Reading Reviews for Bathing in Roses
425 Reviews Found

Review #1, by greenbirds Bathing in Roses

26th August 2015:
this is honestly one of my favourite stories on this site- if not my absolute favourite- and your characters, wit, prose and plot never fail to both impress and amuse (when appropriate of course!) you are so talented, and im disgusted at myself for taking this long to review- this may be the third or fourth time ive read bathing in roses, and it honestly gets better with every reading!

above all, the development of june as a character is what awes me the most, and really highlights your talents as a writer. i love her, i love her relationship with albus- funny and angsty and romantic and above all, just so entertaining to read- the way this story is june's story, a real coming of age if there ever was one! "growing up with romance" - yes! perfect! to be honest, BIR is always kept at the back of my mind whenever i write my own coming of age fanfiction. you're such an inspiration.

thank you so much for writing this! until next time! (is it cheesy to quote your AN and/or priscilla? who is, btw, my all time favourite OC)

Author's Response: Hi there! This review really brightened my day, so thank you :D

Thank you so much :o I can't believe you've read this so many times! This story is really special to me--I wrote it in the end of high school/beginning of college, so it's like a photograph of that period in my life. By and large, I've outgrown it, but it represents a turning point in my life and my writing, so I'm super fond of it and it makes me really happy when another person likes it too! :D

June is definitely meant to be a little annoying in the beginning, but I had so much fun "growing her up" and having her be more independent and decisive. By any chance, have you read the mini-sequel "This Time With Us"? There's much more of grown up June (and grown up everybody) because of a 7 year timeskip. Not sure if that would be your thing, but it's out there if you haven't read it and you're curious!

Thank you so much for reading! And Priscilla would be very offended if you or anybody else thought quoting her was cheesy :P Until next time!


 Report Review

Review #2, by NicolaEve Bathing in Roses

24th August 2015:
Thanks for replying to my first review so quickly! It's a bummer you don't know what happened but oh well.
So at first I wasn't too sure about this story cause I kind of hated June, like she was the kind of girl I personally would not be friends with and probably want to strangle. So as I'm sure you can understand I was very reluctant to keep reading. I'm so glad I did though cause she grew into a character I could like, she grew up kind of in these chapters and wasn't a child anymore. And I think you wrote the transition beautifully. I wish I could write even half as well as you

Author's Response: Hey there! I'm sorry that I couldn't give you any answers with regards to Zoey :(

Also, wow, you finished this story so fast! Thank you so much for reading and for sticking with June! She's definitely meant to be annoying in the beginning--I was annoyed just writing her :) Thanks again for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #3, by NicolaEve A Matter of Great Irrelevance

22nd August 2015:
This was really good I loved it. I'll definitely be reading the rest. I found your story because I was digging into shenanigans reviews and yours was the only one that had a proper name so it seemed like you knew her. Do you know what happened to her stories? They've all suddenly disapeared and no one has a clue what happened! Hope you know what happened. Keep writing, your work is amazing!

Author's Response: Hi there! And thanks for reading! I'm glad you're enjoying the story so far. Unfortunately, I haven't spoken to shenanigan in a long time (those reviews you read were probably the most recent time) and I didn't know about her situation at all until you mentioned it. I'm sorry that I'm of no help :(

Best of luck and I hope you can find out what happened.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Crescent Moon  Bathing in Roses

13th August 2015:
I loved this story, so sweet. I can't wait to read the sequel.

Author's Response: Hi! Wow, you read the whole novel! Thank you so much for sticking with my characters and I hope you enjoyed it! ^^

 Report Review

Review #5, by THE FEELS THE HEDWIG Love at Hogwarts

7th January 2015:
that is all

Author's Response: Haha :D Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #6, by thefeels  Circles

7th January 2015:

 Report Review

Review #7, by Hedwig_Pie It Started With

6th January 2015:
THEY KISSED OMG not too sure I'm surprised coz I've read thiis before but it's just proof that this story is amazing and I love it and just oh

Author's Response: Yes they did! And haha, thank you!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Hedwig_Pie Cinderella and a Matter of Pumpkins

6th January 2015:

 Report Review

Review #9, by hedwig_pie Beginnings and Their Consequences

6th January 2015:
what. a. git. oh god that splendid moment of realisation - i just love it

