Reading Reviews for How I met your father
  
29 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Harrypotterbookworm How I met your Father

6th August 2011:
Interestingly cute. The reasoning you've got behind the story and the against the grain of how they got together really makes this story what it is. I like how she was telling it to Lily, you rarely get to see stories about the mother/daughter relationship that they have going on which is a pity.

You've got a few grammar mistakes dotted around here and there, mostly in places that could use commas but that will come with time, proofreading and a beta. I must say, your style is rather fluffy, which is perfect for this fic, so I must congratulate you on that.

In places it seems a little rushed, try to spend more time on descriptions and embellishing it. As my teacher said once to me 'you've got the great bones of a story, now you just need to flesh it out a little.' Overall, a rather enjoyable read. Hugs,

- HPB (otherwise known as nikkinike from Ravenclaw) ;D

Author's Response: Thank you :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by mpr How I met your Father

1st June 2011:
Cute story! I watch "How I Met You're Mother" all the time.
-MPR

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by maskedmuggle How I met your Father

25th April 2011:
Hey Hannah! ;)

Awwh, such a sweet one shot! I absolutely loved this, it was a very enjoyable read! I also love the whole idea, the plot of this fic. How I met your father? Brilliant! Anything to do with the awesome epic tv show How I met your mother? Lol Love that show :P

ANYWAY I really enjoyed your story! It was written quite well, and the characterisation of Ginny, Molly and Arthur was pretty in character and so sweet.

Lovely story! :D

Author's Response: Thank you :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by arthurandmollynerd How I met your Father

23rd April 2011:
AW! So CUTE! (pretend that there are more W's and !'s)

Author's Response: I shall :) Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Starkidfaith How I met your Father

23rd April 2011:
Thanks for entering my challenge! :D
You got second so I will be giving you 4 reviews on your stories! If you have specific ones please tell me ;)
This was so so so cute.

Author's Response: Oh my gosh! Thanks! Umm, just anything but my Scorose and the first few one-shot I wrote at the bottom, stick tot he stuff at the top. :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by AlPadfootPotter96 How I met your Father

17th April 2011:
This is so sweet! :)
I haven't seen a whole lot of Molly in fics around here, so I thought it was nice to get a peek of how Molly and Arthur were before they married.
I really liked everything - the haziness was nice, not sure if it was intentional, but not capturing every detail emphasized the fact that it was a memory.
Good job! :)

Author's Response: Thanks!

The haziness was intentional, I thought considering it was in speech and a memory, it couldn't be described to the same degree of detail as a normal one-shot would be :)

I love Molly/Arthur, my favourite pairing of all time! Thanks for the nice review :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by gingersnape How I met your Father

4th April 2011:
Hello, Annie here from the swap! :)

I thought this was adorable and couldn't help myself from smiling the whole time! The way Molly told thew story was so Moilly and it was really sweet and very humerous! It may have been short, but the way you told the story I had never even thought about before this, really made me feel all warm and fuzzy! Very cute, and Molly's little saying too much and just her Molly-nesss was my favorite part! :D
Have a greeat day and I'll rememeber that ScoRose if I'm ever bored,
-Annie

Author's Response: Thank you :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by Snapdragons How I met your Father

4th April 2011:
D'aww! This is simply adorable! :) It made me feel all warm and cozy inside, hehe. ^-^

I do love Molly/Arthur and wish I could read more! Molly seemed in character, and I thought it was cute how she started it off in third person, only to be interrupted.

The story itself was sweet - I could definitely see Arthur coming to the rescue, always the gentleman! And I could understand why Ginny would ask the question even when she was eighteen - sometimes we all want to be little kids again. :)

And of course, I loved Arthur's line - "Oh...what...yes Molly, what ever you say." Very in character! ;)

What a lovely little one shot. Perfect for Valentine's Day!

Author's Response: Thank you :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by Capella Black How I met your Father

31st March 2011:
Hiya - thanks for suggesting this, it definitely helped me smile. I like how believable the plotline is in this - very nice! And it's definitely better that Molly waited to tell this story!

