Reading Reviews for Tom's War
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by The Empress Tom's War

18th January 2014:
I really enjoyed this piece. The way you've written Tom is perfect, and I also enjoy Minerva's character. The competition between them and the hint that he doesn't actually try to compete with her. His vague superiority. And the mixture of fascination and revulsion toward the muggle war. I love how you've written his reaction to the bombing, talking about how artless it is compared to Minerva thinking about how terrible it is.

I like the flow of this, it just begs to be read. The juxtaposition of Minerva's teenage behavior against Tom's preternaturally adult like behavior. His rigid politeness and perfect manners. The little things he does to set her on edge. It's just gorgeous wordsmith.

Just wonderful :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by Giola Tom's War

22nd April 2011:
Interesting. I've never really thought about the location of Hogwarts, so your claim that it's near Glasgow doesn't bother me at all :)

However, I'm pretty sure that Tom and Minerva weren't in the same year, I think he was a year below her, but, you know, minor details :P

I love your portrayal of Tom, the momentary gleam of red in his eyes was a wonderful foreshadowing of things to come. This whole story, really, was wonderful foreshadowing.

His statements about Minerva being 'really very pretty' were just creepy enough to work for his character. He was always attracted to powerful things, and she is one such thing.

Lovely story :) The inclusion of the Muggle war adds a nice angle you don't usually see, the immersion of the two worlds. I can see Minerva strolling off after graduating and using her magic to help Muggles, whilst Tom would just go help destroy things instead.

Anyway, nice writing!

-Julia

 Report Review

Review #3, by Selene Tom's War

13th March 2011:
Adding to favorites now!

This was spectacular! I love Tom/Minerva stories and this is my favorite thus far. The fact that you actively incorporated The War while they are at Hogwarts is something I've never seen but have always wondered about.

Thank you so much for a wonderful story, ciara!

Author's Response: Thank you! That's amazing to hear. I actually have never read a Tom/Minerva. I have no idea where the plot bunny for this came from, but it arrived and required dealing with immediately.

Thank you so much!!!


 Report Review

Review #4, by TheHeirOfSlytherin Tom's War

6th March 2011:
I've never read Tom/Minerva before, this is my first ever :)! Yay! I thought it was really good, my favourite so far lol.

10/10

Author's Response: Thank you! It's my first ever writing it as well :D I am so glad you liked it!!!

 Report Review

Review #5, by SilentConfession Tom's War

5th March 2011:
This is excellent! I'm not even sure i can find the words to describe this! When i first saw the pairing i couldn't imagine how this could work out but i'm glad I took the chance to read it! Really brilliant work of keeping both of them in canon and not softening Tom up to serve the purpose of the story. I loved how Minerva was so easily beckoned by him and fascinated by his mystery but then was able to take a step back and see the destruction inside of him.

Your writing is a joy to read and it flows so wonderfully! Great job, yet again!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I had never really thought about Tom/Minerva before at all, and in fact, I don't think they would work out at all. They don't in this story, either, really. It is not so much a romance and more just an exploration of the possibility. Minerva comes very close to an edge, sees what's on the other side, and backs away.

Thank you so much!!!


 Report Review

Review #6, by celticbard Tom's War

3rd March 2011:
What a magnificent piece! I was quite enthralled by it. Your style is exquisite and, I must say, I think your take on Tom and Minerva is flawless. This story reads like canon. You've perfectly captured the indefinite sense of unease young Tom breeds. Minerva is certain that something is wrong with him, but she doesn't know exactly what it is. Her confusion, needless to say, was artfully portrayed.

The bombing of Glasgow in the final scene just put the icing on the cake. I shivered while reading Tom's reaction to the violence. Furthermore, his little speech at the end was so eloquent and chilling. Really, this whole piece is just breath-taking. I'm so glad I read it. Thank you for posting this!

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I am a huge fan of yours so this means a lot to me :] I hadn't tried a Tom/Minerva before, but I was really intrigued by it. I think it is a pairing that can e approached in an almost unromantic way, more an examination of the characters and their motivations than their relationship. I was really just using the pairing to describe Tom's character in a certain perspective.

When I saw a challenge to write a piece about WWII at Hogwarts, I instantly thought of Tom because I can see how much it would have fascinated him. The parallels between WWII and JKR's stories are no accident and I thought it would be interesting to turn them around.

Thank you so much hon! I am really excited :]


 Report Review

Review #7, by Ahmeni Tom's War

21st February 2011:
This story was very powerfully written, and well thought out. Tom is chilling, and very much in character... Well done, I loved this piece.

Spelling and grammar! 10 out of 10!

Not to be rude to your first reviewer, but this challenge was infact mine...

Thanks for making this great effort!

Ahmeni.

Author's Response: Thank you! To be honest I didn't see any point in trying to make Tom a softie, he just isn't. He's a creepy guy.

I'm sorry I confused you! Your challenge credit is right next to the other, I wrote this story for two challenges. I hope that is alright with you? if not, shoot me a PM. :]

Thank you! Awesome challenge!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Jenna822 Tom's War

20th February 2011:
This was very nice! I think you got both Tom and Minerva's characters right on. They seemed exactly like they should be. Your description and style are a pleasure to read. I like the historical relation. Because, as you said, Hogwarts exact location is never stated, so it is free to interpretation. Loved this piece. 10/10 --Jenna

Author's Response: Thank you! I have never written Tomerva before, and I found Minerva's character actually really difficult! But I just couldn't resist when I did the research and found out my plot bunny wasn't totally noncanon. Thanks love!

 Report Review

Review #9, by BrightStar Tom's War

19th February 2011:
"Savages. They create fire from metal and coal, build death out of iron and nails and glass. And then they take to one another like hungry dogs in the street. Artless. They build themselves power and they squander it, like children breaking one another's toys. They know nothing."
Such a powerful sentence, it really struck me as I read it, also "It all will burn".
Really interesting story, made more so by the fact you set it in a particular context. I'm really glad I offered reviews today, getting to read some great stuff. Excellent idea for a piece, I honestly havn't read anything like it. Well done!! :)

Author's Response: Thank you! It was so generous of you to offer, and I just posted this last night, so I was still a bit nervous about it. It's so good to hear that it came off the way I hoped. Tom/Minerva is a little daunting, to be honest with you. I really appreciate you offering your time! Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #10, by lilypotterfan123 Tom's War

19th February 2011:
This was beautifully written, the description was perfect, I loved that final sentence. I liked the relationship between them it wasn't quite a romance but you could sense there was something there that both of them wanted t give in-I like that! The characterisation was so very precise, with both of them! I think it was great how you made Minerva slowly come to realise what was going on and how she grew afraid of him in a way. My favourite part was when you could see how Tom was obsessing over war about talking how they would all burn. It gave a strange impression to Minerva! Thank you for entering my challenge this piece is 10/10 most indefinately!

LpF123 xx

Author's Response: Thank you! I've never written any Tom/Minerva before and to be honest it was one of the more difficult things to write I've experienced. But I did know that I didn't quite want to cross into the realm of actual romance. I just wanted her to come close, to see exactly what she would be risking, and then step back. She has no idea, of course, what he's capable of, but she can see that twisted person in him and it scares her.

Thank you so much! I probably would not have attempted this pairing if someone hadn't challenged it, and it was really interesting. Thanks!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login