Reading Reviews for Troubled waters
  
46 Reviews Found

Review #1, by LittleLionGirl Acceptance

17th July 2013:
Wow. This is a believable ending but it is sort of sad Ron will miss one of his children's lives. I am curious now to see if Pansy will ever tell her child or if he will ever figure it out on his own...hmm. Good story over all and I am quite please to say I have read it :)
XOXOXOX,
LLG

 Report Review

Review #2, by LittleLionGirl Recriminations

17th July 2013:
Yikes. Lots of confrontation in this chapter. It is very Hermione like to have kicked Ron out though I want to see how everything blows over. I am glad to see Harry is the voice of reason though I am partially surprised Ron didn't comment about Harry "looking" because well- it is his sister Harry married. It makes sense he didn't though because it was his problems they were discussing.
XOXOXOXOX,
LLG

 Report Review

Review #3, by LittleLionGirl Decisions

17th July 2013:
Well. I must say another job well done :) You have a way of keeping me interested in this story. Hmm what to do about the child: and damage control. I cant wait to see what that means; especially with Hermione. I can't wait to see what is next!
XOXOXOXO,
LLG

 Report Review

Review #4, by LittleLionGirl Repercussions

17th July 2013:
Well I knew this was bound to happen but I am glad you eased it into the story rather than an instant discovery. Pansy's point of view is written very well and I can even find it believable- but now I cant wait to see what happens next...
XOXOXO,
LLG

 Report Review

Review #5, by LittleLionGirl The second mistake

17th July 2013:
Well... Rather believable scene. Although I have to admit Ron is an idiot. This chapter was well written and it makes sense that it was Ron being caught in Pansy's trap. My only other comment is the use of the word pants as underwear (excuse my American.. but to a kid who hears of jeans and trousers as pants it seems odd..)
XOXOXO,
LLG

 Report Review

Review #6, by LittleLionGirl A chance encounter

17th July 2013:
Wow this is a really interesting start of the story- I know what has to be coming due to the challenge pairing you have so we'll see how this turns out. This is a very strong start and I cant wait to see what you come up with next!
XOXOXOX,
LLG

 Report Review

Review #7, by alicia and anne Acceptance

15th March 2013:
Ron's opt out of being the baby's father! But I wanted them to be happy. Although I'm glad that Hermione has let Ron back in the house and that everything seems to be slowly getting back to normal.
I do like how it all ended up in the end actually, at least Hermione has finally accepted it, and Ron gets to see his son every christmas and birthday. And that Pansy has accepted that as well. It's good to see how things have worked out and how they're getting their lives back on track.
I'm so glad that I read this story, and you could so make a sequel to this where Atlas tries to find his dad, but that's only if you wanted to. I just want more of this story :D
This was such a fantastic story and I'm so glad that I read it, you wrote it perfectly and it brought out so many emotions.
Just brilliant!

Author's Response: Ah, they could never have been a proper family. Not with Hermione, Rose and Hugo lurking in the background. Pansy, to her credit, realised that and was happy with what Ron WAS able to provide.

As for Hermione, well to be honest I'm a canon nerd and wanted to get back to the point where the epilogue to DH could still happen. So she had to take him back, but only with very strict conditions. And Ron, knowing he'd done the wrong thing and desperate to make amends, would of course accept that.

As for a sequel, well to be honest I'd never thought about it but I might consider it now. Once I've got my Neville novel out of the way, of course!

thanks again for the reviews.
Mel


 Report Review

Review #8, by alicia and anne Recriminations

15th March 2013:
And Hermione has found out! That is a great opener by the way.
she's kicking him out! Good on her, I'm glad that she's not taking it and being a push over, now Ron can be with Pansy!
I love the conversation between Harry and Ron, about how Harry knows the difference between window shopping and trying out the goods, I wonder how many women have caught Harry's eye? Although I don't think he would ever cheat.
It's great to see that Ron really does love Hermione and that he doesn't want to live with Pansy.
You've made me so confused with what I want for Ron! I want him to be with Pansy but I want him to be with Hermione. Gah! you've written this so brilliantly that I have no idea what I want, I want them both!
You're such a fantastic writer! You're stories are just so amazing.

