Reading Reviews for Running Keys
  
11 Reviews Found

Review #1, by CheeringCharm Running Keys

10th April 2011:
Lovely piece I like that you gave her more of a personality, though to me the hand on hip is Mrs. Weasley :)
I quite like the idea of their secret location not being so secret after all... though just to remind myself wasn't Remus left out suspected of being the traitor?
anyway your language and descriptions of the rooms all painted the scene up for me :)
*huggles*

Author's Response: Thank you for your lovely review!!

The hand on the hip is definitely Mrs. Weasley haha. Didn't even think about that :D

I don't remember Remus being thought as a traitor but I may be wrong.

Thanks for your review, I'll get to your's in a bit.

Love,
ErinColleen


 Report Review

Review #2, by Ronsgirl29 Running Keys

21st March 2011:
Aww! I loved this! It always amazes me to see how these pictures inspire different things. I would have never thought of this, but I think you used the picture perfectly.

When I saw this picture I thought of Lily too, but it gave me a sad vibe. But I loved how you saw the happiness in it, and created a beautiful moment between James/Lily and their friends, with also the added bittersweet element because we as readers know that the good times won't last must longer.

Great read, thanks for entering my challenge! I hope you enjoyed it (:

-Ronsgirl29

Author's Response: Yeah, I thought the pictured screamed Lily, though I went back and forth between her and the Gray Lady.

A lot of people have seen the bittersweetness of it but I didn't when I wrote it haha. I'm lucky I guess :) I see it now thanks to everyone's great reviews.

I definitely got a sad vibe when I first saw the picture but then I got to thinking "when I play piano, I suddenly feel happy and bubbly." So I decided to make the story happier.

It felt so awesome to get a picture that I could relate to! Thank you so much for that. I play piano so when I got this picture I squealed like a little girl and clapped my hands together. I imagine I looked a bit mental...

This was such a fun challenge to do! I loved the inspiration the pictures provided! It was really refreshing to look at all the images and say "Ohhh, I could write off of that!" or, on another note, "Now, what the heck are they going to do with that?" Haha. This challenge really opened my eyes as a writer.

So to wrap this up, thanks for an awesome challenge, great review, and please, please do this again next year.

Love,
ErinColleen


 Report Review

Review #3, by kirstenalanna Running Keys

24th February 2011:
Alright,
First off let me say that the story itself is a cute idea, but it definately needs tightening up so to speak.

CHARACTERIZATION:
In the beginning you had Lily and James's characters down just right, but by the time you got to the end it was like it fell apart a little bit. If you tighten up the dialogue- think about how people actually speak. (I often read dialogue outloud, and if it doesn't read naturally, it isn't natural)

PLOT:
It's a cute plot- tying in the love of music even in such dark times, but in some respects it is open for improvement. When it was just Lily and James, it was fine but then all these additional characters were coming in and it was reading across as very frantic, as if you had a word limit and certain characters that had to be added.

READABILITY:
I had a hard time reading it. It wasn't as smooth as it could be. There were awkward "stutters" Again, I suggest you read it outloud. Awkward reading spots are areas to correct/ work on.

Good job!

Author's Response: Thank you, by far the most helpful review I've ever had! (happy sigh!)

Thanks for the great ideas, I will get to editing later!

Thank you so much for reviewing!

Love,
ErinColleen


 Report Review

Review #4, by bluerosebud96 Running Keys

24th February 2011:
That was awesome! I can't wait to read your other writing! I was just wondering, how long, in this story, was this before Voldemort?

Author's Response: Voldemort was at large, hence the security measures.

I'm so glad you liked it!!

Yay, I love reviewers!!

Thanks so much,
ErinColleen


 Report Review

Review #5, by That_Nerd Running Keys

23rd February 2011:
Very well- written. One of my favorites. So sweet, but so sad, because we all know how it ends.

Author's Response: Awww, thank you!!

I love reviewers!!

