Reading Reviews for Aurore
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Icouldn'tcomeupwithanawesomename briar rose's tower

10th July 2012:
Like with 'King me': I want MORE! Or, no, leave it like this: not enough information to fully understand, but just enough to keep people wanting MORE.
It takes a skilled writer to do that.

I'd love to look into the mind of one of these 'mystery characters' of yours, by lack of a better term. (I'm talking about Tom Riddle and Scorpius Malfoy kind of persons.) Or a story where several 'mystery characters' meet or something... they fascinate me.
(I'm now going to look through all your stories to see if you wrote one already, otherwise WRITE ONE. No pressure.)
But first I'm gonna read some more of your stories, so expect some more slightly mental reviews.

As for this review... Wonderful job on your oneshot. Like I said, I didn't understand everything but it was just so... beautiful. This story was more than just E flat. It's one of these stories you read out loud just because it sounds nice. (You never do that? Just me then.)
I'm speechless. (>My cue to shut up.)

XXX

 Report Review

Review #2, by Livi_777 briar rose's tower

27th September 2011:
Wow, that is one of the only really well written fanfics I have ever read. All of the others are just well...smut! Nothing makes sense, it's all people dying for romance and attraction, no storyline. This is seriously goood.

 Report Review

Review #3, by MajiKat briar rose's tower

2nd July 2011:
jesus gubby.

i don't even know what to say to this. i have read it what seems like a thousand times, to try and help me figure out the words to tell you how amazing this is and how amazing you are and i am so glad serious!fic is still there, lol (i do love your funny stuff too!!)

this is very special. everything about this is special in a very haunting way - i will remember things about this fic for a long time.

second person. perfect. i think, in first or third, something very beautiful would have been lost. something hypnotic. it was completely necessary for this fic to be in second person.

character. scorpius. just wow. cruel, cold, beautiful...perfect. he terrifies me yet he draws me in. you have this incredible gift when it comes to not only figurative language and the stunning way you play with and twist metaphor, but with dialogue. it is abstract but not at all pointless, it makes me think and yet not overthink because in some way, everything your characters say makes sense within the context of the piece. your work is paced beautifully and contains this gorgeous, gripping rhythm that i wish i could mimic but i can't so i will leave it to people like you and celeste and kali.

there is one line in here that stood out, like it launched itself off the page and screamed at me: A blade stole your lips, revealed the bone.

hjasdkjajgdfjkavbfiuaohsfo *flails*

poetry. and i love it.
this was beautiful!

Kate xx

 Report Review

Review #4, by ClearCutDiamonds briar rose's tower

27th March 2011:
I'm so sorry for taking so long to get to this!

I really liked comparisons drawn from Sleeping Beauty. The sleeping and awake. Also, the towers and the pricking of the finger you mention in the beginning.

The use of second person was really good, too. I liked that for the better half of the beginning, you don't exactly know who the characters are so you can draw your own assumptions and paint your own pictures of the characters. The characterization of Scorpius in this was amazing. I actually really disliked him until the end where he says that she's the only one.

I also really like the description mixed with the second person: "He held up three fingers. They stood in the air like spindly towers. Or spindles. You weren't sure." Just little details like that really enhanced the story.

There were a couple of other lines I really liked: "A wry grimace twisted your face. It cut a slash through where your mouth should have been. A blade stole your lips, revealed the bone." "There was no sound, no heartbeat, no note-just the rhythm of his breaths, a steady stream of stupid things, enthralling things, poisonous dangerous thorns of brilliance piercing you, drawing blood, throwing you to-" And: "The grey skies dotted with bursts of dirty blue, the grass dormant, perhaps dying." I love colour, so I particularly liked that line.

Also, how in the summary it is mentioned that she fears the conversation, I feel like the dialogue really flowed well. I feel like you successfully managed to use second person and that this was really well put together.

Amanda

 Report Review

Review #5, by liza_potter briar rose's tower

17th March 2011:
Holy mother of all things shiny and purple. O_O

Wow.

