Reading Reviews for Of Tears and Laughter
  
30 Reviews Found

Review #1, by DracoFerret11 Of Tears and Laughter

17th July 2013:
Hey Sophia! This is DarkRose (Emily) from the forums here to review for the House Cup! Yay HC! :D So, let's go over things:

Plot: I read too many Fred-death stories. D: I don't think I'll ever get over the fact that he's dead. It's just...no. :( But this was lovely. I really liked that George told Fred about how helpful Ron and Angelina had been. It's always good to see the Weasleys sticking together. ;) So many cemetery scenes like this one are floating around the archives and I keep reading them and they always make me sad. Good to see the pathetic fallacy always in effect too, haha. Of COURSE it rains when things are sad. ;)

Characterization: I definitely think you showed George in a good light. He was really believable and sweet. Ever since WitnessToItAll's "With All Things," I love George and I love reading about him. You really showed how great a character he is and how hard it is for him to cope with his twin's loss. And I liked Ron as well, though I don't actually ever like Ron. ;) I think he worked for the story, although I stubbornly try to deny that Ron could ever be wise, haha.

Descriptions: I would have liked to see more details about how things looked, sounded, smelled, felt, etc. I think that could really help bring the story to life. :)

Emotions: Ahhh, sadness! Of course any "Fred is dead" story is going to be sad. I think the sadness was THERE, but it didn't really sink in for me. :P Maybe I've read too many of these...

Interactions: I love that Ron was the one to come and comfort George. As I said, I don't like Ron, but I did like him in this story. :) The only thing I'd have CC on there is the conversation he has with George. The dialogue seemed a little stilted and unnatural, especially in his first paragraph that starts with "Hey, don't worry about it."

Overall, I think this was cute. I'm such a fan of the twins and I can't forgive Jo Rowling for killing off Fred, but I guess we keep him alive in our fanfiction. Either way, good job!

--Emily

 Report Review

Review #2, by ILoveYouChristopher Of Tears and Laughter

26th March 2012:
OMG! This story was amazing! It is sad but it is also very good. I hope that your continue to write! This story was very well written. I enjoyed it very well.

Author's Response: Thank you for your lovely review! I'm glad you liked it! :D

 Report Review

Review #3, by Your Ravenclaw Secret Santa Of Tears and Laughter

16th December 2011:
I really like the overall tone of this story, mournful yet a glimmer of hope and happiness at the end.
I think you've captured George, Ron, and Fred's characters beautifully, staying true to JKR.
I do think the beginning of the story could use some work maybe smaller paragraphs to make it less clunky? I do think the gravestone heading grabbed the attention of the reader and drew them into the story.
The reminiscing is really cute and true to the system they're going through.
Excellent emotion-provoking piece!

From your Secret Santa

Author's Response: Ah, thank you very much! Thanks for the crit too. I'll try to reword the beginning a little better. :)

-Sophia


 Report Review

Review #4, by maskedmuggle Of Tears and Laughter

1st October 2011:
Wow. This is definitely a really strong and moving piece! I thought you really conveyed George's emotions and feelings exceptionally well, and you've definitely made me sympathetic towards George. I just think that, overall, this is a really amazing piece of writing.

Really well written :)
- charlotte

Author's Response: Thank you! ^_^ I think this is one of my strongest pieces of writing and I'm really pleased you think I wrote the emotional side of it well. :D

-Sophia x


 Report Review

Review #5, by charlottetrips Of Tears and Laughter

5th May 2011:
This was very moving. I can't even begin to imagine what George felt like, without his twin who'd been with him since birth. I feel that you captured the moment quite well, the twin learning to be without his brother but also being able to lean on those around him. I also like that you've made Ron show the maturity that comes with growing up, especially after a war.

I did get a bit teared up at the point where George says that he can't even remember Fred's laughter anymore. I think you voiced perfectly what those who have lost people think and feel--that they'll forget the one they love, but it's true, we don't and never will.

x Char

Author's Response: Thank you for the lovely review!

My favourite part is definitely where George can't remember Fred's laugh. It's so sad but it's true; we often feel as though we're growing apart from those who have left us. But you're right, we never will.

