Reading Reviews for The Week I Was Pregnant
  
54 Reviews Found

Review #1, by RoseWeasley7 Thursday

13th August 2013:
PLEASE UPDATE SOON! I love this

 Report Review

Review #2, by RoseWeasley7 Tuesday

12th August 2013:
i LOVE this story! its so funny! the dream was THE BEST!

 Report Review

Review #3, by RoseWeasley7 Monday

12th August 2013:
i do like it, its refreshing to read something unique!

 Report Review

Review #4, by CambAngst Wednesday

14th December 2011:
OK, about a third of the way through, it dawned on me that this has turned out to be a really brilliant send-up of dozens of painfully-written, over-drama-fied, Rose-loves-Scorpius-loves-Rose-who-can't-admit-she-loves-Scorpius-who's-too-proud-to-chase-Rose-but-it-all-works-out-after-a-lot-of-crying-and-sulking, 15+ rated for strong language and mild sexual situations, cookie-cutter next gen fics. Then I recall that you more or less said that in one of your author's notes. I don't read that many next-gen fics. I also must be kind of thick.

But anyhoo, it is brilliant. I think this chapter trampled at least 4 or 5 of the standard cliches that you find in every Rose-and-Scorpius fic, and I couldn't be happier about it.

Just so you know, I didn't notice any glaring typos, but I was also feeling a bit high on myself for figuring out that this was a send-up, so I might not have been looking so sharply.

Author's Response: Haha yes, it's definitely a spoof of all of those things :) Give yourself a pat on the back. I added a note saying it was a spoof because I had recieved a couple reviews that made it seem like people didn't realize my story was more satire than serious. So I wanted to help make it clearer incase people didn't figure it out like you did.

Thanks so much, I do enjoy a good cliche trampling when I can include it :)

Again, that's a relief to hear. No typos is always a great thing to hear.

Truly, thank you for your awesome reviews. They made my day :D
-ronsgirl29


 Report Review

Review #5, by CambAngst Tuesday

14th December 2011:
This chapter cracked me up. I think the following is my favorite pair of back-to-back humorous paragraphs I've ever read in a fan fic:

"Having quadruplets, and I'm going to name them all Rodney. Rodney?

"Unsure of who the father is, having 7.5 possible candidates. Do I even want to know how one of them is considered a half?"

And it just keeps on getting better all throughout the confrontation with her cousins. The dream with the giant gummy bear... well, that was just a little weird, but I guess that's the point.

Technically, this chapter was rock solid. Not a single typo or grammatical error that I could find.

So well done. I'm loving this.

Author's Response: Aw, I'm flattered! I worry sometimes that I write these crazy things that nobody will find funny but me! But I'm glad that's not the case.

The dream scene was weird, but Rose is a weird girl under a lot of stress, so she's losing it a bit :)

That's good to hear! I haven't had any of these chapters beta'd, so I have to rely on my own limited grammar skills.

Thanks again :D
ronsgirl29


 Report Review

Review #6, by CambAngst Monday

14th December 2011:
OK, I seriously did not see that coming! It was brilliant the way you introduced this concept of Rose being rumored to be pregnant. Whether or not it's true -- I guess I'll find out -- the way you delivered it caught me completely by surprise.

Just to get it out of the way, you have one small typo right at the beginning: "Walking up really is one of my least favorite activities." I think it should say "Waking up..."

That tiny blemish aside, this chapter is really solidly put together. I love the way you use silly little thoughts and details to pull the reader in. The idea of Rose screwing up her face into the mirror is hilarious. The little dig at her grandparents was terrific.

You're off to a terrific start. I can't resist another chapter...

Author's Response: That scene with Eileen was a lot of fun. I tried to think of a funny way to find out about a rumor, and that's what I came up with.

Thanks for pointing that out! I did mean waking up haha, typing fail.

I'm really glad to hear you're enjoying the story!


 Report Review

Review #7, by ginerva_molly_weasley Tuesday

7th December 2011:
Oh dear this story is amazing!

I love how you did the scene with her family members and making her appear in denial about the whole fact she actually was pregnant!

The theories you can up with about her pregnancy were really good true, they showed just how rumours could be spread and made worse!

The dream scene was written well too, with you encorperating her feelings within there although I think you've written the whole chapter well and in such a humourous manner!

Author's Response: Oh thank you, I'm blushing :D

This chapter was just a hoot to write, I got to do so many crazy things with the characters. I'm glad that you're finding my craziness funny!

