Reading Reviews for Beadle
  
13 Reviews Found

Review #1, by KnightRoseSword Beadle

29th October 2012:
Hey good story!!! I love the way you tell it and the twist it has =) Besides, Micah helping her wife achieve her dream is just lovely =) Good job
-DW

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you liked it, and thanks so much for the review!
Annie


 Report Review

Review #2, by The Last Marauder Beadle

18th July 2012:
I will admit that I always thought of Beadle the Bard as a man - no idea why, just did, so I loved how you subverted all expectation in this story and made beadle a girl.

I really loved how you showed bea as a story teller, not a story writer, it's like the old oral tradition is colliding with the new written one, and she is having to adapt from one to the other in order to become legendary.

I loved how you had bea work her way through the tale of the three brothers and how you captured her even doubting herself and her abilities. I loved the ending, that instead of reaching for the stars, bea with be one of the stars. It's so true, because once your stories or your book is out there in the world, you do become immortal in ways, it's like a piece of you stays on the earth eternally.

Another great job, well done

Author's Response: I always thought as Beadle as a man too, but I figured this was a much more exciting story and once the headcanon seed was planted, I couldn't stop it from growing up and becoming a story of its own! Thanks so much for all the amazing reviews! :D

 Report Review

Review #3, by Santa Claus Beadle

31st December 2011:
LAST REVIEW! I promise :P

This is such a unique idea, and I doubt whether there are any truly similar stories on the archives. How you thought of this is just brilliant! :)

There is so little to say about your stories, because I feel like I am saying the same thing over and over, but it is true. You write with such a descriptive style, it's so enjoyable to read.

This feels like such an aimless review, so I'll try to give you at least ONE really useful comment...

I liked the way that this can stand alone, but I think it would be great to write more around this, because it's such an interesting scenario and environment here.

I'd love to see this expanded, if you ever felt like doing it, you've got a fan here! :D

Happy New Year.

No more messages from Santa, the hat is going away now.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Owlpost68 Beadle

21st November 2011:
That was wonderful!! So incredibly well written :D Such an original idea too. I thought it was wonderful the way you had Micah help her with her confidence, and they came up with the name so she could continue writing. Not to mention how when she was stuck he just told her to tell him about it rather than write. It was really a wonderful story!
10/10

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! I'm glad you liked it, and you have no idea how much seeing this review has made my day! :D
Annie


 Report Review

Review #5, by Giola Beadle

8th August 2011:
Hey Annie :)

I don't think I've ever read any of your writing before (shame on me), and I must say, I love it. You have a wonderful grasp on description, characterisation, flow, style etc. etc. It's a pleasure to read :)

As for this story in particular, I think I've seen it around/heard about it, because I've heard of the concept of the bard being female somewhere before. It was interesting to read, however, and the interaction between Micah and Bea was sweet. The last line in particular really stuck with me, which is good, it leaves your story stuck in your readers mind :P

Lovely job dear, I'm off to read more of your writing!

Giola
(Slytherin)

Author's Response: Ahh, Julia thanks so much dear!! *squish* And worry not, I'll bug you about this until you come back! :P I'm glad you liked it and also super happy you stopped by on my page! :D Thanks so much,

Annie


 Report Review

Review #6, by Debra20 Beadle

6th August 2011:
Annie what an inspired story you've written! I simply adored it.

Everything from the words you chose to portray the manner of speech of the time, or to outline their relationship, to the wonderful retelling of the Beadle the Bard story was fascinating. It was so easy to enter that room and observe and feel the characters. You can easily feel them. Especially Beatrice. Her insecurity, self doubts about the quality of her writing are so human and speak so much about our present times as well, that it's almost impossible not to relate to her...not to want to tell her that her tales will indeed reach the stars and save thousands of lives one day.

I particularly loved how you worked the name of the stories around her name. A very clever twist. And without a doubt completely believable. I can imagine it was not easy to publish a story if you were a woman in that time period, so the trick Micah thought of was brilliant. I shall never search for another explanation of the title of the tales again. Yours is almost canon to me now :)


House Cup 2011, End of an Era Review Extravaganza
Forum name: Debra20
House: Gryffindor

Author's Response: DEBRA!!! *squish* This made my day! *more squishing* And almost canon? I'm honored you think so and oh, this was just such a wonderful review! *megasquish* (You didn't believe me when i said I wrote bad responses did you? See, I can't do this review justice!) Anyways, thank you so much for the amazing review!
Annie


 Report Review

Review #7, by Capella Black Beadle

4th August 2011:
Aww, this is really cute. I like the idea of the great Beadle the Bard being some insecure writer (like most of us I guess) who thought her stories would never be read. Any even more, I love the idea of her questioning whether to even write down the story of the Deathly Hallows - that's a really nice touch.

I'm not usually a fan of stories written about the HP character's we've never met, but this one worked really well. The characterisations of Bea and Micah were strong, despite the brevity of the piece, and so pulled us into their worlds and made us care. I also like the added touch of having Bea marry a muggle, and not really use her powers much. It makes sense given when she was born and what she devoted herself to, but I'd have never thought of it myself!

Thanks for writing this!

CapellaBlack, Gryffindor

Author's Response: Thanks so much and I think what I like best about this is that Bea does have her insecurities like you said, so it feels like she really is a writer I can relate to and reflects back on writers all over the place. :) Thanks for the amazing reviews and go Gryffindor!
Annie


 Report Review

Review #8, by Akussa Beadle

22nd May 2011:
Hi!

