Reading Reviews for Frozen
  
46 Reviews Found

Review #1, by pookielow Illuminated

25th July 2013:
omg i absolutely love your story!!

I keep on rereading it over and over again :)

Author's Response: I'm so glad you like this fic! It doesn't get all that much attention, but I'm so pleased with it and I really miss writing it. Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by MargaretLane Illuminated

29th October 2012:
Well, you already know how much I love this story. *grins*

I like the fact that she alone believed Sirius. Not only did she have additional information, from her spying, but she also knows what it's like not to be trusted.

You really brought so many characters that were only names to us to life in this story. I would never have imagined Gideon like that, but the way you've written it, it's totally believable.

And I like the way you show your characters as having been affected, in their different ways, by the war.

The ending is really sad, but it had to happen. And you maintained suspense the whole way through, which can't have been easy, when everybody already knew how the story would end. Or at least, we knew that Gideon, Fabian, etc, had to die. But you kept us wondering when and how, they would die and what would happen to Araminta.

Author's Response: At the end of the day, Araminta's faith in Sirius had nothing to do with her inside knowledge as a spy herself. She had no way of knowing whether he was one or not - after all, she didn't know who the actual spy was in the end. It purely came down to her gut feeling, along with the fact that he trusted her in the first place, and that she saw their similarities, as did he. She visited him because she had to be sure that her gut was right. But yes, she was one of, if not THE only person to have that second thought. Poor Sirius...

A lot of satisfaction comes from portraying OC or fringe characters - and, with the fringe characters, doing it in a way that people believe and find convincing - because even if they are only names on a page, as with Gideon, people still have their own idea as to what they're like, and so it's great to know that this fic challenged that and yet was still realistic. :)

Araminta did, indeed, have to die the minute she knew of Sirius' innocence. Because, as I've said, it would have been VERY messy otherwise. Besides, there was no way that Bellatrix would let her live. Even if she hadn't known of Araminta's betrayal at that point, she was still a threat to her in terms of being Voldemort's most trusted and loyal, and Bellatrix doesn't like not being the best!

Again, thank you so so much for editing this as I've been writing it. Your feedback has been a massive help, and I really appreciate it :) And thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Slide Illuminated

22nd October 2012:
I held off on reviewing until I knew I could sit down, with a coffee, and properly concentrate! So, here we go. Oooh, cells. Ooh, who on Earth could - I'm betting Sirius, then. I had assumed a bigger time skip, interesting. But it makes sense, since Sirius is probably Major Character #4 and now one of the last 2 alive. Gah, poor Sirius. I mean, poor Araminta, too, but right now, poor, poor Sirius.

Oh, OUCH. Ouch. and yet - necessary. To preserve canon - we cannot forget that people did not believe Sirius, mostly because the people alive were not in a position to do so; Araminta WAS and that would have been a hole (that, and nobody's a fan of the lone believer in Sirius running around for 15 years not being listened to). Dramatically, for just this story, it was necessary; there aren't just No Consequences for betrayal and spying, and though it would have been interesting to see what Araminta would have done had she survived, it would have been a whole new story - her story.

I must also extend kudos for doing it sharply, suddenly, cruelly. Because that's how such murders would be? Or even, casualties in a war. It Happens. This is not the epic tale of heroism of Harry, this is the story of the people on the ground, and the First War was notably bloodier than the Second. It's cruel. It's horrid. It's apt.

Hats off to you, for this final decision, for this final chapter, and for the whole story! It's been a thoroughly entertaining ride. I shall miss my Minty-G and Giddy-P. ;)

Author's Response: I'm intrigued that you imagined a bigger time skip. I never wanted to say too much because I feared that if I let slip that the time skip was to an important date, you'd guess that it was Halloween and the Potters' deaths. It's about a month between this chapter and the last.

For a long time, Araminta was meant to survive this story. I felt that killing her was the easy way out; that her surviving would be more cruel, and the more rewarding ending. But this was before she grew to like Sirius. And the moment that she DID decide that she liked him, as opposed to hating him on principle, she had to die, because there was no way that she would accept his betrayal without talking to him about it - and finding out his innocence. In the interests of canon, she then had to die because I'm not interested in a 'nutter who believes he's innocent for 15 years' story either, and besides, she would have cropped up in OotP if not earlier had she lived. It would be too OOC for her not to. So, she effectively signed her own death sentence. And, of course, it ends everything neatly with no need for further explanation or elaboration. Which, sadly, is another, purely creative, reason for Arieda's death previously.

So, Araminta leaves this world - possibly fitting, that it's inflicted by Bellatrix's wand in the end. Sharply because, as you say, that's reality. Unlike Snape, Bellatrix wouldn't have given time for an epitaph.

Thank you hugely for all your reviews! They began just as I was trying to sum up the motivation to finish this as my NaNo project, and I can't express the amount that your words inspired and encouraged me to carry on, so thank you so so much for that! I'm glad you enjoyed the final resolution, and indeed the story as a whole, as I certainly enjoyed writing it! Thanks for reviewing :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by Slide Oh, Maker

16th October 2012:
I made the most undignified noise in the world when she brought out Fabian's watch. Most excellent, and also most excellent as to why it was Fabian's and not Gideon's! Pocketwatches. Aren't pocketwatches AWESOME for this kind of thing? I think they are.

Good for Araminta. She's grieving, she's struggling, but she's going to persevere. I don't think you've put a foot wrong with either this chapter or the last; it's been sudden, it's been horrid, then it's been bittersweet in all the right ways. This is entirely the right place to leave it; it's shutting the door on Gideon's life, and it's not only making it clear that the door's not shut one Araminta's - but right now, what's BEYOND that door is an unknown. Which is terrifying and heartbreaking and hopeful all at once.

GOOD STUFF.

Author's Response: YES, I do get a lot of satisfaction out of how the watch thing unfolds. Hence my satisfaction when you observed that Fabian's watch got mentioned in an earlier chapter and about how it went to Harry in the end. I don't know why I decided to pick Gideon over Fabian to write about - perhaps I just prefer the name - but this tied in so neatly in the end.