Author's Response: Yes, she found out. The pregnancy kind of forced Ron's hand there, so he had to tell her. Besides, it was happening a bit too often so she would probably have found out eventually.

I had a lot of fun with the Harry / Ron conversation. Harry would have felt very torn by this situation, being as close as he was to both Ron and Hermione. And I'm sure a lot of women have caught Harry's eye over the years: someone in his position is going to have women throwing themselves at him and I'm sure he appreciated the view. He just didn't act, as he told Ron in no uncertain terms. :)

Can I say I'm really pleased that you're getting so involved in this? That's a huge compliment so thank you!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #9, by alicia and anne Decisions

15th March 2013:
Yay! Theodore Nott is there! I love Theodore Nott.
I really like that he was Ron's source of information, especially for ten years, thats brilliant! I love seeing all these Slytherins turning good and helping out.
Ron was harsh when he said that the baby could be anyones, I felt really sorry for Pansy when he said that.
I really want them to both be a family to the baby but I know that Ron won't leave Hermione.
Speaking of Hermione, is it bad that I can't wait for her to find out about this all?
I wonder if she'll be able to accept the baby or if she'll leave Ron?
I definately can't wait to read more, this story is getting better and better! You've written it brilliantly!

Author's Response: Lol. You'd be surprised the number of people who like Nott's appearance in here. I thought he made an excellent spy: quiet, intelligent, the son of a Death Eater. So yeah, a lot of Slytherins turn out just fine. :)

Ron WAS harsh, but then again he'd just been given a huge shock. I felt a bit for Pansy there too.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #10, by alicia and anne Repercussions

15th March 2013:
That was really cute to have Rose talking about her daddy's magic beans, I love the fact that Ron needs a pick me up of Bertie Botts beans after a long day at work.
This story is just getting better and better, I am loving the Pansy/Ron ship more and more now. I am definately converted!
I love that Pansy is clearly falling in love with Ron and that Ron can't stop himself from being around Pansy.
This pregnancy is going to bring everything out in the open now and I really can't wait to see how this will all unfold, I don't think it'll be long until Hermione finds out.
I woder what Ron will do? Or Pansy for that matter about the baby?
Another brilliant chapter! I'm so glad that I began reading this incredible story.

Author's Response: Ah, magic beans. As a parent of young children it felt appropriate to have something like that in there, and it also really cemented what Ron had at home: the loving family. What he's risking. Which brings us to what you brought up - Hermione finding out. I couldn't leave her out of the story forever and we all know that she wouldn't stand for this sort of behaviour, woudl she?

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #11, by alicia and anne The second mistake

15th March 2013:
Oh so they didn't sleep together, it's good to see that he didn't go home with her whilst drunk, although there is plenty of time for that to happen.
Part of me thinks that Pansy likes him for his popularity as she keeps caling him famous boy.
I love that he's just leaving some boy guys leg behind after he was splinched, so he could meet Pansy, poor guy.
I nearly gasped at the idea of them kissing and doing more! Although I totally wanted it to happen even though he clearly loves Hermione.
I know that it's bad that he's cheating on Hermione, but I'm liking the pairing of Pansy and Ron, I think they might have to be in my top five pairings now.
I can see this ending badly soon, and I can't wait to see it all unravel!
You've written such an addictive story already and it's only the second chapter!

Author's Response: Hmmm. I'm not sure that Pansy is really attracted to his fame: I think that she calls him that more as a payout than anything. She doesn't tell people about him so it's not like she wants the conquest, anyway.

I quite liked the idea of just leaving the leg behind and heading off to see Pansy too. It felt like something Ron would do, and there was something amusing about it. At least he went back and got it later though. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #12, by alicia and anne A chance encounter

15th March 2013:
Oh I can see this ending very badly for Ron but I love it!
I love seeing them interacting with Pansy and them all being drunk, it's great to see that they could have got on at school if any of them had tried harder, they could have been friends.
I must admit I haven't really read many Ron and Pansy stories, but I am very intrigued to see how this is going to develop.
You've written Pansy perfectly in my opinion, clearly trying to get guys to buy her drinks by drapping herself over them, much like she did to Draco. It's good to see she's basically the same person, although a bit nicer to people it seems.
I'm very excited to read more of this story!

