Reading Reviews for Cupcakes at Bedtime
  
23 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MissMoneypenny One

2nd March 2013:
Aw!! So cute, I absolutely loved it!

Thank you so much for writing this story- it's really creative and absolutely hilarious. You are obviously a very skilled writer.
I think you've portrayed Lily - the over-excited six-year-old- perfectly, and so cutely I wanted to cry! With happiness, obviously.
Harry, also, as the tired father was brilliant. Thanks again for writing it... Maybe you could write a whole series of bedtime stories?

 Report Review

Review #2, by princess052099 One

20th November 2011:
Haha! That was really sweet, I loved it. By the way, I really liked the trusty steed named Firebolt. Clever :) 10/10

 Report Review

Review #3, by _Leo_ One

12th August 2011:
This was really lovely! I love to think of a grwon-up Harry with his family, and this fit so well. It was such a nice moment between father and daughter!
The cake analogy was seriously cute, and Lily's confusion made me laugh. The beginning was spot-on, as I know several six-year-olds this could apply to. Very authentic.
And, it's a nice way of presenting what happened at some point during those 19 years between the Final Battle and the Epilogue.
I really adored this :)

Leo (Gryffindor)

 Report Review

Review #4, by Cleopatraa One

8th August 2011:
Happy Gryffindor Monday!!
Aww such an adorable banner and a really pretty one also. I really thought this one-shot was so adorable. Just so sweet and cute! The cake thing was so fricking brilliant. Also Lily is so adorable. I really could feel Harry’s love in this little piece but I’m sure he wanted to give his children the childhood he never had the love he never felt as a child. This little piece really made my day!
Truly a lovely piece!
Cleopatra ( Slytherin)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Michelle One

24th March 2011:
HAHAHAHA! I WAS VERY AMUSED BY THIS! : ) baking cakes as an inuendo just made my night!!!

Author's Response: Aww, thanks! I'm glad you liked my innuendoes, and thanks so much for taking the time to review!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Debra20 One

23rd March 2011:
Lovely piece Capella.

Your words helped me picture everything wonderfully. The idea you imagined is very touching, to say the least, because I feel that Harry gives his children all the love he never had from his parents as a child. Looked at from that perspective, it is also a skilfully bittersweet creation.

I thank you for the effort you put into it :)

Author's Response: Wow! Thank you so much for the support! I'm glad you enjoyed it, and that you liked the way I portrayed Harry as a father - to me, it is something he would put time and energy into, for the exact reason you described - because he knows what it is like to be without it. So thank you for reading, and again for taking the time to let me know what you thought!

 Report Review

Review #7, by theelderwand One

18th March 2011:
Capella this is just absolutely excellently heartwarmingly amazing!!

From Gin's "boy who lived line" to the "cake" euphamism and Lily having Harry wrapped around her finger, I loved it all. How cruel to have the misunderstanding during Harry's talk with Arthur. And the aftermath, and Rita's intrusions. All of this cautiously hidden in fairly tale terms (bugs! hehehe) was just brilliant.

The fairytale, if converted into a short story without the euphamisms, would be excellent too! Although I must say I love the form the story's in now. (So painful to read full length fics where the couple is divided by a horrible misunderstanding, but those tales are just so darned addictive.)

Bravo!

Eldy

Author's Response: Wow! From you, that means a LOT! I'm so glad you liked the format of this - all fairytales and euphemisms, as I wrote it in order to get practice at that way of writing (a story within a story, and a biased storyteller). So, yeah, for it to have vaguely worked is really nice to hear!

Not sure if I'll ever get round to writing this as a story proper, simply because I wouldn't know what new there was to add, and the remaining questions are ones I kind of like unanswered! But I completely agree about the addictiveness of them - will in fact be writing one as the sequel to Just Malfoy, just as soon as I finish all my other WIPs!

Thanks again for the thoughtful and encouraging review - you've made my day!


 Report Review

Review #8, by secret snitch One

2nd March 2011:
Absolutely one of the cutest stories I've ever read. I loved your metaphor of baking a cake, it was very clever. And the way the knight story was told was perfect. I wasn't sure how to take Harry's writing the proposal in the sky, if it was literal or stood for something else (say putting it in the Daily Prophet?). But anyway, good work and keep writing.
--Chris

Author's Response: Yay! I'm so glad people have enjoyed this story - it was one of those things that gets stuck in your head and then just appears on the computer screen, and I wasn't sure if it was too cheesy, so all the positive feedback has been lovely.