I'm glad these chapters have worked. Obviously killing a main character is something that has to be done justice and I certainly didn't want to crash and burn at the end! I'm excited for you to read the last chapter now because I absolutely LOVE it. Thanks for reviewing :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by Slide Born to Die

15th October 2012:
Oh, wow. I didn't realise This Would Be It. I knew we were approaching the end, of course, and that the end demanded Gideon's death, but... but...! That worked, really, for some reason I didn't think it was going to happen THIS chapter - I think because it came so hot on the heels of Arieda's death, so I was still reeling from that AND assumed there'd be more space between, more time to chew on the deaths, but of course it's horrendous and realistic for them to come on the trot so bravo, bravo!

Oh, Bellatrix. Of course she killed them, and that makes that Molly will have her in just over fifteen years all the more satisfying. She will save her daughter and avenge her brothers.

This does drive home what we should have really always known: this story is Araminta's more than Gideon's. I mean, they share it, and Gideon was the torch-bearer for the POV originally, but it's more how he introduced us to her. That and we always knew he'd die - the HOW is an important question, but the huge question mark's over her. I'm boundlessly curious to see how her story will end. So many questions but I'm sure they'll get answered!

So! Good stuff! OF COURSE!

Author's Response: Yeah, I was always sitting here quite smugly in the knowledge that people would expect him to die with perhaps one chapter to go, but not with two to go. Surprise! There's no respite for poor old Araminta.

We know from canon that it took five people including Dolohov to kill Gideon and Fabian. From then on it was vague, and it was very much my own decision that Bellatrix was one of them. It does give Molly that extra bit of motivation for killing her - and, of course, who else was going to be behind the death of the man Araminta loved than Bellatrix? Life is cruel to Minty-G.

It's funny, that this story ended up being Araminta's, because it was always meant to be Gideon's. Araminta was never even meant to have a narrative voice. In the end this was Gideon's story up until Marlene died and Araminta confessed. The moment the barriers were down, it was her story. And hopefully her story will meet a fitting end, and all questions will be answered. Thanks for reviewing :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by Slide Toy Soldiers

2nd October 2012:
Oh yeah, we were somewhere GOOD, weren't we? *settles down with popcorn* Oh, hey, it's time for another totally adorable James Potter and TWO YEARS?? No wonder they've got a kid. You need something to DO in that time.

The plan is risky, but hey, what's a war without a little risk? I suppose strategically it does make sense - even if it backfires and they lose Gideon, Araminta's safer than ever. Playing the cold strategist game, a spy like Araminta's more valuable than even an excellent fighter like Gideon - and playing it less cold, you know, the plan might even WORK! Crazy.

But at the same time Araminta's fear is normal - and even so's the guilt. This isn't quite as martyrish; if he dies now, he does die for her. By choice or whatever, he'd still be dying for her and that'd be a LOT to take in. Of course, him coming back alive is considerably better!! Heh. Only normal to take some satisfaction from Bellatrix taking the brunt of Voldemort's anger. Nothing wrong with that!

...

...I am going to throw things at you. BIG SPIKY THINGS. I should have seen this coming, really. Anyone that supportive and emotionally integral wasn't going to have a great survival rating. BUT STILL. NINJAS.

Author's Response: This is one of my favourite chapters. It DOES end sadly, but I liked the bit with the Potters, just because I love writing them in general. And I do seem to have an obsession with James Potters, don't I! Haha. The timescale as to when the Potters went into hiding is sketchy, but I went for a couple of months after Lily fell pregnant, given that her child was one of the potentials in terms of the prophecy, and apparently they went into hiding not long after their safety became compromised. But it is indeed a long, long time!

Strategically, this plan makes sense. Not that it was based on strategy at all, more Gideon's rashness and over-protectiveness towards his Minty. There is a huge risk that they might lose Gideon; he's one of the Order's best fighters, and it would be a huge boost to the Death Eaters. But it does enforce the thought in Voldemort's mind that Araminta is still his woman, which is of course its aim, and so in that sense it becomes a success the minute the Death Eaters prove that her information was right.

Araminta does have HUGE problems with guilt. It's possibly for the best that Gideon survived - except, she now has another death to blame on herself. I put her through A Lot.

Please don't throw things! It had to happen, at the end of the day Arieda was a muggleborn with a sister who was prominent in the Order, and so she had the potential to become just as prominent. And Bellatrix was angry and wanted her revenge. Arieda would certainly have had a role to play during the fight at Gideon's flat, so she was, sadly, the obvious target for the Death Eaters. And so she dies. :( Thanks for reviewing, and keep those ninjas well away!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Slide The Power of Love

24th September 2012:
One can only imagine how hard the life of a double-agent is. Though I think perhaps Araminta's being unnecessarily martyrish to hide how tough it is from Gideon. He might be fragile and... Gideon-like, but I have faith that he'd buck up and be able to help! D'aww, bless, Arieda notices first. *waves little flag* Okay, so Arieda says pretty much what I was thinking. You go, girl!

Uh oh, another notch on the martyr score. You can't blame yourself for everything, Araminta. For many reasons but also because that'll drive you crazy. And now we test how well she can put Arieda's advice into practice. Results are in: Not so well. Though I can well understand lashing out as a defence technique; let's hope Gideon puts his experience to good use and takes it on the chin. S'not about you, Giddy-P. Be smart.

...that was not what I meant. GUYS. GUYS. HEY. THIS IS NOT A GOOD PLAN. ...guys?

Author's Response: There was definitely the risk, after Araminta's secret was out, that I could underplay just how hard she found it being a spy. Hopefully I managed to get the balance right and not overplay it either. This is the first time after her and Gideon have sorted things out, so to speak, that it really begins to trouble her, and she's gotten so used to not being able to tell him anything that it's almost as though it doesn't even cross her mind that she COULD. That, and she really doesn't like the feeling that she's burdening others. It's not necessarily that she's being deliberately martryish, more that she genuinely thinks her problems aren't worth troubling him further with.

Arieda, of course, notices first. Because she is a BABE. You wave your flag, girl! And yeah, Gideon would be able to buck himself up and help her out - because he's a Gryff, and that's what Gryffs do best.

