Reading Reviews for Troubled waters
  
54 Reviews Found

Review #1, by SunshineDaisies The second mistake

14th April 2017:
Initial reaction: OH MY GOD RON. RON. WHAT. ARE. YOU. DOING. RON. WHAT. NO. STOP. WHAT.

That was incredibly uncomfortable to read. I was kind of squirming the whole time. Infidelity never sits well with me, so reading the thought process of an adulterer while they are adultering was just completely... squirmy! I can't think of another way to explain it.

That said, I think Ron's train of thought is super interesting. I'd imagine his thought process is realistic, and it seems completely natural. He's obviously frustrated with his relationship and a "solution" is presenting herself right in front of him. Oh Ron. I actually really like reading from Ron's perspective, it's so different from my own, and it just seems so much like natural guy talk. Which honestly is a completely foreign concept to me.

As disappointed as I am in Ron, I absolutely love Pansy. We don't see much from her perspective, but it doesn't seem like she's out intentionally to destroy Ron and Hermione's relationship, it just seems like she's very lonely. Lonely enough to spend time with people she detested in school. I also love that she takes such control of her sexuality. There are absolutely no questions about what she's after (which makes Ron even more icky), and she totally owns it. Good for her!

Great job!

katie.

Hufflepuff CtF

 Report Review

Review #2, by Dojh167 The second mistake

13th April 2017:
Hufflepuff CtF Review

Hello, back for chapter 2, my jailbreaker in tow!

There Pansy goes again, calling Ron ďfamous boy.Ē I can definitely see how that would appeal to his ego, as I donít imagine he is used to getting that treatment nearly as much as Harry.

I like that you resisted the temptation (and so did Ron, haha) to have Ron and Pansy hook up after their drunken evening in chapter one. I appreciate that you are letting the relationship develop a little more before the inevitable pregnancy is introduced.

But also, it makes Ron seem even more disloyal to Hermione, that he didnít just cheat on her one night, that it was going on for longer. I am curious to see if Ron and Hermione will stay together throughout this story.

I like the detail that Ron communicates with Hermione through ministry memo. It speaks to the fact that they are close literally, but emotionally distant.

You do a good job with Ron and Harryís ministry dialogue - itís very believable and grounds us in their jobs. Iím sold that Ronís a good liar, though it may be that Hermione can see through things that Harry canít.

Accio leg!

ďNo, he was a happily married man, just meeting an old school friendĒ uhhh-huhÖ.. That would be a bit more believable if you had actually been, you know, friends.

Wow, that escalated quickly! And, Ronís insistence that he wasnít going to do anything also evaporated quickly. Well, itís certainly believable.

Why. Not. Both.

Nobodyís gonna let you off the hook for this, Ronald.

I find it funny that Ron is so careful about not being seen going to Pansyís flat, while he didnít seem so concerned while kissing her in a bar or doing a lot more in an alley.

ďThere were times that she liked to be intimate and times that she didnít, and they were so predictable that he could mark them on the calendar.Ē This doesnít seem to be something Ron likes about Hermione, but it is strangely appealing to me. I think it speaks to a familiarity between them that Ron knows these times so well.

ďHead so far up his own arse that he could see what heíd had for lunch.Ē Okay, so sheís funny. Thatís good. Iím glad youíve given her more going on than her looks.

I like that you included that Draco had had a kid - it helps remind us how far after DH this is set.

Iím enjoying this story more than I expected I would, and Iíll try to be back for the next three rounds of CtF. Well done!

Sam.

 Report Review

Review #3, by SunshineDaisies A chance encounter

12th April 2017:
I've never been a fan of Ron/Pansy, it's always kind of bewildered me that it's such a popular ship. I have a really hard time buying that Ron would be forgiving enough to see Pansy as anything less than repulsive. But, you've definitely sold it here! You've created such a perfect situation for it to happen. Ron is drunk, he's missing Hermione, he's upset that she's away so much, it's prime circumstances for an indiscretion to happen. And then you have Pansy, good looking and flaunting herself, and PAYING ATTENTION TO HIM. You've taken an impossible scenario and made it totally plausible.

