Reading Reviews for Summer Rain
  
17 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Cassius Alcinder Summer Rain

25th April 2012:
Wow that was emotional! Dominique's acute sense of bitterness and betrayal really came through here, and it was just so raw and visceral.

We could really sympathize with her after the way that Scorpius used her like that. Not gonna lie, it kind of made me want to reach through the screen and punch him in the face. Anyway, it was a very realistic portrayal of how something can be a one off thing for a guy but be totally meaningful for a girl.

And to top it all off, he marries her cousin. Now Dominique is probably going to running into him at family events all the time, she just can't win. Great job with another emotionally charged story.

Author's Response: I usually end up hating my writing after awhile, but this is a fic that I actually still like, even though I wrote it over a year ago. This fic literally came out of nowhere. It was like late at night and I had school the next day (back when I was still in high school and had early classes, how horrible) but I just got one line stuck in my head (the one in the summary) and I wrote the entire thing that night. I've no idea where I got all of Dominique's emotions from, but somehow they found their way into my writing.

Now it seems like I have a pattern for writing Scorpius as a user. He's not quite so terrible in this as he is in a restless eternity, though. I do feel so terrible for Dominique in this fic, though. Poor girl really loves the guy. Go ahead and punch him! I approve.

Nope, Dominique can't win. She'll always be seeing him everywhere she goes. It'll be terrible for her. As you can probably tell, I absolutely love ruining the lives of my characters. It's sort of entertaining, although it makes me sad.

Thanks for reviewing! Also just now realizing I've been writing super long review responses. I should channel this energy into finishing chapter two of Witch Hunt.


 Report Review

Review #2, by rich_blonde marauder23 Summer Rain

18th August 2011:
Awwwh, it's too sad :( I can't bear it, unrequited love just makes me want to cry. It's the worst. I've never been in love, but trust me, I don't want to end up like Dom. It was really well written, and I really like writing Rose/Scorpius/Dom stories, and reading them also, so that makes it even better :)
I liked how you made it out to be the same kind of day- rainy, cloudy. It's like deja vu. It was short but beautiful :)
Really cute story and really nice writing < 3

Author's Response: Eee, a review on Summer Rain! I haven't gotten a review on this for awhile, and I am so glad you reviewed it! I usually end up hating my work but I still really like this one-shot, so I'm glad you did, too. It is rather heartbreaking, but I absolutely loved writing from Dominique's perspective of unrequited love.

Thank you!!


 Report Review

Review #3, by ClearCutDiamonds Summer Rain

14th March 2011:
Let me just start of by saying that I thought this was amazing. Really. I feel like Dominique's emotions were really real. Most of all, I like that she was sad rather than angry and resentful towards Scorpius. It makes me sympathize with her character a lot more. I also feel like Dominique's emotions of pain, sadness and heartbreak ran really deep and were quite realistic.

You wrote of Dominique's unrequited love for Scorpius really well and I felt like I really understood her feelings and his personality. I loved the description and I especially loved the ending line because I feel like it's almost hopeful or accepting on Dominique's part.

Amanda

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! I definitely wanted to steer away from angry and resentful. I don't feel like she'd really be justified in being angry nor would it be really characteristic of her, at least to me. I'm glad you liked that about it.

I really like the ending line as well. I thought it kind of tied it together nicely; gave it a real ending.

Thank you so much for your lovely review. I really appreciate it!


 Report Review

Review #4, by adluvshp Summer Rain

5th March 2011:
hey there!

This one is a really good fic. It is quite intense and deep and emotional, it expresses the pain and hurt in a quite realistic manner, but it could have been even better =)

No offence though, it was overall very well-written, but I don't know, I feel like its lacking something. Something is missing. Hmm, dont know :/

But anyway, otherwise it was fantastic and keep up the good work!!

And yeah, I love the last line =D It just broght everything together and closed the loopholes!! "I love the rain. Especially in summer." A very average sentence, but here it makes so much of difference. The whole plot comes in view here, its really good, the way you have put it!!

I would give you a 8.5/10

Cheers!
AD

Operation: Green with Envy :D

Author's Response: No offense taken, don't worry. I know that this isn't really a fic for everyone, but I'm glad that you liked it regardless. The emotions are really what's important to me, especially in a fic like this.

I'm happy that you liked that line(: I thought it kind of tied everything together.

Thank you for reviewing!!