Thanks again for the fabulous reviews,
-ronsgirl29


 Report Review

Review #8, by ginerva_molly_weasley Monday

7th December 2011:
Haha this really made me laugh.

The idea of her being so much like Ron, the laziness and the whole fact of her needing to eat is just hilarious because I can just see her exactly like that and the way you introduce her is really clever and you get the ideas across well.

I love the idea of the gossip gossiping to Rose about herself that actually made me laugh out loud because it just sounds like one of those weird things which you'd never actually think could happen but I think you've done it really well.

I think this story has a lot of potential. Well done

GinevraMollyPotter

Author's Response: Thank you! I always imaged that Rose would be a lot like her dad :)

That part was really fun to write. I was trying to figure out an outrageous way for Rose to find out about the rumor, and that seemed like the perfect way haha.

So glad that you're enjoying,
-ronsgirl29


 Report Review

Review #9, by Cassius Alcinder Monday

4th December 2011:
This story looks like its off to a great start! I love comedies that make fun of cliches, and you seem to have hit a lot of them already!

You did a great job of depicting the gossipy environment that ecists in many schools and how quickly rumors can spread, and I'm very dissapointed in Oliver Wood for raising such a horrible daughter:)

The ending where Eileen told Rose the rumor without knowing it was Rose was hilarious. This story has a great amount of potential and I'm anxious to see what other cliches you can insorporate into it.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! This story is so fun to write because I can to a lot of crazy, funny things with the characters. I'm rather dissapointed in Oliver too, haha. But Eileen isn't totally horrible, just a huge gossip :)

I'm glad you enjoyed the first chapter!

-ronsgirl29


 Report Review

Review #10, by The Quiet Girl Thursday

3rd October 2011:
Ooh, I hadn't even thought of the one person who might have started the rumor! Hm, I'm thinking it might be someone Rose might least suspect. Or it might have been started by someone who owes Rose some money. :P Just kidding on that last thought. But I really enjoyed the fight and the reference to Hugo's ballet lessons. Shame Ron had to pull him out. And Rose, of course, was interesting to read. It was totally, using a word you would use, awesomesauce.

Question: who was the girl in the common room looking for a blibbering humdinger? I didn't see a name anywhere and she seemed kind of random (perhaps she might be important in later chapters?). I dunno, just curious. Can't wait to read more! :)

Author's Response: Thank you for the review! You'll just have to wait and see who started the rumor ;) I'm glad you enjoyed the bit with Hugo, I had so much fun writing that! And she's just some random girl for comedic purposes as well as a plot device, simple there to let them know that there's a fight going on outside. Haha her name can be... Leslie. There we go, you've inspired me to give her a name :)

Thanks for the amazing review!
ronsgirl29


 Report Review

Review #11, by nemolite Thursday

24th September 2011:
This is so awesome and refreshing to read! Love love love it. Keep on smashing those cliches!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Happy to hear you love it :) I'll do my best!

thanks again,
Ronsgirl29


 Report Review

Review #12, by reading_is_my_life Monday

23rd September 2011:
I am glad you are clearing Rose's name. I have come across thousands where she is pregnant by Scorpious or Teddy (yucky). Not to mention this fic also shows the damage of gossip.

Author's Response: Haha thank you! I felt that Rose needed a story where she could prove the gossip wrong! Thanks for the review, I hope you continue to keep reading and enjoying.

-Ronsgirl29


 Report Review

Review #13, by Crescent Moon  Thursday

23rd September 2011:
Great chapter, I loved it!!
I laughed so much XD
I can't wait to see how Rose is going to find out who starting the rumour.
Please update as soon as you can.

Author's Response: I'm really glad you loved it :) Thanks so much :) I'll try to update as soon as I can. School causes me to have a lot less writing time, but I'll do my best.

Thanks again for the review
-ronsgirl29


 Report Review

Review #14, by The Quiet Girl Wednesday

12th August 2011:
Scorpius: in touch with his emotions. Scorpius: not as in touch with his reproductive common sense. :) I loved this chapter, it was so cute and Scorpius was so sappy. I especially loved the comparison of Scorpius to a sad puppy. Lots of love, lots of emotions, and sometimes very little common sense. I just wanted to give him a hug throughout the whole chapter!

