Reading Reviews for Silver Lining
  
11 Reviews Found

Review #1, by ryan Silver Lining

1st February 2012:
very good but it needs a sequel please. loved it

Author's Response: Thank you! I kind of have a story planned for Scorpius, now if I could only sit down to write it! You can get a glimpse of it in my short story collection "This Is Us" ;)

 Report Review

Review #2, by Julie Silver Lining

24th August 2011:
I absolutely completely loved this. It was perfect. You got Draco just right, and that's exactly how I imagined Astoria too. Great writing :)

Author's Response: Thank you! It always means a lot to know I get a canon character just right :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Writersbane1 Silver Lining

26th May 2011:
Nicely done-kinda shocking to think of Draco with a heart, though-OOH did I write that out loud?

Author's Response: Hello again!
I was going with the premise that the loss of reputation and money after the war would have caused him to mature, if only a little. Could have turned out the total opposite, but as this was written for Valentine's Day, it seemed more fitting.
Thanks for reviewing :D


 Report Review

Review #4, by bumbum Silver Lining

6th April 2011:
this is sooo cute!! oh wow. So surprisingly warm and fluffy at the end, but very very nice. Go Astoria! Go Draco!! Yay. I'm so happy they have a happy ending.

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing, and it's such a sweet review too! I haven't written anything with Draco or Astoria before, so I'm glad you liked it :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by sweet_lovely_girl Silver Lining

1st April 2011:
This is a beautiful story. You know, I once had a Draco/Astoria challenge and if you had come up with this story, you'd defenitely have won! I really love it!

You are really a great author.

-Xxx-

Author's Response: Aww, that must have been before I joined the forums? Thanks nonetheless, I appreciate the sentiment!
Thanks for leaving that lovely review, they always make me smile :) xxx Leo


 Report Review

Review #6, by Owlpost68 Silver Lining

7th March 2011:
Aww, I love this story! It was a perfect mix of uncertainty of what happens next for them and also savoring whatever is actually going right. Great job! I love everything by you I've read so far :)

Author's Response: Hello again!

Aww, reading this makes me feel all fuzzy inside, thank you! I really appreciate that you take the time to leave a review :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by momotwins Silver Lining

25th February 2011:
I see a lot of stories where Astoria starts out disliking Draco greatly, so it was sort of refreshing to see that your Astoria thinks he's everything she wants. And she thinks like a pureblood, too, I like that. The interaction between Daphne and Astoria was cute and rang true - they really seemed like sisters. And she is ready to leap to her sister's defense, too. I think you have Draco in character. Swotty little jerk.

I like the bit where Astoria and her friend were some of the few Slytherins who dared to go back - I think that would be very true, I doubt most of them would have returned immediately. Would've been too hard on them. Nicely done there.

The transition from Astoria not liking Draco to her starting to see a bit of worth in him (not the superficial that she saw at the beginning) is good, you kept it flowing well. Not abrupt, which is too often the case around the archive. She has a house-elf! Of course.

Okay, I'm a sucker for romance, and I totally felt my heart jumping at the proposal and when she said she didn't want to wait. Pardon my capslock but SO, SO CUTE! Loved it. Great job on the emotions there, I like how self-aware and reflective Astoria is, she really examines what she's thinking and feeling.

A couple of grammatical corrections:
were the Slytherin Prince was holding court = where the Slytherin Prince was holding court
the few Slytherins who dared to go back = the few Slytherins who had dared to go back
mother would be asking too many questions = Mother would be asking too many questions
the best Cappuccino in all of London = the best cappuccino in all of London

Very enjoyable story!

Author's Response: Aww, thanks for leaving such a lovely review :)

When I got Draco/Astoria for this challenge, I wanted to switch, but I'm glad I didn't.
It was fun coming up with their characterisation, and trying to write characters I haven't written before. It's always so gratifying to hear someone who read it say the situation and characters sound believable. So thanks for that :)

The corrections are appreciated (all constructive criticism is), I think a little brush-up on capitalisation and such is in order.

And I really don't mind the occasional capslock ;)


 Report Review

Review #8, by maskedmuggle Silver Lining

23rd February 2011:
Hi! :D
First off, I AM SO SORRY FOR MY TERRIBLY LATE REVIEW :( It's been 2 weeks since you posted it, and it's ridiculous that I've taken this long to review - so sorry!

And secondly, awwh!! My first thought as I finished this was, such a sweet story, especially the lovely ending! I adore happy endings, and this one was brilliantly set up. I quite liked your plot! I liked how we saw them in school, then how they met and the ending.

I loved your characterisation of Astoria, she seemed pretty good to me, even if she did possibly lack some flaws.. but it's not a big deal for me. I like how you mentioned other people, like Daphne, and Blaise, but the main focus was still on Astoria/Draco.

Your writing is quite good, the balance between dialogue and description was good. And the emotions there too, were well written!

All in all, a nice fic that was enjoyable to read! Thanks for participating in my challenge - and once again, sorry for the late review ><
-Charlotte

Author's Response: Not a problem! There's RL, and the temptations of the anniversary too :D

It really was a challenge, because it made me write a pairing I've never written before, and it seems it's not so bad.

I really loved this, and I'm glad you enjoyed it.
Thank you for your review! xxx Leo


 Report Review

Review #9, by twilightgirl941 Silver Lining

13th February 2011:
aw

i love it!!!

you should make a story out of it!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by presi Silver Lining

10th February 2011:
this was exactly what i was looking for and needed! :D this story was awesome!

MEL

Author's Response: Aww, unexpected reviews are the best :) Thank you, I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #11, by NeverGotHerLetter Silver Lining

8th February 2011:
Hey!! Wow this was really really great! I'm so glad you linked it to me :) I love that you based it on valentines day every time, and seriously I think the time zones were in just the right place so well done. I got a lovely feeling of the relationship between Astoria and her friends and Draco, and most of all her sister. I think you got the feelings felt towards the Malfoy's after the Wizarding War point perfect, and I liked the little detail you added in about Harry helping Draco get a job. Perhaps you could add something about your opinion on what happened with the Weasley's too though; do you think they forgave or just totally dismissed the Malfoy's?
This was a great read; well written and romantic, but not so much so that it was cliche. It wasn't at all!! 10/10
~NeverGotHerLetter

Author's Response: Thank you for the feedback :D I'm always anxious for the first review, you've taken care of that quite nicely ;)
The chapter is kind of connected to Scorpius's chapter in my next-gen short story collection "This is Us", where the Weasleys turn up too. So in my head, I knew about their opinion, and I guess I just didn't think to put it in somewhere. Maybe I'll do an edit some time :)
Thanks again for that lovely review!
xxx Leo


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login