-Sophia x


 Report Review

Review #6, by NaidatheRavenclaw Of Tears and Laughter

3rd May 2011:
FRED! Again, for such a short one shot, you've done an amazing job of getting the words to fit just right. I'm half crying! What I loved about this story, that set it apart from the others I've read about George after Fred's death, was that you made it clear that he wasn't over Fred's death, but he was learning to accept it and move on. With some of the others, it's like a complete 180 with a paragraph in between. I also love how you put Ron in there. Angelina is usually the one to comfort George, so I like how Ron did it this time. And the emotion you have was beautiful. I felt George's pain along with him. Beautifully written, 10/10

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! :)

I love Fred and I love writing about him and the twins. :D

Yeah, this seems to be the story that gets all my reviewers in tears! But I'm glad you enjoyed it. I think this is my favourite story I've written, actually. :)

I felt it was important to show that George wouldn't have adapted easily after his twin died, and that his family were a big part in helping that recovery.

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. :)

-Sophia x


 Report Review

Review #7, by The Last Marauder Of Tears and Laughter

26th April 2011:
That was very good, very moving and gave a good insight into George's reaction to his twin's death. Well done.

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by strawberrydarhling Of Tears and Laughter

20th March 2011:
Wow.

I have been reading a lot of fics about George after Fred but this is by far the best one I have read so far.

You portray the emotions and the characters so perfectly and I almost imagine that this is what it would actually be like for George (you know, if he was like, real).

This was amazing :) You have done a great job.

Megan
xx

Author's Response: Thank you so much! That's such a lovely comment :)

-Sophia xx


 Report Review

Review #9, by Pheonixfire73 Of Tears and Laughter

11th March 2011:
Well, This story I found to be amazing. It really touched me and made me want to reach out and give George a huge hug. I can only imagine what it must be like to loose your sibling/best friend/other half. For me through out the entire set of books Fred and George were just like peanut butter and jelly and I couldn't imagine 1 without the other, and I think you captured the loss of this pairing in an Fantastic way.
Great Job

:) Kymber

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks for your review :)

I'm glad... well not glad, it's horrible to lose someone so close, but I'm pleased it touched you like that.

-Sophia x


 Report Review

Review #10, by libby103 Of Tears and Laughter

7th March 2011:
Hi!

So, initially, I was afraid of this fic...the thought of Fred's death still makes me cry and I don't like to cry. However, even though I did cry (a tear constitutes crying for me these days), it was definitely worth it.

I was so into the last paragraph, so very into it, but, and this may be just me, I wasn't feeling the very last line. It was the "He ground his teeth in frustration," part that ruined it for me, the "letting the rain wash the tears away." was just as brilliant as the rest of the fic, but the image of him grinding his teeth just poisoned the whole moment to me. Sorry.

Other than that, this story was pretty perfect.

I'll blab on about characters as I usually do. You set up Angelina and George's relationship perfectly, by set up, I mean you make it make sense that they'll be ending up together later like J.K. Rowling said. Ron was brilliant, his little monologue was very deep (a little too deep for a boy with the emotional range of a tea spoon,) but it showed that he'd grown up very much since the time the war started.

I just about cried when George gave Fred the sweater. And a tear finally fell when he started saying he was afraid he was forgetting Fred. Then I started giggling at the thought of all the pranks Fred and George must've played on Ron and Ginny. Really good job manipulating the reader's emotions (are you sure you shouldn't be in Slytherin?)

Stories and writers are supposed to make us feel though, so excellent job, you really accomplished that here.

from,
Liberty

Author's Response: Thanks Liberty for this great reivew!

This is probably my favourite story I've written so I'm glad I've had some great reviews :)

I'm sorry that that little line spoilt it for you :( but I'm glad you liked it anyway!

-Sophia x


 Report Review

Review #11, by Avanelle Of Tears and Laughter

5th March 2011:
This was very well written. You really made us feel George's grief. Well done.

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by Celtic_Dreamer7 Of Tears and Laughter

4th March 2011:
This was beautifully written and very moving. Much like a missing piece to the future of JK Rowling's characters, I could just see this happening. You kept the characters in character and the flow was excellent. Just brilliant. Great job!

