Reading Reviews for Bathing in Roses
  
406 Reviews Found

Review #1, by QkStephen Bathing in Roses

10th July 2014:
I actually loved this story. When I first read about June and her previous state of mind I got the wrong idea and Albus's words were so mean that figured I'd be bathing in cliches rather than roses. however you're strict adherence to solid support characters and only the best writing one me over. As june grew into a real true character and Albus made real progress not just some flip of character I really came to love the story because it really was top notch it didnt just fall into contrived and played out plotlines. thank you for writing such a clever and relatable story it truly was a pleasure

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this review. It truly made me smile to see it. It's been nearly two years since I've finished this story. I admit there would be a lot of things I would now do differently, but it's a special story to me nonetheless. I tried to stay as honest as I could with June and Albus -- they were people to me and I tried to portray them as if I knew them. As for the supporting cast, they were oodles of fun to write. I'm really happy you've enjoyed it. Thank you for the lovely compliments you've paid me :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by S. Cinderella and a Matter of Pumpkins

6th June 2014:
I love your story so far! It's so refreshing. In some sick, sadistic way I love that Albus is so mean haha. June is so unique - an untalented airhead - but stangely enough I love her character too! Can't wait to read on!

Author's Response: Thank you :) I hope you enjoy reading the rest of the story!

 Report Review

Review #3, by fjdnvfd Trivial Contrivances

31st May 2014:
I LOVE THIS PART. WHERE JUNE GROWS UP AND BECOMES AWESOME AND I JUST THE GENDER STEREOTYPES YOU OVERCOME IN LIKE THOSE LAST PARAGRAPHS ARE AMAZING I LOVE THIS STORY JUST AHH

Author's Response: Haha, gender stereotypes overcome indeed! And thank you :) I hope you enjoy reading the rest!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Hedwig_Pie The Idiocy of the Time

31st May 2014:
i havent read a good fanfic in so long, so decided to read bathing in roses again
you dont understand how much i love this story. its so special and just I LOVE IT

Author's Response: Aww thank you so much! I hope it's still a good read this time around for you :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Gladis Gudgeon Bathing in Roses

30th May 2014:
This story was so funny. I usually hate the stupid spastic main character that somehow gets the guy anyway, but I really liked this. I stayed up until three in the moring to finish this, on a school night. I'm not sure if it was worth getting two hours of sleep, but it was very engaging.

Author's Response: Thank you! I find very few things in life worth two hours of sleep to be honest, but I do appreciate that you marathoned through this story! Thanks for sticking through the journey and I hope you like the sequel as well! :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by IDIDNOTWANTTOHAVESEXWITHSIRIUSBLACKITWASMYPMS Bathing in Roses

27th May 2014:
I liked this. It was good. It was real.
I liked some characters , I disliked some.
I loved this!
Well done!
:)
V.V.M.

Author's Response: Thanks! Now I'm curious as to which characters you disliked! But thanks for sticking through with it!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Europa27 Deus Ex Priscilla

14th February 2014:
Is this by any chance inspired by the Korean serial 'Playful Kiss'?

Author's Response: From the author's note on the very first chapter: "Credit where credit is due: The plot of the story is loosely inspired by the concept of the manga 'Mischievous Kiss' by the late Tada Kaoru. While it borrows the general premise of 'Mischievious Kiss' - a rich boy, a poor, dimwitted girl and the plot point that put them under the same house - this story is not a pure retelling of it in any way and has most of my subplots. It features my own OC's, and works as a parody of 'Mischievious Kiss' and of the romantic comedy genre as a whole".

The Korean drama with Kim Hyun Joong and Jung So Min is also based off the same manga, which also inspired Japanese and Taiwanese live adaptations.

Please read the author's notes in future if you have such questions :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by Sadie Deus Ex Priscilla

15th December 2013:
I adored the reference to deus ex machina, the awful literary device! I also loved the title... and Priscilla in general. This is my fifth time reading this story, and I still adore every single witty remark made by our resident soulless banshee. :) Perfection!

Author's Response: Fifth time, really? Wow, I don't think even I've reread my own writing that much! And I'm so glad that you like Priscilla and the story enough to revisit it. Thanks for reading :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by sagawegegerg The Art of Iciness

11th October 2013:
I cried while reading this chapter omg! amazing piece of writing. read it all yesterday and reading again today! wow! I love june, such a real character. Good job!

