26 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Jen St. Mungo’s

16th February 2013:
Loved it. I thought it fit into the timeline fairly well and could probably have been part of your main story rather than an outtake... but I do understand why it's here.
Great chapter... thanks for sharing the extra bits - they round out the story beautifully. :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by seekers_destiny St. Mungo’s

10th February 2013:
That was a very nice outtake. A lot of Remus/Tonks, some Sirius/Mia, a dash of Harry/Ginny and just a hint of moping Izzy. Everyone seemed in character and the banter of old friends was all very good.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Hope's Mom St. Mungo’s

10th February 2013:
This chapter was such a gem! I loved Tonks' first words to Remus. "I want to hex you so badly right now." Izzy's "punishment" is simply insane - far to complicated. No wonder Sirius enjoyed creating it so much. Thank you so much for this window into Remus' recovery - I am looking forward to the epilogue.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Domo Godric's Hollow

27th October 2012:
I really like Quinn there should be more of her (:

Author's Response: Sorry for the late response - she'll make an appearance in the epilogue :D
Anne


 Report Review

Review #5, by Regina Godric's Hollow

14th July 2012:
Oh my goodness. This was /amazing/. I loved the Snape bit, I love seeing how you see into his mind. It was so touching, too. The family dynamic is very interesting, I like how Dudley turned out. I've gotten very used to canon lately, so reading "Maybe Sirius Black" made me think that they didn't remember that he'd died...And then I remembered that in your story, he's still alive. :-) It was very pleasant. I really hope to see more of Quinn and Snape (not necessarily together, of course). This was really wonderful.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm really happy you liked it! A bit of insight on Snape was needed since he's not portayed in the best light though everyone else's eyes...
Sirius is certainly alive and kicking over at the main story, whose next chapter is currently on queue.
Not sure if I'll be able to fit more Snape and Quinn into the story...
Glad you liked it, though,
Anne


 Report Review

Review #6, by Hope's Mom Godric's Hollow

9th July 2012:
It was so sweet (and sad) to see Snape interacting with Quinn. He was very patient with such a small child! I love how protective Dudley is of Quinn. It was nice to see Petunia more motherly with her young daughter - it seemed earlier as if she didn't care very much about Quinn. Thank you for the new out take - it was great.

Author's Response: As Snape said, he doesn't like children very much. He liked Lily, though, in any shape or form, so he would never dare mistreating a child so undeniably similar to her right next to her grave, either she was real or not.
Dudley said it all when he told Petunia she cared about Quinn inn her own twisted way. She loves her daughter but, more than anything, she resents her for being magic like Lily was. As much as she resents her, though, the thought of losing her would bring out those motherly feelings she rejects most of the time.
More from the main story should be up very soon,
Anne


 Report Review

Review #7, by Jen Godric's Hollow

8th July 2012:
OMG, I absolutely loved this. Can I just say that Dudley ROCKS! Good on him for sticking up for his little sister - amazing how your perspective changes when someone relies on you.
So proud of Petunia too.
As for Quinn... what an amazing little lady she is. I hope you continue to update about them on occasion.
Loved it loved it loved it. Can't wait for your next chapter. :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm rather fond of this Dudley as well. Basically, I think it's the age gap between him and Quinn that led to him changing. By the time his parents started mistreating Quinn, he was already old enough to understand that was wrong unlike Harry, who was his age and Dudley had seen mistreated their whole lives, leading it to become 'normal' in his head. Add that to Quinn really being the only one in the family who didn't expect from him more than he could give and she ended up becoming his anchor, whom he'd protect from anything, their parents included.
Petunia is finally starting to realize that she can't have both: her children and a 'perfect life' as far as her neighbours can see. In the end, she may be weak but she made the right choice.
I don't think you'll be hearing more from the Dursleys until the epilogue (at least Quinn and Dudley should be making an appearance there).
More from the main story should be up in a few days - there were a few validation issues due to a failure of mine...
Anne


