Reading Reviews for etc. etc. (and life goes on)
  
986 Reviews Found

Review #1, by LittleMissPrincess V-Day D-Day

25th April 2015:
"I just need him to understand. You know what it's likeóAl does it, too." She shakes her head. "They think they have it hard, the boys. Believing there must be better people hiding under our skins, and by God, it's up to them to uncover us. They put us on pedestals and they get angry when we don't sit still."


that was amazing

 Report Review

Review #2, by Irene A Kingdom For My Name

24th April 2015:
I was going to say you should totally do this as an original story--so I'm SO glad you're deciding to do that! It's amazing, honestly. Really happy for you:)

Pertaining to the story: I just love Al Potter. 'Nuff said. :)

Can't wait for the next update! You're a great writer! xx

 Report Review

Review #3, by my_voice_rising A Kingdom For My Name

23rd April 2015:
Hiya! I wanted to leave an actual review instead of just a tumblr ask... I read this chapter on my break at work and it was all I had time for huehuehue.

This is seriously your best writing! You can really tell that you put a lot of thought into making every single word count, and move the plot along. A couple phrases that stuck with me are Here, with only each other to want, we kiss and kiss until it could fill a language. Here, we make sense, and I want fame; I'm fame's girlfriend. The way that Clemence has fallen for him is so wonderful too. You've done what everyone tries to do in fic--the accidental falling in love with your enemy--and done it so wonderfully!

I have to say that part of me thought/wanted (still wants?) the last scene to actually be Pickett and not Albus! Though I blame that on the Clickett tumblr graphics ;)

Seriously Gina, you should be so proud. This is really amazing writing. Can't wait for the next!

Author's Response: Eeee thank you! I agonized over SO. MANY. WORDS. this time, like I totally forgot how to write. One punctuation at a time *pats typing muscles*

"fallen for him" ;) DEPENDS.

And I will say cryptically for the readers reading reviews: BUT WHERE ARE ALL THOSE CLICKETT SCENES I SUPPOSEDLY WROTE? THE CLAPPY SCENES? Oh, this is just the lull before mobs. Pitchforks and ships will rain from the heavens. No umbrella will help you next chapter.

♥!!


 Report Review

Review #4, by JasmineTheNotMentionedPolishWeasley A Kingdom For My Name

23rd April 2015:
Found this story only yesterday, and I really couldn't tear my eyes from the screen. Just brilliant! All of the characters, ideas, plot twists, Rita Skitter, the Witchy Business! I mean, it's just perfect, maybe a little bit too cynical at times, but I don't mind, being a devoted cynic and all (ok, so maybe I'm not a cynic like Clemence, but a girl can hope, right?) By the way, I'm in love with the story, can I marry it? Or better, can I marry Henry? I guess he wouldn't mind, as me and Dominique seem to be very much alike.
I hope that you'll find the time to work on and publish the next chapter asap, meanwhile, give poor Barny the Owl my wishes of best luck.
PS. I'm sorry for any mistakes I've made. English is not my first language, but I'm trying!
PS.2 +12 language for Mature Story reviews is just absurd.
PS.3 Listening to the Dead Language Band would be the most awesome thing ever, even if I'm not a pro in latin.

Author's Response: I wouldn't hope to be a cynic like Clemence (especially since hope is such a rare thing for a cynic), but I am who I am, and if that is terribly acerbic at times, well then. And everyone wants a piece of Henry now 8D he's wondering where this was during his six other years at Hogwarts. He's probably scarred after confronting Dom and causing a ruckus with Team Hen-NOs. No marriage for him for awhile, I think.

Thank you so much for reading! You have excellent English, by the way c:


 Report Review

Review #5, by Kayla A Kingdom For My Name

22nd April 2015:
I was SO HAPPY when I saw this update!! I would have danced with joy except I'm in math class... Your writing style is amazing and satirical and this story is basically everything I aspire to be as a writer. Thank you for the update 💗💗

Author's Response: Eee I'm glad! Thank you for reading! c:

 Report Review

Review #6, by thegreatcatsby A Kingdom For My Name

22nd April 2015:
EET EEZ THE GREAT CATSBY. I AM BACK.
/throws cape back with a flourish
/gets it stuck on a tree branch
/spends next 5 minutes untangling

This chapter! Though I may be reading way too much into it, I don't see good things for Clembus as they are right now, at least. They both have WAY too many issues (REALISTIC. I APPROVE.) and though there was romance(-ish), you were putting up so many red flags that I am glad that bulls do not read HPFF. Otherwise, they would have smashed the screen of my clunky laptop which was purchased with the last of my savings, a single poetic tear, and my soul.