...Course, he also does sacrificing himself for others very well. Which isn't always a good thing! This plan is clearly, TOTALLY, fool-proof.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Slide I Believe In You

12th September 2012:
Squee, House fun! Oh, you'll be a Slytherin, Minty-Gamp, and you'll like it. Ha, I can only imagine that Gideon's a little put out that you don't think you can conjure up a happy enough memory to produce a patronus, but is this a Chekhov's Gun I see being put up on the wall? There'll be a patronus before this story is out, mark my words!

Ahh, Dumbles' office. A place of much wonderment and oddity. I was briefly surprised that he'd let anyone in unattended, but then we're dealing with adults of the Order, not his students! Yay, Sorting Hat! Yes, I imagine Sorting an adult would be very different to Sorting an 11 year-old (don't get me started on Dumbledore's bloody "I think we Sort too soon", as if Snape was done some injustice by being Sorted into Slytherin at a young age BUT I DIGRESS), so it's interesting the Hat's considering both now and then. Yess, embrace the Slytherin-ness, Minty-G. It's good for you. It doesn't make you evil by default, trust me. If you were a classic Gryffindor you'd probably be one dead spy. Slyths approve!

I was a bit bewildered by her going to pieces over the Hat, but it makes perfect sense, really, considering the tension she's under and layers of self-doubt and self-identity which have to prevail over a defector and a spy. Especially if we consider how ingrained into the wizarding collective subconscious the Houses are as a definition of one's personality and values... mmm, yes. I could meander a lot on the philosophy of this chapter but I'll spare you all the armchair psychology of a fictional culture and other people's characters!

Except, Giddy, you really are the most Gryffindory-Gryffindor who ever Gryff'd. At least until your nephew becomes a Hero. Good chapter!

Author's Response: House fun indeed! I had much fun writing this chapter - all of about two years ago, in fact. Another reason why I loved Anguisverse so much when I started reading it, with all of its House dynamics and analysis. I expect that Gideon was indeed VERY put out when Araminta said she doubted she could cast a Patronus - in fact, I had that very same thought myself when I wrote it! Poor thing, I am horrible to him.

At first, Dumbledore was meant to be in his office the entire time. But his presence just felt AWKWARD, so I had to ditch him. In the end it's not beyond the realms of possibility that he would let adults into his office without him, especially when a) it's Gideon and b) there is someone intrigued in being 'Sorted', so to speak, and that strikes me as the kind of thing that Dumbledore would think of as Very Important.

You know, it's possible that Dumbledore's comment about people being Sorted too soon wasn't meant as a slur towards Slytherins, but more that Snape HIMSELF wasn't helped by being in Slytherin, and that actually he'd have been much better off in a different House, because he wouldn't have been surrounded by so many future Death Eaters? But then, I can't see where else he WOULD have gone, because, as we have also discussed, Snape wasn't courageous for courage's sake but just because he wanted Lily for himself, so really he was acting in his own self-interest the entire time which is much more of a Slytherin trait.

And Minty-G would DEFINITELY have been a Slytherin at 11. She has developed more Gryffindor traits over the past few months though, but she is by no means a fully-fledged Gryff thank you. And she is certainly VERY insecure right now, and is just looking for people to trust her. The Sorting Hat doesn't identify her as being loyal, and it just pushes her over the edge. Writing this chapter - all that time ago - has made me very Hufflepuff-sympathetic though! And don't worry, I enjoy your character-trait-related musings! But yes, possibly not HERE. Haha :)

Gideon is the ULTIMATE Gryffindor. Right down to the part where he, you know, DIES. Tragic stuff. Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Slide I Run to You

4th September 2012:
Yay more Lady Antebellum songs! Did Gideon really think he could hide things from Arieda? Silly boy. I want to give them both hugs - oh noes, Arieda, don't get involved with Sirius. I know you say you're just friends but it's DOOMED. DOOMED. Like the Bones family. Poor, poor Bones family - I was gutted when Amelia died, she was a cool lady. Heh, I like that "he saved my life a couple of times". An off-hand comment about a HUGE thing, but in wars, it happens a lot. It like "He bought me a drink this one time". I love playing with that stuff, how life-altering horrendous things become commonplace.

Minty-G, you are entirely forbidden from saying things like "the curiosity won't kill me". Bad idea. Though I kind of want to know, too... ooh, the killing stuff. *gets popcorn* ...okay, I don't want this popcorn any more. COLD. Super-cold. She didn't have a choice. Someone else would have killed the girl. She was already dead. But still. Horrific.

Oop. Forget popcorn, it's reading glasses time. Yeah, shock to the system like that's always going to make you cling to people. Let's just hope this isn't precipitating anything which wouldn't happen anyway - a catalyst, rather than a Bad Idea brought on from stress. Gideon's sensible to be careful, but at least he's not doing any Idiotic Decision Making For Her thing. But yes! Good, and well done, and well addressed. Neither beleaguering the point nor shying away, as we have discussed, these scenes are tough to write. Good stuff!

Author's Response: More Lady Antebellum indeed! I could possibly have written most if not all of this fic with Lady Antebellum songs but that would have been very monotonous. I do use them twice though BECAUSE I CAN.

Arieda is totally, totally head-over-heels in love with Fabian, she's not going to start fooling around with Sirius any time soon. And the Boneses have, sadly, copped it.

It would indeed be very interesting if the curiosity DID kill Araminta. I can safely say that it WON'T, though throwing phrases involving death around when you're in a war probably isn't appropriate. THE KILLING STUFF. It is, indeed, cold. But hopefully realistic. Poor Minty G has had a tormented life, and she barely even realises it most of the time. Tragic.

Sexy-times would definitely have happened anyway AT SOME POINT, but it may have taken a bit longer for her to be at ease with it all. Back when I was a little less sure about it all, I reasoned to myself that in that state of mind, Araminta would probably be MORE likely to want to overcome the pain that Travers caused, because she wouldn't want to be held back by him, especially now he's dead and after she's been tortured by the guy whose fault it all is. SO she sought comfort from her Giddy. Who was very mature and sensible about it all. Very glad you approve, as it was an utter headache. THANKS FOR REVIEWING.