 Report Review

Review #8, by seekers_destiny Godric's Hollow

8th July 2012:
I sure didn't see this coming. It's odd that they would take refuge even briefly in a place associated with the first war with Voldemort but I suppose they might do it if they had a secure safehouse there and apparently they did. I'm glad you are breaking the children away from Vernon and hopefully Petunia will shape up. It was nice to meet Quinn again and since Dudley has turned into a good big brother, it was even nice to read about him too. The real surprise was Snape and I really liked your portrayal of him. I had imagined that he must have felt at the end of his rope many a time and you did a great job of portraying his feelings. Amazingly, it was even nice to read about Snape.

errata:
She nodded faintly in response in response,
She nodded faintly in response,

She didn’t take it, anymore. Now they were fighting about her.
She couldn’t take it anymore, now they were fighting about her.

That fact alone draw her towards it
That fact alone drew her towards it

She watched as Quinn took her brother’s hand and walk away
She watched as Quinn took her brother’s hand and walked away

Author's Response: I know - it was a bit of a dilemma to put them or not to put them in Godric's Hollow. In the end I figured that, well, that would pretty much be the last place anyone would expect them to be, which in theory would make it reasonably safe (in *theory*).
This was basically the moment when the Dursleys ceased being the Durdleys - they took a stand, even Petunia, against the main source of hatred they had, which was Vernon. Now, maybe that will last, maybe it won't but, in any case, Vernon knows he can't have his way now...
I understand I am sometimes a bit harsh when portraying Snape through someone else's eyes since he's basically the only one who's aware of his real intentions, which has to be excruciating, when he needs to pretend to be on the bad guys' side 24/7. A little insight, seemed to be in order.
More from the main story will come soon - a mistake from my part got it rejected from queue (that's what happens when one decides to post at 3-something in the morning and doesn't remember to edit certain parts...) but it has already been re-submitted.
Anne


 Report Review

Review #9, by Hope's Mom Someone did a Bad, Bad Thing

15th April 2012:
This is such a touching outtake. Fred and George are such close friends and brothers - they are lucky to have each other. Tonks advice is spot on and she is certainly an appropriate one to give that advice. The bit on canoodling at the end is really funny. I look forward to reading more about Izzy and George. Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Hope's Mom 10 Steps to Unwillingly Become a Bridesmaid

15th April 2012:
So funny! Izzy does so well with her baby brother (and her father) but completely loses it when it comes to being in the wedding. Of course it is all George's fault! They are cute together. Thanks for this outtake!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Hope's Mom Not Meant to Happen

15th April 2012:
This was great! Remus, who is usually so level headed, is such an idiot here. Go Harry! Thank you for writing this enlightening outtake!

 Report Review

Review #12, by seekers_destiny Someone did a Bad, Bad Thing

1st January 2012:
I never expected so much talk of feelings between the twins but then I guess they do have to be serious sometimes. As much as I liked the twins conversation though, it was topped by the Tonks/twins conversation. Although she was a bit melodramatic at times, I really liked how she handled herself with the twins. She also gives excellent advice. Overall, this is an excellent examination of George's thoughts about Izzy.

errata:
costumers
customers

To put it simple,
To put it simply,


how rather wished he’d stayed silent
now rather wished he’d stayed silent

This is a reputed establishment
This is a reputable establishment

had put some sense into her
had put some sense into you

And ultimately he was looking forward to lose.
And ultimately he was looking forward to losing.

Author's Response: I apologize so profusely about this really long delay. I am slowly loosing my mind with group assignments where no one but me actually works...
Anyway, nope, talking about feeling is defenitely not something the twins would do in a regular basis but, if that's what it takes for George to get his mind out of the gutter, Fred will tackle it without a thought.
Blame Tonks' drama on pregnancy and frustration. But her past experiences have really given her a good position to give advice on age-gap-afflicted relationships.
I'm glad you liked it overall,
Anne


 Report Review

Review #13, by divess Someone did a Bad, Bad Thing

1st January 2012:
There it is. Out in the open for George to have to acknowledge. Bad luck it was out in the open in front of Fred. J/K. Very complicated because "mean like Ginny," Izzy is going to fight this tooth and nail. And, of course, there's Sirius, Mia, Ginny, Harry, Lulu, Gabe and Alex to consider (I didn't mention the baby because she's way too young). Yee gods, George is screwed. Great outtake.