As for the sky writing... I really want to say that yes, it was another metaphor, but actually I just imagined him literally conjuring word-shaped clouds. Almost makes me want to re-write the ending...

Thanks so much for reading this, and for letting me know what you thought of it.


 Report Review

Review #9, by Toujours Padfoot One

26th February 2011:
This is so cute! It was recommended to me by NeverGotHerLetter to read because I'm not having the best of days, and it truly did cheer me up. It's just a great, feel-good, humorous little story. My favorite bit is the fact that Harry refers to Arthur as 'the king'. I find that very amusing.

:)

Author's Response: Aww, I'm so pleased it cheered you up, and thank you so much for taking the time to let me know that even though you're not feeling too great - your review has cheered me up too!

I'm glad you liked having Arthur be the king - I had so much fun with the various analogies and play on words, and it's lovely to read that they were appreciated by others!

Hope you're feeling better - might try to write more fluffiness in the future to add to people's cheer-me-up collections!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Ginny45 One

25th February 2011:
Hi RandomRed here from the forums and the birthday thread.

This is the cutest story I have read in along time. It is sooo sweet and cute.

The part I love is the story seems so simple but the concept of the cupcake and everything is actually complexer than you first think, it is really well done.

There are so many lines that just made me smile, a really good feel good fic. That also makes me giggle in some places.
Like here:
"Into his bedroom?" the little girl questioned sleepily. "But, he might have been in his pyjamas."

Such a sweet story, really glad I got to read it. I doubt I would have found it if it hadn't been in the review thread. :D

Ginny45/RandomRed xxx

Author's Response: Wow, what a lovely and thoughtful review! I'm glad you liked the dual layer aspect of the story - that was a big part of my reason for writing it: to try out a new style. I wasn't sure if I'd got the balance right, so your words mean a lot.

I'm also glad it made you smile and giggle, as obviously it's supposed to be a feel-good story. And yay - I was worried about whether the interjections from Lily had worked, so I'm glad you picked out that line to comment on!

Thanks so much for taking the time to write this review!


 Report Review

Review #11, by orderofthephoenix One

25th February 2011:
Aw, this was so sweet and made me feel all warm inside :P I love how you were able to tell the story but use cakes an a euphemism. Very clever. :)

Definitely a feel-good story.

-Sophia x

Author's Response: Heya, glad you liked it. And yes, euphemisms rock my world - the use of them was what inspired me to write the story in the first place.

Glad it made you feel good, and thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Ladysphinx One

24th February 2011:
I enjoyed this story, especially the euphuisms and the innocence of lily. Good Job.

Author's Response: Aww, thanks! I loved trying to balance the extreme innocence with the more mature themes behind the story, and so I'm glad those are the bits you picked up on.

Thanks so much for reviewing this!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Ravenclaw333 One

18th February 2011:
This is such an amazing story, I have the warm fuzzies :) Thank you for posting this, it's adorable.

Author's Response: Aww, YAY! Warm fuzzies are always good, so glad it gave them to you. Thanks for reviewing, and being so supportive.

 Report Review

Review #14, by ekroman One

11th February 2011:
Aww this is really sweet! .. And cupcakes? Well yeah xD

Author's Response: Definitely cupcakes - I mean, what mature relationship doesn't have at least one fight about them! Glad you liked it, and thanks so much for taking the time to review!

 Report Review

Review #15, by LidaRose One

10th February 2011:
So cute! I imagined a little red velvet cupcake at the end unstead of baby Lilly. I'll have to remember the cake analogy for when my kids start asking questions... :)

Author's Response: Aw, I'm so glad you liked it! And yeah, I hope the cake analogy works for you - it was really just a play on the concept of "a bun in the oven", but with an emphasis on cute!

Thanks for reading, and for taking the time to review!


 Report Review

Review #16, by BrightStar One

9th February 2011:
Ok, as a fellow writer i prefer constructive criticism to mindless love-bombing but - OH MY GOD! Sooo cute! Very well written, believable characters and all the rest. You've made me excited about writing my bedtime entry! Favourited :)

Author's Response: Really? Yay, thank you for saying so - I always love the odd love bomb! I'm glad you found the characters believable (as writing Harry always scares me!) and that it hit you as cute (which was what I was aiming at!)

