Reading Reviews for Is That You, Cedric?
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by hdawg Is That You, Cedric?

31st August 2012:
HOLONO. OT OS HONNOH. HOLLO.

You have been on my list for quite a while (well that sounds fully cr33p3r alerty), but genuinely because I saw this banner and thought that is was utterly gorgeous, and also because I want to write a Cho/Cedric one-shot and thought I could read around before. Therefore, Helena, your name was on my list :) see, once explained, I don't seem like such a weirdo. Right?

"There are a thousand details to notice. Her aged face is like a story to be read; it is simultaneously repulsive and beautiful." This is lovely and yet so sad. I hope I never look old. But then if I don't, how will people know what I've done if my skin doesn't tell my story?

I also absolutely adore your use of juxtaposition in the descriptions of old and young Cho. The simplicity of it speaks volumes, as does the sparse but wonderful dialogue.

"talking to an apple tree named Cedric". When I get my own house with my own garden, this will be the first thing I do, and then I know I've truly made it ;) but seriously, that idea that she grew old with Cedric in a way is heartbreaking.

This was just gorgeous, and I absolutely loved it. The perspective of using an older Cho is brilliant and something I have never read before, but it just feels so right. You have a skill, writing about emotions and feelings in such an adept way, and yet not making it too heavy so that it doesn't feel real. Of course Cho would still love Cedric, but the fact that is was presented as 'not-so-tragic' meant it was more believable. She's grown up, but never forgotten.

Helena, you are just...wow. Thank you. I am so privileged to be your friend (I hope ;)) ♥

 Report Review

Review #2, by megaaan  Is That You, Cedric?

29th August 2011:
This gave me goosebumps. What a lovely one-shot - one that I will definitely remember. Well done, Helena - the last line in particular made me shiver.
Megan x

Author's Response: Hi Megan! Thank you so so much. It's kind of embaressing you've read one of my stories here, I find it really hard to write fanfiction and most of them are old and I really don't like them. So I'm glad you picked this one because it's one of the less bad ones! But I'm even more glad you enjoyed it, thank you so much for saying such lovely things. I do like writing I just don't really like my ff so far haha, but this is the kind of thing that encourages me to try again. Tons of love x

 Report Review

Review #3, by thethreebadgers Is That You, Cedric?

11th July 2011:
this is very pretty(:

Author's Response: thank you very much (:

 Report Review

Review #4, by thehyacinthgirl Is That You, Cedric?

9th May 2011:
Hey there!

I love your works, you know that! But I am going to be nitpicky - sorry. I just noticed you gave Cho blue eyes and I believe they are actually brown. All I remember is the books saying is that they're dark, and as she's Asian maybe I assumed brown or black. But I could've sworn it said brown somewhere.

Ah well.

As far as grammatical errors and spelling goes, I didn't see anything that needed mending so kudos there.

This reminds me somewhat of marinahill's Luna Lovegood series regarding Luna's dead mother and Ariana Dumbledore.

It's rather poetic and lovely.

If I had any qualms at all with this piece it would be while it flows well and it is appropriately paced, I would have loved to see a bit more description. It is incredibly short.

I would have loved to see more flash backs or simply more conversation with 'Cedric'.

All in all, though, this was a very nice piece!

Great job!


Linders

Author's Response: LINDERS. HEY!
This is the slowest review response in the world, so sorry. Maybe it's because you are so lovely and have completely made me feel a fool by pointing out Cho's eyes aren't blue... I think I had to go on a long walk of shame after that, haha! Thank you so much for pointing that out. Your the first person to notice, which only proves what a thoughtful reviewer you are.
I think those suggestions are actually very good, and when I edit this (must change eye colour, haha!) I will take them into consideration. Generally my muse doesn't know what length is so... ;)
Thank you so much for your incredible feedback as always Linders.
Heaps of love,
Helena


 Report Review

Review #5, by ericajen Is That You, Cedric?

