Reading Reviews for Birth of a Prince
  
48 Reviews Found

Review #1, by The_ Owlery Birth of a Prince

24th April 2014:
This is the A M A Z I N G! Need I say more?
I love how it shows his interaction with Slughorn, and his reaction to 'half blood' A great story that I enjoyed reading:)

 Report Review

Review #2, by 1917farmgirl Birth of a Prince

18th August 2013:
Okay, never planned to read a story about Snape. I don't hate the man; in fact I actually quite admire his courage, even if it wasn't always for the right reasons. But I just have never had an interest in reading fan-fiction about him. This is odd, because he seems like the type of character I'd usually be drawn to.

BUT, I read this story, and I'm quite certain I now like YOUR Snape. He's so...so...human! He's just such a teenage boy how can you not like him? He just wants to be recognized for being good at something, and isn't that just what we all want?

Again, your brilliance with words astounds me. Jealousy is bad, but it IS a word that comes to mind. LOL. But you are just so good. I forget I'm reading and just live your stories instead. You manage to touch all five sense, which pulls the scene right to the reader and sucks us in.

Thanks for posting. I'm so very glad you decided to enter this contest after all!

Author's Response: I'm SO fascinated and enthralled by Snape -- I'm neither someone who hates him or puts him under a martyr's microscope, and definitely recognize his faults as well as his good points. But he's so amazingly intricate and complex and there's so much sadness and heartbreak and EMOTION surrounding his story that I can't help but write loads about him. (I feel compelled to warn you that you'll see him on my author's page a LOT -- in at least three or four other one-shots and a short story collection, not even mentioning the three Snape/OC novels or his appearance in the James/Lily AU murder mystery!)

Anyway. I'm so glad you like my Snape, at least, and especially because in everything I've written about him, I've tried to keep very true to his character. He was definitely human, perhaps more human than a lot of the other Potter characters, and here he's just a normal teenage boy, no different from any of his other classmates. School, crushes, worry about the future... He's not thinking about being a double agent, choosing sides in a war. He's just a kid.

Oh, please, no jealousy! ♥ I'm very flattered, though. Writing is a very sensory art, and I see the scenes in my head as I'm writing them, so it does sort of help me to make them real, I suppose.

Thank you for reviewing! (I'm glad I entered the duel, too!)


 Report Review

Review #3, by Gosia Birth of a Prince

10th August 2013:
Very well deserved first place :D congrats!

Brilliantly shown Severus's need to build up his self-esteem and distaste for his father.
Reading this one-shot I really felt like I was in his mind, instead of just watching him. It was great!

10/10 as always

Author's Response: Thank you very much! :) I remember quite vividly how this story came about -- I'd decided not to enter the duel at all due to the nature of the prompt, which I felt I couldn't write about properly. Then the idea for this story came out of literal nowhere, and I wrote it in one sitting. And it somehow managed to win the overall duel! Funny sometimes how things work out.

I'm so glad you were able to get inside Severus's mind with this one-shot, too, especially as that was the whole goal. ;) Whew. I really do have a lot of Sev on my author's page, don't I? He just keeps cropping up!

Thank you for reviewing!!


 Report Review

Review #4, by angelicdemon1209 Birth of a Prince

24th April 2012:
I did, I really enjoyed reading it.. It's very.. Insightful into Snape's nature. I mean, you really feel his turmoil. I can see the genius at Potions that he is. I am sure that he has always been treated badly, by the Slytherins, and the other students, and everyone. So, here he probably does feel like the master of the surroundings. And it the gesture of writing himself off as the Half Blood Prince, he is pretty much disowning his father, in a way. Oh, and it feels bad to read how much he misses Lily.

Author's Response: This was the first-ever story on this author's page about Snape -- possibly the first I ever wrote, though I can't recall -- so it's pretty special for me. :3 I'm glad you enjoyed it!

I tried very much to keep as many of Snape's canon aspects as possible, and this eventually bridged over (vaguely) into the trilogy I'm now writing, so it's sort of like the first stepping stone on a path. But anyway. Thanks so much for taking the time to leave me this review, it was very sweet of you to do so! I hope to see you back again very soon! ♥


 Report Review

Review #5, by BoOkWoRm24 Birth of a Prince

23rd January 2012:
This story was really well written. The grammar was spotless and you had the perfect amount of description in there. It was perfect for a writers duel.

