Reading Reviews for Yule Balls and Pygmy Puffs
  
13 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Grakmole Yule Balls and Pygmy Puffs

2nd April 2012:
This was good and it made me smile I thought cho was cute not how I would probably prortray her but it worked

Author's Response: Hi!

I knew that this version of Cho isn't how most authors would or do portray her and I think that's especially why I wrote her like this. When her character was first introduced, I got the impression she was really a very nice, sweet girl and that's why she was popular. As well as the fact that she was quite pretty, of course, but you know.

I'm so glad that you thought she was cute anyways and liked the story!


 Report Review

Review #2, by miss Yule Balls and Pygmy Puffs

30th March 2011:
aw, this was soo sweet. the quote was pretty funny, how he panicked and sputtered that out, and the fact that Coco wanted to bring her pygmy puff as a date. it makes me kinda sad (history repeating) but its great that Cho was there to help! and i hate her too, but in the book she IS portrayed as quiet and thoughtful and not flirty at all, so i get what you mean. but i liked it! good job!

Author's Response: Hi!

Thanks! The quote is Brennuhh's and I have to agree; it's super funny!

With history repeating, it sort of was more to show how Cho had grown up rather than have all the events repeat. So don't be sad! The guy doesn't die! (In my mind anyways...to each their own)

I'm always touchy on Cho's character. But I'm glad this was a good depiction of her, regardless of how some fan fiction portrays her. I don't always see her like this myself, I will confess, but I'm trying to.

Thank you so much for the flattery and the review!
from,
Liberty


 Report Review

Review #3, by TheHeirOfSlytherin Yule Balls and Pygmy Puffs

28th March 2011:
I rarely read Cho/Cedric but I liked this one :). I like how after all the years since her and Cedric, Cho was able to use her experience to help the girl...hopefully they'll have a happier ending...:).

Author's Response: Hi!

I'm glad you liked it :) I don't read Cho/Cedric either, it's just a random plot bunny.
I wanted the story to sort of come to a full circle and give Cho a resolution after all the tragedy with Cedric, so I thought learning from her experience with him would be an alright method to accomplish that.
They (being Coco and Jeremy) do have a happier ending...in my mind ^_^

Thank you so much for the review!
from,
Liberty


 Report Review

Review #4, by BrightStar Yule Balls and Pygmy Puffs

27th March 2011:
First off, you have such a wide range of stories, there really is something for everything! i never thought id like this, but something made me click into it and im so glad that i did! so sweet, such a gentle, tender relationship - it could be between teens. hehe "not your grandmothers sexy farmhouse asian boutique" - was this quoted elsewhere? hehe great also trying to bring the pet to the dance... the end was especially lovely! well done!

Author's Response: Hey!

I'm glad you think I have a variety of stories, I like to try to be available as an author to every kind of reader.

The quote is brilliant! I'm just so glad I found that brennuh's Make Me Laugh challenge, or this would've never worked in the same way. The pet idea is great as well, ronhermione4ever's challenge was da bomb (as those young kids say...I am a young kid.) Challenges are just a huge part of my writing!

I wanted to portray Cho and Cedric as the ideal teenage romance. I always figured that there must've been something about their relationship that made Cho so sad afterwards, so I tried to show that here.