 Report Review

Review #5, by ciararose Summer Rain

3rd March 2011:
That was really good, love. I have been trying to read more NextGen and so I am just beginning to wrap my head around all of the different pairings, but I loved that you took a really popular pairing and went in another direction with it. You took it that one step further by putting this other dimension on it, and it was done really well. Dominique's feelings really come through in this fic, and it is interesting how, rather than just having her angst angst angst and despair and moan, you took it to that level where she is almost... resigned, where she is speaking to him with that level of pain, but also of acceptance. She knows the situation exactly, she isn't in any kind of denial, and that makes her pain that much more realistic, I think. She has reached the point of understanding the situation where she can feel her pain but also see it objectively.


I really enjoyed this! Excellent work!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you, Ciara(: NextGen was hard for me to get into at first, as well. It's kind of overwhelming. But eventually I found some ships I liked and it was fun. I really like Scorpius/Dominique and I felt like an evil sadist breaking Dom's heart in favor of Rose, but eh, gotta do what you gotta do. :P And yeah, resigned is definitely one of the things I wanted to show in this. She isn't begging for Scorpius to come back for her, she's just expressing how she feels. Thank you so much for reviewing! It's made my day :D

 Report Review

Review #6, by lilypotterfan123 Summer Rain

28th February 2011:
How did I not see this!?!? This is amazing, I can't decide which of your work I like better fluff or angst? I'll have to decide on both. You're writing flows so well and the description-wow! Erica you honestly are my inspiration-this story is so beautifully written as is all of your work. If you hadn't guessed as always it's a big old 10/10 from me!

-LpF123 x

P.S-congrats on the TA status, this means I'll get to read your stories quicker as they won't be in the queue!

Author's Response: Your reviews always put such a smile on my face! Thank you, hun. I've always thought myself funny because I've written things that are nothing but fluff and then things like this one-shot which are the complete opposite, haha. Thank you again for reviewing! I really appreciate it :D

And thanks for the congrats! I'm so excited about being TA (and also a little terrified).

Erica.


 Report Review

Review #7, by Liberator600 Summer Rain

27th February 2011:
Hi! Liberate60 from the forums here.
This is a very good piece of writing. You captured Dominique's heartbreak and frustration very well.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reviewing! I really appreciate it(:

 Report Review

Review #8, by strawberrydarhling Summer Rain

27th February 2011:
Wow.

That is the only word I can think to say after reading this one-shot. It was amazing and I especially loved the way you wrote it, it was so powerful and I almost felt as though I was Scorpius.

I loved this and although it sounds stupid, my heart aches for Dominique and Rose, because Scorpius shouldn't have done that to them, both of them. He should have told Rose about that night with Dominique and should have sorted things out with her.

strawberrydarhling

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this lovely review! I really appreciate it. I'm so happy that I could make you feel something with it.

I think you're the first person to say they feel sympathetic for Rose, I was kind of wondering if anyone would! She was wronged too, after all.

Again, thank you!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Akussa Summer Rain

25th February 2011:
Oh wow, sorry but the only way I can describe what I feel right now is by saying that this read felt like a slap in the face! There was so much biterness and anger in there and for some unknown reason (except maybe your amazing writting skill), I felt like it was directed straight at me.

This piece was an amazing read, something we rarely get to see although it is a part of life and love.

That was highly enjoyable; the emotional power of it was breathtaking and written with such quality... I'm lost for words, still shaken by the slap I guess...

Author's Response: I'm so happy that you liked it! And felt all of the bitterness and anger, haha. I guess that's really just my goal when writing things like this, to get the emotions across.

Thank you so much for the lovely review(: I really appreciate it. It's made my day even better!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Violet Gryfindor Summer Rain

25th February 2011:
Wow. That was incredible! There's so much power to this story that I'm lost for words. I loved it. The bitterness, the anger, all of it pours forth in such controlled language, and that's part of what makes this story so amazing - you never let Dom's emotions go to far - she's very measured and sure.

The point of view you've chosen for this story is absolutely perfect. It's so accusing, so in the reader's face that I started hating Scorpius as much as she did - not Rose, just Scorpius for being such a cad, using Dom like that, and for what? I love that he has no reason for it - it's just the kind of person he is, so Malfoy-ish. I'm not used to feeling so much after reading a story, especially such a powerful hatred for a character, and a lot of it has to do with how you made use of the first and second person voice. There's something about it that really draws the reader in

I'm really glad that I checked this out (via the review fest) and that you wrote it in the first place, seeing that it was written on a whim and that it's different from what you've recently been writing. It's brilliant work - definitely something to be proud of. :D

Author's Response: Whoo. Man. This has made my day! Hearing these compliments from someone with such a great reputation like you have makes me feel really good, LOL.