Thanks for reviewing, and I hope you have fun writing your entry!


 Report Review

Review #17, by Jazzeh Turnip One

9th February 2011:
^.^ That last line made me squee so much!

Harry's story is beautiful. This could really fit in with canon, which is what I love, even though I usually dispise Harry/Ginny... this has made me like the pairing a little more :) (but in this fic... I LOVE IT -Iadmitit- The characterisation of Harry and Ginny is spot on too, which makes me feel surprised as to why I love that pairing in this so much ^.^)

In my head, I have Lily's voice as the girl in LotR: The Two Towers, who is sent away by her mother with brother when their village is about to get attacked. ^.^

The whole "bake a cake" euphemism is fantastic ^.^ And I loved the thing about the evil bugs, haha! Digs at Rita Skeeter always make me chuckle.

If this isn't featured for Valentines Day, I'll eat my foot.

10/10 -favourites-

Author's Response: Awww! Thank you so much for the lovely review!

Yeah, the story itself is supposed to be canon compliant, so I'm glad you felt it could fit with what we know. And I'm glad I made you like Harry/Ginny a little more, because, if I'm honest, I have quite a mixed reaction to the pairing myself!

I can't place the girl you're thinking of - it's been a long time since I saw the film, but I'm sure I'll put it together when I next watch it. And I'm glad you liked my euphemisms - they made me smile, so I'm glad I'm not alone!

If this is featured, I'll eat anything you want!

Again, thanks so much for all the encouragement.


 Report Review

Review #18, by NeverGotHerLetter One

9th February 2011:
Oh my goodness gracious me!! I saw everyone talking about this on the forums and... just wow!! Seriously it's amazing! Ah, it's so lovely, complex enough to be a proper story, and the cake thing :) Wow, I am so impressed seriously. I'm going to favourite it so I can read it when I'm sad. Your characterisation of Lily II impressed me, as did Ginny's but Harry was the best, especially when he was asking Mr Weasley if he could marry Ginny :) Oh, and also Mr Weasley when he automatically started talking about having k- I mean err, baking cakes :) Ah, very well done I loved it so much, and you totally have to win this challenge!! 10/10!
~NeverGotHerLetter xx

Author's Response: I know! I couldn't believe the forum response - you guys are the best! I'm glad you thought that it did have some complexity - the constraints of the story made me worry I'd end up too simple, so YAY!

And I'm so glad you liked Harry's characterisation - I was very intimidated by trying to take that on, because of all the characters, he is the one that the readers already know best!

I really hope this does cheer you up if you get sad, and thanks for favouriting and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #19, by BellaFan202 One

9th February 2011:
As for the chapter::review thing, that's fine. I actually haven't been keeping track of that lately. I just like reviewing more since I put that rule up. Plus, I'm pretty stinking lazy. :)

Now to the review! :)
-Negative
-You know, for the ‘boy-who-lived’, you do like to flirt with death sometimes ('boy-who-lived' should be capitalized as it's his 'title'.)
-So Lily-pad, what’ll it be tonight?” ('Pad' shoud be capitazed, as it's part of her nickname.)
+Postive
+ Yeah, okay, so Lily is stinking adorable! I love how she can manipulate Harry into telling her stories, and that she called the Basilisk and Basilock.
+The king suggested that they might want to... bake a cake together, one day.” (That was so funny! I love that metaphor. Very clever. (: )
+When you say "evil bug" I assume you mean Rita Skeeter? That's really funny too. :)

So really, those were the only two negative things about this, and that won't take long to fix. Other than those, the story was perfect, although it would have been awesome if the 'wisest witch's' boyfriend/fiance/husband had been in the story, at least a little. But I may or may not just be saying that because he's my favorite. :)

9/10
~BellaFan202~
(LiveLaughLoveHarryPotter on the forums)

Author's Response: Hiya! Thanks so much for choosing to do this - I've had more reviews than I expected, but I hadn't had much con-crit, so your review was still much needed!

Ah, capitalisations - really should know better, but somehow both of these got past me! Will go edit immediately (ah, the joy of TA status, meaning that I won't be filling the queue!)

