Reading Reviews for Growing up Ginny
  
17 Reviews Found

Review #1, by WhistleInYourEar The Runaway Redhead

10th July 2012:
"The Runaway Redhead", it does have quite the ring to it, doesn't it? Brilliant work, a suiting portrayal of Ginny and her determination as well as the bloom of a beautiful friendship! Keep up the good work, LilyPotterFan123!

Author's Response: Thank you! It did at the time for me, I wrote this ages ago though, it feels like I probably would have gone a different direction if I'd written this recently. I loved writing Luna, despite her OOC-ness but I guess it doesn't matter if people like it, it could just be me after all.

-Bex


 Report Review

Review #2, by WhistleInYourEar Bedtime Story

9th July 2012:
Haha, silly Mr. Weasley, you can NEVER trust the lovable twins to stay out of trouble! And you can never go wrong with a young Ginny and her unquenchable curiosity! It's a well-written story with a fluffy plot and yet I seem to sense a hint of foreshadowing on Ginny's part. Well done, lilypotterfan123!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! When writing the twins as a first attempt I wanted to get some of the basics down and I felt writing them in this chapter would really help do that. I think as a Weasley girl, she feels different and doesn't quite fit and just wants to understand everything when in reality she can't.
-Bex


 Report Review

Review #3, by LunaStar The Runaway Redhead

2nd July 2011:
I really like your story!I hope you write more soon!

Author's Response: thank you! It means a lot to me and I really will try to write some more :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by WeasleyTwinMom_staff The Runaway Redhead

9th May 2011:
"feeding the chickens when the pen hasnít been cleaned", lol. Cute. Again, you did a good job keeping the narration age-appropriate for how old she's supposed to be. You did a good job writing Luna and her dad, kept them in character (but younger). Nice beginning to Ginny and Luna's friendship.

Author's Response: Thank you, I always imagined them being friends before Hogwarts but I wasn't sure how. Then this idea popped into my head and so it just had to be used. I'm gonna be so sad when the cuteness ends, when Ginny's kids arrive the cuteness will return, hurrah! :D
LpF123 x


 Report Review

Review #5, by WeasleyTwinMom_staff Bedtime Story

9th May 2011:
Very cute. I like how you kept the beginning in tone of a six-year-old narrating. The story of Ginny's birth made me smile, especially Bill commenting that "he looks like a girl". I have to note though that you have misspelled her name: it's Ginevra, not Ginerva.

A sweet little story! On to chapter 2. :)

Author's Response: A staffer gave me reviews, wow! Sorry but it had to be done. I'm going to try and keep it all cute for a little while but now things are going to get darker as the diary will be coming soon! Trust me to spell Ginevra wrong, I'm a spell it how it sounds person so it's naturally something I do. Soon as my other stories finished I'll have to find a beta! Thank you thank you thank you! This has just made my forever if that's possible!
LpF123 x


 Report Review

Review #6, by peace2lovepotter The Runaway Redhead

26th April 2011:
This is really good! I wish you could post more, I love Ginny, apart from Hermione she's my favourite hp character! 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you! I wish I could too, I'm just getting other things done and rather than keeping you all waiting I thought I'd be honest and upfront with my readers. This isn't last on my list, more in the middle but there are lots of things that need to get done first!
I love Ginny's character too, I love how there are so many different ways in which you can portray her but as she gets older it's going to get very different. Thanks for the 10/10 it's great to know that you like this story!
-LpF123 x


 Report Review

Review #7, by Clarice The Runaway Redhead

10th April 2011:
Please don't abandon this story! I am really enjoying it and I hope you will continue the story even if you need to take some time off.

Author's Response: I'm glad you're enjoying it, though I wanted to put up abandoned so I wouldn't get people's hopes up but it will get put back as a WIP once there's a chapter in the queue. Thanks for reviewing,
LpF123 x


 Report Review

Review #8, by lilygirl_1014 The Runaway Redhead

9th April 2011:
Haha... I love it... Please update... It seems pretty slow right about now... 10/10

Author's Response: I'm glad you like this. Recently I've all my work so I've deleted a lot of stories. My microsoft documents disappeared and so I'm giving the story a bit of a break and I might just write a few one shots here and there to get back into the full swing of things.
Thank you,
-LpF123 x


 Report Review

Review #9, by Lee Cassidy The Runaway Redhead

9th April 2011:
Good job, you really did a good job at making Ginny mature from age 6 to this age. If you keep showing her growing up more in her speech and thinking with each chapter it will be really convincing, keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Thank you, I'm hoping it can only get better from here because it's going to get harder because now it's canon time. I'm going to spend a bit of time away from this story and then come back to it when I know more about what I'm doing!

-LpF123 x


 Report Review

Review #10, by TheHeirOfSlytherin The Runaway Redhead

2nd March 2011:
Yay, for Ginny and Luna making friends :) looking forward to the next chapter!

