Reading Reviews for Bathing in Roses
  
414 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MissMoneypenny Bathing in Roses

20th October 2014:
hello hello hello! so i read this pretty much all in one go over sunday (and a bit of saturday) and i just needed to drop by and give you a nice long review because
I
LOVED
THIS
SO
MUCH
excuse me if i'm a bit incoherent from now on. but, honestly, your character development was some of the best i've ever seen (june. albus. the hufflepuffs. EVERYONE) and they were all really unique, y'know. i liked how june's talents weren't really magic-related - sewing. and honestly i'm not even going to talk about albus because i'll probably just break down sobbing
ANYWAY just hats off to you for this. your characters are phenomenal. so is their development. it's written so well - extended so nicely, great style, funny - and this story has just got me straight back into fic. so thank you. and i hope you see this and have a great day; you deserve it!
lucy
xox
AND ONE LAST THING BEFORE I FORGET - the wotters' opinions on the stalking and fangirls and stuff. genius. i very rarely see things like that, so thank you for being so original again :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by MissMoneypenny Denouement

19th October 2014:
"lily ‘no, not that one’ potter"
GENIUS.
i loved loved loved loved this chapter - the quidditch scene was excellent, priscilla was even excellent-er than usual, june is turning into a feminist icon, and albus is being a jealous little... cow.
anyway. hats off. (and i spelt genius wrong the first time, which is kind of an oxymoron)

 Report Review

Review #3, by MissMoneypenny Deus Ex Priscilla

19th October 2014:
"russians and nuns are the way to go!"
I AM PRISCILLA. PRISCILLA IS ME.

(this story is completely gorgeous; hats off to you, dear)

 Report Review

Review #4, by Hedwig_Pie Trivial Contrivances

14th October 2014:
BEST CHAPTER. LOVE IT. SO MUCH. DYING. AH.

Author's Response: Aw, thanks :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Hedwig_Pie The Splendid Return

13th October 2014:
this has got to be like the fifth time I'm reading this story. OMG I LOVE IT SO MUCH JUST OH. who'dve thought june would be so good at forced persuasion?

 Report Review

Review #6, by Ribbons Bathing in Roses

22nd September 2014:
Okay, listen here,

I would like to thank you, several times, for creating this story. Not for the characters, or certain chapters, or one particular romance (although those are all contestants). No, I want to thank you for the whole thing. All together. One big, wild jig saw that you just fit together into a beautiful novel.

There are some things that I never suspected to see on HPFF, and somehow you just made them happen, without even blinking. You made a character with faults you could fit a house through, you made a boy who's personality resembled a squid with spikes and somehow you changed my perception of them. And they transformed, and their friends transformed, and somehow you made it all work so well.

With this story there was a real sense of direction, something that I find happens rarely on this site (I don't mean to be rude, I love this place to death, but some stories unwillingly spiral out of control). Did you always have the end result in mind? Was that how you made it feel as though I was seeing the end approaching on the horizon back on chapter 17?

Let me start with June.

At first, I thought she was stupid. I thought she was silly. I thought she was a hopeless romantic and a helpless ninny. How could she ever mend all the stupid things she'd done? But then you showed me that she was brave, you showed me that she was strong and smart in her own way, and that above all she was determined.

You took a character named Albus Severus Potter who was prickly and cruel and I watched you melt him with the help of June, until there stood the REAL Albus. I feel like I've just witnessed some kind of bizarre transformation.

Suddenly, they all seem so beautiful.

When I was reading this story (finished in two days, WHOOP!), I laughed and I cried. I laughed because there were some things that you could never be serious about, I cried when I saw the state of June's life at Christmas and when she said her speech to Helga Hufflepuff. There was humor and wit and imagination in this story, but above all, there was heart.

This was a pure joy to read, and the pleasure was all mine. Thank you for blessing us with your creative genius. My darling, you have my full respect.

Much, much, MUCH love,

Alena

Author's Response: I haven't been on HPFF in months and months, but I came online now and I saw this absolutely lovely review. I'm sorry for the late response, but thank you so much for your kind words.

I giggled pretty hard at the description of a personality resembling a "squid with spikes"; that's some fun imagery right there.

Thank you so much for sticking with these characters. They have been a true joy for me to write and have been a comfort during some pretty tough times. I'm truly happy to read that you liked them as well. I'm actually oddly fond of them. Also, I hope I'm not sounding like I'm self-promoting because that's not my intention, but if you did enjoy the characters, then maybe you'd be interested in reading the short sequel BIR has on my page (called 'This Time With Us').

But overall, just thank you thank you thank you for this lovely review. I'm so grateful to have readers and reviewers like you. :)

Celeste


 Report Review

Review #7, by Ribbons The Idiocy of the Time

21st September 2014:
Oh my darling, you are a miracle.