"under his moonstruck gaze, I might pass for an angel." RED WORSHIPPY FLAG ALERT
"Here [alone, basically], we make sense." RED FLAG
"if the image of his goddess hasn't quite faded." RED VELVET CUPCAKES
"My name floods his breath; he drowns in it. I've seen enough to know how he fixates. I am just one in a long line of addictions, from firewhiskey to fixing the unfixable." RED FIRE HYDRANTS
"This is love. This is it. This is... it." RED TOMATOES
"He loves me like he's afraid to lose me, and he's more afraid of losing me than he hates me." LOBSTERS

tl;dr I had too many red velvet cupcakes today and am amped up with the stress of starting a story /blows into paper bag

and Hogwarts on Hormones [12+], that is all

Author's Response: OMG YAAAS. THANK YOU GREAT CATSBY YOU HAVE MADE MY NIGHT.

I'm just going to imagine you in the background of every scene, waving a snapping lobster in the background every time a red flag is waved. Just a party of waving snapping lobsters as Clemence angsts. Clickclickclickclickclick.

I did, for awhile, think I was going crazy because I swore this chapter was supposed to be miserable. I'll leave it up to reader interpretation but cough, that's a lot of lobsters. I will say that there is certainly a lot of language that seems to say their romance works in a vacuum and that Clemence really isn't happy. There is like, zero happiness in this chapter so ??? I'll withdraw the pitchforks and hand them back out next chapter I guess :'D Following Clemence's footsteps and falling to the QGA mob.

♥ for your well-read red


 Report Review

Review #7, by IN POST DELIRIUM A Kingdom For My Name

22nd April 2015:
asdlkjfjlkdakljfdjkadjlkfd ah I CHECKED ETC SO OFTEN THIS WHOLE YEAR YOU HAVE NO IDEA I ALMOST DIED WHEN IT SAID THAT YOU actually UPDATED!! :D :D :D *cries* [on a scale of 1-Appy how melodramatic am I]

Author's Response: YOU ARE MAYBE SEVEN-TENTHS APPY. Let us not underestimate how Appy Appy can be. You do not want to go full Appy.

 Report Review

Review #8, by GubraithianFire A Kingdom For My Name

22nd April 2015:
I thought I'd do what I did for Capers and only review the last chapter with final thoughts and congratulations and all (and end up accidentally reviewing the second to last chapter because I thought it was the last chapter...), but that might not happen for TWO YEARS so I'll list out my feels now. Because I have feels. And they are not the ones I think a lot of readers hoped they would be at this point, so close to the end, but they are worth mentioning anyhow, so I can look back on this and shake my head at my past self. You know nothing, Gubby. The one thing I DO know is that I am horrible at formal reviewing now, so I might as well get back into the swing of that too, before I do have to somehow gather myself and write a final farewell review.

We've learned something about savagery since - holy bathtub scene, Batman, they certainly have. For all its absolutely horrendous connotations, savagery is so the perfect word for these two and their love. You know I have my ship in this story, but you never fail to make me question that shippy conviction even for a few moments, because God, are Albus and Clemence perfect for each other. Theirs is a kind of terrible, awesome (even awful?) love and I kind of adore it. Especially because Clemence knows exactly how awful it is. This is... it. This is what we've been building towards for 21 chapters... and we get an ellipsis. It's almost cruel. No, it is cruel. Which is what makes it amazing.

Clemence's retelling of her own story in that italicized fairytale portion versus what she thinks is the reality is also super telling. She resists the easy, trope-y reading of every possible story, even her own, and her eagerness to downplay her ~heroism~ is so typical, it hurts. God forbid Clemence Fitzgerald be the romantic hero leaping over baddies to save the fainting love interest. But this is who she's supposed to be now. And the unease she has with that role and everything she's being told she is - a gruff but heart-of-gold heroine, the ice queen melting because of luuurve - is so brilliantly underlined by her conversation with Dom and Janey. But we aren't the problem, she tells them: that's so purely Clemence that it comes across as kind of venomous. What on earth could Clemence Fitzgerald, of all people, stand to learn from the rabble that blindly idolizes her and the story she's fallen into by accident (or so she's desperate to believe)? Her answer, we learn, is nothing. Even in this period of supreme discomfort and disillusionment and, now that I think about it, sheer disgust with the role of Potter's girlfriend, she doesn't know that she needs to learn and grow.