Author's Response: Oh wow, thank you! I really don't intend to make people cry during a comedy...but hey, I'm flattered that you did! Thanks for reading :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by Sophhhh Trivial Contrivances

11th October 2013:
This chapter made me cry. Legit. So amazingly written. June is a fantastic character omfg this chapter omfg! Keep up the great work! Hope you keep writing and i look forward to more coming stories (especially if it's next generation) xx definitely one of my favourite fanfics!

Author's Response: Haha thank you! And out of curiosity, what made you cry? ;) And I'm glad you like June -- thank you for reading!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Fay Crash

16th September 2013:
Eep! I feel like squealing in happiness, this story is so amazing and so un-cliche. Such a great story, I love it

Author's Response: Haha, thank you :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by Fay Crash

16th September 2013:
Eep! I feel like squealing in happiness, this story is so amazing and so un-cliche. Such a great story, I love it

Author's Response: Thank you! I was vaguely going for just the right mix of cliche and uncliche since it's a parody and all. Cliches are kind of my guilty pleasure when I read, though. Thanks again :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by Fay Trivial Contrivances

16th September 2013:
I love this chapter so much. It is literally perfect and the message is amazing, it is really refreshing to read a story as interesting as this with a proper insight to a teenage girl growing up, without deluding the reader. Great work!

Author's Response: Eep, thank you :o I tried to keep it realistic and I drew from some of my own experiences as an awkward teen, so I'm glad it came off at least a bit authentic (for fanfic set in a magical world, that is)!

 Report Review

Review #14, by S.C. Trivial Contrivances

1st September 2013:
June is officially awesome.

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm glad you think so! I'm not going to disagree, haha :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by S.C. Beginnings and Their Consequences

1st September 2013:
So June continues to be a blithering idiot, though she gains a little bit of dignity (and promptly loses it in half-a-second). Interesting chapter.

Author's Response: I think we've all had our fair share of blithering idiocy at seventeen -- though June maybe has more than most. Hopefully you'll find her more dignified in coming chapters :) Thanks for reading!

 Report Review

Review #16, by S.C. A Matter of Great Irrelevance

1st September 2013:
Albus will be coming BACK? Gag me, please.

I'm fairly certain I died from laughter at the start of this chapter. Not only was "Hogwarts Sex Scandal" (or whatever the name was) hilariously disgusting, Priscilla's comments made it even more hilarious. I think I've fallen in love (and I certainly do not swing that way). It was very entertaining.

I am intrigued about June's mum. Is she dead? I'm hypothesizing that she is dead. Maybe that explains why June is so spineless. I'm probably not going to be able to hear the name June without flinching now because of how AWFUL she is. She's so weak! She aggravates me beyond belief.

Aside from my obvious hatred of the MC, I actually loved the earthquake scene. It was quite unexpected (though I'm wondering about the accuracy of it all - does Scotland receive earthquakes?). The outcome was sad, but the event itself was very thrilling. I also really liked how June couldn't defend herself - at all. She really is a blithering idiot. Protectogo. Her talents stun me.

Is it sadistic of me to be HAPPY she was injured?

All in all, a satisfying chapter. :) I'll be reading the next chapter with the image of a girl on a toilet, SCREAMING about her butthole (hehe i love these profanity filters; I have the chance to resort to some interesting alternatives) of a toad. What sweet dreams I'll be having.

 Report Review

Review #17, by S.C. The Idiocy of the Time

1st September 2013:
I absolutely adore Priscilla. Is it possible to adore a fictional character so much? I'm certain I love her more than my own mother. She completely and eloquently verbalized all I loathe about fanfiction. (Obviously it has its perks, but it definitely has its flaws as well.) June lies on the other end of the spectrum for me. I don't like her at all. She's so flimsy; she doesn't have any guts! She is a Hufflepuff, but even hufflepuffs have a little bit of fire in them. And Albus! I just want to smack him across the face. He's so irritating and STUPID.

Good chapter though. I just have some "minor" qualms with the characters. :D You're a great writer. The humor had me giggling. Like a schoolgirl. :D

 Report Review

Review #18, by TheNamelessBoy Valentines and Vendettas

10th August 2013:
So you're going the Rose-Scorpius way too?
So much was different in this story that I didn't expect it.