I loved the way you had Ron and Harry speak about Pansy. I mean obviously, I don't love that she's being objectified, but I think their conversation about her is very real, and a very accurate depiction of how men speak about women. Which is really sad, come to think of it, but yay for realism?

I'm very curious about what happens next here, based on the challenge topic I can certainly take a guess, but I'm very interested in seeing how that plays out. Will Ron remember their night together? Or is it just going to come as a complete shock to him? HOW WILL HERMIONE REACT.

This has definitely piqued my interest and I'm really looking forward to reading more of this!

katie.

Hufflepuff CtF

 Report Review

Review #4, by Dojh167 A chance encounter

12th April 2017:
Huffelpuff CtF Review

Woah, this is a ship I havenít read before! And while Iím not to much of a fan of Ron or Pansy, I am quite intrigued of what theyíll be like together, and the idea of seeing new sides of them may well be enough to get me to like them individually and together in this story =) I think Iím okay with them being a bit out of character, as I imagine theyíd have to be for this ship to work ;)

Shoutout to Eliza Dushku as a Pansy face claim! Picturing her as pansy definitely enriches the story ;)

Iíd imagined that this would be an AU, so Iím a little surprised to see it looks like youíve roughly followed post-book canon, with Ron/Hermione and their kids. That makes this story sound a little less fun, as I imagine there is sure to be pain as the result of Ronís actions.

Like you point out, there is a sensuality that goes with that kind of confidence she has, as odious a confidence as it is. Not to mention Draco liked her, and I think heíd be fairly picky when it comes to appearance. I do find it kind of funny that Harry and Ron think itís weird that someone they had hated could become so attractive, as if those things are mutually exclusive.

But really, I am not liking Ron and Harry at all for how they are talking about her.

Ron and Harry seem very confident that they wonít be won over by Pansyís charms, but I canít help but think that one of them is wrong about that *coughRonaldcough*

While there is definitely still some animosity between the boys and Pansy, the fact that they can laugh at their different versions of events sounds like they have grown past some of that. Iím curious to see what Pansy thinks about her behaviour/ideologies at school and whether theyíve changed since then.

While youíve shown that Pansy is very attractive and flirty in this chapter and fun to drink with, we havenít seen much about whatís underneath that. She seems to be willing to let go of old grudges and repair relationships, but that was done in a very teasing way, making it hard to know whether we can trust her to be any better of a person than she used to be.

Iím interested to see where this will go, and will probably be back during future round of CtF.

Sam.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Marshal A chance encounter

8th April 2017:
Wow a sexy and demure Pansy. You pulled that off very well! Honestly this was not what I was expecting when I started reading this story but you are playing things well in getting the story going and setting things up. I like how you are keeping things cannon and then moving from there. It seems like you are going with the direction of Ron being stupid and making a mistake which in some ways is believe able. I honestly like that you didn't go very AU and throw the characters against the wall to fit them into the challenge. I don't know if I really think Ron would get with Pansy but at the same time how you are writing things is not too terrible.

I forse a fair bit of drama in the future here. I mean how could there not be. I am sure it will be an interesting adventure in the coming chapters.

Also I like how you made Pansy human like with the lipstick on her teeth most people would not think to do that with a character particularly one that they were trying to make sexy and alluring but it was interesting how Ron found it endearing. While spurred by a challenge interesting story concept all the same.

