Reading Reviews for Waiting
  
11 Reviews Found

Review #1, by x3CherryWatermelonx3 Waiting

11th November 2011:
Absolutely loved this!

The memories and feelings in the beginning made the emotion at the end that much greater.

Absolutely remarkable. Great job! :)

Author's Response: Thank you! This was the first one-shot I ever wrote. I still have a bit of a soft spot for it - I always find myself feeling sorry for him.
:(

Thanks for reading. :)


 Report Review

Review #2, by Jen Waiting

18th October 2011:
Heartbreaking :'(
Beautiful

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you liked it. :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Jenna822 Waiting

30th April 2011:
(Prize Review #5)

D:
Okay this seriously brought tears to my eyes! Your descriptions were so beautiful and detailed, it was easy to picture the entire setting. I truly felt like I was there. I loved the flashbacks, they fell into great places, making each one mean more than if you had just told it from start to finish. I've never seen a story that gives Dorcas a married name of Meadowes, so it was really neat to see that. This was so well written. :) --Jenna

Author's Response: Thank you :) Dorcas isn't often featured in fan fiction, except for maybe as an aside during a James/Lily or Sirius/OC story. I was always curious about her because she was powerful enough for Voldemort to kill her personally. So I thought about including something about her bravery and missions for the Order, because obviously that was a part of her life, but I decided that in her eyes, after death, that wouldn't have been what mattered. In the end, her life wasn't anything about Voldemort or the war. It was about those simple times with her family, and love, and the parts where she was happiest. So this was a tribute of sorts, to the fallen warrior we know very little about.

:)


 Report Review

Review #4, by weasleygirl22 Waiting

25th March 2011:
That was an absolutely beautiful story. You are a very talented writer. After reading this and Painted, you are now one of my favorite authors. Keep up the good work.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I saw that on my author's page and was all :O

I'm very pleased and honored. Thank you. :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by sk8trmafia08 Waiting

16th March 2011:
I'm going to go curl up with my fiance and never let him go now. So sad, but so good!

Author's Response: You do that! ^_^ Thank you for reading.



 Report Review

Review #6, by blueirony Waiting

10th March 2011:
Oh my God. That was just so heart-wrenchingly beautiful. Wow. I almost feel like writing too much about it will take the power of it away.

I don't... I don't even know what to say. That was just perfect.

I'm real sucker for angst. Anything sad, angst-ridden and plain old sad and I will love it. And I loved this. Adored this. So much so that I know I am going to back and read this once I have finished reviewing.

Your descriptions are to die for. I could see everything in my mind. Every single thing, from the birds, to the cicadas to the ripples in the water and the image in my mind was so clear, it's insane. You did that. You're the writer. You put the words down, all I did was take them in. And it was beautiful.

This was really delicate. Stories that are set outside and make full use of the world outdoors in their descriptions always are. But this also had a sweetness to it. When I was reading it, I couldn't identify the sweetness at first. It was there. But it was so fragile that I was a bit confused as to why I thought that way. All the descriptions were there but there was this... feeling that lingered over the story.

And when you put that bit in the end after their wedding, I knew exactly what had happened. And at that point, I closed my eyes and I was hoping, wishing, praying that I was wrong. I wasn't. I was right.

And those last few paragraphs...

God...

They were so beautiful. Heart-wrenching, horribly sad, but absolutely beautiful. Just like the rest of this.

I hate that she died. I really do. They had such a lovely story together and it's amazing. You didn't even really go too far into their relationship. You only had a few flashbacks. But in just the space of a few thousand words, you had me fall in love with Western and Dory's story. And though I hate that she died, that bittersweetness just lifted this one-shot. I know it's horrible to think that way, but it's true.

The fact that she died and that Wes is still in their spot and he's just waiting and wishing, it's just... so sad. And I almost can't bear it. And I want to cry. But it's just so goddamn beautiful.

I don't want to change a thing. I know I must have used the word 'beautiful' a lot of times during this, but it's true. This was beautiful. And I absolutely adored every single word. I hope you did well in the challenge, you certainly deserve it!

Joop.

Author's Response: *jaw drops*

:O

You have NO idea how much this review has boosted my mood. Honestly, I have been having a really bad day and coming on here and seeing this - it just raised my spirits like nothing else could. I can't thank you enough for your kind words.

I'm so glad you liked it, and I really, really appreciate you taking the time to read and review.

