Reading Reviews for Unlaced
  
26 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Keziah Attractive Qualities

31st October 2011:
Except for 'Vela quickly placed her 'had' over the symbol' this is another cracker of a chapter! Please put up more, it is seriously wonderful! :D
Xx Kezzie

Author's Response: Eeep I shall change that ASAP! Thanks for pointing it out ^_^ I'm working on more chapters, never fear :3 Thank you for another lovely review, darling!

-Lizzie xo


 Report Review

Review #2, by Keziah Propriety

31st October 2011:
I really like to read and write stories in this time period, and Vela is just the type of character I love. She seems really through and genuine, though I am a bit bias, as many of my characters are just like her. The relationships are brilliant, and I love how everything is so smooth, whether it is the interactions or the story itself.
Brilliant piece of work you have here!
Xx Kezzie

Author's Response: Hey Keziah! :) I'm so glad you like Vela, she's so much fun to write. I'm so glad you think so! It's great writing pure-blood ancestors and how they acted. :) Thank you so much for leaving this lovely review!

-Lizzie x


 Report Review

Review #3, by Drecklin Propriety

12th August 2011:
I can't claim to have any knowledge about what this time period involves, but I imagine it would definitely be like this :P At least, you have me convinced of it anyways. I really like your descriptions in this story, the only thing I have to comment on is the fact that it did feel a little rushed in some places. Overall though, it wasn't as if it was annoyingly fast, just a little too fast for my personal taste :) I also can't wait to find out more about the characters you've presented me with! Raquel seems like she could be quite fun, and I really want to know more about the 'other' girls so to speak :P

You've done a really good job so far, made me dislike some characters already and given me some good ground to stand on as a reader- which is very important in the first chapter! So great job so far, and I can't wait to see what the second chapter holds for me :) Lovely!

Forum Name: Drecklin
House: Slytherin

 Report Review

Review #4, by SeverusSnape15 Attractive Qualities

4th August 2011:
Review 2/8: I understand now. It was early, when Phineas was Headmaster. I believe he was Headmaster for a very short time, if I'm thinking right. Anyways, I really really look forward to reading more of this. It's wonderful, and so interesting. I think you're a wonderful writer, and don't stop for anything, love. :) Don't let anyone take away your glory! 10/10

Author's Response: Hehe yes, Phineas is the Headmaster, and his short time at holding the position is a key plot focus in this ;)

*blushes* Naww, thank you SO much! That's kinda made my day - THANK YOU! I don't think I'll be stopping any time soon haha :P

Cheers, hun!
-Lizzie x


 Report Review

Review #5, by SeverusSnape15 Propriety

4th August 2011:
Review 1/8: Oh my, oh my, oh my my my, I'm totally in love with this story. I can't wait to read more! It's so interesting. I'm wondering, is this supposed to be like...Molly Prewett and others' parents and what such? :) Can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: Naww, thank you so much! I'm so pleased you liked this and found it so interesting. :D

It was such a lovely surprise to find two new reviews from you :3 thank you!!!

-Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #6, by SiriuslyPeeved Attractive Qualities

4th June 2011:
This is a vivid window into the time period; it's easy to assume that the Wizarding world might have allowed more gender equality than the Muggles during the nineteenth century, but your vision is so believable the way you've written it. Your Hogwarts seems to be a finishing school for girls -- I wonder whether they are learning all the same spellwork as the boys or not, and what the boys are doing while the girls are spending time at their "proper" pursuits like embroidery. (something I'm curious about for future chapters :) )

I loved where Vela put the skull and crossbones in her embroidery, that made me chuckle. She has such a sense of mischief and fun, and she gives a new twist to the Slytherin persona (they are too often portrayed as pure villains in my opinion -- a quarter of the school can't be villains at any given time ;) ).

I really enjoyed these two chapters, feel free to re-request in the future!

 Report Review

Review #7, by SiriuslyPeeved Propriety

4th June 2011:
I think you did a very nice job writing in the time period, the setting is lively and the dialogue is formal enough to be believable but fun to read. I very much enjoyed the vision of Hogwarts in Phineas Nigellus' time, Vela is a well-drawn OC in this first chapter -- I liked the mischievous little touches to her personality. The exchange between Vela and Stephan Prewett was great -- "And that is how you cause dance class to be slightly more enjoyable."

There were only a few small typos here and there in this chapter, mostly it is very solidly written. The one suggestion I have if you ever revise this chapter might be to choose a few of the adverbs to take out; they are a little bit closely placed in some sections, and the flow would improve if they were further apart.

Vela is a character who doesn't quite fit into her own time and that makes for interesting conflict to come; I have a feeling there are more restrictions she will chafe at, other than corsets and using a partner's first name in dance class.