 Report Review

Review #6, by adluvshp A chance encounter

8th April 2017:
Okay this was a surprising and interesting and fun read. Ron and Pansy is an odd pairing but i suppose people can change and anything can happen after a few years (and a few drinks haha). Your portrayal of her as being the way she is helps take the plot forward so that's good, and the way you wrote how harry and ron found it surprisingly fun to spend time with her worked well to ease into the narrative. The way you subtly told us backstories without dumping it in the face like churning out information was also good. I love the healthy mix of dialogue and narrative you have going on and it definitely didn't bore me while reading. I am curious to know what happens next, and how things will take a turn for Ron and Pansy when things go wrong. You have set up the plot for it quite well, though I feel bad for Hermione since Ron is going to cheat - no matter how drunk he is here. Of course, the way harry and ron were talking and checking pansy out felt a little OOC but then I suppose they are more mature now and more men-ish, and possibly drunk enough to talk like that lol. Also, the "famous boy" nickname is kinda lame but also cute - I think Harry would hate it under normal circumstances though I can see Ron relishing in it. Besides that, this was an enjoyable read and i definitely want to click on the next button to see what happens next. Until then, kudos for roping me in!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Potterfreak Acceptance

15th March 2016:
I love this story, it's a really quick read and really emotional! I had a sneaking feeling that things would start with Hermione and Charlie just reading those bits between them but, I'm a sucker for a Charlie fanfiction. I'm so glad things all worked out for them in the end.

Author's Response: Yes a quick read, but it was certainly supposed to be emotional. As for Hermione and Charlie, well that never even occurred to me, to be honest! Though if you want to read that into it then by all means do so. :)

cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #8, by Justine Acceptance

20th September 2014:
Well that was an alright story, I must admit that I am a die hard Dramione fan so this story only strengthened that OPT haha, I am not a fan of ron he has always been a background character for me, I am however very intrigued by the Ron Pansy pairing, I find I quite enjoy it.

Author's Response: Thanks! I must admit I don't get a lot of diehard Dramiones reading this story but if it sounded convincing to you then I must have done something right, mustn't I? Thanks for the review!
cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #9, by LittleLionGirl Acceptance

17th July 2013:
Wow. This is a believable ending but it is sort of sad Ron will miss one of his children's lives. I am curious now to see if Pansy will ever tell her child or if he will ever figure it out on his own...hmm. Good story over all and I am quite please to say I have read it :)
XOXOXOX,
LLG

Author's Response: Yes, sort of sad, but as I'm a canon writer I had to have Ron and Hermione back together by the time Rose starts Hogwarts, and this was the first step in achieving that. As for Pansy's son, well that's something to think about isn't it?
cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #10, by LittleLionGirl Recriminations

17th July 2013:
Yikes. Lots of confrontation in this chapter. It is very Hermione like to have kicked Ron out though I want to see how everything blows over. I am glad to see Harry is the voice of reason though I am partially surprised Ron didn't comment about Harry "looking" because well- it is his sister Harry married. It makes sense he didn't though because it was his problems they were discussing.
XOXOXOXOX,
LLG

Author's Response: Yeah, Ron can't comment on Harry "looking" in this context. Whether it's Ron's sister or not, the fact is (a) Ron didn't stop at looking, and (b) Harry did. So there's a certain hypocrisy Harry would have pointed out. And besides, Harry, like everyone, is only human. Everyone looks, don't they? :)

cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #11, by LittleLionGirl Decisions

17th July 2013:
Well. I must say another job well done :) You have a way of keeping me interested in this story. Hmm what to do about the child: and damage control. I cant wait to see what that means; especially with Hermione. I can't wait to see what is next!
XOXOXOXO,
LLG

Author's Response: Yes, poor Hermione. She's the unwitting victim in all this, isn't she? And yeah, certainly some damage control. I really don't envy Ron in this chapter.
cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #12, by LittleLionGirl Repercussions

17th July 2013:
Well I knew this was bound to happen but I am glad you eased it into the story rather than an instant discovery. Pansy's point of view is written very well and I can even find it believable- but now I cant wait to see what happens next...
XOXOXO,
LLG

Author's Response: Yes, I eased it in. There are a number of ways you can approach something like this but this was how the story happened when I wrote it so I figured there was a reason for that. Glad you're still enjoying it!
cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #13, by LittleLionGirl The second mistake