Author's Response: thanks for the review and I too am looking forward to the next chapter!

LpF123 xx


 Report Review

Review #11, by Dalek194 The Runaway Redhead

2nd March 2011:
Nice work! I like how you've introduced the Lovegoods into Ginny's life and the nightwalkers part was funny. Also good work on the "Ginny-trying-to-get-to-Hogwarts" thing, it's just the sort of thing a young Ginny would do. It's also good how she's matured since the last chapter. The sellotape part was funny too ;-)

One thing I did notice though was that the grammar in this chapter wasn't perfect, and there were a few storyline errors; I picked out a few mistakes;

- "daily prophet" (need capitals for Daily Prophet)
- "sure that no one is the" (the should be there)
- "as if the small but heavy are feathers" (you've missed out a word between heavy and are so it doesn't make sense)
- "dormitories-I can't remember" (not just here, but all through the chapter, you need spaces between words and the -)
- Why would she think the room is Gryffindor if it is all blue? (blue is Ravenclaw's colour)
- "she lives two streets away" (neither the Weasleys or the Lovegoods live in a street, thier houses are on their own; they are a few miles apart)
- Luna asks for the Weasley's address, but you usually don't need an address for wizard post, you just tell the owl who to send it to (though this doesn't seem to stop Hogwarts addressing their letters very accurately LOL)
- In her letter, Luna asks for Ginny's surname, but she hears it multiple times when they find Ginny (Ginny tells her, Luna herself says to her Dad to send a Patronus to the Weasleys and her dad tells her that she's a Weasley) so she already knows it.
- Your sentences tend to be very long; it gives the impression the person is talking very long without pausing which is distracting; maybe try to add more punctuation (knstead of she did this and this and this and this... etc)

Sorry for the criticism, I'm very picky but I just try and offer constructive criticism to help people improve. Sorry.

I still thought it was very good, and I am quite enjoying this story. I can't wait until she meets Harry for the first time LOL! Please update soon.

Author's Response: Thanks again! She was questioning why the room was blue because she knew that is belonged to ravenclaw and I'm sorry if I didn't make it clearer :) I'm still trying to work out the next chapter, I'm looking for a beta to sort of do what you just did. No response yet but I'm living in hope. I don't mind you being picky, that list was a lot shorter than I expected it to be really! I'm glad you're enjoying the story because I'm really having fun writing it. No doubt there will be mistakes in this reply, I type too fast for my brain and think too fast for my fingers to keep up!
Thank you for the review and I too can't wait for the next chapter!

LpF123 x


 Report Review

Review #12, by feven Bedtime Story

24th February 2011:
never even considered Ginny as a young child.So when a started to read this I never thought it would be very good.But soon I got sucked into the story like any other Harry Potter book!

Author's Response: Hehe, I thought it wouldn't come out any good but I'm glad you like this story so far-the second chapter will be up soon! Thank you for the review, I love hearing what you all think,

LpF123 xx


 Report Review

Review #13, by TheHeirOfSlytherin Bedtime Story

23rd February 2011:
I so look forward to reading more! Little Ginny is so cute!

Author's Response: Thank you, I wanted to make her seem as close to the age 6 as possible so I may have gone overboard on the cuteness! Thank you for the review!

LpF123 x


 Report Review

Review #14, by Dalek194 Bedtime Story

22nd February 2011:
Nice work on the first chapter ;-) True, the punctuation isn't perfect, but other than that this is a very good first story. I like the idea of the cornish pixies story when Ginny was born. To improve you could add a bit more description of surroundings and actions to make it more compelling. But still, a great start, and I'm looking forward to the rest of the story!

Author's Response: why thank you. I felt like this was more of an introductory chapter so I just wanted to give more background info than description! :)
Thank you for the review,
LpF123 xx


 Report Review

Review #15, by apotter Bedtime Story

6th February 2011:
I love it! please keep writing! I want to know what happeneds later in her mind as she grows up! Keep writing!

-apotter

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad that you like it and I will keep writing! I hope you keep reading,

LpF123 xx


 Report Review

Review #16, by GinnyLOL Bedtime Story

6th February 2011:
AWESOME AWESOME AWESOME

Author's Response: thank you! I'm glad you think it's AWESOME!

LpF123 xx


 Report Review

Review #17, by lizmusic45 Bedtime Story

6th February 2011:
I thought it was cute! I always wanted to do a story like this but, I like your's better than the plot in my head. I love writing Ginny she's such a wonderful character, I have a story on her but, I'm focusing on your's (lol) Anyway, I hope you continue that would be really nice to see what you come up with!

Author's Response: Aw thank you! It's for a challenge you see, but I bet yours would be amazing too! Well I will get the first five chapters done because thats how many need to be done for it to be considered in the challenge! Thank youu!

LpF123 xx


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login