Here I was twiddling my thumbs and believing that the term 'Original Character' paired with the words 'Wonderful Character' was a thing of the past. Was I ever wrong.

Your amazing, beautiful, stunning June is a work of art in and of herself and I can't help falling in love with her on the spot. Despite her silliness, and her awkwardness, there's something so honest and genuine about her - I can't skip the ugly parts like I do in some stories, and I just gritted my teeth and read every last word. Somehow I don't want to let her down.

Her friends are quite the bunch, and I love how none of them are described as 'the smart one' or 'the pretty one', they're all unique and free of relentless stereotypes. Kudos.

I would normally make this review longer, but I'm dying to read the next chapter.

Without a doubt this is going on my favorites list!

Much, much, much love,

Alena

 Report Review

Review #8, by NandaSouza Trivial Contrivances

24th August 2014:
I have to say that I'm really surprised with this fanfiction. I liked it so much, and the progress that she made in this chapter. She is growing up, and I'm so proud. You make me feel utterly angry with the characters sometimes, and others I just want to cry in the corner or hug them. But not Albus, I want to punch him really strong in the jugular in a way it hurts a lot. Maybe a cruciatus curse. I also hate Rose. I don't really like her in fanfics, excepting some cases.
Anyway, congrats!
(PS: I'd like to see some some punches.)

 Report Review

Review #9, by QkStephen Bathing in Roses

10th July 2014:
I actually loved this story. When I first read about June and her previous state of mind I got the wrong idea and Albus's words were so mean that figured I'd be bathing in cliches rather than roses. however you're strict adherence to solid support characters and only the best writing one me over. As june grew into a real true character and Albus made real progress not just some flip of character I really came to love the story because it really was top notch it didnt just fall into contrived and played out plotlines. thank you for writing such a clever and relatable story it truly was a pleasure

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this review. It truly made me smile to see it. It's been nearly two years since I've finished this story. I admit there would be a lot of things I would now do differently, but it's a special story to me nonetheless. I tried to stay as honest as I could with June and Albus -- they were people to me and I tried to portray them as if I knew them. As for the supporting cast, they were oodles of fun to write. I'm really happy you've enjoyed it. Thank you for the lovely compliments you've paid me :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by S. Cinderella and a Matter of Pumpkins

6th June 2014:
I love your story so far! It's so refreshing. In some sick, sadistic way I love that Albus is so mean haha. June is so unique - an untalented airhead - but stangely enough I love her character too! Can't wait to read on!

Author's Response: Thank you :) I hope you enjoy reading the rest of the story!

 Report Review

Review #11, by fjdnvfd Trivial Contrivances

31st May 2014:
I LOVE THIS PART. WHERE JUNE GROWS UP AND BECOMES AWESOME AND I JUST THE GENDER STEREOTYPES YOU OVERCOME IN LIKE THOSE LAST PARAGRAPHS ARE AMAZING I LOVE THIS STORY JUST AHH

Author's Response: Haha, gender stereotypes overcome indeed! And thank you :) I hope you enjoy reading the rest!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Hedwig_Pie The Idiocy of the Time

31st May 2014:
i havent read a good fanfic in so long, so decided to read bathing in roses again
you dont understand how much i love this story. its so special and just I LOVE IT

Author's Response: Aww thank you so much! I hope it's still a good read this time around for you :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by Gladis Gudgeon Bathing in Roses

30th May 2014:
This story was so funny. I usually hate the stupid spastic main character that somehow gets the guy anyway, but I really liked this. I stayed up until three in the moring to finish this, on a school night. I'm not sure if it was worth getting two hours of sleep, but it was very engaging.

Author's Response: Thank you! I find very few things in life worth two hours of sleep to be honest, but I do appreciate that you marathoned through this story! Thanks for sticking through the journey and I hope you like the sequel as well! :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by IDIDNOTWANTTOHAVESEXWITHSIRIUSBLACKITWASMYPMS Bathing in Roses

27th May 2014:
I liked this. It was good. It was real.
I liked some characters , I disliked some.
I loved this!
Well done!
:)
V.V.M.

Author's Response: Thanks! Now I'm curious as to which characters you disliked! But thanks for sticking through with it!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Europa27 Deus Ex Priscilla

14th February 2014:
Is this by any chance inspired by the Korean serial 'Playful Kiss'?

Author's Response: From the author's note on the very first chapter: "Credit where credit is due: The plot of the story is loosely inspired by the concept of the manga 'Mischievous Kiss' by the late Tada Kaoru. While it borrows the general premise of 'Mischievious Kiss' - a rich boy, a poor, dimwitted girl and the plot point that put them under the same house - this story is not a pure retelling of it in any way and has most of my subplots. It features my own OC's, and works as a parody of 'Mischievious Kiss' and of the romantic comedy genre as a whole".

The Korean drama with Kim Hyun Joong and Jung So Min is also based off the same manga, which also inspired Japanese and Taiwanese live adaptations.