~Celtic~
Operation: Green with Envy

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing :) I'm glad you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #13, by LoopyLemon Of Tears and Laughter

3rd March 2011:
This. Was. Amazing.
It reallly touched me. I could almost hear George crying.
Good job :)

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing. :) I'm glad you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #14, by Arithmancy_Wiz Of Tears and Laughter

2nd March 2011:
Hello and thanks for the review request. Hope I can offer something helpful...

You mentioned flow, characterization and emotion in your review request so I'll focus mostly on those. First, on flow, I think you've got a good set-up here. The piece is mostly present-focused (with just a bit of background in the beginning) so it moves forward naturally and organically. I like that you didn't try and do too much in the span of just 1200 words. You picked a moment in time and just told the story of that moment. My only critique on flow would be that it was a little dense in the middle with only George's monologue. Even a small tidbit like him searching in his pocket for a tissue or chastising himself for not bringing gloves on such a cold night could help break things up, enrich the scene with some bit of added description or internal musing without breaking the flow.

I thought your characterization of George was very well done. Even in his grief he still finds humor. That, along with his openness about his feelings, seems to fit the character very well. I was a little less sold on Ron, though I think you definitely hit a few key points. Ron is cleverer than he gets credit for but I don't think it comes naturally. While I think he'd be open with his brother I don't see him being so forward with his advice. Perhaps he'd falter a bit more, or put his foot in his mouth a bit before he got his point about George moving on so well across. Just a thought...though I LOVED the line about Hermione.

Lastly, on the emotional side, overall I was impressed. Your style was perfectly understated. No over-the-top fits of hysterics or mania. The situation speaks for itself. A boy at his brother's graveside is moving all on its own. That said, I thought you hinted at a few things that had you explored further might have deepened the impact of the piece even more. Sadness comes across very strongly but the other emotions of grieving are lost a bit. How about fear? You mention nightmares but what is the script behind the fear? Is it that he doesn't know how to live as a single individual and not a twin? Does he fear the pressure of living enough life for the both of them? What about guilt? He'll be spending Christmas with his family while Fred lies alone. How does that make him feel? These are just a few off the cuff ideas. I just thought since emotion was a concern for you, you might want to think about ways to move beyond sadness and tape into other elements of grief.

Overall, this is a very nice read. It was sad but gentle.

Author's Response: Thank you for your wonderful review :)

You've helped a lot and I will definitely be improving this using your suggestions.

-Sophia x


 Report Review

Review #15, by hpgrl Of Tears and Laughter

2nd March 2011:
hey sophia!

So I'm glad this chapter wasn't any longer cause I was starting to tear up and if it had gone on any longer I would've been balling. Excellently written, you captured George's thoughts and emotions easily through his "monologue" with Fred. I loved that by the end of it they were both laughing- that they had found the silver lining and were just remembering fred. I know how george feels- I've been in that situation before where I'm terrified of forgetting someone who died and you captured it perfectly. The whole story flowed nicely and was easy to read.

Great Job!

Author's Response: Hey Jade! :D

I'm glad you liked it. I've never been in that situation myself (losing someone that close to me), so I'm pleased you think I've done a good job!

-Sophia x


 Report Review

Review #16, by marinahill Of Tears and Laughter

28th February 2011:
This was lovely and sad. That seems odd to type, but I'm sure you get what I mean - it was very tragic but at the same time, strangely happy. I can't even begin to imagine how bad this would have been for George to lose his twin but you really expressed his grief beautifully here. Ron turning up to support him was an extra special touch and it really just goes to show how close the Weasley family is. Thank you for writing this :)

Marina

Author's Response: Hey Marina! Thanks for reviewing :)

I know what you mean. I think I'd describe it in a similar way.
I'm glad you liked it.

-Sophia x


 Report Review

Review #17, by justonemorefic Of Tears and Laughter

25th February 2011:
GUH THE TWINS, oh this is going to make me blubber I just know it.

I like this line: "He was still angry that, despite everything they did together, Fred died without his twin brother. And as far as George was concerned, that meant he died alone." That really captures the twin aspect of their relationship, I think.

Some of it veers a bit bland, adjective-wise. The right kind of words + syntax really helps to lend toward the right kind of atmosphere. For example: "At other times, the bright lights and shouts of the war haunted him. He saw Fred lying cold and dead on the stone floor." could be, "At other times, the bright lights and shouts of the war haunted him. Fred, cold and dead on the floor". A different sort of pace.

