Reading Reviews for Measure of a Man
  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by panchami Under Pressure

31st July 2011:
I love this too please continue!

Author's Response: I am so glad you like the story!
I took a bit of a hiatus from it, but once I get my newest story up and running I will be going strait back to this one!


 Report Review

Review #2, by academica Under Pressure

27th May 2011:
Wow, great story! Very anxious to read your next chapter :)

Author's Response: Hey thanks! I am so glad you're enjoying the story! It's really fun to write.
Thanks for the review!
-Candace


 Report Review

Review #3, by ob sessed Under Pressure

25th May 2011:
Hi!! Yay you updated!! Okay I'm a bit tired so I won't talk your ear off, but I really liked this chapter!! I can see you building up to their first meeting and I'm so excited for that! I couldn't see any mistakes so kudos for that ;) Annnd I'm also liking the backstory to Willow's life. I can see why she is the way she is already ,but can't wait to find out more! Update faster, please :) xxx

Author's Response: Ahh yes, the first meeting. ;D
Gahh, I know! I am so bad at updating, I have four WIPs that I am updating in sequence, but I am just so in love with Draco and Willow's story I may have to cheat a bit.
Thank's for the review, and I am so glad you're enjoying the story!
:D Candace


 Report Review

Review #4, by Evelyn Garden of Exile

10th May 2011:
I simply adore it.It's something totally new.Hope you'll update soon :).Have a nice day!

Author's Response: :D I have three WIP's and this story is due to updated next.
Thanks for the review, glad you're enjoying the story!


 Report Review

Review #5, by justonemorefic An Ugly Turn of Events

26th April 2011:
Review swap time!

Oh cool, I love Beauty and the Beast :) I suppose I won't mind much about canon here, since it's clearly AU. Draco's quite a bit of a ferret hah! And so offended that Zabini's a better kisser. Heheh. Sounds a bit like Beastly, when I think about it. Inspired by it?

Ah, btw! You've got some minor grammar/spelling errors, like "horrable" should be "horrible" and a few missing commas.

Author's Response: Ah yes, my awful, awful spelling. *shame*
It is in fact inspired by 'Beastly'!
I'm glad you're enjoying it.
Review swaps are better when you like the stories you read.
:D
-Candace


 Report Review

Review #6, by ob sessed Garden of Exile

26th April 2011:
Hi once again.. btw I never mentioned it's Preeah from the forums, lol. Anywhooo, I love this chapter!! I love Draco more and more. His stupid vanity and just how vulnerable he really is... and once again, your depiction of the canon characters seems spot on. The way you portray Lucius' detached nature and Narcissa's loving one (although she can't quite show it cause of Lucius). I also really like the idea of the two-side mirror, how Draco can watch the girls practice and I bet that's how he'll fall for Willow, right ;)? Hehe. Well I guess I'll have to wait and see. Please don't abandon it!! I'm totally favouriting this and promise to review every chapter!! You're an amazing writer and as I said, you have a great ability of conveying so much in a very concise way. If that made sense... Haha.

I only picked up on a few things this chapter...

"and head for the stares." --> think you meant 'headed for the stairs' :)

"I saw her wince she see saw my face" --> 'wince as she saw my face'

also, there was one bit where you said something like "all sixteen years of him" and then said he was 17. So was just wondering how old Draco really is supposed to be... I'm assuming this is the summer before seventh year right??

Anyway, great job!! Keep writing!! xxx

Author's Response: I am so glad you think I stayed true to the characters. OOCness is like...my biggest fear as a fan fiction writer. It's really reassuring to know that I am not a complete mess!
(my spelling however...wow!)
Once again, thanks for the pointers!
I've written them all down and am going back to correct them. :D
-Candace


 Report Review

Review #7, by ob sessed Tiny Dancer

26th April 2011:
Hiii again!! I loved this chapter too!! I don't know how you do it, writing these short chapters and still manage to tell a story. Haha. :) Anyway, Willow sounds like such an interesting character. You obviously know a great deal about ballet and it really comes across in your character. She seems tough and kind, a very original character I think as well. And I think I'm really going to enjoy getting to know her... plus... you have Luna in this story!! How could I not! Luna's my favourite!! :P Anyway... I'm guessing next chapter's about summer starting?? Can't wait!! Woooh!