Instead she's so desperate to not learn and not change that she'll back herself into a bomb shelter-esque space in the heart of a giant magical stone castle, and block out everyone and everything that unsettles her, even slightly. That line, I care enough to pretend that I care, that's such a rare feeling to see articulated, and it really resonated with me for reasons, but it's so great because it explains Clemence's attitude towards almost everything. And increasingly, it seems, her attitude towards Albus. Love (particularly their love) is so far from being her fairytale end-all/be-all that it could be scary for what it means for Clembus.

Albus isn't faring much better than her in this love-as-goddess-worship/love-as-obliteration-of-self point of view, but he's trying. Or is he? Idk, I vacillate on what I think of him depending on how hot he is in a particular scene, but he isn't super into growth either, is he? And why would he be, if he has now everything he wanted?

Anyway: it's kind of remarkable how Clemence has blocked herself into a corner actually by obtaining more nominal power/scope than she had before and thereby potentially widening the horizons of her own possibility. She's stuck in a dungeon because she won a kingdom, and just as importantly, because she won the king. You know how I love those kinds of arcs for the cruel, quick-witted characters I like to write and read about, and it's being executed so well here it gives me chills to think about.

I cannot wait for the descent. It's going to be messy and possibly heartrending, but it's only a matter of time.

(Not a year, though. Please not a year).

 Report Review

Review #9, by teamclem A Kingdom For My Name

21st April 2015:
YES BRILLIANT LOVE IT YOUR WRITING NEVER DISAPPOINTS! clementine's emotions are scattered and enigmatic - surprise! clembus is absolutely my favorite ship and i dearly hope theyre still together two chapters from now. speaking of, i cant believe the journey will be over in just TWO chapters! where else will i eagerly check back for updates when this is over? anyway, im gushing/rambling now so again thanks for the update! my day = made

Author's Response: CLEMENTINE? oh she is sideeyeing you severely right now.

...and you can certainly hope! ;D you all are making MY day!



 Report Review

Review #10, by teamclem A Kingdom For My Name

21st April 2015:
OH MY GOD YES YES YES I HAVE BEEN CHECKING BACK ALMOST EVERY DAY AND I AM SO EXCITED FOR THIS CHAPTER!!! (got so happty that i typed this up before reading. will report back after i actually read the masterpiece)

Author's Response: \o/ THE TIME HAS COME.

 Report Review

Review #11, by greenbirds A Kingdom For My Name

21st April 2015:
i'm buuuzzing. the messiah of hpff has come down. it's a new dawn. i am seriously so excited i had to re-read this three times over because i could not stop skimming with excitement. oh my!! clem!! albus!! rita!! happy endings!! sarcastic self-loathing humour!! where do i begin?
you are amazing. i am always looking at your work for inspiration and help both in and outside hpff. i littterally recommend etc, etc to all my friends, even those who stopped being into harry potter aged, like, 9.
so cool. so great. sorry this review is all gushing. i am BEAMING. you ROCK ♥ ♥

Author's Response: YOU FLATTER ME. Crossing my fingers that I don't end up like the last messiah.

Thank you so much for reading!! It means the world that this fic can inspire; more anti-heroines for the world, yes please!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Queen of Nerds A Kingdom For My Name

21st April 2015:
I adore your writing and this story would be fabulous as and original. I've never laughed so hard!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! c:

 Report Review

Review #13, by FP A Kingdom For My Name

21st April 2015:
GINA.
I am simultaneously shocked but much more so EXCITED!!! that you updated. How long has it been? way too long. I decide to randomly open HPFF tonight in an effort to procrastinate on my essay and this is what waits for me in recently added? WHAT IS THIS GOOD FORTUNE

The irony of this ending is slaying me. That last line, "I have everything I never wanted," is decimating. Wow. Granted it's been a while since I've read the entirety of etc etc but Clemence is now embracing everything she denounced in the beginning, I think? Do I detect character growth??! (yay for character growth!)