Please read the author's notes in future if you have such questions :)


 Report Review

Review #16, by Sadie Deus Ex Priscilla

15th December 2013:
I adored the reference to deus ex machina, the awful literary device! I also loved the title... and Priscilla in general. This is my fifth time reading this story, and I still adore every single witty remark made by our resident soulless banshee. :) Perfection!

Author's Response: Fifth time, really? Wow, I don't think even I've reread my own writing that much! And I'm so glad that you like Priscilla and the story enough to revisit it. Thanks for reading :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by sagawegegerg The Art of Iciness

11th October 2013:
I cried while reading this chapter omg! amazing piece of writing. read it all yesterday and reading again today! wow! I love june, such a real character. Good job!

Author's Response: Oh wow, thank you! I really don't intend to make people cry during a comedy...but hey, I'm flattered that you did! Thanks for reading :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by Sophhhh Trivial Contrivances

11th October 2013:
This chapter made me cry. Legit. So amazingly written. June is a fantastic character omfg this chapter omfg! Keep up the great work! Hope you keep writing and i look forward to more coming stories (especially if it's next generation) xx definitely one of my favourite fanfics!

Author's Response: Haha thank you! And out of curiosity, what made you cry? ;) And I'm glad you like June -- thank you for reading!

 Report Review

Review #19, by Fay Crash

16th September 2013:
Eep! I feel like squealing in happiness, this story is so amazing and so un-cliche. Such a great story, I love it

Author's Response: Haha, thank you :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by Fay Crash

16th September 2013:
Eep! I feel like squealing in happiness, this story is so amazing and so un-cliche. Such a great story, I love it

Author's Response: Thank you! I was vaguely going for just the right mix of cliche and uncliche since it's a parody and all. Cliches are kind of my guilty pleasure when I read, though. Thanks again :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by Fay Trivial Contrivances

16th September 2013:
I love this chapter so much. It is literally perfect and the message is amazing, it is really refreshing to read a story as interesting as this with a proper insight to a teenage girl growing up, without deluding the reader. Great work!

Author's Response: Eep, thank you :o I tried to keep it realistic and I drew from some of my own experiences as an awkward teen, so I'm glad it came off at least a bit authentic (for fanfic set in a magical world, that is)!

 Report Review

Review #22, by S.C. Trivial Contrivances

1st September 2013:
June is officially awesome.

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm glad you think so! I'm not going to disagree, haha :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by S.C. Beginnings and Their Consequences

1st September 2013:
So June continues to be a blithering idiot, though she gains a little bit of dignity (and promptly loses it in half-a-second). Interesting chapter.

Author's Response: I think we've all had our fair share of blithering idiocy at seventeen -- though June maybe has more than most. Hopefully you'll find her more dignified in coming chapters :) Thanks for reading!

 Report Review

Review #24, by S.C. A Matter of Great Irrelevance

1st September 2013:
Albus will be coming BACK? Gag me, please.

I'm fairly certain I died from laughter at the start of this chapter. Not only was "Hogwarts Sex Scandal" (or whatever the name was) hilariously disgusting, Priscilla's comments made it even more hilarious. I think I've fallen in love (and I certainly do not swing that way). It was very entertaining.

I am intrigued about June's mum. Is she dead? I'm hypothesizing that she is dead. Maybe that explains why June is so spineless. I'm probably not going to be able to hear the name June without flinching now because of how AWFUL she is. She's so weak! She aggravates me beyond belief.

Aside from my obvious hatred of the MC, I actually loved the earthquake scene. It was quite unexpected (though I'm wondering about the accuracy of it all - does Scotland receive earthquakes?). The outcome was sad, but the event itself was very thrilling. I also really liked how June couldn't defend herself - at all. She really is a blithering idiot. Protectogo. Her talents stun me.

Is it sadistic of me to be HAPPY she was injured?

All in all, a satisfying chapter. :) I'll be reading the next chapter with the image of a girl on a toilet, SCREAMING about her butthole (hehe i love these profanity filters; I have the chance to resort to some interesting alternatives) of a toad. What sweet dreams I'll be having.

 Report Review

Review #25, by S.C. The Idiocy of the Time

1st September 2013:
I absolutely adore Priscilla. Is it possible to adore a fictional character so much? I'm certain I love her more than my own mother. She completely and eloquently verbalized all I loathe about fanfiction. (Obviously it has its perks, but it definitely has its flaws as well.) June lies on the other end of the spectrum for me. I don't like her at all. She's so flimsy; she doesn't have any guts! She is a Hufflepuff, but even hufflepuffs have a little bit of fire in them. And Albus! I just want to smack him across the face. He's so irritating and STUPID.

Good chapter though. I just have some "minor" qualms with the characters. :D You're a great writer. The humor had me giggling. Like a schoolgirl. :D

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>