Reading Reviews for Let Darkness End
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by shoveitsunshine obscurum

3rd June 2012:
I love this an inordinate amount. Just, I really like how you've characterised Draco, and how you described his experience in Azkaban. And even though you portrayed her as a somewhat-enemy, I liked Parker, she was interesting in the way that she came to St. Mungos to sit with Draco, even though she felt no guilt, and then the ending... at first I thought you weren't going to have Harry help him get out of Azkaban; because, usually, fics show Harry helping Draco out right away, but I think those writers have passed over the slowness of the court system, and also how difficult it must of been for Harry to help an old enemy. Great job.

Author's Response: Gahh, thank you! I think this is probably my favourite one-shot I've posted on here and so it's especially lovely to hear that people have liked it.

I'm glad you like Parker, I feel sorry for her :( She's very human in that she wants to punish Draco because she wants to punish the whole world for what she's lost, and Draco is a scapegoat for that, but at the same time, she struggles to see him suffering and realises that she doesn't really have it in her to be as vindictive as she wants to be.

I'm glad you liked the ending too, I've always been a little unsure about that. Thanks for reading!


 Report Review

Review #2, by luvinpadfoot obscurum

11th May 2012:
Wow. This story was absolutely amazing. This is one of the best protrayal I've ever seen of Draco. His situation after the war seems so realistic, down to Harry's entrance in the end. Draco's dilemma was fascinating throughout the whole story, whether or not to blame himself and I was amazed at how well you showed those emotions. This was an utterly fantastic story and I enjoyed every minute of it!

Author's Response: Wow, thank you! Post-war!Draco is one of my fanfic obsessions, for both reading and writing - I just think there are so many different ways he life could have turned out after the war. I'm really glad you enjoyed it, and thanks so much for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Roots in Water obscurum

13th July 2011:
You left me a review a long time ago and today I finally clicked on the link leading me to your author page. Boy, am I glad I did.

The summary immediately caught my attention and I couldn't resist clicking on it. I wasn't disappointed.

Your short segments really emphasized the brokeness of his life and how scattered his life is now. Your characterization was brilliant. I love story. You really showed Draco's progression realistically, as well as the rest of the characters. The Death Eaters were very human, I felt, and the lawyer had a very human want for revenge- and then regret. It was really well done.

There is nothing I can think of that would improve this story- I really enjoyed reading it. Excellent job!

Author's Response: Firstly - oh my goodness, thank you so much! I can't believe you reviewed so many of my stories! It's so lovely to click onto your author page and see that :)

I'm really glad you like this, as it's one of my personal favourites. I'm glad you like the segments - that's the effect I was trying to achieve, but I know some people feel it's just jarring - and it's reassuring to know that the characters seemed realistic. It's so easy to write Draco badly, especially post-war Draco, so I was very wary of him coming across as a tortured soul or a completely changed man or whatever.

Wow, that's probably the highest compliment anyone can give, thank you! I'm really glad you enjoyed this!


 Report Review

Review #4, by honoraryweasley obscurum

7th July 2011:
I found this so moving, I really did. (That's my way of saying I cried, okay? Ssh, don't tell) It was really very chilling and I could feel the loneliness and the desperation.

The way you portrayed everyone was very realistic, I think. We were definitely shown the bond between Narcissa and Draco, and you used that well. Harry, too, acted exactly as he's expected to act.

And then there's Draco. The fact that in the earlier books, pre-Dark Mark, he was annoying and made life difficult, but in an entertaining, fluffy manner.. that makes him feel, to me, like one of "the gang", in a way. A friend, and I feel sorry for him because he was a boy when he became a Death Eater, and he acted out of fear. I'm so glad you decided to give him a second chance :')

Author's Response: Aww, wow, that's great to hear! Not in a mean, sadistic way, obviously - I don't take pleasure in the fact that I made someone cry, or anything xD - but it's very flattering to know that I managed to write something quite moving. Thanks!

That's really good to hear too - I'm always rather scared to write Harry. Even though he's the character we all know the most about, it's so easy to write him badly and have him act out of character.