 Report Review

Review #10, by hedwig_pie Deus Ex Priscilla

6th January 2015:
oh my god i love priscilla so much. get thee to a nunnery! classic (shakespeare). mu. ha. ha see what i did there. this is just amazing

 Report Review

Review #11, by hedwig_pie The Idiocy of the Time

6th January 2015:
oh my i'm actually reading bathing in roses for what has to be the fifth time i am so in love with this story - it's my favourite on the site! seriously i just love this so much and I'm so excited to read it again and omg

 Report Review

Review #12, by MissMoneypenny Bathing in Roses

20th October 2014:
hello hello hello! so i read this pretty much all in one go over sunday (and a bit of saturday) and i just needed to drop by and give you a nice long review because
excuse me if i'm a bit incoherent from now on. but, honestly, your character development was some of the best i've ever seen (june. albus. the hufflepuffs. EVERYONE) and they were all really unique, y'know. i liked how june's talents weren't really magic-related - sewing. and honestly i'm not even going to talk about albus because i'll probably just break down sobbing
ANYWAY just hats off to you for this. your characters are phenomenal. so is their development. it's written so well - extended so nicely, great style, funny - and this story has just got me straight back into fic. so thank you. and i hope you see this and have a great day; you deserve it!
AND ONE LAST THING BEFORE I FORGET - the wotters' opinions on the stalking and fangirls and stuff. genius. i very rarely see things like that, so thank you for being so original again :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by MissMoneypenny Denouement

19th October 2014:
"lily ‘no, not that one’ potter"
i loved loved loved loved this chapter - the quidditch scene was excellent, priscilla was even excellent-er than usual, june is turning into a feminist icon, and albus is being a jealous little... cow.
anyway. hats off. (and i spelt genius wrong the first time, which is kind of an oxymoron)

 Report Review

Review #14, by MissMoneypenny Deus Ex Priscilla

19th October 2014:
"russians and nuns are the way to go!"

(this story is completely gorgeous; hats off to you, dear)

 Report Review

Review #15, by Hedwig_Pie Trivial Contrivances

14th October 2014:

Author's Response: Aw, thanks :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by Hedwig_Pie The Splendid Return

13th October 2014:
this has got to be like the fifth time I'm reading this story. OMG I LOVE IT SO MUCH JUST OH. who'dve thought june would be so good at forced persuasion?

 Report Review

Review #17, by Ribbons Bathing in Roses

22nd September 2014:
Okay, listen here,

I would like to thank you, several times, for creating this story. Not for the characters, or certain chapters, or one particular romance (although those are all contestants). No, I want to thank you for the whole thing. All together. One big, wild jig saw that you just fit together into a beautiful novel.

There are some things that I never suspected to see on HPFF, and somehow you just made them happen, without even blinking. You made a character with faults you could fit a house through, you made a boy who's personality resembled a squid with spikes and somehow you changed my perception of them. And they transformed, and their friends transformed, and somehow you made it all work so well.

With this story there was a real sense of direction, something that I find happens rarely on this site (I don't mean to be rude, I love this place to death, but some stories unwillingly spiral out of control). Did you always have the end result in mind? Was that how you made it feel as though I was seeing the end approaching on the horizon back on chapter 17?

Let me start with June.

At first, I thought she was stupid. I thought she was silly. I thought she was a hopeless romantic and a helpless ninny. How could she ever mend all the stupid things she'd done? But then you showed me that she was brave, you showed me that she was strong and smart in her own way, and that above all she was determined.

You took a character named Albus Severus Potter who was prickly and cruel and I watched you melt him with the help of June, until there stood the REAL Albus. I feel like I've just witnessed some kind of bizarre transformation.

Suddenly, they all seem so beautiful.

When I was reading this story (finished in two days, WHOOP!), I laughed and I cried. I laughed because there were some things that you could never be serious about, I cried when I saw the state of June's life at Christmas and when she said her speech to Helga Hufflepuff. There was humor and wit and imagination in this story, but above all, there was heart.

This was a pure joy to read, and the pleasure was all mine. Thank you for blessing us with your creative genius. My darling, you have my full respect.

Much, much, MUCH love,


Author's Response: I haven't been on HPFF in months and months, but I came online now and I saw this absolutely lovely review. I'm sorry for the late response, but thank you so much for your kind words.

I giggled pretty hard at the description of a personality resembling a "squid with spikes"; that's some fun imagery right there.