Author's Response: Glad I was of service to you! I'm glad you read it, it's so short and always a good one to cheer people up! :P

Believability! Yay! Thank you :D


 Report Review

Review #10, by HarrietHopkirk How I met your Father

29th March 2011:
DKFJGHFDKLJHGFJHFG GGAH AAW THAT'S SO CUTE! :D

I loved Molly/Arthur! They are such an underused couple, and you have portrayed them so perfectly! They are so wonderful. I think I would have liked to see a little more development or description about their relationship, but I really think that you've done a beautiful job on this! You've got a good writing style, and the story brought a big smile to my face! ♥

It was so natural, the dialogue, the pace, the flow. I love how Arthur is in character: the sort of awkward, bumbling eccentric! I loved how you portrayed the mother/daughter relationship as well, well done!

:D

Author's Response: Thank you, Thank you, Thank you! I love how it brought a smile!! It makes me happy!

I loved writing Arthur, it was so much fun to do! But with the length, you know when you get that feeling if you add anymore it might ruin it? I kinda got that with this story so it stayed quite short.

But thank you for the amazing review!

Hannah x


 Report Review

Review #11, by marauderqueen How I met your Father

14th March 2011:
Aw, that was so cute! I loved Molly's shyness and how she told the story, it was so in character for her! Arthur, bless his cotton socks, what a sweetheart. I loved the interaction between Molly and Arthur, how he seemed to agree with her without knowing what he was on about and how he called her 'Mollywobbles'. It's so sweet for them. A year later? He kissed her after a year? I think I love him more now :P I hope Richie Jones had a bugger of a headache, what an arse!
~Izzy

Author's Response: Oh my gosh I love you!
Thank you so much for your lovely review!! :) Bless Arthur's Cotton socks.

Thanks! :)



 Report Review

Review #12, by justonemorefic How I met your Father

13th March 2011:
OH I LOVE THESE KINDS OF STORIES, and dedicated to Jordan too! -flops down to read-

Teehee, I love the way she tells it so cute. "I turned around and fell over, right on my bum!” Sounds just like a story she would tell, in that sort of old-fashioned way

LOLOL, gory details. MY getting a bit scandalous there are you, Molly? Awww in comes Arthur the gentleman! All so cute and dashing.

"“Oh…what…yes Molly, what ever you say.” He called out distractedly.
Teehehe, modern Arthur is the same charmer, I see.

And an even cuter ending! Baww. I FEEL SO FLUFFY NOW ♥

Author's Response: lol Just spreadin' the fluffiness!

Thanks for the review! :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by long_live_luna_bellatrix How I met your Father

13th March 2011:
Hello! Go bronze!

This was a cute little story! I especially liked how the good boy won out over the aggressive one. Arthur strikes me as the kind of man who would save anyone in a crisis, even if it was none of his business like the one he got Molly out of here. The way the chapter started was enjoyable too; the whole third person thing gave me a laugh.

Occasionally the flow was a bit off. This sentence, for example, ran on a bit too long for my liking: "Ginny had been getting ready for bed and despite now being eighteen and on the verge of moving out, she had asked for a story she had never heard, how her parents had met." There was also an odd bit of punctuation here: "Aw, mum! I don't' want to hear all the gory details!" Other than the little grammar things, it was great.

Very sweet, overall. Nice job!

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #14, by liza_potter How I met your Father

12th March 2011:
IT'S SO FLUFFY!

Sorry. Couldn't resist the Despicable Me reference. Anyways.

It was really cute. I loved how Molly started it off- it added a bit of humor and I liked seeing Molly's silly side. :) We never did learn how they got together, and I like reading all the different versions. It's nice, and yours was very enjoyable. A sweet little story!

Author's Response: Thank you! M'dear!! :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by Timechild How I met your Father

10th March 2011:
Cute. A bit short, but cute. I thought the part about dragging the boy back to the castle was nicely done.

Author's Response: Ooh! Thank you! I'm glad you liked it :P



 Report Review

Review #16, by hpgrl How I met your Father

5th March 2011:
hi hannah!

This was a sweet little one-shot. I liked that you didn't included unnecessary details and the story flowed well. Your characterization was accurate, but I would've liked to see a little more descriptions. The dialogue, however, was well placed and believable.
This had a lot of grammar/usage mistakes- I would love to look over it for you and mark them all if you don't mind.

great job overall! oh, and GO BRONZE!

Author's Response: Of course you could look over it!!!

