Reading Reviews for Siren
  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Rainpixie Siren

18th April 2013:
Did he kiss her or kill her, I wonder? Beautifully, hauntingly written. The thinly masked instability of the black family was really quite evident in the scene where his parents are dancing. I can't imagine what it would be like to fear being punished for witnessing a brief moment of love in an otherwise tumultuous household.

Author's Response: We'll never know! I'm leaning more towards the latter option, but I think it could have gone either way.

The Black brothers interest me a lot. I think they grew up less in physical abuse that is usually assumed and more in psychological abuse. There were probably a lot of weird things that went on in Grimmauld Place.

Thank you so much, once again, for reading and reviewing so many of my stories! It means the world to me.

- Sarah


 Report Review

Review #2, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Siren

6th May 2012:
Woah. That did not end like I thought it was going to. The moment between his parents was such a nice touch but man, Regulus. He's such an interesting character. In my head I think he would have been someone wonderful to read. If only he hadn't died, you know? It would have been nice to see if he would have tried to have any relationship with his brother (after he got out of Azkaban) or if he would have still been on the Death Eater side.

He's so dark. I'm a little creeped out right now. I shuddered. Your writing is always on point. I'm amazed. Was this your first one-shot/story? If it was you have always had great skill.

Author's Response: Regulus's characterization was super creepy in this one-shot. In my head (but not in this story because in this story he's just very mentally messed-up), Regulus did a complete 180 in the end and gave up the Death Eater ways. I think that if he'd lived, he would have devoted himself to destroying more horcruxes until Voldemort found out what he was doing; and then he probably would have been killed, anyway. I think he's a fascinating character, too. I keep meaning to read the story about him by Jenna822 because I hear it's fantastic.

Thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Mrs Sirius Black Siren

8th November 2011:
The romantic moment between Orion and Walburga was a nice touch, i think there was the right amount of intimacy for the characters and a enlightening view of their personal life. I found it interesting how Sirius is seen through the eyes of Regulus. Overall an interesting short story :)

Author's Response: I love everything about Sirius, especially seeing him through the eyes of other people. I was always curious about the dynamic between the two brothers - I feel that there is more about them that needs to be explored. It's interesting, too, how this version of Regulus differs greatly from my novel Purgatory's description of him; in that story, he's not off his hinges at all, and is pretty brave in fact.

Thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #4, by flozoeoreo Siren

6th August 2011:
ooh mystery! i like it. good job :)

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you enjoyed it. :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by potterheadinthetardis Siren

4th July 2011:
That was just brilliant! I really loved it! Regulus is one of the most interesting character, and there is very few good stories about him. The way your portrayed the characters, the descriptions... EVERYTHING was beautiful.
(I would write a longer review, but being French, I don't want to use my poor grammar after reading such a masterpiece :P)
I'm off to read more of your stories ! x

Author's Response: Thank you! This review really made my day. I'm glad you liked this story, and I hope you like anything else on my page that you read!

:)


 Report Review

Review #6, by SaphireSmiles Siren

11th May 2011:
Whewww... this is a doozie!
I really liked the Black-parents' scene, but would have appreciate some small interaction (or lack there of) between the brothers at school.
However - "Siren" is a perfect title for the tale you told. The descriptions you gave and the turmoil... it was all perfectly intense. Great job.

Author's Response: Thank you very much for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by orangezauber Siren

3rd April 2011:
Interesting and a bit of a dark side...Your writing is just as amazing as I remember.

The line that really stuck with me was the neuron connections unraveling. Scientific descriptions like that really speak to me. It really shows the different levels of writing. Every story needs the different levels. I love that you seem to come by it with such ease. You have this power to captivate your readers that is fantastic.

I really do enjoy your stories and I will make my way through the other ones, but slowly. Can't exhaust every thing you write in one go...nothing to look forward to if I did read them all in one sitting.