 Report Review

Review #14, by divess 10 Steps to Unwillingly Become a Bridesmaid

31st December 2011:
Nicely done. Aw. I'm a little hurt that Izzy and George may happen but may not last. Then again, IMHO, Izzy has a bit of maturing to do but I like the thought process. I probably mentioned this while reviewing the main story but I love Harry's birthday gift. Gabe is very creative and the gift should come in very handy. BTW, it is 1:31 AM on 12/31/11 so I can say Happy New Years Eve and have Happy New Year.

 Report Review

Review #15, by divess Not Meant to Happen

31st December 2011:
You gave me a jolt when you had Tonks use the word, "your kind," to Remus. A few lines later she explains what she meant. I said, "phew." I think the men in these relationships (Potterverse) love their women so much they always overthink a situation. I think I recognize what Remus is feeling but jeepers creepers the deed was done. The bun is already in the oven. What exactly did he cure by running away? Little does Remus know that at that particular point in time, a howler from Harry is the least of his worries. Great outtake. I still admire the way you worked your story so that Remus is an upstanding, gainfully employed werewolf. Kudos.

 Report Review

Review #16, by Regina Someone did a Bad, Bad Thing

29th December 2011:
This was fantastic, especially because I wasn't expecting it so soon. I really enjoyed George's point of view, just seeing how close the twins are...I'm finding myself hoping that Fred won't die more than ever before now.

I loved the bit with Tonks, too--she really was the perfect person to drop in.

This series in general is wonderful. I really do look forward to the new chapters and new material. I love how much it has grown, from mainly Sirius and Mia to a whole group of characters (both canon and original, and yet everyone fits right in), it's just so interesting.

Author's Response: I am so sorry about the ridiculously late reply but I've been so full of work I barely catch the time to sleep, let alone check for reviews...
I'm really glad you liked this little snippet of what's going on with the twins. I can't make any promises about Fred as that would be incredibly spoilery, wouldn't it?
Tonks just had to have a word about the matter - who else knows more than her about relationships with large age gaps?
I'm very happy you like the series :D I loved to expand it beyond Mia and Sirius - it was just such an amazing experience!
Well, sorry again for the delay. Hope to hear from you again,
Anne


 Report Review

Review #17, by Jen Someone did a Bad, Bad Thing

29th December 2011:
Squeee... New outtake. Yay. *happy dance*

Loved it. Quite funny that George can't see that she has feelings for him too - teenage boys are a bit blind I guess. :)

The discussion with Tonks was hilarious.

You say you aren't happy with this? Why on earth not? Awesome chapter/outtake/thingie! :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by Shelby95 10 Steps to Unwillingly Become a Bridesmaid

23rd May 2011:
This was cute! I love your story.(: I know I've been complaining for romance for the last couple of chapters (I know, I know, I have no life, LOL!) but I really do enjoy all of these cute and humorous little things. I love the entire series. Your writing is flawless!

Shelby Renae

P.S: Good job with the French! Do you speak it or did you translate it with Google? It's my first language.(: C'est tres bien -- une histoire avec un amour, un humeur... La histoire est tres belle.(: Keep writing!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so happy you liked it!
Don't worry about complaining about it! I've actually been craving to write more romance but I felt like, at this point, it would be wiser to move the plot further... Anyway, I plan to write more in the next chapter of Brave New Hope :D Being a wedding and all...
As for the French, I do speak it. Glad you approve - I was afraid I might have written something awkward...
In theory it should be my third language after Portuguese and English as I've been learning it for seven years but I'll be the first to admit that I still have trouble with forming very long sentences when speaking it... let's just say I deal better with writing it.
That said...
Merci! Je suis heureuse de savoir tu l'aimes bien et j'ecrirai plus quand je trouve l'inspiration. (sorry about the accents... the site doesn't seem to accept them...)
Anne


 Report Review

Review #19, by Anastasia 10 Steps to Unwillingly Become a Bridesmaid

29th April 2011:
I knew it.
Oh!!!
That's just sweet.
Now just a litt'e favour.
Please don't ''kill'' Fred in this one.
PLEASE!!!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you liked it!
I can't make any promises... I'm sorry.
Anne


 Report Review

Review #20, by Jen 10 Steps to Unwillingly Become a Bridesmaid

19th April 2011:
Loved it. Read it twice and am coming back now for a third go. :) George has always been a favourite (all of the Weasleys are to be honest), so a chapter about he and Izzy is a real treat. Especially loved the gold and silver comment and her complete cluelessness as to what he was on about.
I don't have as much time to read stories on here as I used to, but always read yours.