7th March 2011:
I LAUGHED AT THE LAST LINE BUT I SWEAR I DIDN'T MEAN IT.

No, really. Helen, this was beautiful. You always manage to break my heart with everything you write. I loved the perspective you wrote with in this one-shot. With Cho being older and everything. It was so touching and amazing to see her still so connected with Cedric after all that time. It was nice to see how strong that connection was; how it lasted through all of this time. How she never forgot him, even though her life had moved on. It was really just amazing, Helen. I loved it.

The paragraph that starts with "She is fifteen" really stayed with me. Something about that is just completely perfect for the situation. I really liked it. :D

As always, your imagery is simply beautiful. Always, always, always. You never fail with that. You always paint the prettiest pictures with your words. Your talent with that astounds me.

Basically, I adored it. I adore you. Yay :D

Erica.

Author's Response: Hahaha, I forgive you! An apple tree named Cedric? I'm giggling at it now, I can't believe I didn't notice that :D

Erica, you are amazing. You leave me these incredible, touching reviews and I have never been able to return the favour as often as I would like.

I've never really connected with Cho, but I think that Cedric's death is something that would have stayed with her, even though she was young when it happened. I'm so, so glad that you liked it.

I can't really say thank you enough. You've left me some of the loveliest reviews and they never fail to make me smile. I'm really happy you liked it. You're so encouraging and just generally INCREDIBLE. You are far too kind to me but I'm not complaining. heaps + piles of love xx


 Report Review

Review #6, by datbenik513 Is That You, Cedric?

7th March 2011:
I will cut it short. I hate you for making me cry. I love you for having written this small gem. At the same time I hate you because I had to refinance my mortgage so that I could afford to stack up a mountain of Kleenex. Brilliant!

One of your reviewers accused you of being short on this story. I'm of the firm opinion that emotions should be written short but raw. That way the story hits the reader full frontal with the weight of a runaway steam locomotive. Take my "Elements", for example (for which I'd love to hear your CC, by the way :D:D:D)

Keep them masterpieces coming!

Author's Response: Thank you so much again for such an encouraging review. Wow, I made you cry? Sorry, haha! I'm glad you found it emotive though, sorry about the kleenex issues all the same! :D

Thank you, it's actually very useful to hear your opinion on length. I'm personally of the same view. I don't always find it easy to write lengthy pieces, but I don't see the point in forcing it.

I'm impossibly happy you were able to connect (if that's the word) with the story so much. As always, I feel you are being far to kind.

As for Elements, if it's short and emotive it sounds just like my cup of tea! ;) Thank you again!


 Report Review

Review #7, by plimmlia Is That You, Cedric?

4th March 2011:
Good, if a little short for a whole chapter but good none the less.

Author's Response: Hello! Thank you very much for the feedback. Perhaps it is too short, I will keep that in my mind for the future. I'm very happy you think it's good though!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Rosadora  Is That You, Cedric?

2nd March 2011:
This is an abseloutley beautiful piece of writing. Great job!

Author's Response: Oh wow, thank you so much. It's lovely of you to leave a review, I'm very glad you liked this :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by Canadian_Hogwarts Is That You, Cedric?

2nd March 2011:
Poor Cho. She's often overlooked after the 5th book, but this story totally brought her back for me. She must have been so lonely for so long. Lovely story.

Author's Response: Hello! Thank you so much for leaving me this lovely review, I really appreciate it. I admitt to overlooking her myself somewhat, and then I felt inspired to write this and it was really interesting trying to figure her out. I'm really glad this story brought her back for you, because I really liked trying to write about her as well - there is something satisfying in writing a character you've previously overlooked. Thank you so much for reviewing, it means a lot to get feedback :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by hp_gwrocks Is That You, Cedric?

1st March 2011:
i loved this story. it was really good

Author's Response: Thank you so much. It was lovely of you to leave a review, it always makes me smile. Glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login