Author's Response: Hi again! This is one of my most neglected stories review-wise, so it's really nice to have someone new reading it and giving me some feedback. Thank you! :)

Anyway, I'm glad you liked this start. It's a slippery slope, of course, but then being given this pairing I had to do something to push them together because it wouldn't have happened in the normal scheme of things. I'm glad you like my Pansy, too, because she's not one that it's easy to get right: too easy to stereotype.

Thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #13, by sbmcneil Acceptance

16th May 2012:
I really like this story. I can see it happening the way you portrayed it. Very well done.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! This story doesn't have a lot of traffic but it's nice to know that when people do read it, they can see it happening like that. It's a huge boost to my writing confidence.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #14, by megthechef43 Acceptance

13th March 2012:
melian,

Even though I wasn't a big fan of Ron and Hermione getting back together I guess I should have taken in to account that neither are quitters and they weren't going to let their marriage slip that easily. It says a lot about Hermione to be able to look pass Ron's worng doings but still not accept them and thus showing him if he ever cheats again she will leave him forever. I love the way you handled this.

Pansy is happy with her son. It was great to read that even Pansy believes her son is a miracle and she can be happy with out a man. Well you know. I'm glad she accepted Ron desicion.

Great Story. It was well written and enjoyable to read. It brought out a lot of emotions.

Megthechef43

Author's Response: thank you so much! Like I said before, writing a believable Ron/Pansy was a bit of a stretch, but once I worked out a way to make it fit canon (I'm really a canon freak and probalby couldn't write AU if my life depended on it) i was able to go from there. Of course, Ron and Hermione are together in the epilogue to DH, which means taht she had to take him back, but like you said neither are quitters and that meant it was a believable proposition. Sure, Ron did the wrong thing, but once he owned up to that and renounced his ways, and she could see evidence that he was back on the straight and narrow, she agreed to give him another chance. With strict conditions, of course.

As for Pansy, well she was quite happy with how it all ended up. She knew Ron would never leave Hermione for her, and evne when Hermione kicked him out she didn't really think that she would have a happily ever after with him. She understood what sort of person he was. Instead, she made the most out of what he was able to give her and was content with that. The funny thing about this story is that I never liked Pansy in the books, but writing about her made her much more human and relateable. I don't really know how canon my version of her is, but it seemed to work with what we do know.

Thanks again for the reviews. Not many people read this story so it's always great to get feedback on it.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #15, by megthechef43 Recriminations

13th March 2012:
melian,

Awww, my heart is breaking for Hermione. I'm glad she had the strength to kicked his butt out. She was always the smart one. Ihope she doesn't give in a take him back. She deserves honest and a respectful partner which Ron is clearly lacking.

Go Harry!!! I like the way he was able to make Ron feel about 2 inches tall. I extremely glad that he pointed out the gigantic problems this is going to cause in the whole family.

I'll be reading on.

Megthechef43

Author's Response: Yes, poor Hermione. She didn't do anything except be herself, and she's ended up in this mess. I think she would always have kicked him out in a situation like this. As for Harry, well he said what Ron needed to hear. I'm so pleased it's coming off as believable.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #16, by megthechef43 Decisions

13th March 2012:
melian,

Great choice for an informatant. I never thought Theo was all bad. Too bad he got caught and tortured.

Wow, I can imagine the shock that Ron felt when he heard about the baby and then about him being "special" to Pansy which unfortunately put him in this mess. I'm glad he had enough man in him to not ask her to terminate the pregnancy. I like the element that they were hidden when she told him. It add to the air that what they are doing is wrong.

I'll be reading on!!

Megthechef43

Author's Response: You know, I'm not altogether sure why I put Nott in there, except that it seemed to work and I needed a reason for Ron to be in the hospital. But I liked him too. He seemed to have his head screwed on better than some of his classmates. As for being hidden, well that was precisely what I wanted to do. It's all illicit, so this conversation had to be too. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #17, by megthechef43 Repercussions

13th March 2012:
melian,

Good, at least he is feeling guilty for his adultery. I think his is a cheating jerk but I'm glad you didn't picture him as heartless. He is being selfish. Hermione is so sweet to Ron and Rose is a little sweetheart. He has such a good family.