Author's Response: Oh, well, you have no idea how much of a compliment that is to me - reading the outtake 3 times, I mean.
I simply adore George too, believe me, and I simply loved writing this chapter :D
That comment completely caught her off guard - coming from George, she completely expected it to be part of a joke and it shocked her that it wasn't.
Once again, I'm endlessly flattered! Just for that, I'm going to submit next chapter of BNH to the queue right now (nothing to do with the fact that I did pop into the site for that same purpose :D)
Anne


 Report Review

Review #21, by seekers_destiny 10 Steps to Unwillingly Become a Bridesmaid

17th April 2011:
Loved it! It might make Brave New Hope longer but it would be a nice addition to it. I loved how one thing flowed to the next. Poor Izzy never had a chance. Now we just have to get George to his epiphany.

By the way, do you remember when I asked to "borrow" Mia and Izzy a while back? I have started publishing the story on SIYE. They don't appear until chapter 7 and chapter 2 is in the queue right now so there's still time. It's called 'Power The Dark Lord Knows Not' and I use the same name there.

Author's Response: Thank you!
Well, I won't update this part very regularly, only when I get ideas, so hopefully it won't affect BNH that much...
You know, this was a really big mess when I first started writing it - it was supposed to really just be about Fleur and the wedding. But then, it escalated and escalated and suddenly, the steps came to glue the whole thing into something minimally coherent that I simply loved!
You know, I don't think George won't have such a big revelation - if you really look into it, he's sort of been, well, aware of this for a while, though he won't really allow himself to give it a second thought...
Thanks for the tip really! I'll go check on it as soon as I'm done submitting next chapter of BNH to the queue! I really look forward to see what you'll do with them - but I'm confident you'll take of Mia and Izzy for me.
Anne


 Report Review

Review #22, by seekers_destiny Not Meant to Happen

17th April 2011:
If it hadn't represented such a divergence from the main plot of your story, I would strongly encourage you to put it in. As usual, it is excellent work and I really enjoyed the missing part of your main story. I'm looking forward to more.

Author's Response: You know, I was tempted to put it in there but then I had this discussion with my beta and we figured, bearing in mind future outtakes, that it would be best if they stayed out - you'll see what I mean later on...
I'm very happy you liked this one - it seemed necessary to give you their side of the story after this issue was so focused in the main story.
Hopefully, I'll get inspired for more outtakes soon - cross your fingers because I have some ideas in mind :D
Anne


 Report Review

Review #23, by Maxima 10 Steps to Unwillingly Become a Bridesmaid

16th April 2011:
This is amazing!
Izzy and George are too cute for words, I just can't wait to see them together. I like the format, it's quite refreshing. All in all, I'm loving the outtake series!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so happy you liked it!
It appears people are rather fond of the as a couple (me included).
I'm very happy you liked the format - I was afraid of pushing it too far with it...
Hope to post more outtakes soon!
Anne


 Report Review

Review #24, by Regina M. Not Meant to Happen

6th April 2011:
That was fantastic! You portrayed Remus so well, protective and worried (until he left)...Harry's howler was well done too. Awesome!

Author's Response: Thank you!
I'm very glad you liked it and found it believable :D
More will come very soon,
Anne


 Report Review

Review #25, by Aiisling Not Meant to Happen

5th March 2011:
Loved it! I was dying to know exactly what Harry said in that Howler. Thanks for sharing :)

Author's Response: Thank you!
That was exactly what first made me think of these outtakes - showing you the contents of the howler... then, teh whole thing just got a life of its own.
You're welcome,
Anne


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>