Aww talking to the grave. That's really sweet. I can see him talking that way to him. The kind of sort-of-joking but serious. And Ron comes over! Family sort of things always get to me. I like your little references to the past and Hermione as well.

Good job! ^__^

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing! :)

I love that line too! I'm glad you picked that out. That's exactly what that line is supposed to represent. ^^

I see what you mean about the pace. I'll go back and see what changes I can make. Thanks. :)

I'm glad you liked this. Thank you for your helpful review :)

-Sophia x


 Report Review

Review #18, by Ginny45 Of Tears and Laughter

25th February 2011:
Hey! RandomRed here with you review :)
Twin love

Anyway, I really liked this you conveyed the emotions well, a good balance. He hasn't been completely changed by the death but he isn't the same person. You got it right.

Someone said to me your stories were tear jerkers and they were right. I was nearly in tears. It is so sad but then every so often you would make me smile at the sweetness.

Going in favorite by the way. :) Awesome story, I may read my way through your stories now.

Ginny45/RandomRed xxx

Author's Response: Thanks for your review :)

Of my stories, this is the one with the best response and the story I like the most. :)

Someone talked to you about my stories?! I'm honoured and surprised! :D

And thank you so much for favouriting this. It means a lot. *hugs*

Please read more. I'd love to hear your thoughts. ^^

-Sophia xxx


 Report Review

Review #19, by ericajen Of Tears and Laughter

23rd February 2011:
Aw, this was really cute. I love the way you described George and his feelings. I really liked that he was still like himself and made a few jokes and was a little bit goofy, but still mournful and reminiscent. And the addition of Ron in the story was really nice. I love the way you characterized him. I get so angry when people write him all angsty and crazy and kind of mean, because he's not. You wrote him well! All in all, nice work! (:

Author's Response: Thanks for your lovely review :) I'm really glad all those feelings and emotions and characterisations came across as I wanted them to.

Thanks again!

-Sophia x


 Report Review

Review #20, by silverstarletworld89 Of Tears and Laughter

22nd February 2011:
So close, SO FLIPPIN CLOSE! Note to self: Whenever you read one of orderofthephoniex's stories remember to have a tissue near. I even prepared myself, I saw the Fred and George and I was like *deep breath, deep breath*. Boy you sure to have a knack for writing these tear jerkers. Anyway sorry I am rambling.

This was so beautifully sad. I think everyone has that issue of thinking that they would forget someone when they have gone, but it's nice to see the support that Fred's got with all his other family members. I love how you had him speaking as if Fred was actually there to and remembered all the good times that they had together. I enjoyed how you managed to give us snippets of what was happening with the joke shop and other people like Angleina without going into major detail.

Beautiful!!
Silverstarletworld89

Author's Response: Thanks for your lovely review, hun :)

This story seems to be getting brilliant responses and I'm so pleased that I've managed to evoke that emotion in you.

Thanks again.

-Sophia x


 Report Review

Review #21, by HarrietHopkirk Of Tears and Laughter

22nd February 2011:
This was awesome. Your writing style is fantastic: you've got a wonderful mix of details and description and emotions and thoughts, it's all great. You've got a good handle on grammar and spelling and such, which I think makes a story flow much better when you're not constantly picking out typos and the like. I loved how you used memories and flashbacks - it was heart wrenching that you compared their life before (inseparable and partners in crime and comedy duo) to now, when George is alone! :'(.

The bit where George was speaking to Fred! Gah! Tears on keyboard, tears on keyboard!

And the relationship with Ron?! Just brilliant. Congrats on writing a great one-shot! :D

Author's Response: Thanks, hun!! ^^

Your lovely review has made my day! I love this story myself and I think it might even be my best one-shot yet :) I'm so glad other people think I've done well too! ^^

-Sophia x


 Report Review

Review #22, by TheProphecy Of Tears and Laughter

21st February 2011:
Hey,

I would put a smiley with my hey but my heart is in my throat right now and I don't even think I could smile in real life let alone virtually.

This was such a beautiful moment to write about. You did it extremely well. From the beginning It was heart-wrenching.

I love George's feelings and the way he talked to Fred, It was funny in an odd way, what he was saying to Fred yet it was breaking my Heart at the same time.