Also, when did Clembus get so hot?!?! i love it

(hope this isn't too weird because we haven't talked for 3-4 years now but) just wanted to let you know that I am /always/ a big fan of yours!! & I am excited for etc etc to finally reach its well deserved ending.

lub from someone 2 lazy to log on < 3
j

Author's Response: JORDAN IS THAT YOU??? OMG OMG OMG YOU'RE ALIIIVE. *I* AM NOW EXCITED BY JUST YOU STOPPING BY! HOW ARE YOU? TELL ME THINGS. THIS IS NOT THE PLACE FOR THAT, BUT I DON'T CAAARE. LIFE, ESSAYS, LACK OF ESSAYING, TELL ME IT ALLL.

:D Ahem. The actual review.

The last lineee. I hope it cuts like a knife. It is a very bitter line. Clemence has definitely grown but I think she's a long way from embracing that growth. In these early stages, emotions are very much a weakness, because she hasn't learned to cope with them. It's all whirlwind, no ground. There isn't a tangible benefit.

IT WAS ALWAYS HOT. AVERT YOUR EYES.

♥ time is but a number. Message me whenever if you're ever bored or not-essaying! The forums are lacking without you~


 Report Review

Review #14, by AlexFan A Kingdom For My Name

21st April 2015:
When I saw your post on tumblr I was very tempted to just tossy homework and head for your fic but I managed to wait until I finished before reading this. IT HAS BEEN SO LONG AND WOW this actually did not fail to bring it. It's a nice way to come back from a year of not writing with a AND YOU THOUGHT THINGS WERE FINE.

Clemence acting like she doesn't care but we all know that deep down inside she cares so much that she has to convince herself that she doesn't just so she won't get hurt. Either that or she really doesn't care. Your life sounds super busy at the moment but I'm so excited for the next chapter and then the epilogue oh my goodness!

Author's Response: IT HAS BEEN TOO LONG. The worries of writing a satisfying ending have not gone away. Oh no, they've skyrocketed.

Clemence + emotions = OTP, amirite. I always like to say that the only emotions Clemence feels are the REALLY STRONG ones, because, well, she can't feel the unworthy ones. So she's either totally flippant or the world's imploded.

Thank you!!


 Report Review

Review #15, by happyanon A Kingdom For My Name

20th April 2015:
oh my lord. god bless this holy earth and everything that is alive. AN UPDATE. AN. UPDATE. I nearly cried. I LOVED IT. OH MY GOD. HOW MUCH I LOVE THIS STORY, THIS UPDATE, IS JUST MASSIVE LOVE. COLOSSAL. CLEMENCE AND ALBUS. I BLUSHED JUST READING THE FIRST PART. LIKE BRIGHT RED AND YOU KNOW I COME FROM A TROPICAL COUNTRY SO IM A BIT TAN BLUSHING IS DIFFICULT FOR ME PERSONALLY AS WELL SO YEAH WHAT AN ACHIEVEMENT. I think It shouldn't matter where people would like the story to end. its yours besides people will still read it till the end because 1. The ClemBus Ship is not to be messed with! They have a huge following and also, people are curios anyway plus 5 chapters in and its already 600◊ better than Twilight saga, how that ever got the popularity it did is beyond me. Sorry vampire fans.. or no, not really. And when you publish your original story I hope they are made available in asian countries as well. Id want a copy please. I can't believe 2 more and we are finally done with ClemBus, Dom, Henry, Scorpius and all the other crazies. I just want to say in advance how much i truly love this story and how I am so glad I waited its update. It got thru very terrible times and despite her faults, Clemence is a very inspirational character. I look forward to the last 2 chapters anf of your future work. Much love! Xoxo

Author's Response: STEAMY FROM THE GET-GO.

Bahaha, I'm much more concerned about where people stand with ships. I know it's a hot issue. Many many teams. People are bound to get disappointed. I would never budge from writing the story how it's meant to be written, but I'm terrified just the same.

If I ever publish my OF, I certainly hope I can get big enough to publish in other countries 8D

Thank you so much for reading! It warms me to think of Clemence as an inspirational character. She may be terrible, but her strengths and flaws are so intertwined. The things that make her terrible can be admired the next day.


 Report Review

Review #16, by thegreatcatsby A Kingdom For My Name

20th April 2015:
OHMIGOD ITS UP ITS UP ITS UP

IKAFJDSKL;FJSDKL;FJDLS;KFJSIDq92p3o4iwerafjks l;JLGK;JEOIAPW4EO ;ISDFZKNDLSFJ FLS;JAWRJOPESLFK:

/opens ninety more tabs and loads sketchy websites
/continues freaking out like mindless fangirl (hehe)
/squirts mustard on my shirt to write a G

TEAM GINA!

