Reading Reviews for Anthony Goldstein's Chanukah
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by ANightingaleInAGoldenCage Anthony Goldstein's Chanukah

17th December 2015:
Hi there! I'm here for the 15th task of the Advent Calendar!

I must say that I quite enjoyed the way you very simply explained Chanukah. It still doesn't say that much to me, but it's quite nice to actually know they get presents on each day and have to light candles, say verses, and that it doesn't always fall on the same day. It's kind of intriguing, really. But what I also love is that there are both Muggle and Wizarding presents in it all and how accepting everyone seems to be of his religion and how he tackles it. Not everyone is that way, and yet everyone seems to accept it and go along with it without a moment's hestitation. It's really well done. I also like the fact that you added midterms to it all, as it does seem logical that they have some kind of important test in the middle of the year, even though it wasn't mentioned at all. It gives a bit of depth into the story.

Overall, lovely written, and I love that you tackled a holiday not many people seem to be tackling at all. Makes it very original!

 Report Review

Review #2, by TreacleTart Anthony Goldstein's Chanukah

16th December 2015:
Advent Activity - Day Fifteen

Hi there!

I'm here checking out your holiday story for the forum 2015 Advent Activity.

There are so many holiday stories on the archives, but one of the things I've noticed is that there aren't many that celebrate holidays besides Christmas, so this was really refreshing. I always think it's important to be inclusive of all sorts of different cultural backgrounds in writing, so I was really pleased to see you cover the Hanukkah traditions.

I never gave much thought to it, but since Hanukkah is at a different time every year, you couldn't really guarantee that the students celebrating it would have the time off. It was really nice to see that even though Anthony was stuck at school, his friends really helped to try and make the time special and festive for him. That was a really nice touch.

Now, I always try to leave at least a touch of CC in each review, so here it goes.

I would've liked a bit more description in this story. I know you're trying to summarize a large period of time, but adding a bit of description would really help the reader to envision everything that's going on.

All in all, this was a really nice little look at a character who's hardly ever written about! Good work!

And Happy Holidays!


 Report Review

Review #3, by TidalDragon Anthony Goldstein's Chanukah

14th December 2015:
Howdy! I am dropping by to show some love to a story this holiday season that ISN'T about Christmas for Day 15 of the Advent Calendar!

It was interesting to see someone tackle Chanukah with a level of seriousness involved as opposed to the typical holiday portrayals that pay little tribute to their religious origins. Though I think it made the progression of the plot a bit stiff as executed, I certainly appreciated the level of realism it introduced and it definitely made me think about what it would've been like for a student at Hogwarts who celebrated a holiday other than Christmas and not JUST that, but a student who actually actively practiced a religion (something we see almost none of in canon). I think the full range was likely a tad harder to convey with a third-year's diminished maturity, but it was though-provoking anyway.

If I had to recommend one thing, I think it would be simply to flesh the story out more. You have a structure in place and you incorporate nice elements to balance the fun and ritual and to involve other characters in Anthony's experience, but giving more detail could only enhance that.

Thanks for sharing!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Pookha Anthony Goldstein's Chanukah

14th December 2015:
I quite enjoyed reading this. It's good to see the holidays from a different perspective. I must admit that I never thought about Chanukah happening during Hogwarts term, but this year it's 12/6-12/14 so it makes sense. It would be hard to be at Hogwarts during such a holiday, but Anthony handled it well here.

Thank you so much for this glimpse at his holiday. I like that the other students were accepting of his beliefs, too and celebrated with him (at least by wondering what his presents were).

 Report Review

Review #5, by Ali4077 Anthony Goldstein's Chanukah

22nd July 2011:
Just to let you know I'm WolfieAli from the forums, finally I've gotten round to reviewing the challenge entries so I'm sorry this has taken so long. :)

I've never read a piece of fanfiction surrounding Anthony Goldstein, which is understandable enough but I've also never read one that is centered around religion, or a religious belief. It's a subject that does fascinate me so it definitely made interesting reading. :)

I liked how you described what he was up to during each day and I loved how respective his fellow Ravenclaws were, wishing him a Happy Chanukah and such.

I liked his relationship with Terry and Michael, although I believe we're pretty sure they're friends already, it's still nice to read it.

Great job :) It was really interesting to read and definitely taught me something new. Thanks for submitting it to my challenge. :)

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing!

Yeah, this is actually the first Anthony Goldstein fic I've read too. It's also only the second one based around religion that I've read. The first all so being something I wrote...

As Jo Rowling once said about Dumbledore being gay, as long as your blood purity was pure you would be ok to Slytherins. Someone like Draco might insult you for it, but it wouldn't be what mattered in the end. I see Anthony's religion in the same way.

Yeah they're pretty good friends I suppose.

I'm glad you found it interesting and I taught you something new! Kudos to me. Can't wait for the results!

Thanks again for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Bella Ella Cinderella Anthony Goldstein's Chanukah

8th April 2011:
This was really good!

Author's Response: Thanks so much!

 Report Review

Review #7, by That_Nerd Anthony Goldstein's Chanukah

2nd February 2011:
It was very interesting, good to see some light on a lesser character.

Author's Response: That's why i wrote it!

 Report Review

Review #8, by massieblockrox Anthony Goldstein's Chanukah

2nd February 2011:
That was a very good light read. We never here much about Anthony in the books, so I'm glad you wrote this fic!

Nice job!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for ANOTHER review!

I'm glad you enjoyed it. :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login