Correct me if I'm wrong but before Gina corrupted you, for lack of a better word, into the whole fluff/humor/crack!fic thing, this was your usual, yes? And - ILY GINA - but I'm glad she hasn't corrupted you so much that you lost your touch. Because frankly, I think you need many years of therapy for creating a character like Scorpius and a medal of some sort for creating something so very brutal yet beautiful.

I really have no words right now. You've left me speechless. *flails*

So I'll sum up this very, very short review with what was my first reaction after finishing:

Holy mother of all things shiny and purple. O_O

Author's Response: Eeek. Sorry for taking so long to respond, Liza! But to riff off your exclamation -- Holy mother of all things soft and velvety.

You aren't wrong. Before I devolved, with Gina's help, into a world of romcom and morbid curiosity and crackfic, this is a motif/theme/style I did quite a bit. Not that there's anything wrong with crackfic, but I wanted to prove to myself that she hadn't corrupted me completely. So I'm absolutely relieved that I can still pull this stuff out of my head every now and then. ^_^

I can't tell you how amused I was at this: "I think you need many years of therapy for creating a character like Scorpius and a medal of some sort for creating something so very brutal yet beautiful." Just... haha. As I said to Sarah in the response to her review, for subconscious reasons I'm sure a psychologist would have a field day with, I've always been fascinated by characters like this Scorpius. They're more interesting than the Oliver-in-Off-Kilter types, I think. Brutal and beautiful is definitely what I was going for, so... yay. :D

Also, yay for speechless. Another thing I like seeing, even if it does baffle me.

*hug* Thank you so much for this absolutely lovely review, dear! *hug again*


 Report Review

Review #6, by Toujours Padfoot briar rose's tower

14th March 2011:
Wow.

Wow.

.

Kind of at a loss for coherent words here. Sorry if you were expecting a sensible review - but it's your own fault.This was just...absolutely amazing. I loved it.

SCORPIUS. Yes! So imperfect! So cold! So delectable! While I was reading this, I imagined standing there, in place of Dominique. Your power with second-person is brilliant - I was transported to this tower up in the sky. And everything else was just washed in this wispy white, and it was nothing but Dominique and Scorpius. And I was Dominique.

And it was lovely. Brutally, brutally lovely.

I could feel all of her longing for him, her craving for him to want her as much as she wanted him. I felt that clinging desperation for him to fill her up and make her whole and alive, and his resistance to do so. I felt Scorpius's desire to keep her at arm's length, and his twisted way of keeping her always wanting more - never surrendering himself. Right there under his thumb, squirming. He refused to satisfy her, or acknowledge that he wasn't satisfying her. And then at the very end - when we are positive he is giving in, you slip that wry grimace in there. His true colors, still spinning, still somehow resisting. Your characterization is truly something to be admired.

You are a god with imagery. And your wording - it's like this long, continuous poem. It just flows like water and I love it. The musical notes were perfect, as well - all of the crescendo and E flat. The harmony of all that just wove in and out of your story so well.

Favorite bits:

He had an arsenal up his sleeve, under his tongue, and he knew how to work his way under your skin, although he had barely ever touched it.

You wanted his words pouring in your ears like honey in milk, like water in a rose-stalk, like blood pooling on a spindle.

Those were grey. Nebulous. Wisps of cloud, of conversation, never able to congeal into something solid.

But I contradict myself, because everything was my favorite bit. It was just magically beautiful in every way. The intrigue, the heartbeats, the corruption and acid rain and kisses. The finally waking up to a tower that's emptier than you realize.

10/10

Author's Response: ...

Eek.

Eek eek eek eek.

This review intimidates me because I haven't had one like it for awhile and I usually wait months, if not years, to respond to them, but it's a sign of how excited I was about this that I'm responding so (relatively) quickly. So.

For subconscious reasons that I'm sure a psychologist would have a field day with, I've always been fascinated by writing characters like this Scorpius. Enigmatic, magnetic personalities that have a way of drawing the girl in without her wanting to be pulled in.