Author's Response: No, not exactly! I pondered it...but it didn't exactly pan out!

Thanks for reading and reviewing :)


 Report Review

Review #19, by TheNamelessBoy Denouement

10th August 2013:
Griffindor lost!? Damn!! (No matter who's in which house, I shall always be a Griffindor loyalist).
Didn't like the commentary either. Little bit partiality before being reprimanded by McGonagall was fun, but giving the commentators free reign like this was unfair.
Also, storming the griffindor common room was taking things too far, but I really loved the authorative Al.
Junebus finally seems to be moving forward too.
Overall an enjoyable story, even though there are bits I don't like.

Also, Albus ranks before Rose?? Shocker!!

Author's Response: Well...I mean, if we're going to talk about partiality, it hardly seems fair that Lee Jordan got away with saying some of the things that he did against Slytherin. Or that Harry and Ron usually got some several hundred house points at the end of every year. Or that when James and Lily were Head Boy and Head Girl, both of them were from Gryffindor (and James wasn't even a prefect). And of course, Snape definitely preferred his Slytherins and was blatantly unfair. I think it may seem unfair in that particular instance, I would imagine a lot of favoritism goes on behind the scenes and with certain teachers. I'm actually a Gryffindor on the HPFF Forums too, but I do want to make the point that Gryffindors aren't always going to get to be heroes, especially not in a story about Hufflepuffs :)

Yeah, the Hufflepuffs are a randy bunch. You may not like their final schemes then (just warning you now -- they're not shy and they don't hold back against other houses). Glad to know you still like it!


 Report Review

Review #20, by iatevoldysnose Bathing in Roses

5th April 2013:
I LOVVVE THIS STORY SO MUCH! Its so cute and adorable, and i like the personalities that you have given to the characters...June is so cute and naive at the start and Al is great too :)

I'm sorry that I havent reviewed your other chapters but i read them all and they are awesome :0

I hope to read more of your stories in the future !
Keep writing coz you are AWESOME!

-iatevoldysnose

 Report Review

Review #21, by Vivyan The Idiocy of the Time

13th January 2013:
Eeee! As soon as Al said, "Spelling. I recommend you work on yours" I was thinking of Mischevious Kiss! (: I'm really excited to read your story haha.
I also want to say I love your writing, grammatically and the vocabulary you use.

 Report Review

Review #22, by Moon55555 Bathing in Roses

3rd January 2013:
thanks for this wonderful story !!!

Author's Response: And thank you for reading!

 Report Review

Review #23, by RavenclawGirl96 Beginnings and Their Consequences

26th December 2012:
I hope this indicates the beginning of June becoming a bit more independent and sure of herself... but I have been wrong in the past. And she stops reading romance novels, but that is more wishful thinking than anything else :P I'm enjoying the Sherlock (Cumberbatch version) Albus, makes him that little bit more attractive, yes? But I'm enjoying the story anyway... despite June being a Hufflepuff... :P

Author's Response: LOL to the Sherlock (Cumberbatch version) Albus...he isn't as much of an...let's stick with the 12+ version of a clueless, unfeeling prick as Sherlock. He's certainly somewhere on that spectrum though! And I don't personally find that more attractive but to each their own - and I hope you'll find that as the story goes, June being a Hufflepuff is a good thing! I used to feel like being in Hufflepuff was kind of lame too, but as I got into this story and writing more about the Hufflepuffs, I got more fond of the house and I hope you'll feel that way too! Thanks for reading!

 Report Review

Review #24, by nina lupin Bathing in Roses

28th November 2012:
this has made me laugh so much. I love June and Albus is seriously adorable (he really needs to learn how to treat his crushes - if that makes sense)
I loved how you made fun of all the cliches that I swear are way more present in next gen fanfiction than any other time.
p.s. this is probably really creepy because i'm stalking your stories, it's just cause they're so great!

 Report Review

Review #25, by Hedwig_Pie Bathing in Roses

22nd November 2012:
I LOVED THIS STORY. watching June grow up and her and albus are so friggin cute together. i loved your writing style and this story was a cute end to my day :) great story. i loved it.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>