Pansy gets around but her sleeping with Ron was more than a one night stand. It makes it hard to hate anyone in this story. I think Hermione has it the worst because she is out of the loop. Pansy is falling for Ron. But, Ron I think is the easiest to dislike because he knew what he was doing.

I'll be reading on.

Author's Response: No, Ron could never be heartless. He is the heart of the trio, really, isn't he? It's just a case of act first, think later, which happens more often than people think. But I tried to make this a story of shades of grey rather than black and white. Glad you're liking it!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #18, by megthechef43 The second mistake

12th March 2012:
melian,

GRRR. Darn Ron!! What an arse!! I can't say that I didn't see it coming though. I knew he would eventually give in to Pansy's charm at some point. He was a little to lonely and she was a little to eager and that is a perfect mix for an affair. Great job building up to that point.

I just want to say poor Hermione. It sucks for her to be compared least favorable to another woman in the yes of her husband but again it is totally believable. I mean think of his relationship with Lavender. He wanted something and Hermione wasn't there to provide so he turned to Lavender and now he has done the same thing with Pansy.

The question now is will he continue to cheat? Hmm...

i'll be reading on.

Megthechef43

Author's Response: Yes, he is all too human I'm afraid. Ron is a great character and I've not written much of him, but this did seem to fit him ... under certain circumstances. So I made the circumstances fit. :)

Thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #19, by megthechef43 A chance encounter

12th March 2012:
melian,

What an interesting part. I could defiantly see this actually happening to Ron and Pansy. Ron lonely because Hermione is so ambitious and is away on business a lot. Pansy was kind of ignored in school and would now be begging for attention from anyone who would give it.

I'll be reading on!

Megthechef43

Author's Response: Thank you! Ron and Pansy isn't a very easy pairing to write but I did try to make it work as best I can. Glad you like this start!

Oh, and my deepest apologies for taking so long to respond to your reviews. The last year just kind of got away from me.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #20, by sbmcneil Acceptance

31st October 2011:
Great story. I'm surprised that Hermione would take him back, he doesn't have the best track record.

Author's Response: Thanks! Though really Ron's track record is only bad in this story, isn't it? In the canon there's not much to reproach him for -yes, he had a dalliance with Lavender, but he was sixteen at the time and it didn't mean much. Beyond that we have no evidence for his behaviour one way or the other. So, assuming this was his first post-marital transgression, as I intended to suggest, then she may well take him back, after a long period of reconciliation.

Thanks for reading, though, it's not a popular pairing so this story doesn't get much traffic.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #21, by NaidatheRavenclaw A chance encounter

12th August 2011:
Ron/Pansy. Only a select few people could make this pairing bearable for me. And somehow, you not only made it bearable, but you made it interesting for me, and something that I actually liked!

I definitely dont think your Ron was OOC. He was always this way, in a sense. I think you exaggerated his personality slightly, but not in a way that would make him out of character. And to do that is hard, so great job!

Pansy, again, was perfectly in character. SHe has always been this way, in my opinion at least. Again, she's just slightly exaggerated, but it does the trick perfectly for you.

Great job! And happy staff/prefects Friday! Thank you so much for this past summer *hugs*
-NaidatheRavenclaw, Ravenclaw

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for the review!

Yes, Ron/Pansy. It was tricky to try to get this pairing believable, but then again that's the point of a challenge, right? I'm glad that you found it somewhat bearable because that means I had some modicum of success, so thank you.

As for characterisation, well I had to exaggerate their characters if I was to get them to a point where this might happen. THanks though for saying that I still kept them in character regardless, though. As you said it's not an easy thing to balance and I really wasn't sure I'd succeeded.

Thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #22, by Capella Black Acceptance

6th August 2011:
Awww! How on Earth have you made this story end well? I mean seriously, I couldn't possibly see a good way out, and yet it works. Ron's stuck with a compromise that he wouldn't choose, but that he accepts as more than he deserves, and Pansy gets enough that she can look back at the events without anger and resentment.