 Report Review

Review #10, by Slide Saviour

29th August 2012:
I'd say "poor James", and I'm sure it's hard to be left behind, but good grief, man, don't complain at the people about to go off and risk their lives! Look at baby Harry. There, that's better. Heh, of course Voldemort has standing positions for his hierarchy. I never have observed before how this stroy makes for some fun and sensible insights into how the organisation of Death Eaters works, but it does, and they're believable and compelling and really add to the atmosphere of the kind of life Minty-G lives.

Ha, sensible Moody. No plan survives contact with the enemy. I almost feel sorry for Avery, whipping-boy of the Death Eaters. Ohhh, tense. Good, good tension. AWW Bella cares. Okay, she doesn't, but I like this display that Bellatrix is (perhaps for now, before she goes truly crazy) professional enough to know that Araminta needs protecting as an asset, regardless of personal dislike. Okay, or, trying to get a liability out of the way but that's still CUNNING. Plenty of people would write Bellatrix as just being happy to get Araminta killed. I really like that little bit. Okay, I take back my harsh words from the beginning, James Potter is, again, a sweetheart. And I am inordinately pleased at Arieda getting her first takedown.

Trust Gideon to get an excuse to take his shirt off. Trust him to be all charming and provocative while gushing blood. Always a pleasure when they recapture some of the banter from before. And, of course, what woman could resist? I do like that it's frantic, desperate sort of embrace, considering he nearly died and she panicked about it and that's going to have a lot of bubbling emotions rather than being something suave and perfect.

B'AWWW I'm all gushy now. Issues are real and not ignored. Gideon is appropriately outraged then appropriately adorable. Healing takes time and is all FLUFFY. *flails* Yeah, I'm out of coherent words on this one. A particularly outstanding chapter.

Author's Response: The trouble is, it's easy for James to moan about not fighting when he's around people who ARE, because that's where he'd like to be too! And actually, I expect that most, if not all, of the people actually fighting would much rather be doing that than be in James' position, so I doubt too many of them were too irritated at the whole thing.

In GoF the Death Eaters seemed to have particular spots in which to stand around him, so I nabbed that idea and decided that it occured regardless of the situation. It's partly to make it more realistic and canon-compliant, and partly to poke fun at Voldie-boy. Because it's utterly ridiculous. BUT it does prevent people from unfortunate Apparitions on top of other people, so it has its practicalities.

I think there are numerous ways to look at Bellatrix's attitude here. It might be that she recognises Araminta's importance; alternatively, it's that she doesn't want her to duel well and steal her glory, or it's an act that might bump Bellatrix higher up on Voldemort's list of favourites! I DO think that it would be too easy, especially at this stage, to have Bellatrix not recognise Araminta's values AT ALL purely because of a mutual dislike. So she sends her away. For a mixture of all of the above reasons. She's no idiot.

James is definitely my favourite Marauder, and he's not featured enough yet. Any excuse to shoehorn him in, and I'm there :) And he is a bit of a babe in this chapter! It's not the last we see of him, but he doesn't have much more of a role - then again, neither does anyone else any more, we're getting to the end of Giddy and Minty's story...

The Gideon/Araminta moment was ridiculously cheesy and corny but I DON'T CARE I LOVED IT ANYWAY. It's good to know that you did too! They'd both gotten to the point where they'd admitted to themselves how they felt, but didn't want to be the first to take the plunge and admit it to the other, so it was always going to take something like this - the worry that one of them wouldn't survive - to egg them on a bit. Hence the frantic desperation. And then, of course, Araminta's ISSUES come up. And Gideon is an utter babe. Seriously, I'd like my own Gideon having written this chapter, he is a little bit amazing when he's in the right mood. This was possibly my favourite chapter so far to write - actually, I'd say my favourite of ALL, though I am pleased with those that follow too. This one had THE Giddy/Minty moment in it; it can't really be topped! Thanks for reviewing :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by angelicdemon1209 Saviour

25th August 2012:
It' amazing.. I love how these two are.. And it's so so sweet. Gideon is one of the best characters I have read in a long time, and Araminta is great..
And I love reading about them.
I was really scared during the ambush too.. We all know how these times were so dark, how many people died, and it's just scary to think who'll be next... It's just all very sad, especially when I read about James, Lily and Sirius, and now that I got to know Gideon and Fabian, them too.
And I loved that scene, where Araminta had Harry in her lap, with a teddy bear, and wondered who will stop Voldemort...
Waiting for further updates
Thank you!

Author's Response: I'm glad you like Gideon so much, he and Araminta are both fairly difficult to write sometimes because it's hard to imagine what it's like to be in their situation! It's certainly gotten to the point now where nobody is safe, and anything could happen. I like to keep my readers on their toes. :)

I'm pretty pleased with that scene with Araminta and Harry, if I do say so myself, so I'm glad that you liked it! Updates will be fairly frequent because I've finished this now, it's just a case of juggling it with my other fic. Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Slide Devotion

20th August 2012:
Oh, Rosier's dead that's OH NO THEY HAVE A TRAVERS. NOT GOOD. Interesting use of the extended powers thing - that Moody absolutely used the Killing Curse, didn't just go "Screw safety, I'm not holding back" which happened to lead to his death. It's logical and I have a hard time feeling bad about it, but always interesting and oh no no no not Gideon doing the interrogation. Bad. Bad idea. At least it's the brother-in-law, not the husband (I know he's dead, but that's not a good confrontation).

Hee! Crouch disapproval. Hee! Inbreeding cracks. Oh dear. Gideon's kind of crazy in here, being so blase. I kind of LOVE IT. I'd like to think she'd approve of him using it to wind a Death Eater up.

Oh dear. Araminta, if Voldemort's summoning you, I recommend you adjust your priority list to not have 'dinner' at the top of it. Perhaps 'survival'. Ha! Poor Avery. Whipping boy for Death Eaters. Hmm. I worry about that Voldemort unusually called a meeting. Yes, it's an opportunity. But I call TRAP.