Thank you so much for the lovely review!
from,
Liberty


 Report Review

Review #5, by Canadian_Hogwarts Yule Balls and Pygmy Puffs

21st March 2011:
Very sweet :) I have to confess that I've never really read a lot of the whole Cho/Cedric genre, mainly because I'm one of those people who (I'm a little ashamed to admit it) gets a wee bit fed up with Cho. I hated how much she kept crying in the fifth book; she just went around and made poor Harry's life completely miserable. However, I do know that the poor girl does have a reason to be so sad, what with the whole ex-boyfriend being murdered and all...
I liked how you wrote both Cedric and Cho in this piece. I read your note at the beginning, and I think you definitely made Cho into a very believable character. I'm with you; I don't think that she was a flirt, rather, she was a pretty girl that a lot of guys were attracted to. I think that a lot of people make her seem really ditzy, which she's not. She must have been intelligent, being a Ravenclaw and all. As for poor old Cedric, he was nicely done as well. I think I might have wanted to see a bit more of him, to tell you the truth; it was a very interesting perspective on him. I really liked the part where we first met him by the lake. It was a very nice mental image of him coming out of the early morning mist by the lake, all full of concentration... made me happy :)
The lines 'It would be impractical to go to the Yule Ball with her Puffskein anyways. He couldnít dance.' made me giggle so much. I do believe that Puffskeins would be very awful dancers indeed!
I caught a few grammar mistakes and typos (they're sneaky little buggers) but on the whole there was nothing glaringly obvious. Great job! I'm looking forward to your other story!

Author's Response: Hi!

I've just gotten around to responding *blush*

I've never read much of Cho/Cedric either, but I felt it fit with the plot I had in mind.

When I first read the books, I was very frustrated with Cho as well. But as I re-read them, I grew into my teenage years, where angst is really prevalent, and I just felt like I understood where it was all coming from. And I think other people do too eventually. I wanted to stress that here, and show that there's more to Cho, that she wasn't always who we see in the books and that was just a small timeframe in her life, and a very sad one at that!

I'm glad the couple is believable. I've never written them before and have never been inclined to reading them. This was a bit of a tribute to the two of them, because I always feel that there's too much tragedy with their stories', and that the before part of it is never told.

I love ronhermione4ever for giving me the challenge because it did inspire a bit of humour to go along with the plot. And I think the humour just uplifts the whole thought of the couple because usually, just the thought of them, makes me sad.

There's typos and grammar errors? I must start revising my chapters more carefully!

Thank you so much for the review and flattery!
from,
Liberty


 Report Review

Review #6, by Owlpost68 Yule Balls and Pygmy Puffs

21st March 2011:
Awww, that was a really good one! I love that line, pygmy puffs are not acceptable dates to the yule ball lol.
I wasn't expecting her to be a muggle studies teacher. I think it could make more sense if she was a Ancient Runes teacher, since that's what her and cedric talked about around the lake :)
I still think it was really cute!

Author's Response: Hi!

I'm glad you like the line! It is a bit genius and I love that ronhermione4ever gave it to me.

I made her the Muggle Studies teacher for this convoluted theory I had in mind. Reflecting on it, Ancient Runes would be so much better. If I edit AGAIN, I will definitely change that.

Thank you so much for the review!
from,
Liberty


 Report Review

Review #7, by Fleur Delacour Potter Yule Balls and Pygmy Puffs

13th March 2011:
Cho and Marietta are both really in character here. I like how you used minor characters in a fic. It's rare to find Cho done well like this, as well. Usually her character is butchered and made fun of. I like the ending to this, too. Cho learned from her experiences and is sharing her wisdom. I wonder what she learned from Harry...

Author's Response: Hey!

Marietta was a last minute add in, but I'm glad I got her character down well enough. My favorite part of this story is how I wrote Cho. I really hate how her character is abused sometimes, and wanted to portray her in a nicer light.

Now that you mention it, I wonder what she learned from Harry as well! ...next fic/plunny maybe?

Thank you so much for the review AND the great plot idea!
from,
Liberty


 Report Review

Review #8, by mugglemania Yule Balls and Pygmy Puffs

12th March 2011:
INCREDIBLE. Great job. Great idea
10/10

Author's Response: Thanks! Glad you liked it! Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Siriuslover177 Yule Balls and Pygmy Puffs

9th March 2011:
Awww, this was so cute!
I LOVED your survival tip!

Author's Response: Thanks :) I wanted it to be very fluffy.
I adore my survival tip as well.


 Report Review

Review #10, by TheProphecy Yule Balls and Pygmy Puffs

7th March 2011:
Aww bless, this was really cute!

I liked the idea of it a lot! it was fairly amusing. I didn't feel it was lame I just felt you could've used a better grammar range to make it more interesting and make the writing style more mature

Anyway, I'm glad I read this, gives me a chance to see some competition for the survival tips challenge :P

I felt you did well, though I wasn't sure about the Cho characterisation, she seemed a bit bimbo-ish to me. She may have broken Harry's heart but that doesn't mean she was stupid. (Just a point)

But other then those little things I really enjoyed it!