If you don't mind I'll pm you in a minute :)

I'm glad you liked the general idea etc though :)
Thanks for the lovely review :)
Bronzzzeee!!! :D

Hannah x


 Report Review

Review #17, by libby103 How I met your Father

4th March 2011:
Hey!

I saw this was for the Valentine's Day Gift Exchange so I just HAD to review it.

Anyways, really sweet ending, the whole story is cute. However, it's a bit short, and I feel like Molly rushed through her story; there's not much description in how she describes the events. I felt like that until she started talking about how Arthur saved her, that was just too cute to be done any differently.

The sort of suspense you create by not introducing Arthur until basically the end of the story was a very nice technique. It gave that feeling of anticipation and all.

Ginny's reactions to everything make her seem a bit younger than eighteen, but they were spot on for what I would imagine her to be like...just in her Hogwarts years. Her reactions added a bit of humour to the story.

Overall, I had this giant "Awww," moment at the end. I think that sums up my delight.

from,
Liberty (libby103)

Author's Response: Thank you!!!

I think I was just thinking how it would be told from a person, they wouldn't go into this huge amounts of description whilst actually telling a story but concentrate on the main point so that probably why it was so short ;)

I'm glad you liked my Arthur bit :P It was my favourite bit to write :D

I think with Ginny (I can't write her to save my life) she was kinda just wanting to be young and innocent again before she left home, just have that one last moment before she had to be an adult...yeah flimsy excuse right ;)

I am soo glad I provoked Aw's :) Makes my day :D

Hannah x


 Report Review

Review #18, by Aiedail How I met your Father

4th March 2011:
Aw I thought this was a charming little story! It's true that we don't really know how they met, and it's fun to see how everyone imagines it :)
I thought the beginning was rather silly but I still liked it! I can see that Molly might want to separate herself from the event if she's telling it for the first time and hasn't ever wanted to before!
I thought that some of the shifts were rather sudden, but overall I still got the feeling of the Weasleys, which is difficult to do, especially when I'm involved because I think I have high standards where they're regarded ;)
Overall good idea, and it's well written, I like this very much !
--lily

Author's Response: Aww thank you!
I think the beginning was just a silly little way to introduce the story because I couldn't really think how else to do it :P
I know what you mean about the shifts, it can be a little unclear sometimes about whether she is talking in the present or telling the story.

I am so happy it met your standards though :)And you thought it was well written :D

Thanks :)

Hannah x


 Report Review

Review #19, by marinahill How I met your Father

25th February 2011:
Haha this is a lovely one-shot! It amused me at the start how Molly begins telling it in third person and Ginny's just like... what? And then the story-telling itself was charmingly awkward, an excellent portrayal of a mother-daughter relationship in this situation. The Arthur/Molly moment at the end was beyond cute! I really enjoyed this :)

Marina

Author's Response: Thank you so much!



 Report Review

Review #20, by Toujours Padfoot How I met your Father

25th February 2011:
I LOVE ALL THIS FLUFF!

I could squish it. Everything from start to finish was just so CUTE. Starting off with Molly talking in third person, which I think added some humor to her character (we don't usually get to see 'funny Molly') and then Arthur! Knight in Shining Armor! Come to save the damsel in distress like the valiant and noble gentlewizard that he is! Arthur is so perfectly imperfect, so awkward and bumbling and a fantastic match for Molly, who is a very old-school, sweet-yet-stern kind of person. I've always loved her character, and I think it's wonderful that you've written this little bit about her, talking to her children about how she fell in love with their father. :) *squishes story again*

But my FAVORITE bit is the fact that Molly said she knew she loved Arthur when he kissed her. Because most of the time people realize that after they've already kissed, or just before, but to realize it RIGHT THEN - I think is kind of magical. And original.

:)

Author's Response: You made me so happy I just did a funny dance!!!

Happy, Happy, Happy :D

Thank you so much for this lovely review! I so appreciate it, fluff is amazing :)

Thanks :D


 Report Review

Review #21, by silverstarletworld89 How I met your Father

23rd February 2011:
Awww this is so cute! Molly and Arthur are such an adorable couple *sigh*. I absoutely loved the start btw, her talking in third person, ha ha genius. It had me chuckling away. Adored how you managed to get so much to happen in such a few words, it was really good.:-). Never read a Molly and Arthur story before but I may just go and find some more.