Author's Response: Yup, they have Travers! I don't know if Moody DID die because he wouldn't use the killing curse; more that he was sitting on a broom and Voldemort shot a killing curse at him, which is pretty hard to avoid! But, yes, in this instance he recognised that it was a case of 'kill or be killed', and it's surely better to have Rosier dead than out on the streets still with Moody dead instead?

I loved writing Giddy in this! He's actually in a good place right now; he's sorted things out with Araminta, and they're catching Death Eaters which gives him a sense of job satisfaction. So he's back to his old self, even if only for a moment.

Never get on the wrong side of a hungry Minty G! :) Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Slide Alone

20th August 2012:
I'm here! It's all good! Yummy reviews!

D'aw, breakfast in bed. What a sweetheart. Gideon knows the way to a woman's heart, clearly. Who could stay angry at him after all that? Okay, even if Arieda made it he's still wise to bring it himself, yes. And Arieda remains as smart and sensible as ever - deal with the 'mistakes' move on, don't kick yourself over it. Clearly Arieda is the only emotionally healthy person around. Which is troubling!

The logic about parents in the Order is harsh. Reasonable, but harsh, and I suppose if parents were to get involved Dumbledore wouldn't STOP them, they're just not on the priority. I suppose I have mixed feelings because it's difficult to judge some people being more expendable than others while at the same time pragmatic. But it's good, it's interesting! And explains why Arthur and Molly aren't Order veterans. And d'aww, little Ginny. Our Minty-G's good with kids - which is nice, so often the rather emotionally closed-off protagonist is more awkward, especially when they're in direct contrast with someone whose heart's more on their sleeve, like Gideon. It's a good subversion.

Of COURSE Molly's smart. Of course she knows what her brother's like. Oh GOD I feel so bad for her now, knowing what's to come. :(

Author's Response: Yay, reviews! Om nom :)

Gideon is indeed trying to worm his way back into Araminta's good books, bless him. Not that he needs to, but he feels like he does. And, yes, Arieda is really the only undamaged person left, so she's the one left holding everyone else together! Poor thing...

The thing with parents in the Order ... yeah, it was basically a case of having to explain why Molly and Arthur weren't Order members this time round. I find it odd, given that Gideon and Fabian WERE in the Order, that they weren't, and the only thing I can think of is that they had young children when Dumbledore was first setting up the Order. Gideon's view on it is possibly slightly skewed; he HAS been through a lot and it's nice to think that Dumbledore might not have been quite so brutal, for want of a better word. But then, given what we know about Dumbledore... you never know.

Araminta IS good with kids, although she's not quite sure HOW! But she didn't actually have a bad childhood herself, so she's not mentally scarred in that respect, which helps.

I actually hated writing this chapter! Because I get sad every time I write Molly, knowing what she'll have to go through. But she's a strong woman, as we've seen. And this isn't the last we'll see of her... Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #14, by angelicdemon1209 Quiet

21st July 2012:
Ohhh... This is such a wonderful, wonderful story...
Gideon, Fabian, Araminta and Marlene, and Sirius, and the Potter, and everyone really, are so so amazing.. You've made them all into such beautiful main characters..
I love how Gideon and Araminta found each other, it's really sweet..
I can't wait for further updates, but the only thing that really scares me that I know how most of these characters go ahead, and all those sad endings, well... Reading all that will be very difficult.. But I honestly love your story

Author's Response: Thank you! I do love this chapter, Gideon and Araminta finally make some inroads and they're so cute when they're not ripping each other's heads off. So glad that you like all the characters! It's good to know I've gotten them all right :) Yeah, it does get a bit sad from here on! The next couple of chapters are quite light-hearted, but from then on it gets A Bit Sad. But it has to be done! Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by Slide Quiet

17th July 2012:
Now this one's just adorable, from doors to daisy chains. There's not much NEW in it - we know Gideon's moved to forgive her, we know the stories she's telling him (for the most part), but it's just NICE to see them sharing these feelings and these thoughts. That this is the first time they can talk, really talk, and not have to watch their secrets and their lies breeds an atmosphere so warm and fuzzy it's almost palpable. And Gideon, now he's over the worst of his hump, is as charming as ever, but it's our girl Minty-G who gets the best of this bargain - we see her relaxed, we see her accepting her circumstances and the risks of her situation and still able to enjoy herself and embrace the good in her life. For someone who actively risks death every day, she's in a pretty good place. I'm sure that won't last!

All that said, the two of them HAVE fallen into a Something without identifying what it is, haven't they? That can't last. There'll either be an explosion of a Conversation, and God knows how THAT goes!!

Author's Response: Yup, there's a distinct lack of drama in this chapter! It would be the calm before the storm, if they weren't already in the middle of a war. The calm in the middle of the storm, perhaps? Giddy-P is indeed back to his best. And yeah, Araminta is probably the most relaxed we've seen her! And probably the most relaxed she'll ever be, the poor thing. Because despite all that Arieda CAN do for her, it's with Gideon that she feels safest and most secure. And ... yeah, neither of them has any idea what's going on between them. Gideon has at least acknowledged that there is Something there, but he's not quite worked out what the Something is. What happens next? Well, you'll have to wait to find out :) Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #16, by AlwaysSev Quiet

15th July 2012:
Yay! They are so cute when they are just talking. I love them together. There is something just so perfect about them in a quirky way. I love them! Ahh! And poor Araminta; she is so brave though! She really is going to put up a fight. Her character has really grown on me, and now I am definitely rooting for her! I wasn't sure at first, which makes your story so interesting! Anyways, I am loving it and I really can't wait to see more soon, hopefully :)

Author's Response: They do have their cute moments! When they're not arguing, of course. And I think part of the reason why you weren't so sure about Araminta is because she was having to hide a lot of herself before. Now, she can be much more open, and we see what she really is like. And yes, she is ridiculously brave at times. The next update should be somewhen early next week; my next update will be to my other fic, but then I'll post the next chapter of this. Like I've said, it's all finished now, it just depends on juggling the updates with my other fic. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Slide A Real Hero

9th July 2012:
Oops. I must have read this and then been distracted, I thought I'd reviewed! Naughty Slide! But here we go. It's nice to see Moody accepting Araminta; though he's mister Constant Vigilance, I like the idea that if he's decided to trust her (even if it's via trusting Dumbledore), he goes the whole hog, rather than being sort of begrudgingly trusting about it all. And, of course, Arieda being supportive (waves little flag for the two of them). I can just imagine our Minty-G would be having a pretty horrific time of things if she didn't have those two, especially Arieda, considering Gideon's reactions.