Thank you so much for sticking with these characters. They have been a true joy for me to write and have been a comfort during some pretty tough times. I'm truly happy to read that you liked them as well. I'm actually oddly fond of them. Also, I hope I'm not sounding like I'm self-promoting because that's not my intention, but if you did enjoy the characters, then maybe you'd be interested in reading the short sequel BIR has on my page (called 'This Time With Us').

But overall, just thank you thank you thank you for this lovely review. I'm so grateful to have readers and reviewers like you. :)


 Report Review

Review #18, by Ribbons The Idiocy of the Time

21st September 2014:
Oh my darling, you are a miracle.

Here I was twiddling my thumbs and believing that the term 'Original Character' paired with the words 'Wonderful Character' was a thing of the past. Was I ever wrong.

Your amazing, beautiful, stunning June is a work of art in and of herself and I can't help falling in love with her on the spot. Despite her silliness, and her awkwardness, there's something so honest and genuine about her - I can't skip the ugly parts like I do in some stories, and I just gritted my teeth and read every last word. Somehow I don't want to let her down.

Her friends are quite the bunch, and I love how none of them are described as 'the smart one' or 'the pretty one', they're all unique and free of relentless stereotypes. Kudos.

I would normally make this review longer, but I'm dying to read the next chapter.

Without a doubt this is going on my favorites list!

Much, much, much love,


 Report Review

Review #19, by NandaSouza Trivial Contrivances

24th August 2014:
I have to say that I'm really surprised with this fanfiction. I liked it so much, and the progress that she made in this chapter. She is growing up, and I'm so proud. You make me feel utterly angry with the characters sometimes, and others I just want to cry in the corner or hug them. But not Albus, I want to punch him really strong in the jugular in a way it hurts a lot. Maybe a cruciatus curse. I also hate Rose. I don't really like her in fanfics, excepting some cases.
Anyway, congrats!
(PS: I'd like to see some some punches.)

 Report Review

Review #20, by QkStephen Bathing in Roses

10th July 2014:
I actually loved this story. When I first read about June and her previous state of mind I got the wrong idea and Albus's words were so mean that figured I'd be bathing in cliches rather than roses. however you're strict adherence to solid support characters and only the best writing one me over. As june grew into a real true character and Albus made real progress not just some flip of character I really came to love the story because it really was top notch it didnt just fall into contrived and played out plotlines. thank you for writing such a clever and relatable story it truly was a pleasure

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this review. It truly made me smile to see it. It's been nearly two years since I've finished this story. I admit there would be a lot of things I would now do differently, but it's a special story to me nonetheless. I tried to stay as honest as I could with June and Albus -- they were people to me and I tried to portray them as if I knew them. As for the supporting cast, they were oodles of fun to write. I'm really happy you've enjoyed it. Thank you for the lovely compliments you've paid me :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by S. Cinderella and a Matter of Pumpkins

6th June 2014:
I love your story so far! It's so refreshing. In some sick, sadistic way I love that Albus is so mean haha. June is so unique - an untalented airhead - but stangely enough I love her character too! Can't wait to read on!

Author's Response: Thank you :) I hope you enjoy reading the rest of the story!

 Report Review

Review #22, by fjdnvfd Trivial Contrivances

31st May 2014:

Author's Response: Haha, gender stereotypes overcome indeed! And thank you :) I hope you enjoy reading the rest!

 Report Review

Review #23, by Hedwig_Pie The Idiocy of the Time

31st May 2014:
i havent read a good fanfic in so long, so decided to read bathing in roses again
you dont understand how much i love this story. its so special and just I LOVE IT

Author's Response: Aww thank you so much! I hope it's still a good read this time around for you :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by Gladis Gudgeon Bathing in Roses

30th May 2014:
This story was so funny. I usually hate the stupid spastic main character that somehow gets the guy anyway, but I really liked this. I stayed up until three in the moring to finish this, on a school night. I'm not sure if it was worth getting two hours of sleep, but it was very engaging.

Author's Response: Thank you! I find very few things in life worth two hours of sleep to be honest, but I do appreciate that you marathoned through this story! Thanks for sticking through the journey and I hope you like the sequel as well! :)

 Report Review


27th May 2014:
I liked this. It was good. It was real.
I liked some characters , I disliked some.
I loved this!
Well done!

Author's Response: Thanks! Now I'm curious as to which characters you disliked! But thanks for sticking through with it!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>