Reading Reviews for Predators and Prey
  
25 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Emandem Predators and Prey

3rd April 2012:
You know a story is going to be good when you're already laughing halfway through the author's note. And it was; it was crazy genius.

I was expecting James to be more shallow. The whole predator thing made it seem like he wasn't looking for something steady. The last paragraph really manages to sum everything up, in my opinion.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Rumbleroar goes roar Predators and Prey

30th December 2011:
Aww so cute! Loved the originality. Well done :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by MEEEE Predators and Prey

12th November 2011:
WOW... This was great! And through the whole thing, I was hearing it in my mind with the voice of the guy on the BBC version of Planet Earth.

Cool!

 Report Review

Review #4, by SearchingForLuna Predators and Prey

29th September 2011:
Awh :)

GAH THIS IS SO ORIGINAL. As I was reading I was picturing that documentary voice and the camera slo-o-o-owly panning out on the James Potter...

I love when Joanna is all “Hello, tiger.” It very much went with the entire animal symbolism of the story, which I’m sure was very obvious and intentional... but I still liked it...

James-Nettie makes me squee :)

10/10 for ANIMAL MAGNETISM. *roar*

 Report Review

Review #5, by NaidatheRavenclaw Predators and Prey

4th September 2011:
This was great!

I loved the style you wrote this in. It was a great play on the animal planet type documentaries, and I could just picture it being read aloud by some deep male Australian voice :P I could not stop laughing at the start of this, when you said things like "a dazzling natural phenomenon occured" and so on. It was brilliant. But you still managed to tie it together in the end, with a beautiful message about love. It was the perfect ending!

I guess this makes it official then. You are just as good as writing as you are at graphics!
-Naida
P.S. Your banner and CI links no longer work ;)

 Report Review

Review #6, by weasleywizardwheezes101 Predators and Prey

8th August 2011:
This was really good! I don't know why I read this, because usually I'm not a fan for O/C's but, this might have changed my mind haha...But yeah, it was super good, I love it, especially the last paragraph. Oh and I love how it's written in documentary style, haha. It's really interesting,. I would've never thought of that!! Haha...Anyway good job!!
-Arya:)

 Report Review

Review #7, by sofia Predators and Prey

21st July 2011:
Ahaha I was actually laughing at the prey thing. I really liked this one-shot, it was like they were in the animal "kingdom"! Haha :)
I liked how you described love in the end, it was cute :)
Great story!
xoxo
-sofia

 Report Review

Review #8, by fuzzylogic Predators and Prey

22nd June 2011:
I love this! It's so original and funny and romantic at the same time ^_^ Was I the only one who read it in David Attenborough's voice? Anyway, I think you managed to portray all the characters perfectly, which is very hard in a on shot. Nice work!

Author's Response: Thank you hun! And funnily, I was imagining exactly David Attenborough's voice when I wrote it! He is amazing. :)) And thank you, I usually spend much more time into character development but this story was written more for the weird narrative. Anyway, I am glad that there was some and the char-s did not turn flat. Thanks again! :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by silverstarletworld89 Predators and Prey

5th May 2011:
OMG THIS IS FANTASTIC! I LOVE THIS STORY!!! Maya if you could please share your talents around for those people ie me, who are lacking in talent.

I really enjoyed the way you constructed the story into a documentary type, it was very unique and brilliantly done. The desciptions and characteristics of how you made James were so really I felt that I could be watching a nature programme. I am glad James and Annette both got their happy ending.

'There, he plans to acquire food, since the hunt he is about to partake in cannot be done on an empty stomach.' - I don't know why but this really made me laugh LOL

Great Story!!
Silverstarletworld

Author's Response: Thanks love! I am really really really glad you like it since I had so much fun writing it! Take care!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Crescent Moon  Predators and Prey

19th March 2011:
Loved it!! Really cool how it was written... "The ‘James Potter’. The James, as we shall call him" Lol :D

Author's Response: Thanks hun! I am really happy you enjoyed it. :)))

 Report Review

Review #11, by MidnightBlue_x Predators and Prey

9th March 2011:
This is amazing! I really love the still you've put it in- I don't think a lot of people I know, myself included could do which is brilliant. And yeah, Brilliant! :) 10/10 for sure.

x Ely

Author's Response: Thank you! I love experimenting with styles and because this took a lot of research into how documentaries sound I am really happy you like it! Take care! :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by winterbaby Predators and Prey

2nd March 2011:
THIS IS FANTASTIC! The writing is amazing and the idea is SO original(: The humor in it is really good, and I couldn't stop laughing at parts cuz I could picture the scene so well. IT'S AMAZING.