I am curious as to why Voldy is after Gideon. It might just be because he's, you know, awesome, and so it's in Voldemort's best interests to try to get such a powerful enemy offed. But I wonder if there's something More Sinister.

And, ha, of COURSE her suffering horribly is his point to start to realise. Nothing like a bit of torture to get everyone's priorities in check? But, of course, doing it in such a Gideon way - needing to be kicked out by Lily, needing to be knocked out of the self-pitying by Sirius. I seriously (no puns intended) love your Sirius, he's such a sweetheart beyond the usual impetuous, fiery guy - making him rather emotionally intelligent makes a whole lot of sense and does make him an excellent foil for Gideon and Araminta, who're both pretty obtuse. Especially since I think Sirius is more inclined than Arieda to apply tough love, which they sometimes really need. Like here!

Author's Response: Yes, naughty Slide! Haha. Moody has no personal attachments ... well, ANYWHERE really. So he's probably more likely to trust Araminta; even if he IS mr Constant Vigilence, I don't think he's quite that paranoid YET. And yes, a lot of it is about him trusting Dumbledore's judgement more than anything else here. Minty/Ari time! Araminta would, indeed, be pretty stuck without Arieda here. Gotta love the girlie. :)

Yeah, basically Giddy and Fabby are too good at duelling for Voldy to let them live. I mean, does he need a reason to kill people? He's a sadistic maniac. But yeah, that's basically what it is; they're too good for him to let them live. Sob sob.

Gideon Is Silly. It was always going to take something big for him to finally come to terms with it all. As Araminta pretty much said last chapter, to be fair! Or asked of him, at any rate. In the end, he cares for her too much to refuse to see it any more. And of COURSE he blames himself for it. This conversation between Gideon and Sirius was one of the early edits that survived plot changes, and I'm still really pleased with it. Sometimes I wonder if Sirius is TOO emotionally intelligent! Haha. But then, twelve years in Azkaban is enough to make anyone regress, isn't it? Really glad you like him though, because obviously he's the 'villian' to some extent in Gideon's eyes ... but he's not, not REALLY. Thanks for reviewing! :)



 Report Review

Review #18, by AlwaysSev A Real Hero

8th July 2012:
I love Sirius so much. I love that he and Araminta have so much in common and he really understands where she is coming from. I just love all the relationships you have built up, and I feel like no matter how this ends, I am going to cry, because I love all of your characters way too much. I glad I finally got caught up, it has gotten so deep and complicated, and I really can't wait for more!! :)

Author's Response: Sirius wasn't meant to be this understanding! Araminta wasn't meant to like him at all, haha. But at the end of the day they've both come from the same walk of life, and so I think he WOULD understand her more than anyone else. I finished this story a week ago, and I cried at a couple of bits! So yeah, it does get quite sad. But I'm hoping you continue to like it either way! Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #19, by AlwaysSev Fernando

7th July 2012:
Hey! I am just getting caught back up with the story, since I got kind of far behind! I really liked the heart-to-heart with Arieda, I really like her character. She is just so strong and so sweet at the same time. She really cares about Gideon.

You write Gideon so well! He is just so believable even though people in your story don't exactly understand why he is in the depressed funk and can't get out of it. It makes me feel for him! I know that this kind of character is hard to write, because I have someone similar that I am trying to figure out how to make convincing! You seem to do it so easily! It is really impressive. I am very curious as to how Araminta will hold up this whole spy thing, so I am going to continue reading! Just thought I would let you know that I am reading and I am loving it!

Author's Response: I LOVE Arieda. She totally steals the show in this section of the story! She's probably the only genuinely level-headed person left, everyone else is ridiculously wounded by the war, and so she's left holding everyone else together!

I'm so glad you're liking Gideon because yeah, he IS hard to write. He's in a bad place right now, poor thing, and I'm only going to make things crueller for him. Thank you so much for reviewing, I really appreciate it! :)


 Report Review

Review #20, by WumpsQuill A Real Hero

2nd July 2012:
I've been absolutely adoring this story so far. It's got plenty of drama and a touch of romance. Absolutely great! Can't wait for the next chapter to come out :)

Author's Response: It's so nice to know people are enjoying this! I've actually finished this now, so updates will be fairly regular from now on. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #21, by Slide Little Lies

29th June 2012:
Ha, good opening line. Poor, silly Gideon - well, not silly to be upset about it all, but he is so messed up. I can only be sympathetic to him for Arieda being so buddy-buddy with Araminta when he's trying to be angry with her!

Oooh. Ooh, Arieda, you cunning minx. Fighting his angst with LOGIC, how dare you. She is so good, being so frustrated and troubled about Araminta herself but either having got over it by now or at least recognising her own feelings to be simply illogical and still being prepared to bat for Araminta to Gideon. She could so easily have just used it to encourage Gideon to stay away - and while that would have been manipulative, it wouldn't have been an entirely BAD idea if she wanted to look out for him. Good girl.

GAH Gideon, you fool. Worst of all is that I bet it's not so much that he does DISTRUST her for being a Death Eater - he's just doing that emotionally vulnerable thing where he's taking her deception personally, and then twisting that around to distrust her 'professionally'. Which both preserves his pride and means he doesn't have to worry about his squishy human emotions, but at the same time it's NOT fair to Araminta... silly, messed up man.

Bad move, Minty-G, claiming you didn't lie. Lie of omission is still a lie, whatever good reasons you had for it - oh, wait, moral high ground lost by Gideon for the 'Travers' dig. Wow. She's patient in taking his venom here. I suppose you have to eat humble pie as a defector, but Gideon is lucky she's bothering to keep on trying after, of all things, complaining at her for stealing 'his' kill.