Great Story!
Silverstarletworld89

Author's Response: Thanks!

I am so glad I made you chuckle :)

That was my first Molly/Arthur but I may write a follow up thing to it :D

I am glad I have sparked an interest in Molly/Arthur :) I bet there are some really good ones out there :D

Thanks :)
Hannah


 Report Review

Review #22, by Candinoxrush How I met your Father

22nd February 2011:
I absolutly LOVED it.
This is the first Molly/Aurthur I have read, and I have been looking for a good one. This didn't dissapoint.
10/10
-Candace

Author's Response: Thank you!

I really appreciate it :D and I am so glad you liked it :)

Hannah


 Report Review

Review #23, by FoundriaPenguin How I met your Father

21st February 2011:
AW ♥
Hannah, this was absolutely adorable, and reading it brought the biggest smile to my face. :') I love how Molly starts the beginning out in third person - to be honest, at first I thought it was some sort of typo or mistake, and I had to reread the beginning a few times before I understood what was going on. :P

Arthur saving Molly like that was just AHHH! SO CUTE AND HEROIC AND "a cute grin on his face and his glasses askew" I COULD SO PICTURE THAT. And Molly being all motherly with Ginny, albeit subtly, like when she notes how Ginny leaned forward inquisitively just like when she was little. Just ♥ ♥ ♥

And I think what makes it so beautiful is the simple relationship between Molly and Arthur. "Oh, whatever you say then, Molly." "Alright then, I love you too." It's just, agh, it seems like they understand each other so well :)

Thank you so much for writing this for me! You're the best, Hannah!

--Jordan ♥

Author's Response: Aww..you're making me blush!

Thanks Jordan! I have had so many wonderful reviews and if it wasn't for you or the gift thread I wouldn't have had that so I should be thanking you!

I love that you liked it and it is now dedicated to you forever. Oh and when I favourite Authored you it wasn't actually part of your gift, you are a really good writer! I really liked everything I read of yours :D

Thank you! So much for making me smile with your review :D

Hannah x


 Report Review

Review #24, by orderofthephoenix How I met your Father

21st February 2011:
Aw, that's so cute ^^ You've written this wonderfully and I love the canon references at the end :)

The only thing I can find to criticise, I'm afraid, is that I'd have liked it to be a little longer. Perhaps by explaining a bit more about how their relationship developed after they'd met?

Other than that, it was brilliant. I like how Ginny, despite her age was still asking for a bedtime story :P And you wrote the embarassing bits perfectly where Ginny didn't want to hear them and Molly was remembering why she'd never told that story before. I mean, I can't see her telling Percy or Fred & George, can you? :P Hehe.

Sophia x

Author's Response: Thank you Sophia!

I am so, so very happy that it was the tiniest thing you could criticise on :D Though, on that note I might (If I have time) write a follow up short story based on that :D

I am so happy you thought I wrote this well. It means so much coming from you :D

It was so much fun to write and I can't even be sure I actually wrote it, it just seemed to flow so perfectly, it was more like my laptop was writing it for me :D

Thank you! It makes me so happy when no one can find a huge amount of criticism for my work. I had that with my last story..maybe all these reviews are paying off, I'm taking my own advice :D

Thanks for doing this.and sorry about the really long rambling reply :)

Hannah x


 Report Review

Review #25, by schoenemaedchen How I met your Father

21st February 2011:
This. Was. Absolutely. Adorable.

It was short and sweet and the PERFECT length for a bedtime story. I can totally see Ginny as an 18 year old, hungry for the information (and not wanting to know some...we ALL Know how that is...)

There is a certain grace and charm with Molly telling her daughter this story, and then calling out to Arthur and getting that robot-mechanical "yes dear" answer back.

This was so in character, its crazy. It would have been totally out of character to get all sappy in love in the end. A simple I love you and sitting next to each other in the living room carrying on was so classic. You still see the love and I still think its beautiful.

This was such a sweet V-Day gift :) Who wouldn't be happy to recieve this?

Honestly, great job, I really loved it!!!

Author's Response: Thank you!

I am so happy you liked this :D

I wasn't even planning on the ending, it just came out of me and I agree it really ties it all together and isn't OOC :D

THANK YOU! :D


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>