As for the positives, I'm so glad you liked it! I was searching for a while for a good euphemism for Rita Skeeter, so I'm glad you got it. And I'm so glad you liked Lily - I wasn't sure if she was cute or irritating, but I was aiming for the former, so YAY!

Sorry for the absence of Ron - originally he was in the story at two separate points, but he just kept writing himself out of it. Basically, because I couldn't imagine him talking to Harry about baking with Ginny!

Thanks so much for the comprehensive and encouraging review!


 Report Review

Review #20, by Siriuslover177 One

9th February 2011:
That was amazing!
How did you ever think of that?
I LOVED it SO much!

-Siriuslover177

Author's Response: Really? Honestly, I've been braced for flames for this story - I can't believe you liked it so much! The concept of having Harry tell Lily how he proposed popped into my head immediately when I was given the character for the challenge, and the details of the story just came as I wrote it (it was very odd, as normally coming up with plot details is like pulling teeth for me!)

Thanks so much for your encouragement!


 Report Review

Review #21, by Canadianginny One

9th February 2011:
Absolutely wonderful! I loved this. You are a magnificent writer, although the introduction was a bit wordy, but wonderful all the same.

Author's Response: Introduction as in before he starts telling the fairytale? Hmm, will have a look at this and see if there's anything cut-able! Honestly, I was so worried about the ending and the fairytale itself, I didn't edit the start too much, so may do so on the next edit.

Thanks for taking the time to read this, and for your encouragement for my writing; I'm glad you enjoyed it!


 Report Review

Review #22, by xLauriePotter One

9th February 2011:
CapellaBlack: Hello, Laurie here with your requested review from forums ;)

Even before I started reading, Even before I'd clicked the link I smiled when I noticed that this is my first "Harry/Ginny" request. Eeeep (Oh, How I ADORE this pairing!)

Aww! Lily is so adorable, I thought it first when her eyes lit up at the sound of her father. Then even more so when she called the Basilisk a Basilock.

I'm feeling all giddy reading this story. Oh how I love a bit of fluff after many requests of dark-stuff. "And knights do get scared, when it comes to their hearts." - That line is SO cute.

Cakes instead of children? Fabulous! Haha.

"he jumped on his trusty steed – called Firebolt" - another line that is brilliant! I love how you have Harry as telling the story as a fairytale, It really shows the innocence Lily has :')

Oh wow! This story is so cute, I've just fell in love with Harry/Ginny a little bit more. Ok. This story is going in my favourites! I love it, seriously.
Thank you for a wonderful read! (':

Laurie.
x
Ps. 10/10

Author's Response: Awww! This is a completely new realm for me - I usually write much darker, angsty stuff, and so I was very nervous to post it, in case people found it revolting. So your words have really helped calm me down (except that now I am bouncing with happiness!)

I'm glad you liked the fairytale take - it's this concept I'd been playing with for a while (writing a story with an obvious bias, so that the reader can see both concepts at the same time) and when the challenge was posted I jumped at the chance. It wasn't until I went to post it that the panicking happened!

So yeah, thanks for the input and the kind support - I may even try writing more stuff that isn't overly gloomy at this rate!


 Report Review

Review #23, by TheProphecy One

9th February 2011:
Hey!

Well, I've just read this and i thought it was really really really good :D

I loved the "Cakes", i thought that was brilliant. It was amusing, funny and really lovely. Unfortunately my mind is on a blank so i can't say anything remotely intelligent about this :D

But i loved the story idea, I loved the characterisation of Lily, Harry and Ginny throughout. I thought it was well written, no grammar mistakes I could see and overall it was really sweet. :)

As far as I can see it met all the criteria and you've really set the bar high for the rest of them. :)

Well done. I'll Pm everyone when I've announced the winners :D So don't forget to check :D

Well done again..you've made me all happy just reading your story :)

(I'm a bit short on time right now so i might come back and review it properly, so any concerns about it just tell me and i'll come back to it :D)

TheProphecy x

Author's Response: Awww! I'm so glad you liked it! I've been playing with the idea of having a parent tell a story for a while now, and so when this came up it was too good to resist! I've always wanted to explore the concept of telling a story with an obvious bias, and this seemed like the ideal opportunity to try it - so I'm glad the euphemisms were indeed funny rather than irritating! And yeah, I think I still have cupcakes on the brain from April - it's a sickness.

Thanks for coming up with such a fun challenge!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login