 Report Review

Review #8, by Thegirlinthegreenjumper Attractive Qualities

29th May 2011:
Oh my goodness! I'm actually really excited about this story, the plot is unique and doesn't involve any common cliques like a lot of fan fiction. I love Shakespeare and i cannot wait until the next chapter is out!

Author's Response: Hi there! Thank you so, so, so much for reviewing! First off, apologies for taking so long to get this response posted - I've had internet troubles and life has been so crazy these past few months!

Anyway, I'm so honoured you're excited about this :) I love reading historical fiction, so to write a historical fanfiction in the Harry Potter world is an absolute joy.

I hope to update with the next chapter soon, I just need to edit it a bit more :)

Again, apologies for the delay in replying, and many thanks again!

-Lizzie x


 Report Review

Review #9, by strawberrydarhling Attractive Qualities

4th May 2011:
Please update this soon, I lurve it

Author's Response: Thank you so much!! I hope to update in the next month or two ^_^

 Report Review

Review #10, by morningstarroost Attractive Qualities

20th April 2011:
embroidering a jolly roger? nice touch.

Author's Response: Heheh, that was so much fun to write! :D Thanks again for R&R-ing! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #11, by morningstarroost Propriety

20th April 2011:
i like her. take what you want and give them all hell.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! I'm so glad you like her! :D

 Report Review

Review #12, by LilyFire Attractive Qualities

31st March 2011:
Hi! Lily with your review!
I love this story. I love the Victorian age, I love the concepts you've put in it, I love everything about it. Umm...yeah, that about covers my feelings on it. Your characters are amazing, it's pretty believable (to be honest, I'm not so sure about the seperat common rooms thing...I thought that was why the stairs turned into a slide in Gryffindor Tower...but hey, it's still believable). The plot seems pretty good right now, and the flow is perfect!
I guess that's it for now...Feel free to rerequest!
~LilyFire

Author's Response: Hi Lilyfire! First off, my sincerest apologies for taking so long to respond - RL has been mad and my computer keeps on crashing. :(

I'm so thrilled you like this! Thank you! It's a pleasure to write, believe me. The common room thing is just standard propriety back then. However, I will say that a bit more will be revealed about why they're separate in later chapters... ;)

Thank you so very much for this lovely review, Lily! I will certainly re-request in future.

Thanks again!
-Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #13, by Dreaming_of_Daisies Propriety

26th March 2011:
This is amazing, it's well-written, Vela is believable (which is rare in stories these days) but what I like most about this, is that it's different, you've come at this from an entirely new angle, and it's made me think some. Good work.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your lovely review! I'm thrilled you think this is well-written and that Vela's believable. I love historical fiction and it's so much fun being able to use that influence on Hogwarts. :)

Thanks again for leaving such a sweet review!
-Elizabeth


 Report Review

Review #14, by Aderyn Attractive Qualities

13th March 2011:
Hello!

I quite like this story so far. I like that the values of the Muggle time period have transferred to Hogwarts as well. That makes more sense then having Wizards being hundreds of years ahead in terms of woman's rights. Vela is an interesting main character and if she is a great- grandmother (or something) of Sirius it seems like he inherited her personality.

Anyways, I'm interested to see where you take this story next. Good job creating something intriguing and unique!

Author's Response: Hello! Thank you so much for your lovely review, Aderyn!

Oh, thank you! I'm a history nut, so I've tried my hardest to keep this as historically accurate as possible - I'm thrilled you like it! I love writing Vela, hehe. I think she ends up being Sirius' distant cousin, I'm just not sure how many times removed or anything, hehe ^_^

Thank you so much for reviewing, hun! You've made my day! ^_^

-Elizabeth


 Report Review

Review #15, by Lizzie xx Attractive Qualities

12th March 2011:
when i was younger, i was positively obsessed with historical fiction, then i kind of stopped reading it. One of the reasons I like your story so much is because it reminds me of the books I used to read and why I liked learning about the past so much. The way you portrayed Hogwarts of the 19th century is s realistic and interesting. Please update soon?
~Lizzie xx

Author's Response: Hey Lizzie! :)

Hehe, me too, I adore historical fiction ^_^ Oh, thank you so much! I've tried to keep this as historically accurate as possible. :) I certainly will! Hopefully it shouldn't take too long to be updated!

Thanks for your lovely review, darling!

-Lizzie xx


 Report Review

Review #16, by Giola Attractive Qualities

12th March 2011:
yay, new chapter!

I must say, I quite liked this :D.

Some nice character development with Vela, and I'm like Raquel too (not so much Cassie though...for obvious reasons.) And the note passing scene.very relatable for anyone who's ever done that, and been caught. Like, say, me.