I think the top things that made me smile in this chapter (besides Scorpius) was the parties and the names. The parties seemed so stereotypical of their houses (and I agree with the Slytherin parties- I've read fics with half the attendants are Gryffindors!). Not to mention the characters with the last names of 'Huffington' and 'Slythers.' Very cute, very cliche.

I was just reading this for enjoyment, but I didn't see any typos that popped out at me. So thanks for posting this chapter. Great, now I have to wait for the next one. Oh well. Looking forward to it!

TheQuietGirl, Ravenclaw

Author's Response: I'm so glad to hear you like Scorpius :) He's a bit different that most versions out there. Normally he's very cynical or smart, so I thought it would be fun to put a rather naive version of him in the story!

And I'm glad you liked the party types! Haha I always see the same types of parties in stories, so I decided my story should include those :)

*Sigh of relief* I'm glad you didn't see any obvious typos! I'm not the best speller, so I appreciate when readers point them out to me.

Thanks for the reviews, I'll try to have chapter 4 up soon.
-ronsgirl29


 Report Review

Review #15, by The Quiet Girl Tuesday

12th August 2011:
Oh wow, you had me laughing like crazy! The rumors! LOL, I loved the rumors! 7.5 father candidates? That was my favorite! And then the five boys circling Rose, each with his own concern about a rumor or something. Fred's concern was the funniest. He actually think his cousin has an evil twin? I guess he figures there are too many people in his family to keep straight accounts of, so he might have figured he missed one when he counted before. I just love the Weasleys.

I had one slight concern in the back of my mind, though. If Rose is seventeen, then what is James still doing at Hogwarts? He's technically two years older than Rose and Albus. And what of Fred and Louis? Would they have . . . Wait, this is a spoof. They can be wherever they want, I suppose. :D Never mind! Their presence just added to the scene. :)

I'm loving this story more and more! So, I'm going to the next chapter. See you!

TheQuietGirl, Ravenclaw

Author's Response: I had so so much fun with the rumors. I was worried that people might be scared away by the ridiculousness of everything, but I thought since it's a spoof, I might as well go all out on the crazy.

And you know what, I didn't even realize that James would be too old.. haha Rose and Al are 6th years, so I guess I just figured he could be a 7th year, but if they are two years apart, that wouldn't make sense! And I pictured Fred being in James' year but Louis being a year younger than Al and Rose. Haha but your right, this is a spoof! So I don't feel so bad for not getting the years right. (with all the next gen characters, it's hard to keep things straight!)

Thanks so much again for your helpful reviews,
ronsgirl29


 Report Review

Review #16, by The Quiet Girl Monday

12th August 2011:
If this is just the prologue, I can't wait to read about the rest of Rose's week! She already seems like a strange girl. Don't worry, I like strange characters, so I already like her! (Especially with the morning mirror and strange face thing!) Questions are already entering my mind about the personalities of Rose's friends, family, and Scorpius. I'm wondering what they might think. Hm . . .

Now on with the only other character we've been introduced to, Eileen Wood must really be a bit thick if she didn't recognize the person she was talking to before spreading more gossip! I'd personally never seen that before. Of course, you can do anything you want in a spoof like this! Ooh, I can't wait to read the next chapter (so I guess I'll wrap this review up and hop over to chapter two!). See you there!

TheQuietGirl, Ravenclaw

Author's Response: She is super strange :) I've never written such an odd group of characters before, so I'm having a lot of fun with it.

Oh, Eileen. She's quite the gossip. In real life, you'd hope people would have the sense not to spread a rumor to the person it's about, but in my exaggerated world, Eileen waltzes right up to her and says it without realizing she's telling Rose the rumor haha.

Thanks for taking the time to read and review!


 Report Review

Review #17, by WeasleyTwins Tuesday

9th August 2011:
Hi, WeasleyTwins back for the review extravaganza!

I thought I adored the first chapter, but the second chapter, well, I LOVED it. It takes good humor in a story to make me laugh out loud and I tell you, I was rolling. Holy watermelons, I deem that this is one of the funniest stories on HPFF. Seriously. Your wit is, well, it's hard to describe. The piece is well-written. I did see a few grammatical errors, but they didn't distract from the story. Overall, I just love, love, love this. I think you've got a winning story on your hands here!

WeasleyTwins
Gryffindor

Author's Response: Stop, you're making me blush!

This review seriously made me smile, I mean, one of the funniest? That's such a kind thing for you to say :) I always thought writing angsty stories would be hard, but humor is actually really tricky. So I'm extremely relieved that you find it funny!