Accusing is exactly how I wanted it to come off, so I'm glad that's how you felt it did. I really wanted to show how hurt Dominique is, but like you said, not let her emotions get too far. She knows exactly how she feels so I didn't want her to be all over the place.

I'm glad you liked the use first and second voice. I wanted it to be kind of a combination of her feelings and just all of the things she regrets not saying or wishes she had another chance to say, so it just made sense to write some of it like she WAS talking to Scorpius.

I'm glad you check this out, too! This review is quite the confidence boost, I must say. Thank you a million times over. (:


 Report Review

Review #11, by KittyLuna Summer Rain

24th February 2011:
For writing this on a whim my dear, this is very well done. I never thought of Scorpius and Dom. The feelings are very well written and you could feel her heart break. Some small grammar things, I would change. I'm a comma nut for some reason. But overall very well done. And for normal people, 8/10 would be ok but for me that's very well done. I never give 10/10 .

Author's Response: Thank you very much for the review(: I can be kind of a comma nut, too, sometimes. When I rate, I rarely give out 10s either; it just seems there's always something to improve! Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Melliex Summer Rain

23rd February 2011:
Wow... that's so... breatkaing! I'm actually sad now. You have such a wonderful decriptive power that take you right to the place, you can almost feel the rain on you skin when you read it. And if you read it you can almost hear the rain on the roof. Gosh, I can't get over how sad that's made me feel. Oh and Scorpious is a *insert crude word here* he doesn't deserve any of them, even if what he did was out of anger there are many other things to do than that. Urgh, I'm majorly hacked off now! But seriously, this is probably the most moving peice I've read on here... well done...

Melliex

Author's Response: Goodness, thank you so much! I feel I've made people very angry with Scorpius, hehe. But I'm so happy that you liked it! Writing it was a lot of fun. Well, not FUN, since it's kind of depressing, but you know what I mean. Thank you for reviewing!!

 Report Review

Review #13, by silverstarletworld89 Summer Rain

22nd February 2011:
Ook WHOA!!! Man, I can honestly say I wasn't expecting that. This is really good, definitely wasn't expecting it to be Dominique either. I loved it!! Awww unrequited love is such a kick in the teeth, but you captured it beautifully. And Scorpius Malfoy, what a *mumbles horrible words*, how could he do that to Rose AND Dom!! Loved the metaphors of raindrops thoughtout, really loved it. I especially liked this line

'They’d slide off of you like the drops of rain in summer that brought us together in the first place.'

It really signified to me how the words really ment nothing to Scorpius. And this one

'What made her your forever and held me back from being anything other than a one night stand?'

Whoa, I truly felt that one. It's not even me and it felt like such a blow. I honestly think that this story could relate to so many people, as everyone suffers heartache. It was so beautiful and I'm glad that I read it. I'm a sucker for a happy ending, but this ending was perfect. I'm gona shut up now, so that I can read it again:-) *adds to favs*

Amazing!!!
Silverstarletworld

Author's Response: I did kind of keep it mysterious for awhile who it was, huh? But alas, yes, it is poor Dominique who I have made suffer from unrequited love! I'm surprised people have hated Scorpius so much in this! I shouldn't be surprised I guess, but while I was writing it I really didn't dislike him haha.

Hmm, is it bragging if I say I like that line too? Oh well. (:

Thank you so much for the lovely review! It really means a lot to me to see people commenting on this. It just feels like this story is really important to me for some reason! Thank you again!