I feel sorry for poor old Draco too! Yes, in the early books he was really rather mean and spiteful (but in a hugely amusing, rather brilliant way, so he can be forgiven for that :P) and then he became a Death Eater (but even the most ardent Draco-haters can't really argue that it was entirely his fault) so I tend to write him as downtrodden and a bit pathetic but a good guy overall, rather than as the bad guy.

Thanks so much for reading! I'm really glad you enjoyed it :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by twixie obscurum

3rd July 2011:
Very well written. I was in tears reading this.

Author's Response: Wow, thank you! And awww, I'm sorry :( I'm very glad you found it moving though, thanks so much for reading!

 Report Review

Review #6, by innocentluminere obscurum

10th June 2011:
Wow, this is very chilling. Throughout the story I felt cold and lonely. Your use of words and the structure of the story was really well thought out.

I thoroughly enjoyed this story!

- Innocent Luminere

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad to hear you felt that way (wow, that makes me sound cruel - I'm not glad in a mean way, obviously xD) as I did try to convey a strong sense of isolation - Draco feeling very alone and having no one to rely on, etc.

Thanks so much for the review! I'm really glad you enjoyed it :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by Chaos Walking. obscurum

14th April 2011:
I like to think of myself as one of your biggest fans (I'm sure you have loads more). Now I was going through your lists of stories to see if ou had posted anything new - I tend to do that a lot. And then I see that this only has one review and I think to myself "You'd be a rubbish *big fan* if you didn't boot it up to atleast a 2" so here I am.

The first time I read this, you kind of left me speechless.It was that good. And you say that this is one of the first things you ever wrote - I am so jealous right now.

The whole idea of this story is really plausible. Everyone kept in character. The wayy Draco acted seems really. Draco-ish??. I can actually see Harry doing something like that. He's almost sort of self righteous. The only person that I seemed to have an issue with is Mr Weasley. I don't think he would ever act like that even to a Malfoy. He's just not that type of person (in my opinion). I'd suggest changing him so someone more like ... er... Aberforth or maybe... I dunno Mundungus?? I'm actually not sure as to who but definatley not Arthur (but then again what do I know - it is your story. If you want him there, keep him there)

Anyways I just want to tell you that you are a very talented person and that I love all your work, even if I only leave reviews occsionally. I'll try and review everything but I won't advise you to get your hopes up - I am a massive procrastinator.

10/10

-ChaosWalking.

P.S I'm looking forward to a new story to read *hint*hint*

Author's Response: Aww haha thank you, this was getting a bit lonely and review-less, wasn't it? It's had quite a lot of reads and favourites but I think people are just put off reviewing because it's quite a long piece... it, and I, appreciate your review very much xD

YAY thank you, I'm so glad Draco was Draco-ish (haha :P) because OOC!Draco is one of my biggest pet peeves. Ohhh I've just re-read that bit about Arthur and I think you're right. I wanted to include him because chances are he would play a fairly large role in the post-war wizarding world, and I intended him to come across as a little cold and disdainful but mainly because he was uncomfortable with the situation - after all, he's a father and one of his sons is the same age as Draco, so I'm sure he wouldn't exactly feel great about the fact he was locked up in Azkaban, no matter what he'd done, and so Arthur would perhaps, not knowing quite how to deal with the sitiuation, try to distance himself from it instead... That was my thought process anyway xP But yeah, I made him a bit... fierce? Harsh? Either way, I'll look into it and thanks very much for the suggestions :)

Thank you! Again! I absolutely love any reviews I get but yours are always just so wonderful and never fail to put a ridiculously huge smile on my face, so thank you :)

(A new story? Hmmm I'll have to see about that... watch this space... *looks mysterious*)


 Report Review

Review #8, by nirvana14 obscurum

5th February 2011:
That was jawdropping. It was so beautiful. I love how a one-shot can have such an impact with so few words. Amazing. The point of view you show is gripping and binding. 10/10. One of the best fanfics I have ever read.

Author's Response: Wow, thank you SO much! It's absolutely amazing to get feedback like this. This is probably the best reviews anyone's ever given me, so I'm very grateful, and obviously very glad you enjoyed the story as well :) Thanks again!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login