I loved how you had Ron looking after him and I loved the reminiscent bit at the end.

It flows really well and you kept them in character, I really enjoyed it. In fact in reading this I make have some ideas in how to improve my own fic ;)

Well done :)

Hannah x

Author's Response: Eep! Thank you for your lovely review ^^

I tried so hard with this story and I think I've got it right; it seems to be a success judging by people's reviews :)

I'm glad I'm able to help you with your writing so much. Side note - feel free to keep requesting reviews :)

Thanks agin, hun ^^

Sophia x


 Report Review

Review #23, by iamlilypotter Of Tears and Laughter

20th February 2011:
Last story to review. :( And just an idea, read the reviews starting with The Sorting of Albus Potter.

Same style again.

What I like - Your writing of course. I'm getting bored saying over and over how flawless and amazing it is! You need to give me something to criticize. This story actually made me an emotional wreck. I can't even...it's just so...ah! I think this is your best written piece out of all 4, though my favourite is still The Sorting.

What I don't like - You made me cry! No fair! I'm still mad at J.K. for killing Fred, and now I come and read this and it just isn't fair. I'll miss all the pranks played by the twins. :'(

~Renee

10/10

Author's Response: Hello for the last time :(

Don't worry, I did read your reviews in the right order. :)

Writing this story was so emotional for me too. It was hard to get the emotions right. I'm so glad you think this is my best written piece so far. I think it is too!

Fred and George were my favourite characters in the books and I cried too when Fred died! :'( I'd like to write more Fred/George fics in the future :)

Thank you for all your love in these reviews! I really do appreciate it. ^^

-Sophia xx


 Report Review

Review #24, by Care of Magical Creatures Of Tears and Laughter

19th February 2011:
Wow. *sniff sniff*. poor George. :( so sad. I love Fred and George. I cried so much when Fred died in the book. It would be so hard for George, losing him they were like joined at the hip. I think you really captured what he would be going through. This really tugs at the Heart strings and there is so much emotion in the description. And I saw the doctor who line. Omg I hated that episode. I was like no Rory can't die, I love Rory. But then he comes back, Yay!

Loved this. :)
10/10

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing!

I love Doctor Who and I love Rory. ^^ I hated it when he died too. :(

I'm glad you liked the story, thanks again ^^

-Sophia



 Report Review

Review #25, by Aiedail Of Tears and Laughter

18th February 2011:
Aw hi! I'm responding to your review exchange idea!!
I think this is a cute story; My personal taste is to leave some mental explication unsaid, because I feel like if George were thinking, he wouldn't link all the thoughts together so nicely, but other than that, this story is really good and I think you've characterized the ... ahem, characters [ :) ] well! It's hard to do canon like the Weasleys because they have such an air about them, but I think you got the boys down well.
The little bit about U-NO-POO made me giggle a lot :) Was clever and something that I could really imagine George saying.
I was glad when Ron came up and tried to snap George out of it. I can't even imagine how hard that it'd be to lose a brother, especially a twin, but I felt that some of the things he was saying bordered on melodrama and I was caught up in the thick of it and Ron came in to save the day! Like usual, except for when he's being dumb and walks out on people who need him.
It's extremely refreshing to read a story with no grammatical errors, and whose dialogue is punctuated correctly, so props to you and your lovely beta for doing that and just general awesomeness!!! ;)
Your story makes it clear that you're a good writer, and that you pay attention to details...one thing that I would do, though, is take out the epitaph because I think it segues into the scene a little. You can get a really nice, almost literary feel from the first line, and I think the scene might be more powerful if you didn't explain exactly what was happening. I think it might look more like George if he didn't spend lots of time on explanatory stuff.
But it's still effective and sweet in a sad way. I think you did a wonderful job, and I'm glad that I had the chance to read!!
--lily (aiedailweasley on the forums!)

Author's Response: Thanks for your awesomely long review ^^

I'm glad you liked the U-NO-POO line; it's one of my favourites :) And LadyMalfoy23 is amazing for betaing this :)

Thanks, also, for your criticism. You've made some good points that will be very helpful when I review and edit the chapter. I understand what you've said about George not thinking things through and you've got a point.

Thanks again for the brilliant review :)

Sophia x


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>