 Report Review

Review #14, by gingersnape Summer Rain

22nd February 2011:
ZOMG this was stunning! So dramatic and simple and gah! I really liked it a whole whole lot! Scorpius/Dominique is one of my favorite next gen ships because it's so often looked over and this was really really amazing with how the words just came to life and how you painted a brilliant picture in my mind of what might have happened, what is and what isn't, and what could have been. Absolutely brilliant and although i haven't read many Scorpius/Dominiques, but of those I've read, this has to be one of the best. Great job, and as always, your work has taken my breath away!
-ginger

Author's Response: I really like Scorpius/Dominique, as well. I mean, I understand the ScoRose craze, but I've always thought, why wouldn't Scorp ever consider any of the other Potter/Weasleys? There sure are plenty of them :P I'm so happy that you enjoyed it! It's so nice to hear people compliment this story because for some reason it just feels really personal. Not in the way that this happened to me or anything, but just that it's really dear to my heart, I guess. Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #15, by NeverGotHerLetter Summer Rain

22nd February 2011:
Wow.
This is breathtaking.
Seriously... it's... just amazing.
I love it.
WOW. I love Dominique's perspective of the situation, and to be honest, it seems like something Scorp would actually do. Just brush her away, and avoid the situation when it suits him.
Now, I usually love Scorp, but this side of him has made my blood boil, and feel so so sorry for Dominique even though she cheated with her cousin's soon to be fiancee, so you've done a great job in making us side with her.
Ah my god if you wrote it on a whim, then your whims are absolutely amazing.
One thing, Dominique is part veela, so would Rose really be prettier? I suppose natural beauty can sometimes overtake all though...
And can I just say the end, it made my stomach drop, and brought tears to my eyes. Which obviously shows it's amazing.
I love this fic so much. It's perfect. I'm going to favourite it. Wow. 10/10.
~NeverGotHerLetter x x x x x x

Author's Response: Oh my! I can't believe this review is for me, thank you so much!
I think that's why I wrote it this way, because it just didn't seem realistic for Scorpius to fall in love with Dominique and leave Rose.
Sometimes my whims do make me happy. I wish they would happen more often, though!
As for Rose being prettier than Dominique, that's really just Dominique's perspective of it, you know? I mean, I don't really specifically say who's prettier, but Dominique feels that Rose is because she basically has really low self-esteem.
I brought tears to your eyes? Wow. I'm amazed I did!
Thank you a million times over for this review! I really appreciate it!


 Report Review

Review #16, by BrightStar Summer Rain

21st February 2011:
This was absolutely beautiful - beautiful imagery, language... the pain really comes accross, and then something less dark, her love for rain (though that could be dark in itself). So, so beautiful :)

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much! I'm glad that you enjoyed it and reviewed(: I really appreciate it.

 Report Review

Review #17, by TallestTower Summer Rain

21st February 2011:
SCORPIUS/DOMINIQUE. Yes, I must write this in capitals, to reinforce my joy. When we will ever write fics when they're happy together though? ;)

Oh wow Erica...! I loved the tone of this. It was so romantic and regretful. I loved that you kept repeating his name, it made it seem so tender and sad. The description was lovely and you built up the romance really well. Unrequited love, the worst the ever, but the best thing ever for angsty-emotional stories.

I loved the idea of the summer rain and how it linked through the story. You built up relationships and emotions really quickly and it was easy to understand the situation. It was so emotive. I feel horrible for Dominique. Everything seemed to ring true. Their conflicting emotions about the night were so heartbreaking, but seemed accurate. It seemed more realistic that he wouldn't just abandon Rose on a whim, hadn't suddenly fallen in love with Dom... but we all know Rose is just smelly. Really, she should be bushy haired and ginger. And a know-it-all with the emotional range of a teaspoon. Okay, maybe halving her parents personalities (especially the worse parts of them) and smushing them together isn't the best characterization... but poor Dom.

I really like how Dom could see all Rose's good points though, it made me feel like I had more respect for her, she's not whiney... just suffering!

I absolutely loved the ending. You've suceeded in making me feel all of Dominique's pain but in the way that final part, of everyone rushing away and Dominique staying true to her character was kind of empowering.
This was so sad but lovely. Congrats EJ, you've made me miserable. But in the best way possible and I loved it. :D

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much for the review, love! And yes, I agree, at some point someone should write a story where Scorpius and Dominique are happy together.

I'm glad you feel horrible for Dominique, haha. I guess that's kind of the point. And yeah, I just didn't think it would be realistic for Scorpius to leave Rose after one night with Dom. And that's why it was so heartbreaking for her, because he gave her a glimpse of what life would be like with him only for him to go back to Rose.

Haha, Rose should just be a smelly cow in fanfic. Unfortunately, I don't think Scorpius would like her as much if she smelled.

Thank you so much for reading! This review is just GAH. Gorgeous! I can't stop smiling! Thankyouthankyouthankyouthankyou.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login