I. Love. It. 10/10

Author's Response: I am really happy you liked it and you laughed. :) I love making people laugh with my silly stories. Thanks so much hun! :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by CheeringCharm Predators and Prey

28th February 2011:
Impressive piece! must've been so hard to write! I quite liked it, even though im kind of against next gen and OC's but this was lovely,
congratulations to the first place!
*huggles*

Author's Response: Yes, it was kind of hard learning the documentary narrative patterns so I am really glad you like it! I am not so much into next gen either, but I like to spice it up sometimes. :) Thanks so much! :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by Miss Writer Predators and Prey

25th February 2011:
That was fantastic! It was so ingenius and fun and clever! I really loved it and so i guess it's no surprise it won the valentines day challenge. Well done!

Author's Response: Thank you so much hun, I am really happy you like it! Take care! :)))

 Report Review

Review #15, by maskedmuggle Predators and Prey

24th February 2011:
HELLO MAYA!
Eep, sorry for the delay in reviewing this!

And secondly.. A MASSIVE WOW. This is so ingenious!!! The whole plot, the idea of predators and prey, such a clever idea! And this is wonderfully written too!

I LOVED THE IDEA OF THIS FIC. I have to say it's simply so original and unique! And having the A/N up there really made it all the more amusing. The whole way you wrote it was simply really good. I loved how it was connected to the way they said it on documentaries, and mentioning the animals was so clever in the way that you used them! Ooh, the ending was really great too. I loved the ending paragraph.

I loved the characterisation of James/Annette/Joanna too. Tehehe, all three were great. So I loved how James was the hunter, and like the lion. And how Joanna was the lioness. And how Annette was sort of "like an ambushed gazelle" - you really used a great simile there. I loved how James/Annette ended up together. I guess I was expecting a James manages to get Joanna story, but I really love how he realises Annette is the one.

The writing in this is brilliant! Are you getting even more awesome? It's like, utterly perfect. I can't find anything to criticise you on! All in all.. this was really amazing. Seriously, the whole idea already gave you a thousand points, but the way you wrote it, so creatively, really made this amazing.

Thanks for participating. This is succchhh!!! an amazing and lovely and really well written piece. And the whole idea behind it is simply WIN. I loved loved loved reading it, it was thoroughly enjoyable!
-Charlotte

P.S Lovely banner too! I know you made it (cos i stalkz your gallery ya know XD) IT'S SO PRETTYYY!!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Toujours Padfoot Predators and Prey

23rd February 2011:
HI!

I just wanted to stop by and remind you that this is AWESOME. Because it is AWESOME. And I cannot believe you ever doubted this piece of epic-ness. It really makes me want to sling a camera around my neck and go chase some gazelles or something.

This is the kind of one-shot that puts me in a good-mood - it's not ridiculously fluffy, and it's humorous but in a really creative way. The way you've written it, in mockumentary-style, really pulls the reader in and keeps them captivated the whole time.

Alright, enough of this gush-fest. JUST HAD TO SAY.

*favorites* 10/10

:D

 Report Review

Review #17, by Miss MarlaG Predators and Prey

23rd February 2011:
AWWW OHMYGOOOD! i totally imagined this thing with a deep Discovery Channel documentary voice! so awesome! i really really loved this it was so funny with the voice and all, seriously! you are really good at this! :p aaaggghhh i cant stop laughing!

10/10!

its miss from the forums :p dont know why im not logged in!

Author's Response: Yeah right? I was so going for the Discovery documentary voice! I am really happy that readers recongize it! :) Thank you so much for the lovely review, it made me super super happy!

 Report Review

Review #18, by SexyDoorFrames Predators and Prey

23rd February 2011:
As soon as I clicked onto this, I thought it was going to be interesting and you didn't disappoint!

With the narrators voice stuck firmly in my head, (which may be stuck in there now) I found this rather humorous and a lovely piece of fan fiction to read. I've always had a soft spot for James/Oc, so I'm glad to see that he got the right ending and the proper lady for him. I loved the last line, it was pure beauty. In fact, your description through the whole of this was excellent and I really loved this!

I loved the style, the characters and the fact that you kept on referring back to everything being animal just made it perfect.