Author's Response: Hey -- thanks so much for taking the time to stop off with a review! I'm always so chuffed to see someone's done that, especially with one of my older stories. :)

I'm so glad you enjoyed it -- really, thank you very much! I completely appreciate the review!


 Report Review

Review #6, by BKL8008 Birth of a Prince

10th January 2012:
Wow, for so short a story, there's so much crammed in here that it's amazing! I can see it happening just like this, too. Brilliant, for lack of a better word! Love it!

Author's Response: I'm so glad you enjoyed this, too! It's one of my favorite things I've done, and not bad for about an hour of writing, either, if I do say so myself.

I am so grateful for your reviews, they just completely make my day! Seriously, I cannot thank you enough for all of them. I am just so honored. You're great!


 Report Review

Review #7, by magicmuggle01 Birth of a Prince

30th December 2011:
And so the half blood prince is born.
I used to feel at one time that Snape was totally horrible, but as the books, films and the stories I've read on this site have progressed I've come to feel sorry and more understanding about him.
This is a great one shot and a well deserved win for you in the writers duel. 10/10.

Author's Response: And so the Half-Blood Prince was born. :)

I was the same way -- I /hated/ Snape until the last book, and now he is very arguably one of my favorite characters. His whole mental processes and his motivations are just... DSFJFLDKFJLSFJ. I am endlessly fascinated by him!

But thank you so much for giving this a shot -- your GUW and GUM reviews always make me smile, and I'm so glad you checked this out, too. Your reviews always make my day no matter what!


 Report Review

Review #8, by forsakenphoenix Birth of a Prince

26th December 2011:
You know, I'm really not a fan of Snape at all. I've been putting off writing my Snily for ages because of it. But I really enjoyed this one-shot. Reading Snape in his element in the Potions classroom, how natural he is with adding ingredients and simply knowing the means to achieve the best potion, it all makes him such an admirable student. Slughorn's mention of Lily and Snape's consequent thoughts of the end of their friendship was also a nice touch. Slughorn's mention of Snape's father, and the whole bit about him not owing anything but his last name...I loved that line. The moment he came up with the Half-Blood Prince idea was just brilliant and the perfect moment to write about. Your writing, as usual, is flawless and I am continually in awe at how versatile your writing is and how wonderfully you write different characters. You're such a talented writer and I wish I had half your talent. You're fantastic. :)

Author's Response: REALLY? I adore Snape, that mindset just doesn't compute with me. :3 I'm so glad you enjoyed this, though! I wrote it in... an hour, or so? And the response has just been incomprehensible. I don't understand life sometimes. :P

It is so difficult to respond to these reviews, because I don't want to say the same things over and over, but the only thing that processes right now is how truly appreciative I am that you dropped by and left me so many wonderful reviews. They mean the world to me, especially coming from someone whose writing I admire, and I just cannot ever thank you enough. ♥


 Report Review

Review #9, by classicblack Birth of a Prince

23rd November 2011:
Wow! Such a creative idea! I can most certainly understand why you won first place in the 10th Anniversary Duel. Well done! You portrayed Snape's ideas perfectly and I honestly can't find anything wrong with this. I loved how you incorporated his Potions book into it.
Happy writing,
classicblack

Author's Response: This was such a lovely and unexpected review -- thank you so much! I adore Snape to pieces, and this is one of my favorite one-shots I've ever written. :3 It's very important for me to focus on canon while writing, and I wanted to do Snape some iota of justice. Glad to see it's seemed to have worked out!

Thank you so much for the review, I was so pleased to see you'd dropped by! Glad you enjoyed it! ♥


 Report Review

Review #10, by charlottetrips Birth of a Prince

28th September 2011:
Wonderful. Loved reading the whole thing through. The prose was so nicely put together, the story progressing as a story should and the write amount of descriptions of both the environment and the character's inner world put together.

I love Severus Snape. I mean it. ♥ Completely. Such an underloved character throughout all the books until the very end. I read Severus in your story and I see the boy who was just a boy, wanting to do his best, dreaming of a life where he is known and important and rising above what was expected of him.

I liked how this is almost like a "filler" for Book 6, a prequel sort of. It quite seamlessly fit into canon with your mentions here and there of little things (Lily and Snape's disintegration of their friendship for instance) and of course the overall plot of how the "Half-Blood Prince" was even born.