Well done :P

Author's Response: Hey!

I've edited! When I first read this review, I was devastated.

Mostly about your comment on how I characterised Cho. I tried to make Cho less bimbo-ish than other authors portray her to be! So I've definitely tried to improve upon that in the edited version.

I'm still not sure what you meant by grammar range...I think you meant the vocabulary I used, but I'm not sure. Vocab was something I tried to expand in the edited version as well.

Thank you so much for the review! It was so helpful, especially when I was editing the chapter (the edited version is now validated!) I'm glad that you enjoyed it to some extent before.

from,
Liberty


 Report Review

Review #11, by orderofthephoenix Yule Balls and Pygmy Puffs

7th March 2011:
Hey Liberty!

This definitely wasn't lame; in fact it was quite amusing :) I like how you incorporated the sexy asian farmhouse boutique quote. It was very well written.

You characterised Cho very differently to how most authors do but I think it worked out okay. She was quieter and more thoughtful compared to the flirty Cho we're used to. Also, I wasn't expecting Cedric to be so shy when it comes to girls either :P

The similarities between what Cho was told and what she said twenty years later was great! Great survival tip! :)

-Sophia x

Author's Response: Hey Sophia!

I'm so glad it's not lame. *whew*

I wanted Cho to be different than she's always portrayed. I never really thought of her as super flirty, she just happened to capture the eyes of two great boys.

I wanted Cedric to be shy as well, though I did change him a bit in the edited version.

I edited this story and that version's now validated! I used this review a bit when editing so thank you so much for the helpful review and the compliments!

from,
Liberty


 Report Review

Review #12, by Aiedail Yule Balls and Pygmy Puffs

7th March 2011:
haha i think this is silly! i think that it takes rather quick turns--in emotion, in interactions, and i personally like to think of cedric as much more invested in the relationship--but for the sake of the story here, it works! :)
i'll admit that i'm a little biased anyways--cho is definitely not my favorite character and it's hard for me to think of her as anything different than sulky and prone to flirting--but i like, surprisingly, the way that you've characterized her, here. she's in the moment and embraces the situation. you can see later in life that she really is thoughtful and wants the best for others, even in extremely ridiculous situations :)
you added in some silly things that made it completely worth the read even though my head kept saying "but you don't like cho! you don't, you don't!" the grandmother's boutique was funny and you got a clear idea of how flustered it made cedric. i would have liked to see him give in in the end because you gave the shop so much precedence in the story, but it's okay.
--lily

Author's Response: Hey Lily!

You're definitely right about my rough transitions into actions, emotions, and etc.

I see what you mean about Cedric being more emotionally invested in a relationship and I tried to amend that in the edited version.

However, my characterisation of Cho is getting the feedback I want from you! I hate the flirty side of Cho that author's portray and I hate the depressed side of Cho that author's write. I wanted her to be thoughtful and intelligent and I'm so glad she came off that way.

I added to the ending a bit so that Cedric caved in a little to the sexy asian farmhouse boutique...I agree, before, it had way too little resolution for the build up I gave it.

Thank you so very much for the helpful review! I used it while I edited the chapter (the edited version is now validated by the way!) and so thank you, thank you, thank you!

from,
Liberty


 Report Review

Review #13, by MalfoysCarolinaGirl2010 Yule Balls and Pygmy Puffs

5th March 2011:
LOL this was really good it made me laugh it made me almost cry and was really well written very good survival tip too

~Operation Green With Envy~

Author's Response: Hey!

I believe this is strawberrydarhling...

But anyways, thank you so much! I'm flattered that you laughed and almost cried! I didn't think that the fic was written well enough to bring that sort of emotion...

Thanks for reviewing! And if this is strawberrydarhling, thank you for the challenge! It really did help me finish the plot for this story as it was incomplete before I got my survival tip!

from,
Liberty


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login