I'm absolutely relieved that the second person suits the story, though! I always thought it was more intimate than the other POVs. It doesn't have to be forceful, but I'm glad you found yourself in Dominique's place anyway. It's not a happy place at all, so getting there is difficult and hurray that you felt /there/ :D

"Brutally lovely" -- absolutely what I was going for, when I realized what this was turning into. Dominique's obsession with him, her reaction to him, her distrust but need for him was really the driving force of the story. As much as Scorpius fascinates me, it's what he inspires that creates the story as it is. Absolutely, he never wants to surrender to her, but he can make her happy. He knows that. Sometimes he does. But is it worth it? He likes her, admires her in his way, but as she realizes, that isn't a way at all.

"I felt that clinging desperation for him to fill her up and make her whole and alive, and his resistance to do so" -- that intrigued me, because Dominique actually vacillates on that point a lot. At some points, she doesn't want him to "fill her up," but rather, she wants him to see that she isn't an empty vessel he can prune and grow as he wants. Sometimes, Dominique feels like she's fighting to prove that she is alive. Other times, she is so overwhelmed by him that she feels empty, and in those cases, she wants to prove herself worthy of being filled. Does that make sense? That's the way I thought of her throughout, as she struggles to come to terms with who she is, who he is, and who they are, in a "together" sense.

The ending was originally much more blunt, actually. There was no smirk that we saw. It ended with "Only you" and Dominique saying that she is awake. It was never a tender moment, as Dominique thinks it is, but putting in the smirk and everything hopefully made that much clearer.

Honestly, this piece was really an exercise to see if I still "had it in me" to do this sort of imagery. Not that there's anything wrong with morbidcuriosity romcom and satirical romcom, but I've been doing it a lot, so I wanted to prove to myself that I hadn't devolved so much that I couldn't pull this off (not that there's anything wrong with romcom at all!). But yeah, I'm so, so relieved that it worked and had its flow. There are a lot of motifs, now that I think about it, so I'm glad they didn't overpower the fic. And all those lines are rather poignant for me, especially the second one, which I made up off the top of my head to solidify the ending for Celeste. But yes. So happy it all stuck out for you in such a way.

Just... eek. This review. Sarah, you are a goddess of ego-boost and I can't thank you enough. *hug*


 Report Review

Review #7, by ericajen briar rose's tower

6th March 2011:
OHMYGODGUBBY.

I adore this. This is amazing. I lovelovelove this.

But I'm not good at being meaningful or profound so please forgive this review for being so inadequate. I thought it was really beautiful, though. The characters were so perfect for the story.

Basically, I am in such awe of you that I have nothing else to say.

SO THERE. BYE.

Author's Response: OH, ERICA.

I adore this review. It (and you) amazes me. I don't know how you can just readreadread like this, but I'm glad that you included me in your spree and just... wow. The review is not at all inadequate because really, it's the reaction that matters to me and seeing this is just... eek. Thank you, thank you so much.

LOVES YOU.


 Report Review

Review #8, by TenthWeasley briar rose's tower

6th March 2011:
Hello! This is TenthWeasleyWriter from the forums with your requested review! ^^ I'm very glad to hear you liked my reviews on your novella! And, while I'm at it - I love the banner for this story!

You have such a beautiful way with language, and that particularly shines through in this piece. Your words aren't merely telling a story, but they are painting a picture, and a very vivid picture at that. They were such a pleasure to read because they just flowed so well in my head, it hardly felt like reading at all. I hope you understand what I am trying to say, because I think this is an amazing thing to be able to do!

I don't think anything was taken away in the choice to use second person, and you wrote it very well - I know from personal experience how hard it is to write second person, and commend you for being able to do it so well. =] The pairing was also really, really cool, because there aren't many fics you are able to base yours off of, and as a result you brought something entirely your own to the archives. Very well done!

Thank you for reuqesting in my thread, and I hope you found this review satisfactory. =] Please feel free to return any time!

OPERATION: Green With Envy

Author's Response: First -- isn't the banner lovely? All credit to those geniuses at TDA. Because without them, I wouldn't waste a lot of the time I do staring at their galleries and UFG threads and... ahem.