Uh oh. "Die for you." I now have a bad feeling those words will prove to be prophetic. On the other hand, good zinger against the moral self-righteousness against the good guys. Gideon has fallen into a lot traps from having had the opportunity and encouragement to fight the good fight, and not seeing how it goes the other way around.

I see how this can prove a set-up chapter (set-up for what, I eagerly wait to see), but still, a zinger!

Author's Response: Yeah, poor Giddy P. I'm so cruel to him! But yeah, Arieda sees that the best thing for them both is for them to talk, and get through it. Before she genuinely came to terms with Araminta herself it was more of a "stay away from him because you won't help him" thing but now she's trying to look out for them both equally, and Araminta needs him to accept what she's done. And in the long run, Arieda figures that's what's best for Gideon too, but obviously he doesn't want to know, which makes things difficult.

Yep, the thing that bothers Gideon the most is that it was HER who was the spy, and he'd obviously grown a smidgen fond of her, so he has taken it as a personal insult more than anything, and THAT'S where the problem is. Which is another reason why Dumbledore, Moody, Sirius, and even Arieda, didn't take TOO long to forgive Araminta for it; because the deception wasn't as personal. And so now Gideon just doesn't want to know. And Araminta is taking it all on the chin rather; by this point she realises that she probably deserves all she's getting. She's had time to calm down and see sense, and Gideon - hasn't. The silly billy. But still, she hopes that there's half a chance that she can force him to change his mind. He ain't having it though! It's going to take A Lot for him to change his mind, if at all...

I'm very pleased that you enjoyed this chapter, because it is, indeed, more of a set-up chapter for what's to come than anything else. Still important though! Thanks for reviewing :)


 Report Review

Review #22, by Slide Save the Hero

13th June 2012:
For such a Chunky, Serious, Important chapter, the ending made me flail in such a pathetically lovelorn way. I am SUCH a girl. Aww, even in the midst of all of this difficulty and angst, she still wants to go running to Gideon. It might be a bit because we, as the reader, are finally seeing inside her head, but it does feel as if now our Minty-G is managing to be more honest with HERSELF as well as the readers - now the blinkers have come off and she's made the decisions she's made, she's more aware of her feelings and being rational about them rather than charging up De Nile.

And again, we get to see her as competent, we get to see her as intelligent and calculating in a way which is refreshing. I don't know why I like it so much; I guess partly because the stereotype of the Death Eater orphan under Voldemort's wing is usually so much more frail and wilting, while these are not words I would use to describe Araminta (however she may be perceived by Bellatrix et al). Of course, it's backfiring a little if old Voldy wants to then have more of a direct hand in managing her. The price of competence! (in this case, possibly death)

I kept forgetting to say - there had been that Mysterious Reference in the last chapter to her being unable to kill people AND having done it before to someone who would have 'died anyway'. I am intrigued! I'm sure we'll find out all in good time. But yes, I enjoyed this chapter mightily for a good insight into Araminta, and it's refreshing to be pulling off the covers and basically rediscovering her from scratch all over again. The little insights, into her thoughts on Bellatrix, her thoughts on the Travers(eseseses), are all satisfying. Good stuff!

Author's Response: Haha, the ending made me squee a little bit when I wrote it. Minty-G's so adorable when she's not being all "I IS A DEATH EATER I IS MEANT TO FEEL NOTHING." It IS partly because I can be more open with her feelings now, but it's also because ... well, you said it all for me! This decision she's made is HUGE and she's realising that near enough everything she thought was right, was wrong, and so she CAN let herself love someone, it doesn't make her vulnerable. That and now she's on the same side as Gideon it doesn't feel WRONG to want to be with him, which was the crux of the issue before; he was on the Other Side and she wasn't supposed to allow herself to get close to him. Now she's on his side, things are different.

Yeah, now it's all become clear, we can see just what traits she DOES have. Which is nice, because she deserves her time to shine. She does have frailties - but then, she also has some traits which we might consider to just be having morals but in Voldy's eyes amount to being weak - but she's got a backbone and a brain, which is important. And things are about to get VERY hard for her, poor thing. I am cruel.

You notice everything, don't you? Yes, you will find out about the whole killing thing all in good time. I'm not even going to TRY to guesstimate, but if I were to pluck a number out of the air I'd say six or so chapters time. DON'T HOLD ME TO THAT. As I said, this chapter totally wasn't in the plan, but I thought it would be unrealistic if Voldemort DIDN'T call a mass meeting to try to calm the troops, and besides it meant seeing Minty in action which is always nice. I too hate pluralising names which end in 's'; this silly English language, eh? Thanks for reviewing :)


 Report Review

Review #23, by Slide Rootless

8th June 2012:
So, not Ivy. I AM NOT CONVINCED, I - okay, okay. Maybe the Mysterious She IS Araminta. FINE. Ivy can still be the spy in the midst. Except that it's probably Peter.

Of course, the revelation doesn't tie ANYTHING off and does, indeed, commit everything to becoming far more complicated. It's great seeing the blinkers off our Minty-G, seeing her able to express herself fully - emotionally and also in terms of her capabilities. Negotiating with giants, Legilimency and Occlumency; we have not seen so much of her talents, and I hope that is going to change now she's more likely to let loose (well, not stupidly, since, still undercover. But looser).

Dumbledore's spot-on in this chapter. Of course he backs up his gut instinct with some Legilimency, and all the time is the kindly, trusting grandfather, but while he was understanding and supportive (because, if you believe her, then surely sympathy IS the most moral path to take, and for his sins Dumbledore is moral), there was the pleasant knife-edge sensation that the kindness could turn to coldness just as quickly if he decided she couldn't be trusted. And Moody - Bolshy as you would expect, but accepting Dumbledore's opinion.

And while the confession to Dumbledore was TENSE and nail-bitey, the Arieda scene was spot on with Araminta getting, well, what she does need to hear thrown in her face. Now she has a choice she's acting on the choice, but her actions have still caused intense harm. Arieda accepting it, but with reservations and difficulties, is compelling and realistic, too. NOT TO MENTION her instructions to stay away from Gideon, which make PERFECT sense in every way (smart girl; I like her) but is, of course, going to backfire HORRIBLY. I also particularly like Arieda rather bluntly sweeping aside Araminta's denial of her love for Gideon in a "we don't have time for your ANGST, this is BUSINESS" way. But then, much as I love my overwraught angstyness, I do like it when it's not allowed to take itself too seriously, so that tickled me.