One of these days I'll have to find a beta, because I'm not a grammar wiz. Thanks for letting me know there are some mistakes in there!

Thanks again, your review made my day :)


 Report Review

Review #18, by WeasleyTwins Monday

9th August 2011:
Hi, WeasleyTwins here for the review extravaganza!

Oh. My. Goodness. This was superb! I saw all kinds of cliches, of course, as this is a parody, yet you pulled off some so subtly, that I hardly noticed. The whole 'I hate waking up,' 'I wear makeup,' 'my owl stays in my bedroom,' - I could go on, really. I love that you've taken ideas that aren't quite cliche, but are fast becoming so. Facial goop? Now that, my dear, is writing genius! I love your descriptive, humorous style. Many stories on this site are dark or romantic enough to make one gag, but you've given readers something we love in our everyday lives - humor.

I wish I could say something profound about this lovely story, but I've got nothing. I did see a few grammatical mistakes/typos, but they weren't something that distracted from the piece. Overall, I adored it and I can't wait to read more!

WeasleyTwins
Gryffindor

Author's Response: Hello!

Glad to hear you're enjoying it so far! It can be so tricky in stories when you purposefully put in cliche material, because you want the readers to know it's a spoof without making the story bad. It's a relief to hear you think I'm doing a good job of it :)

Thanks so much for the review, I'm happy I could put some humor in your day!


 Report Review

Review #19, by gingersnape Monday

8th August 2011:
BAHAHA! I am so glad I snagged you because I am loving this story so far! :D This was already great, and then I get another 5,000 words of AWESOME when I come back because I do like reviewing your stuff. Rose was so funny, especially with the face thing and with a title like, "the week I was pregnant" it has to be good! She could be on a new reality show - I didn't know I was the pregnant 16 year old" or something! :P

And telling the rumor to Rose herself? Oh that is awesome! Hehe, you haaave a new fangirl for this story! Spoofs can so often go wrong, but I think this one will set itself apart and be, you know, totally awesome! :D

gingersnape, Gryffindor

Author's Response: Haha it's funny you mention reality show, because this story almost was going to be set up like one. Kind of like one of those ridiculous day time 'talk' shows where all they do is try to figure out who the father of someone's baby is. I was thinking about spinning it to fit this sort of plot, but I could never really make it work and ended up with this instead! Perhaps I'll revisit that idea another time, haha.

I'm really glad you think this story is turning out to be totally awesome :) It put a smile on my face!
-ronsgirl29


 Report Review

Review #20, by CoLorful DreaM Wednesday

8th August 2011:
Do I have to repeat how hilarious this thing is? Ok, I'll do it: THIS IS HILARIOUS! Really. Scorpius was so lovely, making plans about them having the baby. Oh Gosh! Oh Gosh! And then Rosy trying to explain him how it was impossible for them to have a baby. Really now, you'd think that a seventeen years old boy would realize such a thing! And, well, in the end, of course, he misunderstood what she said... like everyone else until now, by the way...
LOL. I liked the whole thing around Charles Huffington, the Hufflepuff and Carl Slythers, the Slytherin. Hogwartians? That's a good way of calling them...
The poem was really lovely. Same the Scorose end. Awww! Loved it!

Ramona
Gryffindor

Author's Response: Haha thank you! Poor Scorp, I had to make his character to oblivious to everything. I'd like to think of it more that he was so caught up in the moment and the news that he didn't even remember it wasn't quite possible for them to have had a child together, haha.

I don't know where those names came from, but I just thought it would be fun to be a Hufflepuff with the name Huffington :)

Thanks for the kind words!
-ronsgirl29


 Report Review

Review #21, by maskedmuggle Monday

8th August 2011:
Oh, I'm loving your story so far! This chapter was quite humorous! I can relate to how hard it is to wake up in the morning! But then Rose started doing funny faces and looking at herself in the mirror to boost her confidence.. and haha that's just quite a funny idea! I really liked the conversation with Eileen, and how she didn't even realise she was dishing gossip to the person who the gossip was about. Gahh, I loved this line: "WHAT THE FRENCH TOAST?" Hehehe. So random, which is why it's funny!

I like Rose's character so far! Malfoy? YES! I like ScoRose! I'm also looking forward to getting good glimpses or hopefully plots that involve her cousins and the rest of the next-gen awesomeness! Great writing and story so far!

