Reading Reviews for The Greatest Rewards
  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by SunSation Gal 07 The Greatest Rewards

25th December 2012:
Marry Christmas! This is you're TGS Secret Santa with the first of many reviews. This was a really good read. You have a nice style and I just felt so bad for Molly. And what a way to end it, with her just blurting it out. Anyway, this was really good! Now onto another story to review!

Author's Response: Hi! Merry Christmas to you as well, and thanks very much!!

This piece is quite old but I'm glad you enjoyed it :) Molly was an interesting character to write about, especially considering her situation.

Thank again!


 Report Review

Review #2, by ScarletEye158 The Greatest Rewards

12th June 2012:
No no no no! You need to continue this! I loved the way you wrote Molly. She was very different than in most stories :) i could really feel how desperate she was and how upset she was that her life was turning out not as planned. I really liked your writing style and i had fun reading this :)

-Amanda

Author's Response: Hi! I'm glad that you liked this. I know that the ending is rather abrupt, but right now, I don't have any plans to continue the story. I never meant for it to be anything longer than a one shot, so I have no idea what would even happen next :P

Thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Millarz The Greatest Rewards

10th March 2012:
This story was absolutely amazing! It was so well written that it felt almost elegant. I love how you characterized all the characters. They're all so colorful and realistic! I can really imagine Lucy being a bit rough, Molly being reluctant, and Darren being annoyed. 10/10! Please note that I usually don't tell people what I rate their stories, but in this case, I want to tell you!

Author's Response: Wow! Thank you! This is such a nice review. :D

It's great to hear that you liked this story so much. Thanks so much for your lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #4, by charlottetrips The Greatest Rewards

10th March 2012:
Hi, ‘Claw! Here from our BvB Battle!

WHY DID YOU HAVE TO LEAVE IT THERE!?! This Darren character sounds so interesting, their relationship sounds so in love yet “separated for the benefit of the other” (which is such horse doo-doo) and you just dropped the P-bomb and I need to know what happens next! :)

I think that you used the challenge quite nicely. I liked how you used it more as a point to showcase sisterhood rather than a relationship. It’s always fascinating to me when a writer portrays any part of the Weasley family as being less than perfect in Next Gen stories. The utter stiffness of these girls’ upbringing and how it reflects in their attitudes and maturity is believable for Percy’s children.

It’s saddening to think of sisters who aren’t really sisters and who are too much their own person to really help and support the other. I get where Lucy is coming from here, that she’s really just trying to stick to what she thinks is right but for her to just dropkick Molly doesn’t sit right with me. But it definitely is something that could happen so I’m glad you put it there.

Molly’s inner turmoil is clear to see and the ending…the ending…well you know how I feel about that!

xChar

Author's Response: Hi!

Haha, sorry that I left it there. I was going for the ambiguity thing. I could see maybe, at some point, expanding on the story, because there is so much future for Molly and Darren and the baby, but right now this is it.

Yes, I always thought Percy's kids would be a bit neurotic. I mean, their father definitely has some issues. Molly and Lucy have a pretty strange relationship, so that was interesting to explore. I think that, if I ever decided to write more, there would be some sort of backstory behind that.

Anyways, I'm glad you liked it. :)

Thanks for the review!



 Report Review

Review #5, by Tonks1247 The Greatest Rewards

9th March 2012:
Hello! This is Nymphie Tonks from the review battle!

I really enjoyed this story! I was unsure at first what I’d think of it, just because most pregnancy stories are clichéd or missing the emotional edge that is needed by them. But I was pleasantly surprised with this because it was really fantastic! You really played out Molly’s emotions and showed the break down in her mind of what was going on. You gave a lot of good description of her thoughts and I really felt you understood her character well. It showed in the feel I got off the story.

I also love the characterization of Lucy. Such a different character than what I usually find her as…and actually, that goes for Percy and Audrey too. They seemed much more serious and almost more strict than what I’ve seen in a lot of other next generation stories, which is excellent. It really gave your story a unique view and I really did enjoy it!

I did fine a couple things that could use a bit of editing:

“Certain could be quite odd in their mannerisms.” ~I just found this sentence rather confusing…

“Nor had she hadn’t answered her parent’s owls of concern, or even read them.” ~You don’t need the hadn’t because of the ‘nor had she’.

“I’m pregnant,” she squeaked out before could change her mind.” ~you need a ‘she’ after ‘before’.