If you couldn't tell, I completely enjoyed reading this!

xChar

Author's Response: This was such a sweet review - thank you so much! I love Snape, too, and honestly, he is just so fascinating to me. Like him or not, it's very hard to dispute that that man's got a lot of layers going on, and I love nothing more than to dig into them. :D

I love trying to make my stories adhere to canon as closely as possible, so I appreciate that comment. :) Thank you very much for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #11, by mashforever Birth of a Prince

13th September 2011:
This is fantastic! I already love Snape, but your story makes him even more loveable

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Snape is a character very close to my heart (and, consequently, a major player in the trilogy I'm writing), and others who appreciate him make my day. :)

Thanks for taking the time to leave me a review, I really appreciate it!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Lunae Astrum Birth of a Prince

9th September 2011:
Brilliant. Even in this short story you wrote Severus perfectly. You deserved first place, nothing less. You are a wonderful writer.

Willa.

Author's Response: Without a doubt, one of the best reviews I've ever received -- thank you so, so much for taking the time to leave it! It really made my day to know someone appreciated my writing so much. Glad to hear you enjoyed it. :) Many thanks!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Lil Kit Z Birth of a Prince

7th September 2011:
Great job. Very interesting and believable.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review! I'm glad people seem to find this believable, it's very encouraging as a writer to hear that.

 Report Review

Review #14, by Muggle_Born Birth of a Prince

4th September 2011:
Great story! Snape is very Mysterious and this story gives you a little more information about him. Thanks for writing it :)
10/10

Author's Response: Thank YOU so much for reviewing it, that really makes my day! I'm happy to see you enjoyed it. :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by PhoenixCorn Birth of a Prince

4th September 2011:
great work! Im new to this site, so i gave you 9...

Author's Response: Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, I'm glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #16, by soniccyanide Birth of a Prince

29th August 2011:
Thanks to you, I'll now picture this as how Snape really started the Half-Blood Prince. Wonderful oneshot!

Author's Response: I am very honored to receive such a compliment, thank you very much. I appreciate your taking the time to leave me a review!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Lady Mouldywart Birth of a Prince

28th August 2011:
This was really really good! I love it! ^^

Author's Response: Thanks so much, I'm glad you enjoyed it! :3

 Report Review

Review #18, by Idun Birth of a Prince

25th August 2011:
I think this was absolutely brilliant. I loved your characterization of Snape - I usually have a hard time reading fanfiction about him, because I feel that most people get the character wrong or something. But this is spot on!

Author's Response: What a lovely compliment -- thank you so much! I am really glad to hear you enjoyed the story. :3

 Report Review

Review #19, by Severuslysnape Birth of a Prince

15th August 2011:
Your writing is super good I'd love to read more!

Author's Response: That is an amazing thing to hear -- thanks so much! I hope you'll pop by my author's page and check out some of my other stories, there's a couple Snape things on there as well. :)

Glad to hear you liked the story!


 Report Review

Review #20, by The Seeker Birth of a Prince

26th July 2011:
This is really good. I especially liked the bit about how Severus helped Lily at Potions, since Slughorn is always bragging about her to Harry.

Author's Response: I always try to incorporate canon into my stories somewhere, even if I'm writing about events we don't know much about. I am glad you saw it! :D Thanks for leaving a review!

 Report Review

Review #21, by pottersinsomniac Birth of a Prince

20th July 2011:
I think I've read this twice- and I loved it more the second time!
Snape has always intruiged me- and I feel like this fully captures him.
Also, this is a great explanation for how the whole Half Blood Prince thing started.
10/10

Author's Response: Wow, thanks so much -- it's fantastic to hear that! I love Snape very much and feel gratified to hear the compliments being paid my writing him.

 Report Review

Review #22, by Anonymous Birth of a Prince

17th July 2011:
This was absolutely amazing!! Have you written more?

Author's Response: I have absolutely written more -- you can click on my author name to find all thirteen of the stories I have written! :)

Thank you so much for leaving me such a lovely review, it made my day!


 Report Review

Review #23, by RumbleroarRedvines Birth of a Prince

16th July 2011:
AWESOME! Short, sweet, engaging, and interesting...10/10.

Author's Response: Thanks so much, I really appreciate you taking the time to leave a review!

 Report Review

Review #24, by Mason Birth of a Prince

13th July 2011:
That was quite good. Though short, it was good. I liked how it went through Snape's corrections of the potion.

Author's Response: Oh, it was always meant to be short. Thank you for leaving a review!

 Report Review

Review #25, by Tiera Birth of a Prince

13th June 2011:
Excellent writing skills! Beautifully written.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>