronsgirl29 Social Skills

5th August 2011:
Hey there Gryffie!

This is the first story I've ever read about Marcus Flint, so yay for new things! I really like how you portrayed him as slightly awkward around people, it was a unique way to characterize him!

Just one thing I saw,
"the skills he needed to wooed his future wife" - having woo instead of wooed would make a little more sense

There were also a few sentences that could have used a comma, but other than that I didn't really notice anything :)

I think putting Marcus with Daphne is a nice idea. And it was cute that she laughed, helping Flint not feel so shy! I hope they end up happy together :)

Very nice oneshot, I enjoyed reading it
-Ronsgirl29 (gryffindor)

Author's Response: Another Lirate! *waves Gryffie flag*

Thank you for your review. I was editing this just now, I don't know why but Daphne just came to mind when I was writing this so I thought it'd be cute :P

It's the first thing I write about Flint though you'll probably see him soon!



 Report Review

Review #14, by music_is_inside_of_me Social Skills

4th August 2011:
This was so cute! I loved it! I never really gave Flint a second thought, but this really put him into a new light. I could definitely see him having no social skills whatsoever, so this was really realistic. I think the last line really pulled it together well, good job!!

musiclover :)

gryffindor

Author's Response: Lol Thank you for your review. I never really gave Flint a second though either until I wrote this. I think with the right tools he could make for an interesting character. Though I won't be writing about him for a while. :P

 Report Review

Review #15, by Miss MarlaG Social Skills

17th April 2011:
lol! this was seriously funny. I like the voice in which you portray him and how he was going to marry Daphne :) and then him swearing. loudly. And his social skills ;)

after all, Marcus's got swag ;)

Author's Response: Lol Marcus's got swag! I laughed at that lol. Thank you for your review :D

 Report Review

Review #16, by mugglemania Social Skills

10th March 2011:
I think as a writer you have potential, but you still need some work. Overall, the idea was great, the writing decent, and the plot fuzzy. I'm a tad confused on what happened.
Still, it wasn't bad. Keep writing!!!

Author's Response: Lol I didn't even know where this was going. Thank you for your review :D

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login