- maskedmuggle, Ravenclaw :)

Author's Response: Hello, thanks for the review!

Haha, I think we can all relate to poor Rose and her morning woes. (Yeah, I just rhymed!) She just has clever ways to deal with her morning routine ;)

Happy to hear you are liking rose! There will definitely be some more ScoRose and more of the family! Thanks so much for the review,
Ronsgirl29


 Report Review

Review #22, by CoLorful DreaM Tuesday

8th August 2011:
Oh my Gosh! But the Hogwarts students do have a wonderful imagination, don't they? Haha! Quadruplets? Really? Does that actually exist? Well, I do heard of some woman having 6 babies at a time, but hey, that's pretty one in a milion. I have to say that Rose's fave was my fave either: Move, the twin demon. LOL And Fred was so funny in his belief of Moze's existence. Oh, and how can I forget of the 7.5 possible father? Really, you're good. You're so good! And her dream with all those nurses with body components in addition was also hilarious. Though, I have to disagree with what that three handed one (was it the three handed one?) - Keith is definately better than Rodney.
I really can't wait to see what silly thing has Scorpius to say. After all, he's one of the 7.5 supposed fathers.

Ramona
Gryffindor

Author's Response: Gotta love the imagination of teenage witches and wizards! I had so much fun coming up with all the crazy rumors. The Moze one definitely my favorite as well. And of course Fred believes it, he's Fred ;)

Haha, I think you may be right. Keith IS a better name than Rodney. (Not to insult anyone named Keither or Rodney!)

Glad you're enjoying, thanks for taking the time to read and review.
Ronsgirl29


 Report Review

Review #23, by CoLorful DreaM Monday

8th August 2011:
Hello, fellow Gryffie!

The title just caught me immediately. I saw it and just told myself :(evil face, rubbing hands) "Oh God... this is going to be fun!" You have a really funny Rose in here. Because of the many cliches around Rose and Scorpius, I tend to avoid Rosy. This time I couldn't. I just couldn't ever avoid something spoofy. Her morning routine was so freaky (in a good way). It sounds really self-confidence improving. I should try that some time. I really loved that you mentioned Hermione parents and Hermione herself in this, the parents with their hygiene mania and the daughter with the learning mania. It makes it so much real! Also, the extreme hunger of Ron's. I loved that detail, too! This was shorter, still not extremely short as a first chapter.
On the overall, I just loved it!

Ramona
Gryffindor

Author's Response: Hello!

I also have a soft spot for spoofs, that's why I couldn't resist writing one for myself! They are really fun to write. Haha, Rose's morning routine is sure to make anyone feel good in the morning!

I'm glad you enjoyed the little bits of mentioning Ron and Hermione. Ron is my favorite character, so I like to include him when I can.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!
-ronsgirl29


 Report Review

Review #24, by SexyDoorFrames Tuesday

5th August 2011:
Hi lovely. This was an excellent second chapter. I loved it and I'm really getting a feel for Rose's character. She is just so funny. When she was talking to her bear, it made me giggle. Her cousins are so stupid, but utterly funny. I loved how they all believed the rumours without even asking her. You've got a really good story going on. I fully enjoy it! You just keep on writing great chapters, that have me cracking up over every line and I hope you continue with it!

- SexyDoorFrames, Gryffindor.

Author's Response: hello :)

Thanks so much! I'm really happy to hear your enjoying characters and the story. I had a great time writing the scene with the cousins, it's fun to write craziness haha.

Once again, thank you for your awesome reviews! Your kind words always brighten my day.

-ronsgirl29


 Report Review

Review #25, by SexyDoorFrames Monday

4th August 2011:
Hi lovely! I hope you're okay. Excellent start! It had everything a starting chapter should be, it was engaging, witty and funny. I adore your Rose, usually I'm not a huge fan but I adore yours. This is a really clever story, it's spoofy but not that spoofy that it's annoying and has no depth. This is just so original and fresh. Haha. I loved her reaction to the rumour. It made me laugh. I just love Rose's character, she's not perfect but still Rose like, I just love with what you've done with her. In all, this was an amazing beginning!

- SexyDoorFrames, Gryffindor.

Author's Response: Hello again!

I'm glad you like my version of Rose! She's done so often and generally written the same way that it can be hard to have her as a main character, but I like a challenge and it's been fun coming up with ways to make my Rose different.

Thanks so much for the compliments. You truly are too kind :)



 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>