I can't help but guess at a plot here. Possibly a romance, though with whom? And would it be the plot itself or a sub? Or maybe a character dev story with Vela eventually becoming a women's rights activist?

Or you could go the crazy route and have the castle be attacked by goblins, or something. That would actually be quite hilarious.

Anyway, the end of my ramble is nigh. Nice chapter, I'm excited for more :D

-Giola

Author's Response: Hey Giola! :D

Thank you for yet another lovely review :) I'm thrilled that you liked the character development. Ever since I've been writing this, I've been worried about how they were coming along, so thank you for mentioning it! XD Hehe, I liked writing the note passing scene - I've been caught a few times, myself :P

Hmm, maybe, then again, maybe not! I haven't actually made up my mind completely about how this fic will end - I have a basic idea, but I know from writing other stories; the idea you start out with isn't always the one you end up with, hehe :P

LOL! Now that would be a rather dramatic way to end this! *ponders*

Hehe, thank you so much for your lovely review, darling!

-Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #17, by MidnightBlue_x Attractive Qualities

12th March 2011:
AWW LIZZIE!

You are too sweet my supermegaawesomefoxyhot plague rattie. Love you!

x Ely

Author's Response: Hehe ^_^

Love you too, Rattie!! Thanks for reviewing, darling *huggles*

-Lizzie xx


 Report Review

Review #18, by reallifewizard Propriety

21st February 2011:
so, this is actually a really cool and original idea, and i like the completely OC cast because you don't have any boundaries with the characters and their personalities. Kudos for a great start!!

lol isn't kudos such a funny word? Kudos! (giggles)
- Lizzie xx

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review, Lizzie! I'm thrilled you like the idea of this fic. Hehe, that is why I adore writing OC's - hardly any boundaries! Although there are a few canon characters who will be included in this story ;)

Lol, it is! ^_^ Haha, thanks so much for reviewing, darling!
-Lizzie xx


 Report Review

Review #19, by redherring Propriety

20th February 2011:
Hi, redherring here from the forums with a very delayed review! I'm sorry about the wait :(

I love how original this is! It's a very interesting idea for a story and you pulled it off brilliantly, as well. I admire your bravery at writing such an unexplored time period, and with a completely OC cast. I love that you're dealing with real life issues here, as well. I started feeling all feminist as I read it - the poor girls! Good old Vela for standing up to it all - you've got to love a rebel.

Vela seems like a very promising OC, but I would caution against making her too 'fiesty', if you know what I mean, because that's a trait that can often seem both unrealistic and a bit cliche when it's taken too far, in my opinion at least. I'm not saying she's like this at the moment, but it's always a risk with strong-willed, rebellious OCs, I've found. I really do like all your OCs so far, though, especially Cyrus there at the end. He seems nice (see: hot) ;)

As a slightly nit-picky suggestion, perhaps when mentioning numbers, it might be better to write out the word instead of using the symbol? e.g. for the twenty fifth time instead of for 25th time ? It just feels a bit jarring, that's all.

Really, really great stuff here, though, and a very promising first chapter. Definitely looking forward to the next one! Feel free to request again when it's up :)

Author's Response: Hi redherring! Thanks a million for your amazing review! And don't worry about the wait, it's perfectly fine :)

Ah, thank you. I adore the Victorian era, and the history of women's rights, so I simply had to write about it in the wizarding world. Bravery? Hehe *blushes* why thank you :) Despite using mostly OC's, I've tried to keep them in canon as to what their last name is, so hopefully I've pulled it off! And there will be a few canon characters from the next chapter onwards ;)

I definitely will try my hardest to keep Vela as far away from a mary-sue as possible. I am always lurking the writers resources threads, and am quite paranoid now. Hehehe, yes, well, he is a Malfoy ;) haha ^_^

Oh, yes, that has been pointed out - the edits were actually validated an hour or so ago, haha!

Naw, thank you so so much for reviewing! I really appreciate the time you took to read this, and I will definitely be back for chapter two! :D

Thanks hun!
-Elizabeth


 Report Review

Review #20, by MidnightBlue_x Propriety

19th February 2011:
Boo!

I just wanted to leave you a little review so you remember that I love you. Sadly I'm not feeling so good otherwise I'd leave you a much longer one, so yeah. love you...

x ely

Author's Response: AHHH! *hides*

Naw, I love you too, PR ♥ I'm a bit under the weather, as well, unfortunately. :'( Get well soon, and thanks for reviewing, lovely! *hugs*

~Lizzie xx


 Report Review

Review #21, by Erratic Amethyst Propriety

11th February 2011:
Wow... That's all I can say. W o W ! Update soon. I absolutely love your writing style, and the drama is incredible. Kudos to you!