As for mistakes, I only picked up on two :)

"I straitened my back" --> do you mean 'straightened'? because 'straiten' means to make narrow. Hehe sorry, I'm an English nerd.

"in Britan in her prime" --> I think you meant Britain. xD

Otherwise, grammar, punctuation, spelling, etc. was perfect. Great job once again!! xxx

Author's Response: I have an easier time writing Willow because I was a dancer for 10 years. Starting of course with the youngest class, where we put on skirts and ran around to silly music. I had to quit because I got 'bad feet'.
Willow is kind of my alter-ego in a way.
THANK YOU FOR BEING AN ENGLISH NERD!
I cannot believe I misspelled "Britain".
*face-palm*
Thanks for being so helpful!
-Candace


 Report Review

Review #8, by ob sessed An Ugly Turn of Events

26th April 2011:
Wow! I read the summary for this and was sooo incredibly intrigued by it. It sounded a lot like Beastly (Beauty and the Beast-esque) and so I had to come read it. I really love how you didn't try to change Draco's demeanour. I mean we all know him from the books as this obnoxious smug boy and you kept him like that, and I loved that! I mean he's so arrogant, but he's lovable in the same way we love Draco from the books :P. Okay I'm totally rambling... umm so plot flow was perfect. It's a short chapter, but it gave us enough to make us want more and enough to be interesting. I can't wait to read more!!

As for mistakes, the grammar, etc. seemed pretty spot on. There were just a few spelling mistakes... like this:

"I had sexiled my dorm mates" --> did you mean exiled? or was 'sexiled' on purpose cause if it was that would be incredibly hilarious! :)

"Besided, I'm not arrogant" --> I think you mean to write 'besides'

"It was horrable." --> and 'horrible'

other than those three things, your spelling was perfect. :) Keep up the awesome work! xxx

Author's Response: Can I just say that you are an amazing reviewer? I was laughing at myself and face-palming nearly every misspelled word.
It was inspired by 'Beastly' I tried to make it a bit different so it wouldn't look like I simply plugged in Harry Potter names in place of the ones from the movie/book.
It just seemed so fitting and I got a bad case of the plunnies!
I'm so glad that you're enjoying the story! I am planning on finishing up chapter 4 tonight before bed.
Sexiled- The act of being shunned from one's room so one's roommate may indulge in intercourse. xD I heard the term somewhere and I love it!
I really need a beta for this story. The last one abandoned me. D:
Thanks so much for the review!
-Candace


 Report Review

Review #9, by RidikulusTheory An Ugly Turn of Events

18th April 2011:
Hey Candace. As you can see, I've made a point of checking out every single one of your stories :) I like this one a lot, and Beauty and the Beast is one of my fav Disney Movies.
Great chapter, I'm off to read the next!
-Emily
P.S: I saw in your personal info that you're going to college for forensic anthropology? WELL MAY WIZARD GOD STRIKE ME DOWN! I've wanted to be a Forensic Anthropologist ever since I saw Bones (when I was like, 8). Where are you going to school? I've had a bugger of a time finding schools that offer it.

Author's Response: OMGZZ!!11!

 Report Review

Review #10, by sam Tiny Dancer

31st March 2011:
YAY finally an update:)
i like this :P
ALOT
especially cause shes making nice with Luna
Lunas cool

Author's Response: Thank you so much.
I was just itching to write it.
You know those pesky plot bunnies.
Hopefully another update will come quickly.
-Candace


 Report Review

Review #11, by Anni An Ugly Turn of Events

1st March 2011:
GREAT idea! im actually really looking forward to this movie
and i love how uve applied it to harry potter
so looking forward to reading more :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much!
I'm so glad you like it.
I was worried that this story would be overlooked.
And I saw the movie today - FANTASTIC!
-Candace


 Report Review

Review #12, by gran/ger An Ugly Turn of Events

25th February 2011:
Loving it already! Can hardly wait for the next enthralling installment. Seriously though, well done. I truly am rather taken with your story, and looking forward to what comes next.

Author's Response: oh thank you!
I was worried that it wouldn't be received well.
This review made my day!
Thanks again!
-candace


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login