So this is where the whole game changes. It's not the Whodunnit, it's the Howdunnit, the Howtolivewithit. And, of course, Gideon is going to DIE.

Now I need to go reread the whole damn story with this information in mind. And perhaps this chapter at a slightly less psychotic speed. Don't get me wrong, I want more, but all this needs to SIMMER.

Author's Response: Peter is, of course, A Spy. Naturally. Whether he and Araminta (and Snape, of course) are the only ones floating around? I couldn't possibly say. :)

I'm really enjoying that Araminta's full capabilities can now come across. And she DOES have a lot going for her, though it is of course hard to see when you're not allowed to know what she's done. But this is indeed exciting times for me, and it certainly makes portraying her MUCH easier in a way. Although she also becomes harder to portray in other ways...

SO hard to write Dumbledore and Moody here. But yes, as you say, once he's seen what's going on in her mind and sees that she's telling the truth, there are two assumptions to make; that she IS being truthful, or that she's lying to him and doing it VERY well. And it takes a lot to deceive Dumbledore, even if she HAS been taught everything by Voldemort. And so he believed her. Very chuffed he was spot-on, naturally. :)

The confession bit was one of the bits I wrote a long time ago. I had to tweak it; initially in my plans Gideon and Araminta were much more romantically involved by this point, but then the closer to this moment I got, the more I figured it wasn't at all realistic, so I tweaked it, and thus some of what I'd written here ALSO needed to be tweaked. (Nice word, that. Tweak. Love it.) The conversation with Arieda was mostly written the other day, and that was all good fun because neither of them would shut up! But yeah, it's obviously difficult for Arieda to hear, but she's slightly more accepting than Gideon might be because she's less close-minded than he is. The war has affected her less that way. And things will indeed backfire, because I am cruel. And because Araminta won't be able to stay away.

If I were to split this story into arcs, this would definitely be the end of arc one. How many arcs the rest splits into? Two or three, I'd say; it's not so definitive. But this is where a lot of the mystery ends, and it becomes much more of a story of coping, and of love in the face of angst and sorrow, of course. Because we all need a bit of love in our lives. And Gideon is going to DIE.

Sometimes in writing this first bit I'VE had to reread it, for the purpose of writing the OPOPT bits, because nothing is directly referred to in them, so I'd be there going "what's this bit about again?" I think things will become clearer upon a reread though. :) And that's totally cool, I'll give you ... a month? That enough time to simmer?

I jest, of course, I'll update when I have the next chapter done, but I don't know when that will be, this weekend I am away and so writing time is dependent once more on my battery life which is minimal at best. So we'll see. :) Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #24, by Slide Need You Now

6th June 2012:
I was trying to not read this at breakneck speed, and all the time as we got up to Dumbledore's office was thinking "If she ends this on a cliffhanger, I'm going to kill her. If she ends this on a cliffhanger, I'm going to kill her." So, it's time to go hire some ninjas. Nothing personal!

I AM STILL NOT CONVINCED. This could be a bluff, OR there could be more than one spy, OR or or. Theories. So many. But it will not be simple, oh no. Ivy's definitely evil. NEXT chapter may blow me out of the water on this one, but I will stick to my crazy! It REASSURES me. Either way, I am so super eager for more.

Of what there IS, it's tasty. Poor, angsty Gideon, but at least he seems to partly realise blaming Araminta is not quite reasonable, though he's entitled to a bit of illogical thought in his grief. That he recognises that she's good for him, even if he's not necessarily in a state to do much/anything about it right now, is a positive, positive sign.

UNLESS SHE'S EVIL.

I must also particularly commend you on describing particular things which are familiar to the reader but not to the character, like the entrance to Dumbledore's office. It's such a NOTABLE entranceway that it seems wrong to just skim over it when seeing it for the first time, but equally, you didn't excessively linger on it and make the reader feel like they were just treading well-worn ground. Even if I was trying to stop myself from reading at a rate of a mile a minute at that point.

I would love to read the next chapter, but alas, I have some ninjas to hire. Except then I'll never see the next chapter. Hmm. No ninjas. FOR NOW.

Author's Response: I'd firstly like to remind you of the many instances in which you have used the cliffhanger device. Just saying. Bring on the ninjas!

MY LIPS REMAIN SEALED because it amuses me that I know what happens and you don't. HA. But yes, the next chapter will (I hope!) answer some, if not all, of your questions. Course, it may leave you asking more as well, we shall see. But it is big, and juicy, and written, and in the process of being edited, and then I'll post it once I'm satisfied that I've drawn out the suspense for long enough.

Gideon partly sees that Araminta is good for him, yes. But in a way she's so good for him that she's bad. And he recognises this too, and doesn't want to end up madly in love with someone who (in his eyes) doesn't return the sentiment at all. Last time he loved someone he lost her and he doesn't want to go through all that again. So he's in a bit of a sticky situation, bless him. And it's only going to get worse in the short term ... I'm cruel like that.

I'm AWFUL when it comes to description. I get totally carried away with the dialogue, and then go 'hang on, this is a bit lacking...' So this was a deliberate effort to include a mention of the environment because Dumbledore's office is Quite Something, and it would seem very amiss if Araminta weren't to notice anything of it, even given the mental state she's in. So I am Very Glad that you like, because it means I did it right. :)

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #25, by AlwaysSev Need You Now

6th June 2012:
Wow! I was definitely questioning how Araminta would resolve the whole conflict between wanting to be good, but also being tortured by the death eaters. This was so intense! I want to keep turning the pages to keep reading right away... Haha but I think that this chapter was good because you definitely see a shift in her closed-off character, but it wasn't completely out of character. The change was just perfect- not too radical and not too subtle. It was great :)

Author's Response: I love love love that I can finally write a more open Araminta! Obviously she's been massively secretive up till now, and that's been reflected in the narrative, but now she's finally told someone what's going on, she can be more open and have someone to talk to. Which is nice for both her and me :) Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>