17th July 2013:
Well... Rather believable scene. Although I have to admit Ron is an idiot. This chapter was well written and it makes sense that it was Ron being caught in Pansy's trap. My only other comment is the use of the word pants as underwear (excuse my American.. but to a kid who hears of jeans and trousers as pants it seems odd..)
XOXOXO,
LLG

Author's Response: Yes, he's a bit of an idiot. Or more to the point, he's not thinking. As for the pants thing, well that is certainly a Britishism but as you seemed to work out what I meant in the end I don't mean to change it.
cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #14, by LittleLionGirl A chance encounter

17th July 2013:
Wow this is a really interesting start of the story- I know what has to be coming due to the challenge pairing you have so we'll see how this turns out. This is a very strong start and I cant wait to see what you come up with next!
XOXOXOX,
LLG

Author's Response: Thanks! this is certainly an interesting pairing to try to write but I'm very pleased you think I did a decent job at it.
cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #15, by alicia and anne Acceptance

15th March 2013:
Ron's opt out of being the baby's father! But I wanted them to be happy. Although I'm glad that Hermione has let Ron back in the house and that everything seems to be slowly getting back to normal.
I do like how it all ended up in the end actually, at least Hermione has finally accepted it, and Ron gets to see his son every christmas and birthday. And that Pansy has accepted that as well. It's good to see how things have worked out and how they're getting their lives back on track.
I'm so glad that I read this story, and you could so make a sequel to this where Atlas tries to find his dad, but that's only if you wanted to. I just want more of this story :D
This was such a fantastic story and I'm so glad that I read it, you wrote it perfectly and it brought out so many emotions.
Just brilliant!

Author's Response: Ah, they could never have been a proper family. Not with Hermione, Rose and Hugo lurking in the background. Pansy, to her credit, realised that and was happy with what Ron WAS able to provide.

As for Hermione, well to be honest I'm a canon nerd and wanted to get back to the point where the epilogue to DH could still happen. So she had to take him back, but only with very strict conditions. And Ron, knowing he'd done the wrong thing and desperate to make amends, would of course accept that.

As for a sequel, well to be honest I'd never thought about it but I might consider it now. Once I've got my Neville novel out of the way, of course!

thanks again for the reviews.
Mel


 Report Review

Review #16, by alicia and anne Recriminations

15th March 2013:
And Hermione has found out! That is a great opener by the way.
she's kicking him out! Good on her, I'm glad that she's not taking it and being a push over, now Ron can be with Pansy!
I love the conversation between Harry and Ron, about how Harry knows the difference between window shopping and trying out the goods, I wonder how many women have caught Harry's eye? Although I don't think he would ever cheat.
It's great to see that Ron really does love Hermione and that he doesn't want to live with Pansy.
You've made me so confused with what I want for Ron! I want him to be with Pansy but I want him to be with Hermione. Gah! you've written this so brilliantly that I have no idea what I want, I want them both!
You're such a fantastic writer! You're stories are just so amazing.

Author's Response: Yes, she found out. The pregnancy kind of forced Ron's hand there, so he had to tell her. Besides, it was happening a bit too often so she would probably have found out eventually.

I had a lot of fun with the Harry / Ron conversation. Harry would have felt very torn by this situation, being as close as he was to both Ron and Hermione. And I'm sure a lot of women have caught Harry's eye over the years: someone in his position is going to have women throwing themselves at him and I'm sure he appreciated the view. He just didn't act, as he told Ron in no uncertain terms. :)

Can I say I'm really pleased that you're getting so involved in this? That's a huge compliment so thank you!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #17, by alicia and anne Decisions

15th March 2013:
Yay! Theodore Nott is there! I love Theodore Nott.
I really like that he was Ron's source of information, especially for ten years, thats brilliant! I love seeing all these Slytherins turning good and helping out.
Ron was harsh when he said that the baby could be anyones, I felt really sorry for Pansy when he said that.
I really want them to both be a family to the baby but I know that Ron won't leave Hermione.
Speaking of Hermione, is it bad that I can't wait for her to find out about this all?
I wonder if she'll be able to accept the baby or if she'll leave Ron?
I definately can't wait to read more, this story is getting better and better! You've written it brilliantly!