I know it's sad but it's also happy because you know they had moments like these before they died :)

Thank you for reviewing!!

Love,
ErinColleen


 Report Review

Review #6, by GinnysMuggleFan Running Keys

23rd February 2011:
I'm gonna cry! 10/10 Though I despise any mention of Peter.

Author's Response: Don't cry, dearie!!

Thank you for that awesome rating (cookies for you!!)

I know I know, Peter's a traitor but he was still a big part of their lives. It'd be wrong to just leave him out, right?

Thanks bundles and bundles for reviewing!!

Love,
ErinColleen


 Report Review

Review #7, by Ellerina Running Keys

21st February 2011:
I like this so much. On the one hand, it made me incredibly happy and smilely, but then on another, it made me so sad. The way Lily was looking around the house and saying she thought she could build them a life there, teaching Harry piano and wanting him to grow up in such a good way when we all know he doesn't. Really well written and beautiful!

Annie

Author's Response: Yeah! Mission complete! I wanted it to make you feel that way and now I'm all bubbly and happy!!

Thanks for reviewing, I live off them, really :)

So glad you liked it :)

Love,
ErinColleen


 Report Review

Review #8, by NeverGotHerLetter Running Keys

20th February 2011:
Aww this is so cute! I loved the bit where everyone just suddenly started walking in :)
And James. Ah James, I will love you forever. And Scorpius too :D
I love the fact that you reminded everyone that Remus, Sirius and James were marauders, I think that gave a nice base to everything, and showed you hadn't forgot.
Also, who's Sicil? Kind of got confused there.
And finally, something to improve it on... Maybe you should of included a mention of Peter, just to show he's still friends with the Potter's which is why nobody suspected him?
But yes, overall very good :)
8/10
~NeverGotHerLetter x x x x x

Author's Response: Peter's in there too, near the end. He's on a mission for the Order. This is at a point where Peter is still on the light side, so to speak. I guess I didn't convey that thoroughly enough :/

Sicil is an OC. I though Lily needed a girlfriend too.

Thank you for all your helpful criticism and compliments!

Love,
ErinColleen


 Report Review

Review #9, by hpgrl Running Keys

20th February 2011:
Hi!
I loved this story. It was so sweet and the writing flowed well. I thought you did an excellent job of following through on Lily's thoughts and feelings through the whole fic. One thing though, I didn't get what you meant by "bending her knees up and down"- I just couldn't understand the description, but maybe its just me. I wish you could put up the picture this story is based on, it would be nice to see where you got the inspiration from. Great job overall, its a great story, but it would be an even better story if you expanded on some of the descriptions and feelings- but, otherwise- well done!

Author's Response: Hmmm, good idea.

Thanks, I'll definitely go back and do some editing now :)

I've been meaning to go put the picture in but I always seem to ADD out. I'll go do it as soon as I'm done replying :)

Thank you for reviewing!!

Love,
ErinColleen


 Report Review

Review #10, by BrightStar Running Keys

19th February 2011:
So cute. So very very cute. I want Harry to have grown up in that house. Really enjoyed the story :)

Author's Response: Isn't it a shame that Voldemort took that away from him.

I'm thinking of writing a novel on Harry's first year, taking place in this house. He's only about a week old in this story (That's why they're running see, because he was born!)

Do you think I should? I realize you can't reply but you could look me up on the forums. I have the same name there :)

Thanks a billion for reviewing, I live off them!

Love,
ErinColleen


 Report Review

Review #11, by LilyFire Running Keys

15th February 2011:
Aww...it's cute. I love it. Not only did you have the characters on target (and you didn't forget about Peter) but it was just so sweet. A normal day in the life of Lily Potter, but an absolute perfect one.
~LilyFire

Author's Response: Aww, thank you!

I hate it when people forget Petey!

I like to think Lily has a sense of humor and a touch of sarcasm, but still really sweet and kind.

Thanks so much for reviewing!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login