Amazing introduction! I really enjoyed it and already feel sucked in the story; you need to write more of it!

I loved how you kept the feel of "old times"; what I mean is, your dialogue and narratives didn't feel too modern and that is a great thing. The writting looked great, I didn't spot any major errors. The story flowed perfectly and the characters are aleady very interesting.

I hope you keep on writting this story because it could really turn into a great multi-chaptered novel; you have the idea for it!!

Akussa

Author's Response: *squish* Oh man you give the best reviews Akussa!! I've actually thought about turning my poor little one-shot into something more when I get back to being a good updater, so if something does happen I'll be sure to endlessly promote it! :P Thanks so much for the review,
Annie


 Report Review

Review #9, by BrightStar Beadle

5th April 2011:
Oh wow. Wow. Favourite thing you've written. I told you about the feminist writing thing - I love looking at writers like George Elliot, who used a mans name etc. Imagine applying that to Beadle the Bard - and you did it! Wow! So touching, I really felt i connected it! Micah + Bea = LOVE! Favouriting this!

Author's Response: :D Hi again dear! YAY! Thanks so much! Micah + Bea = LOVE! indeed and I love the stories about women breaking into the literary world like that, so I had to write something like that myself! Thanks for the review and have a great day,
Annie


 Report Review

Review #10, by TheProphecy Beadle

4th April 2011:
Hey!

I adored this, in fact I favourited it, it was that good! Your plot was such a brilliant idea in the first place, to have the beedle as a woman was so brilliant and I could also see how it could work.

This was written incredibly well, it even gave me some Beedle Plunnies.. which has never happened in the history of umm...ever :P

I thought the flow and general movement was really good, I got lost in it despite how short it was and was kinda disappointed it wasn't longer!

Umm, other then that i really did enjoy it. thin the only thing is, your characters were written well but I didn't quite get the connected sense I wanted to feel when reading them. So other then maybe going into a bit more depth with characters it was good! I really enjoyed it :D

Hannah x

Author's Response: HANNAH! Thank you so much for the review and Beedle plunnies you say? You'll have to let me know if they get written! :) I'm planning on touching this up soon, so I'll keep that in mind when I edit. Again, thanks so much,
Annie


 Report Review

Review #11, by NeverGotHerLetter Beadle

12th March 2011:
Aww this was so sweet and definitely unique :) I loved that you made Beadle a woman, and that you included one of the stories, one of the most important as well, to give us a base.
I really liked Micah, he seemed like a really nice, humble person and Bea seemed really headstrong and determined. I think their relationship is unique as in that time the men were very controlling but in this it was really sweet.
I think that this was actually quite realistic and extremely well written :D I didn't catch any spelling or grammar errors and I didn't feel bored or anything.
Also, I think that the fact that she had to change her name because she was a woman was very realistic, and I think that actually happened? Also, it happened to JKR too! She didn't put Joanne Rowling because her publishers thought it would be less likely for people to read it if she put her full name :) Did you mean for that to happen or am I just rambling?) :D
So yes, overall a brilliant story, and I really enjoyed it. Lovely, refreshing and unique, 10/10 :)
~NeverGotHerLetter x x x x x x x

Author's Response: Hey hun and thanks for the review! :)
I've always thought of Beedle as a woman, even though she's portrayed as a man in the series. I just think it fits the stories more that they are so different from anything else at the time. I really liked writing about Micah's relationship with Bea, because he's different from any other character I've written before. I was really worried about historical accuracy in this piece, s I'm super excited that you think it fits in the time it was written! :) And spelling and grammar mistake free is just making me grin from ear to ear!
i actually hadn't thought about that before. I had known about the name change, but the connection is perfect now that you mention it! :)
Have a great day and I can't wait to read your new stuff,
-Annie


 Report Review

Review #12, by LadyMalfoy23 Beadle

11th March 2011:
AW this was great!! I dont know how you think it was terrible, i really just dont understand!!! ^_^ i loved it so very very very much, you have no idea! :P I particularily liked the ending where he remembers meeting her father i was like aw out loud it was funny :) tehehe. I think thats an easy way to touch it up would be not using their names as much. You seemed to say their name an awful lot!! Maybe use pronouns more often! As i writer i have grown a strong fondness nearly love of the world he she it him her they really make stories seem a lot less repetative! All in all love, and amazing story! :)

Author's Response: Hello Jess! *Cheers on for the Slythie thing I still don't understand :P*
Hehe, perhaps it had something to do with me being grumpy and sick when I last read it, but I still think it could have been better. (For someone whose ego is often questioned as to whether it fits in the country, I really don't like my stuff :P) Anyway, I'm glad you like it and now I'm *headdesk*ing because I think my name/pronoun thing was the thing that threw me off the most. I'll be sure to change the name thing when I ever get around to editing this! :)
Anyway, thank you so much for the review, and feel free to stop by any time you need to write reviews for any reason at all; I promise I really don't mind at all! :D
-Annie


 Report Review

Review #13, by Phoenix_Heartstring Beadle

22nd February 2011:
Really sweet. I enjoyed the idea that Beadle may have actually been a woman and that her husband appreciates but doesn't fully understand her storytelling. I think that makes the stories more impressive because they came from modest beginnings.
Really fun idea. :)

Author's Response: Hello, and thanks for the review!! :)
The idea came to me as I was rereading the Tales of Beedle the Bard and didn't know if anyone else would think it was interesting, so I'm glad you liked the idea behind it all.
Have a great day,
-ginger


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login