Author's Response: Thank you so much!!! Your review has honestly made me blush. I have the next chapter written, so I'll be updating as soon as I've finished editing ^_^ Hehe, I love writing drama - I'm thrilled you liked it!

Many thanks again! You've made my day :D
-Elizabeth


 Report Review

Review #22, by Roonyskatoony Propriety

10th February 2011:
Hey :D

Well first of all I'd just like to say that I really enjoyed this fic. I usually end up reading the same genre, same era, same pairing...well I'm sure you get the picture so this was a ncie breath of fresh air! :D

I only a few very minor mistakes but they're hardly worth mentioning and didn't affect the reading at all.


I thought the subject was a really interesting one, it's really interesting to think of 'witches rights' because I'm pretty sure (like real life) there would have been loads of restrictions, not to mention generally women weren't taught to protect themselves and thus probably used their wands to do embroidery or whatever else! :P

I've only ever read one other pre - Hogwarts fic you've simply reconfirmed the idea that I actually really like them!

Well done!
~Roonyskatoony~

Author's Response: Hello Roonyskatoony! Thanks so much for reviewing! I love your penname, by the way :P

I'm thrilled you enjoyed this. I know what you mean - I used to have a review thread, and it opened my eyes to so many new stories!

I'm a huge history fan, especially of the Victorian era and women's rights, so it's a lot of fun to make it fit in the Harry Potter universe!

Yeah, I did a bit of a search to see if there were any Victorian Hogwarts fic's, and I found hardly any :/ which just made me more determined to write this!

Thanks so much for your amazing review, hun! I really appreciate the time you took to read this :)

-Elizabeth


 Report Review

Review #23, by Giola Propriety

10th February 2011:
Wow, I love this idea.

I think the way you changed Hogwarts to fit the era is amazing, really.

Though, one question, you mentioned House Elves passing out dinner plates. Is there a reason that you decided to not use the food appearing method? I'm assuming the spell, or however the house elves do that, hasn't been invented.

Though that whole thing does show that the treatment of house elves was bad.

I love the women rights aspect, I can't say I've read many, if any actually, fanfics that deal with historical women's rights issues.

Oh, and I don't think I remember seeing Vela on the Black family tree...why did you decided to create a new Black member rather than going with, say, Cassiopeia as your main?

Lovely chapter :D

Author's Response: Hi Giola!

Thank you so so much for your review! I love the Victorian era, so I'm thrilled you like the way I've written Hogwarts to fit in with the time :)

Oh, I adore getting reviews that ask a few questions, hehe:
-I did think about having the food appearing, but back in these times, girls were really not given choices in what they did, so having a set menu that they could not change was just a way to enforce that.
-Vela is entirely my creation. After doing a lot of research on the black family tree, there really was no one in canon I could use because it didn't show any of Phineas Nigellus' siblings children. ;) But I made sure her name was a constellation as to make it fit in with what's canon.

Before posting, I did a lot of looking to see if there were any stories that deal with women's rights, and I didn't find any at all, haha!

Thank you so much for your lovely review - I hope I cleared a few things up ^_^

Cheers lovely,
-Elizabeth :D


 Report Review

Review #24, by Belladonna Propriety

9th February 2011:
Your story is wonderful, Though i was very disappointed that i could not keep reading. The whole area of wizarding women's issues is one i have never seen before in a story and i look forward to seeing where you go with it.
Please keep up the fantastic work

Author's Response: Hi Belladonna! Thank you so much for leaving a lovely review :)

Oh, I'm sorry! Haha I have the next three chapters written, I just need to edit them a bit ;)
I adore the Victorian Era, and the history of womens rights is something that I've always been interested in. Needless to say, to combine that with Harry Potter is so much fun!
Thank you once again, and I certainly will try :)

Cheers darling!
-Elizabeth


 Report Review

Review #25, by Kate Propriety

9th February 2011:
I rarely review and even more rarely read stories with only one starting chapter. But the beautiful banner and intriguing summary drew me in, and I am happy that they did. I really like Vela's character and the details of the time period that you've included. If you can create a whole story as impressive as this chapter, I'm sure it will quickly become one of my favorites. Thanks for posting!

Author's Response: Hi Kate! :)

You know, I adore getting reviews from people who rarely review - I am quite honoured that you liked this chapter so much!
I love the Victorian Era, and it's so much fun writing about Hogwarts during that time. :)
Oh, I certainly will try my hardest, believe me. You're welcome, hun - thanks a million for the review! ^_^

Cheers darling!
-Elizabeth


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>