Overall, it's a truly mature story - in the sense that it covers mature themes maturely and so leaves the reader feeling like they've been shown a new point of view. It's uncomfortable at points, because of this, as it makes me as a reader consider things that I'd previously dismissed as inexcusable, and yet it's compelling and completely un-preachy. That's extremely rare, but extremely welcome!

Thanks so much for sharing this piece with us!

CapellaBlack, Gryffindor

Author's Response: Ah, Ella, you know me. I'm canon. Therefore, I had to find a way to make the DH epilogue still work, and for that to happen Hermione had to take him back. So, this was what I chose. No one's particularly happy with the outcome (save Pansy), but I thought it was good to see Ron and Hermione trying,a t least, to sort things out.

I'm glad that you feel like you've been shown something new here. Adultery isn't an easy thing to write about but being preachy isn't in my nature so, once I started, I was just interested in telling the story rather than telling people what SHOULD be happening, and how people SHOULD be reacting. I think that if you're old enough to read a Mature story,you should be able to make those decisions for yourself, right?

In any case, thanks again. I really love your reviews and these, when they appeared, really made my day. *hugs*

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #23, by Capella Black Recriminations

6th August 2011:
Finally! I've been waiting for Ron to actually get that what he was doing was wrong, and I love that it was Harry that made him see that. In particular, it's great to see Harry being angry and yet not completely turning against his friend, which given how close he is to Hermione, could have been a possibility. Still, Harry isn't one to take sides, and you've captured that really well.

I particularly love the Britishisms in this chapter - they're not that easy for many writers, but in this chapter you've used them perfectly, and it really adds a air of authenticity to the story. Nice one!

CapellaBlack, Gryffindor

Author's Response: I really liked this scene with Harry, actually. He'd be torn, because the two of them are his closest friends (not including Ginny), but he'd also be slapping Ron about the head a bit, figuratively of course, to make him see things as they should be seen, not from the self-justification angle he's been using to be able to live with himself. I was really pleased to get a review from a man of similar age to me in which he said he'd had that talk with a friend of his and I got it down pat, so clearly I was doing something right here.

I have to admit I had to read it through again to work out what Britishisms I used, but then again I'm pretty used to them by now (I think) so maybe it was second nature. In any case, thank you!! *beams*

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #24, by Capella Black Decisions

6th August 2011:
Were you having a man-hating season while you wrote this? Because at every turn, Pansy becomes more likeable, and Ron seems more like a self-obsessed jerk. I'm not saying this isn't true to reality in some cases, but it's not the way most people would come at this pairing!

Having said that, it's continuing to be completely believable. Pansy hasn't got an agenda, or anyone else for her to turn to instead of him, so wouldn't be anything but nice. While Ron has everything to lose and no reason to treat her well. This makes it very hard for him to end up as the good guy, and thus he doesn't.

Not sure if I'll like him any more in the future chapters, but very keen to find out!

CapellaBlack, Gryffindor

Author's Response: Lol. Man-hating? No. Very pregnant, yes, though, so maybe that was coming out. And Ron being the self obsessed jerk was the only way to keep this going, really, in the way I wanted it too. But then again, he's a good man, so doing something like this would really screw him around mentally, don't you think? The self justification mingled with the guilt would probably have that effect on him, I suspect.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #25, by Capella Black Repercussions

6th August 2011:
Again, this chapter has both annoyed and intrigued me. Annoyed, because I hate people cheating, and yet intrigued, because I can really understand why they are both doing it, even if I wouldn't condone it.

I love how you've constructed this slippery slope for Ron to tumble down. It was just a drink. It's just meeting up with a school chum. It was just a one night stand. It is escapism and a set of 'encounters'. Pansy's justification - that he needs a break and to relax - is even more believable, if that's possible, because if that's how she sees such activities generally, then why wouldn't she see her own that way too?

So yeah, this chapter was all about the inevitability of it all, and the way they both allow the situation to happen. Really nicely done.

CapellaBlack, Gryffindor.

Author's Response: Got it in one. You can understand the behaviour but you don't condone it. Just what I was going for, so thank you! :) It was indeed a slippery slope but again, that's how these things happen, one step at a time, and then you're in too deep to get out of it. Sigh. Still, I'm really pleased that you're getting this much out of it because it was a tricky thing to get right, with the motivations and the self-denial and everything. So thanks again!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>