Even though it was just a one shot, I felt like you told enough of the characters so you could understand them. I felt like they were fleshed out and actual people, which is hard to do in one chapter but you've managed to do in perfectly. I was always rooting Nettie, right from the start.

I just loved the fact that he finally saw sense. In all excellent one shot :)

- SexyDoorFrames

Author's Response: Oh god this reply is so long overdue, love!

Thank you so much! I am really glad you liked the descriptions and (especially) the narrative voice because it was the whole point of writing this whole story. :) I am happy that you took to Nettie, too! It's hard to construct a whole character in just one chapter and I am glad I didn't fail completely.

Thanks again and ily! :hug:


 Report Review

Review #19, by Allison Predators and Prey

23rd February 2011:
I thought it was excellent all the way through, but the last paragraph blew me away. This was fantastically written! I thought the characterizations were spot on and your descriptions vivid and believable. Wonderful job; keep up the good work! :)

Author's Response: Awww, thank you, you are way too sweet. :) I am really happy that you liked it! No really, smiling like a madwoman here. :)

Have an amazing day!


 Report Review

Review #20, by Cirque Du Freak Predators and Prey

21st February 2011:
With a narrator's voice in my head I couldn't help but crack up every other paragraph while reading this!

It was a truly brilliant idea for you to do this and it worked out really well because of the language you used throughout all of it even if some of it was quite casual in a way.

It was absolutely perfect and I love the whole 'predator' 'prey' thing there because it fit in so perfectly when it comes to trying to describe characters like Joanna going after different guys.

It was a really good read and I hope you do well in your challenges (:

x

Author's Response: Right?! It's definitely better with the narrator's voice, otherwise the language sounds out of place. xD

I am really glad you think it worked well. :) Oh yes, I just couldn't write it all the way super formal, because I noticed it was becoming too "heavy".

The predator and prey thing kind of worked itself into the story. The title changed a thousand times but I am happy that it fit well in the end. :)

Thanks for the lovely review, it put a very very big grin on my face. Take care. ^^


 Report Review

Review #21, by sierr Predators and Prey

21st February 2011:
hey i liked it ...it was cliched and the storyline was obvious but i enjoyed the way you wrote it. the style was good. :)

Author's Response: Well, I am not sure what you expected from a mockumentary, lol. I knew I should have added something more in the author's note. Anyway, I am glad you like the writing style, it was the whole purpose of this. xD

 Report Review

Review #22, by TheProphecy Predators and Prey

21st February 2011:
Hey!

Wow :)

I really liked this, it was fun to have the narrative voice in my head..though mine sounded like the woman that narrated come fly with me for some reason.

Anyway, I really liked the idea and the sentiment behind this story. It made giggle and go awww, it made me think James was a prat and then feel sorry for him. You did so well with this.

Well done :)

Hannah (10/10)

Author's Response: Thank you Hannah!

A woman's voice... it's alright, whatever you felt like it. ^^ I am glad enjoyed the story. :) And yes, I have always imagined James II as a major prat. :DD


 Report Review

Review #23, by DoubleBee Predators and Prey

21st February 2011:
Sorry I'm not logged in. I'm here to fulfill your reviewing needs. This story made me crack up laughing and I found it so creative that you did it like a documentery! I could just picture the deep manly brittish voice in my head!!! Well done!
10/10

Author's Response: Heh :) I am glad you enjoyed dear! Manly British voice, you say xD

 Report Review

Review #24, by stepnhunguyen Predators and Prey

21st February 2011:
This has got to be one of the cutest and most interesting one shots ever. It's so cute because of our beloved James and Nettie (I love her name!) and it's so interesting because the way it's written. It's so full of win the way it's based off a documentary. :)

10/10

Happy daze

Author's Response: Aww, thanks! This review made my morning a bit brighter. :)) I am really glad you like the way it's written since it was a bit experimental. And yes, Nettie is a cutie-pie name, I wanted James to call her in an unusual way. :)) Thanks again for the lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #25, by BrightStar Predators and Prey

20th February 2011:
Hey! Really liked this, so different!

"And in love, predators and prey do not really exist, for when people are in love, they are not a hunter or a prize. They are merely two persons on equal grounds that share with each other one of the most beautiful magic on Earth, the only magic that even the mightiest wizarding spell cannot overcome." -> LOVE IT!

Author's Response: Yey! Thank you. :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login