Thank you for making my day. :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by TenthWeasley Waiting

6th March 2011:
Nope. She's not dead. Sorry, you wrote this wrong. Nope, nope, nope.

*continues until someone kicks her in the head*

Sorry. Real review coming now.

You have, as you always do, impressed me beyond words. They way you can put together so many emotions in one piece and have them all flow virtually seamlessly is something I shall continue to admire until the day I die. It's like I'm THERE - the lake, the scent of the trees, the cicadas. It really isn't easy to transport a reader, Sarah, but you do it every time.

You're probably sick of all these gushy reviews, but you know what? I don't care. Because I'm going to KEEP gushing. Because every single darn thing you right astounds me and just makes me wonder why in the heck you like my writing when you could drool over yours some more! You are someone to be envied, my dear. ^^

I love it, as always, and I wish you would write a never-ending story. Because then I would never have to stop reading! The emotions of this story... wow, Sarah. How do you do it?!

Love it. Love YOU. Rambling over. *squish*

OPERATION: Green With Envy

Author's Response: I am still going nuts over this elusive 'operation: green with envy' thing. Makes me want to start writing 'operation: red with sexy-ness' everywhere. I am assuming it is some sort of Slytherin CR challenge and the purpose is supposed to make everyone envious. But in what way? Leaderboard points? Hmm...

You're killing me, Jane.

Anyway...this gushy review totally put me in a better mood. You've read almost all of my one-shots now. I FEEL SO SPECIAL. One of these days I am going to strap you to a chair and force you to read Curious Happenings. And I will read the rest of Leaping Obstacles and all will be right with the world.

I LOVE YOOOU. I wrote that with a lot of o's and u's, but the spelly thingy will probably edit them out. The sentiment is there, at least.

*virtual seahorses and french toast*

:)


 Report Review

Review #8, by Ginny45 Waiting

25th February 2011:
Hi!
RandomRed here from the forums and the birthday review thread. :)

I have one word, Wow.

The descripton conjures amazing images of the lake and the couple. I was so shocked when she was dead, you set things up so well for a happy ending but I think it is better this way.

I loved the ending though, it was perfect. Favo line right here!
[i]"The cicadas' melody seemed to skip for a few beats - or maybe he was just imagining it - and his eyes stung behind their lids"[/i].

Simple yet gorgeous!

Guess where this is going.;)

Ginny45/RandomRed xxx

Author's Response: To your favorites? *gasp*

:O

Thank you!!

I'm glad you liked it. :) Thank you for reading and reviewing.

:D :D :D


 Report Review

Review #9, by hpgrl Waiting

17th February 2011:
Hi!
wow...that was really powerful. i had to reread that paragraph about dory being dead three times over before i believed it. The descriptions were beautiful and somber, perfect for the story, and the flashbacks were well placed and worked in perfect harmony with the rest. i loved the twist and his sincere belief that she would show up. This was short but had so much feeling in it-i'm just really speechless, really. Great Job:)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reviewing. :) This wasn't the happiest one-shot, but I always wanted to write something about Dorcas, since I found it interesting that Voldemort thought she was such a threat that he felt the need to kill her personally.

 Report Review

Review #10, by ericajen Waiting

16th February 2011:
Why must you insist on breaking my heart all the time?

Heh, really though, this was beautiful. And you know how much I adore your writing anyway. This was really great, though. I loved the way it developed throughout. I mean, for awhile, I was really expecting her to show up and everything. I was thinking a happy ending was on it's way. And then bam, she's actually dead.

The way you wrote Wesley's feelings was amazing. It seemed so effortless but perfect at the same time. I really felt like I could connect with him, which is of course a big part of writing.

Well done! You really impress with this one(:

Erica.

Author's Response: Awww, thank you! This story hasn't gotten too much attention, and it was nice to hear an opinion on it.

I'm sorry it's depressing! Gah. I do that a lot. I'm so mean to fictional characters. I make them all angsty and it gets it out of my system, so that I can be sugary butterflies all day. XD

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing. You are pretty much the sweetest reviewer ever.


 Report Review

Review #11, by Hyacinth Dursley Waiting

7th February 2011:
Poignant. Sad and sweet with a beautiful mental image of the lake and a pair of young lovers. You can almost hear the cicadas droning away. :)

Author's Response: Aww, thank you! :) I really appreciate the review. *showers you with cookies*

:)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login