Other than those few things, I really didn’t see any other problems. The flow and plot really were fantastic. I also love how you leave the ending up in the air. It really was a good way to end. And the last thing I’d like to do is share my two favorite lines:

“The first person Molly had told. She might have told her cat first, and a few other inanimate objects, but those couldn’t talk back and weren’t generally considered people.” ~Hahaha, this just made me laugh. It was a good little bit of humor added :)

“Actually, it had been one month, seven days and three hours since they’d parted ways—not that Molly was counting.” ~This was an unsurprising comment, but was still fantastic!

You did a really great job with this! I’m glad I got the chance to read this! :D

~Grimmerz

Author's Response: Hi!

Sorry, I meant to reply sooner. Yep, since this is a one shot I tried to make things more detailed and specific. And my Percy and Audrey are certainly very stuck up, which works, I think, for this situation.

Thanks for picking up on those typos, or missing words. I'll try to fix them.

Nice favorite lines! I like the first one too, especially.

Again, I appreciate the review. Thanks a lot!


 Report Review

Review #6, by AnnaKay The Greatest Rewards

6th March 2012:
I have a hard time picturing Molly with anybody but Arthur but I really loved this. I had a big smile at the end! It was a great chapter.

I think that you did very well on this. I liked how it flowed, and I liked how you did Molly. She is just perfect. Enough of Molly that we all know, and then also your take on her.

I loved it!

Author's Response: Hmm, actually the story is about Molly Weasley II. I know they have the same name, but this Molly has Percy for a father. And she's not married either, but is still a Weasley.

Thanks for the review, though.


 Report Review

Review #7, by adluvshp The Greatest Rewards

29th February 2012:
Review Tag!

Well I have to say this was a nicely written story. I think you portrayed Molly's feelings quite well. Her confusion, nervousness, fear and heartbreak was quite tangible. Good job on that. The characterizations were very well done too, be it minor characters for the story or the main. I also like how you showed the relationship between Lucy and Molly. It was all very nicely done. The narrative flowed well and over all the plot was good.
The only little thing amiss was Darren. I think it would give your story a little more "meat" if you elaborated on Darren's character, and his relation with Molly. Perhaps through a flashback or something?

Otherwise, it is a well-written piece. The ending left me hanging as I'd love to know what happened next. Great job!

9/10

Cheers!
AD
(AditiDraco95)

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for the review.

I'm glad you enjoyed the story for the most part. I do see your point about adding in a flashback about Darren, that's actually a really good idea! Thanks for suggesting it.

Yes, I know the ending is very ambiguous, but I intended for it to be openended. It's not so much about what happens next that matters, what matters how Molly deals with the initial surprise.

Once again, thank you!


 Report Review

Review #8, by kaileena_sands The Greatest Rewards

15th February 2011:
Awww, is this the end? I would like to know how this continues!

Anyways, thank you for entering my challenge! I like the story you've written quite a lot.

I think the strongest point of it is your writing style. You really use language beautifully which makes your descriptions of both atmosphere and emotions very powerful. I also like your characterisations of Percy's daughters - I think it's quite possible that they are brought up in such a stern posh way that he deems correct. Your introduction of your OC Darren is also well-executed. In the beginning, we get just a bit about him and he even seems a bit like a fishy character. Later, though, we discover that it is Molly's own uptight and ambitious self that had put an end to their relationship. I also like how despite her apparent strong ambition, she is also kind of vulnerable inside, as illustrated by her inability to tell him about the baby.

As for the quote - I like its placement! I certainly can imagine Lucy saying a thing like this! Thanks for writing such a great thing!

Best,
Harley

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing!

Yes, this is the end, I wanted it to be ambiguous.

I'm glad that you like both the writing style and the quote placement.

And thank you for posting such an inspiring challenge!


 Report Review

Review #9, by slytherinchica08 The Greatest Rewards

9th February 2011:
First i have to say thank you for entering my challenge. I really enjoyed this and i'm hoping that there is more to come with how this ended. I feel so bad for Molly going through this and trying to figure out how to tell him and then ending up arguing with him instead. but i like how she had to hang up and then call him again to tell him that she is pregnant.
it was a nice beginning and i like how you characterized both Lily and Molly and hope that in time we will learn more about Darren as well. It was nice to see Lily as a little stuck up but also sticking up for the fact that Darren should know that he has a kid on the way. And how Molly having the phone mock her in Lily's voice. great start can't wait to see whats next.

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login