I hadn't written like this in quite a long time, so it's so wonderful to hear that I haven't lost my touch or anything. Storytelling is my favorite part about writing, to be honest, but painting a picture and a world for the reader to live in is vastly important and I'm so glad it came across in this particular fic. Thank you so much.

Second person, I think, is vastly underused because it seems off-putting to a lot of people. I happen to think it's more intimate than first and less standoffish than third, but I hadn't written it in... again, for a long time, so it's so relieving to hear that I can still write this sort of fic. The pairing was actually up in the air for a long time in my head -- my immediate thought was Sirius/Lily, then Tom/Minerva, but I settled on Dominique/Scorpius because the French title made a little more sense with her name.

This review was more than satisfactory, it was wonderful! Thank you so much for stopping by! :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by Miss B briar rose's tower

27th February 2011:
This is a beautiful story. I didn't know what to expect exactly when I started reading it, and it turned out to be the story of a relationship I very recently ended. I particularly liked these sentences: "That was the day you learned that though he could, he would not fight for you." Of course, being in the position that I am in now, I didn't like the outcome of the ending, but literarily it was an excellent one that perfectly brought everything full circle. Honestly reading this helped me. It might be a strange thing to say, but thank you for writing this story.

Author's Response: Oh, wow, thank you so much. I can't imagine actually being in the sort of place Dominique inhabits in this story, but I'm so happy that it worked and was realistic. That line you pointed out was particularly poignant, I think, and a real turning point for Dominique. I understand that you didn't like the ending, but I'm glad it worked nonetheless. Also -- I'm so, so flattered and honored that this helped you. I'd say "you're welcome," but that sounds weird, so I'll stick to "thank you ever so much, this was such a wonderful review and I truly appreciate it."

 Report Review

Review #10, by Ellerina briar rose's tower

26th February 2011:
It's funny, because you said that this is like a dark 'Unravelling' but I never once thought that wile reading this. It is an entity in itself.

The language you used, and I know I don't really need to tell you this because it was on purpose, it's enchanting. It sets such a mood and my god, I just drank it all in like it was water.

He did not lick his words like melting ice cream. He wanted the drops to fall on you. He wanted sugar to nestle on your skin and he wanted it to stick.

You would need soap after this.
I think this was my favorite. I also loved how you used dirty snow later in almost the same way and the combination of the two really made a contrast that is hard to put into words.

The references to Sleeping Beauty also really made for such an interesting tone. That, combined with the really blunt dialogue and the enigmatic characters, the colors are so bright, but it's all behind a layer of murky grey that makes it hard to make out.

THE END. MY GOD. I DON'T EVEN. GAH. THE END. *flails* I don't have words. Really. I just wrote some stuff out and then had to erase it because it was rubbish trying to describe how much I liked the end. Just know that I really really really -- ugh, well. Anyway. You know.

lovelovelove and sorry for my wordlessness.

Annie

Author's Response: You know how they say that there are no original stories, how everything falls into some certain character journey or trope? I wholeheartedly subscribe to that, especially with my recent fics, but I'm so flattered that you could distinguish this as its own (entity -- love that word).

It's been a while since I've written like this -- serious, second-person, etc -- so honestly, I'm just glad Gina hasn't corrupted me so much that I've lost my touch. (ILYGINA). I said that this fic would eat me alive, and the style was why. And that section was one of the ones I really did like so yay. Although I didn't realize I used the melting snow the same way later, I see it now so thank you! (See? I recycle concepts like whoa. Bad Gubby.)

The Sleeping Beauty references kind of came out of nowhere. Once I realized it was a reference at all, I slapped on AURORE as a title (it's French which meant I forced Dominique into the role, although I was also considering Minerva and Lily Evans). But ooh, that whole "colors are so bright, but it's all behind a layer of murky grey" -- so perfect. GAH. Why are reviews invariably more eloquent than the fic?

Teehee, thank Celeste for the ending! It was originally much more blunt and yet ambiguous, because you don't see Scorpius' expression or anything. And it took awhile to rework it so I'm beyond relieved that it worked.

Just... aghhh. How does this happen? Annie, thank you so so so so much, I love you, you're incredible, etc. *heart*


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login