Author's Response: Lol. You'd be surprised the number of people who like Nott's appearance in here. I thought he made an excellent spy: quiet, intelligent, the son of a Death Eater. So yeah, a lot of Slytherins turn out just fine. :)

Ron WAS harsh, but then again he'd just been given a huge shock. I felt a bit for Pansy there too.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #18, by alicia and anne Repercussions

15th March 2013:
That was really cute to have Rose talking about her daddy's magic beans, I love the fact that Ron needs a pick me up of Bertie Botts beans after a long day at work.
This story is just getting better and better, I am loving the Pansy/Ron ship more and more now. I am definately converted!
I love that Pansy is clearly falling in love with Ron and that Ron can't stop himself from being around Pansy.
This pregnancy is going to bring everything out in the open now and I really can't wait to see how this will all unfold, I don't think it'll be long until Hermione finds out.
I woder what Ron will do? Or Pansy for that matter about the baby?
Another brilliant chapter! I'm so glad that I began reading this incredible story.

Author's Response: Ah, magic beans. As a parent of young children it felt appropriate to have something like that in there, and it also really cemented what Ron had at home: the loving family. What he's risking. Which brings us to what you brought up - Hermione finding out. I couldn't leave her out of the story forever and we all know that she wouldn't stand for this sort of behaviour, woudl she?

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #19, by alicia and anne The second mistake

15th March 2013:
Oh so they didn't sleep together, it's good to see that he didn't go home with her whilst drunk, although there is plenty of time for that to happen.
Part of me thinks that Pansy likes him for his popularity as she keeps caling him famous boy.
I love that he's just leaving some boy guys leg behind after he was splinched, so he could meet Pansy, poor guy.
I nearly gasped at the idea of them kissing and doing more! Although I totally wanted it to happen even though he clearly loves Hermione.
I know that it's bad that he's cheating on Hermione, but I'm liking the pairing of Pansy and Ron, I think they might have to be in my top five pairings now.
I can see this ending badly soon, and I can't wait to see it all unravel!
You've written such an addictive story already and it's only the second chapter!

Author's Response: Hmmm. I'm not sure that Pansy is really attracted to his fame: I think that she calls him that more as a payout than anything. She doesn't tell people about him so it's not like she wants the conquest, anyway.

I quite liked the idea of just leaving the leg behind and heading off to see Pansy too. It felt like something Ron would do, and there was something amusing about it. At least he went back and got it later though. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #20, by alicia and anne A chance encounter

15th March 2013:
Oh I can see this ending very badly for Ron but I love it!
I love seeing them interacting with Pansy and them all being drunk, it's great to see that they could have got on at school if any of them had tried harder, they could have been friends.
I must admit I haven't really read many Ron and Pansy stories, but I am very intrigued to see how this is going to develop.
You've written Pansy perfectly in my opinion, clearly trying to get guys to buy her drinks by drapping herself over them, much like she did to Draco. It's good to see she's basically the same person, although a bit nicer to people it seems.
I'm very excited to read more of this story!

Author's Response: Hi again! This is one of my most neglected stories review-wise, so it's really nice to have someone new reading it and giving me some feedback. Thank you! :)

Anyway, I'm glad you liked this start. It's a slippery slope, of course, but then being given this pairing I had to do something to push them together because it wouldn't have happened in the normal scheme of things. I'm glad you like my Pansy, too, because she's not one that it's easy to get right: too easy to stereotype.

Thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #21, by sbmcneil Acceptance

16th May 2012:
I really like this story. I can see it happening the way you portrayed it. Very well done.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! This story doesn't have a lot of traffic but it's nice to know that when people do read it, they can see it happening like that. It's a huge boost to my writing confidence.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #22, by megthechef43 Acceptance

13th March 2012:
melian,

Even though I wasn't a big fan of Ron and Hermione getting back together I guess I should have taken in to account that neither are quitters and they weren't going to let their marriage slip that easily. It says a lot about Hermione to be able to look pass Ron's worng doings but still not accept them and thus showing him if he ever cheats again she will leave him forever. I love the way you handled this.