Always,
orangezauber

Author's Response: Your reviews are the sweetest, and they always leave me with an inflated head. I'm glad you liked this story! The neuron connections unraveling bit was my favorite part to write, actually. The whole tug-of-war between two sides of himself was interesting to write, as well as him finally cracking because of it.
Thank you for taking the time to read something of mine, and for reviewing it. I appreciate it muchly. :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by Dark Whisper Siren

23rd March 2011:
Wow.. you had me hanging on every word. I loved your descriptions, especially the little things he noticed about her... silver bracelet.

And really, it felt like I was in the head of a truly demented man.

10/10

Very good.

And now... why I came looking for you... I read some of the entries to your 'worst story ever' challenge and loved them all!

Could you please point me in the right direction on how to find these challenges? I'm guessing a forum, correct?

Thanks so much,
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Hi, there! Thank you for reading.

And yes, there is a challenge thread at the HPFF forums. If you haven't joined yet, you should. It's a lot of fun over there. You'll notice in the upper-right corner, there is a box that says:

home
read stories
write stories
get help
site links
forums
podcasts
contact us

Click on the forums one and sign up! ;)

And I'm glad you liked reading for my challenge. If you sign up on the forums (you have to make three posts in certain threads before officially starting, as you'll see in the information about 'new members must read this' - then perhaps you could sign up for my challenge before it's too late, if you'd like. The deadline for entries is May 5th.

Thank you for reading and reviewing.

Toujours Padfoot


 Report Review

Review #9, by Ginny45 Siren

20th March 2011:
Hello! RandomRed here from the forums with your review.

I love your banner for a start! Now to the actualy story, I think my jaw dropped. This is amazing, you sai d you could take critism so I was gearing up for it but I love this!

Aaah Regulas, I love him as a character so I rarely read anything about him because some people ruin him... but you have not done that! In fact your whole characterisation in this one shot is realy well done from Sirius to his best friend Nott.

I am really surprised you don't have more reviews but I suppose that is the way it works. Good stories seem to get very little reviews and stories that are a litte bit bad to be nice get loads.

The ending was rather chilling. I don't know how much more I can say on that because it was just simply chilling. I don't know why. Oh by the way by the ending I don't mean the last line I mean the bit from "You love her" down to "He wasn't even real himself."

This is amazing and I wish there was something I could do to get it more reviews and love. It will go in my next blog about amazing stories I have found! Actually I know what I am going to do!

Ginny45/RandomRed xxx

Operation:Green With Envy!

Author's Response: Ooooh, I like the banner, too. ^_^ The artist's use of three different poses of him was completely her idea and I was really pleased with the outcome. It kind of showcases his different inner personalities, you know? Like a schizophrenic-type thing.

Anyway, thank you so much for the awesome review!! I'm so glad you liked it. :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by SexyDoorFrames Siren

21st February 2011:
Wow, this was breathtaking. Like amazing. Every single word was enticing, it pulled you. I actually wish I could write like you and I am really jealous at the moment. You have so real talent going on. You can actually write. I don't mean that in a funny way or anything, I mean, I've read loads of people attempting to write and you just can. You make it seem easy though I'm sure you worked hard on this fic.

I love Sirius and Regulus together in one fic, the opposing brothers. I just love their relationship. I love how he wants to go and tell of Sirius :P So many people ignore their relationship, which is sad as it adds so much depth. I love how you've made Regulus slightly immature, at least at the start. It was excellent.

Shes not real shes just a demon here to entice you. To tempt you and drag you into the pits of hell where no one will ever love you again.
Fav line ever. I have a lot more, but I'd really end up just quoting the whole fic to you.

The ending! How could you do that! Did he kiss her or curse her? I suppose we'll never know.

In all, amazing and I really enjoyed this.

- Keely.

ps, sorry for any typos and not making sense, it's 2am here.

Author's Response: Wow, so...I hope you don't expect a coherent review, because I think I'm too flattered to write one. All I can really say is...THANK YOU! For your kind words, for reviewing, for saying I can write well, and for listing a particular bit that you liked. This review is amazing.