THANK YOU FOR UPDATING AND WRITING THIS! I really appreciate it.

Author's Response: IT IS UP, THE GREAT CATSBY. IT IS UP. SMASH THAT KEYBOARD. GET THOSE VIRUSES. BUY A NEW SHIRT.

 Report Review

Review #17, by glw V-Day D-Day

19th April 2015:
I'm so sorry it took me so long to reply, but I was the one who wrote the slightly vicious (alright totally vicious) review a couple weeks ago, and I want to apologize profusely for it. I read your reply and I didn't realize how thickheaded I was being. Of course this isnt your only thing to do! You have a life outside of writing fanfiction (which is a hobby) and I completely overlooked that and I feel absolutely awful and I'm sorry. You really dont have to prove anything to me or anyone and I'd be happy with anything you wrote, anytime. I am so sorry for being so rude and overlooking!

Author's Response: Thanks for apologizing; I totally get the frustration and the internet makes disconnect easy, and I really appreciate that you understand. All of my readers are very important to me and I shouldn't make promises I can't keep, but at the same time, those same promises are what keeps me going. I do believe it's a writer's responsibility to be timely as well. I'm glad for fan fiction and the community being here, so I can learn before these kind of mistakes matter much more.

No hard feelings at all :)


 Report Review

Review #18, by Hmm V-Day D-Day

18th April 2015:
I love this story! You write it so convicingly and so well that you've got me thinking like a ruthless reporter and that teenage girls normally act like bloodthirsty sharks:P I've been pulled in, like a tragedy or something...

Can't wait for the next chapter:)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! It's so fun writing this universe; everything's so DRAMATIC and outrageous. I'm glad you like it!

 Report Review

Review #19, by Basilisk89 V-Day D-Day

13th April 2015:
You're story is so amazing. I am in love with all of the witty banter that goes on in the story! I've been checking back everyday to see if there is a new update. Do you think the next chapter will be up soon? Oh please pretty please with a cherry on top and sprinkles and hot fudge and whatever else you might like on a sundae!

Author's Response: Aww, thank you! I'm in edit mode for the update. It's half of what I meant to post, but the other half is coming up soon, too!

 Report Review

Review #20, by randomnickname Green for Queen

3rd April 2015:
aaah, that familiar feeling when you ook at the clock and suddenly it's almost 5 a.m.
This is excellent, no comments, you've got true wit and grit

Author's Response: Thank you! :3 I'm glad you made it this far. I hope you like the few that remain. I'm going to update with a new chapter soon!

 Report Review

Review #21, by randomnickname Everyone Wants Me (Dead)

3rd April 2015:
Ooh, that's really rock'n'roll. On my funny funerals wish list, "death by fans" just made it to the top. Incredible scene, thrilled for more too come (10 chapters to go, hurray)
Thanks author!

Author's Response: That's a violent death, just warning you ;) Close to drawn and quartering.

 Report Review

Review #22, by randomnickname Kiss Me Twice, Shame On Me

3rd April 2015:
Aand again it's 1 A.M and you've got me hanging. Excellent entertainment, congrats!

Author's Response: Ooh, dare I keep you til 2? Read more, read more!

 Report Review

Review #23, by randomnickname Things Potter Can Do with a Vivid Imagination

3rd April 2015:
My, my, my! Classy, bity, funny. I do really like where this is getting to.

Author's Response: Thanks! I think I'm catching you as you read this, so I hope you like the rest!

 Report Review

Review #24, by teamclem V-Day D-Day

31st March 2015:
oh my gosh no dont feel the need to prove anything!! your writing is so brilliant and wonderful as it is, and im sure everyone will be happy to have to the next chapter no matter what

Author's Response: Aw thanks, you're too sweet. I've got one section of the chapter left, but I'm moving over the next few days, so hopefully I can post after all this April Fools madness!

 Report Review

Review #25, by teamclem V-Day D-Day

27th March 2015:
Dang that last review was really demanding...just wanna say that we readers support you and eagerly await the next chapter! Your writing is brilliant and I can't wait to see where Clem and Albus go next :)

Author's Response: Aw, thanks. I'm a bit terrified of the next chapter because I essentially have to prove that the wait was worth it, and I know not everyone's going to be happy with the tone of it. Such! Angst!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>