Pansy is happy with her son. It was great to read that even Pansy believes her son is a miracle and she can be happy with out a man. Well you know. I'm glad she accepted Ron desicion.

Great Story. It was well written and enjoyable to read. It brought out a lot of emotions.

Megthechef43

Author's Response: thank you so much! Like I said before, writing a believable Ron/Pansy was a bit of a stretch, but once I worked out a way to make it fit canon (I'm really a canon freak and probalby couldn't write AU if my life depended on it) i was able to go from there. Of course, Ron and Hermione are together in the epilogue to DH, which means taht she had to take him back, but like you said neither are quitters and that meant it was a believable proposition. Sure, Ron did the wrong thing, but once he owned up to that and renounced his ways, and she could see evidence that he was back on the straight and narrow, she agreed to give him another chance. With strict conditions, of course.

As for Pansy, well she was quite happy with how it all ended up. She knew Ron would never leave Hermione for her, and evne when Hermione kicked him out she didn't really think that she would have a happily ever after with him. She understood what sort of person he was. Instead, she made the most out of what he was able to give her and was content with that. The funny thing about this story is that I never liked Pansy in the books, but writing about her made her much more human and relateable. I don't really know how canon my version of her is, but it seemed to work with what we do know.

Thanks again for the reviews. Not many people read this story so it's always great to get feedback on it.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #23, by megthechef43 Recriminations

13th March 2012:
melian,

Awww, my heart is breaking for Hermione. I'm glad she had the strength to kicked his butt out. She was always the smart one. Ihope she doesn't give in a take him back. She deserves honest and a respectful partner which Ron is clearly lacking.

Go Harry!!! I like the way he was able to make Ron feel about 2 inches tall. I extremely glad that he pointed out the gigantic problems this is going to cause in the whole family.

I'll be reading on.

Megthechef43

Author's Response: Yes, poor Hermione. She didn't do anything except be herself, and she's ended up in this mess. I think she would always have kicked him out in a situation like this. As for Harry, well he said what Ron needed to hear. I'm so pleased it's coming off as believable.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #24, by megthechef43 Decisions

13th March 2012:
melian,

Great choice for an informatant. I never thought Theo was all bad. Too bad he got caught and tortured.

Wow, I can imagine the shock that Ron felt when he heard about the baby and then about him being "special" to Pansy which unfortunately put him in this mess. I'm glad he had enough man in him to not ask her to terminate the pregnancy. I like the element that they were hidden when she told him. It add to the air that what they are doing is wrong.

I'll be reading on!!

Megthechef43

Author's Response: You know, I'm not altogether sure why I put Nott in there, except that it seemed to work and I needed a reason for Ron to be in the hospital. But I liked him too. He seemed to have his head screwed on better than some of his classmates. As for being hidden, well that was precisely what I wanted to do. It's all illicit, so this conversation had to be too. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #25, by megthechef43 Repercussions

13th March 2012:
melian,

Good, at least he is feeling guilty for his adultery. I think his is a cheating jerk but I'm glad you didn't picture him as heartless. He is being selfish. Hermione is so sweet to Ron and Rose is a little sweetheart. He has such a good family.

Pansy gets around but her sleeping with Ron was more than a one night stand. It makes it hard to hate anyone in this story. I think Hermione has it the worst because she is out of the loop. Pansy is falling for Ron. But, Ron I think is the easiest to dislike because he knew what he was doing.

I'll be reading on.

Author's Response: No, Ron could never be heartless. He is the heart of the trio, really, isn't he? It's just a case of act first, think later, which happens more often than people think. But I tried to make this a story of shades of grey rather than black and white. Glad you're liking it!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>