Thank you. :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by Kaida_Snape Siren

14th February 2011:
Wow. That was dark and amazing. I absolutely loved it! Where do I even begin? I have only read a few stories about Regulus, but still, you insert ANY character in here and it is absolutely amazing. GREAT job! This is going into my favorites, easily!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! *hugs* I'm really honored you put it in your favorites. Mind if I shower you with virtual teddy bears and cupcakes? Well, I'm doing it, anyway.

*explosion of teddy bears and cupcakes*


 Report Review

Review #12, by Jenna822 Siren

14th February 2011:
I'm seriously verging on speechless. This was amazing. I could ramble on and on about each part I liked, but I would just be listing the entire story. The opening was so entrancing and the ending - omg - breathtaking. Just...just fantastic. Every word. And your grammar is so great too, which makes the wonderful story even better to read. Seriously love this. Going on my favorites. Thank you so much for taking the challenge! --Jenna

Author's Response: Yay! I'm so glad you like it. ^_^ I thought maybe you might be a little put off since it isn't potion-centric. I tried writing it with Regulus actually using the Veritaserum on someone else, but it refused to come out right. So I just went back to square one and typed what came out naturally. Thank you for adding it to your favorites. And for making the challenge. It was a lot of fun to write. :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by sweetnothings Siren

11th February 2011:
Hello, I actually stumbled on this little jewel by accident and I am so glad I did. The premise is fantastic, the ending left me wanting more - does he curse her or kiss her?
Your characterisation was brilliant too, I can tell you put a lot of thought into it. The whole family was pretty much exactly as I see them.
I don't understand why there are so few reviews though, unlucky I suppose. Maybe you should upload it again, because I think you deserve more feedback for it.
Please keep writing!
sweetnothings

Author's Response: Thank you!! One-shots tend to not get many reviews. :( Your review really made my day. It's super encouraging. :)



 Report Review

Review #14, by TenthWeasley Siren

10th February 2011:
Um. I would just like to ask WHY this story has no reviews... Because it makes no sense to me whatsoever. And I can only hide my head in shame because I didn't make my way over here sooner!

I loved this story - you had a great characterization of Regulus, who is admittedly coming into more and more stories but not enough to satisfy my curiosity for more stories about him. I loved the beginning scene in Grimmauld Place, and I thought you NAILED all the Blacks' characterizations. Especially teenage-rebel Sirius. ^^

This may sound a little weird (but you know me decently enough by now!) but my absolute favorite part of this whole story was where you described the vibrations and malfunctions of Sirius's door. It was just two sentences, yes - but minor details like that impress the HECK out of me. That's what makes a story real, and vivid, and I've never seen someone do that before on a story here. I cannot even begin to tell you how much that impressed me. =]

No critiques - you need to write less amazing stories, because I sound all soft and mellow when I never have any suggestions for you! ^^ I truly loved this story, and will go and submit a story recommendation for it on the forums, because it definitely deserves a heck of a lot of attention. ^^ Fantastic job!

Author's Response: I saw that on the recommendation page, and my jaw dropped.

:O

So I quickly scampered over here. And you know what? I'm posting this in 'reviews that made my day'. Because it DID. You have no idea how encouraging this is... I hadn't gotten any reviews for it. I know, it's just a one-shot and one-shots tend to not get much attention unless you request reviews. But if no one reviewed me, then I would never know if it was crap or not! And if it was crap, I wanted critique to see how to make it NOT crap.

I don't think it's weird at all that your favorite part was about Sirius's door. I liked that bit, too. ^_^ When I write I kind of glaze my eyes over and try to get into the main character's head as much as possible. I look all around myself and imagine what I would see, what I would hear, what I would smell. I am SO flattered that you liked it enough to recommend it. That's quite an honor, coming from you, since you're such an amazing writer. Seriously, your Insomniac story blew my mind. It's just...wow. It really stands out in my mind as one of the best one-shots I've ever read.

Thank you so much for reviewing this for me. :) Much love!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login