Reading Reviews for The Hogwarts Jaguar
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by GrangerDanger10 The Hogwarts Jaguar

13th March 2012:
Hahahaha love it:) Starkid quotes! I FIND it to be amazingly brilliant! -sorry I had too!

Author's Response: YES. STARKID! I AM RUMBLEROAR!! ;D
I like you jigglypuffs quite a lot. Thank you so much for the review and I'm so glad you liked it! -Liberty


 Report Review

Review #2, by orderofthephoenix The Hogwarts Jaguar

15th March 2011:
Hey Libby! :)

This is brilliant! it was amusing to read and I loved the interaction between Snape and Lockhart.

Lockhart's characterisation was very good. You made him so sure of himself and so arrogant that he didn't even realise when Luna was taking notes.
I wouldn't be surprised if he actually started to believe the story he made up himself!

And Snape was definitely the perfect person to confront him about this. He's the teacher most opposite in personality and actions to Lockhart.

Nice choice to end with Luna's letter. It rounded it off nicely :)

-Sophia x

Author's Response: Hey Sophia!

I've never written professors before, so I'm really glad I got these two's characters down alright.

I've gotten some suggestions that he does believe the story he makes up, however, I felt that in CoS, Lockhart was very well aware that his stories were complete falsehoods and just kept up the pretenses because they improved his standing in the eyes of others.

I picked Snape because of the fact that he's a complete opposite of Lockhart as well as the fact that he resents Lockhart openly for taking the DADA job and holds him in contempt because he suspects Lockhart of his lies (rightly so.) I'm glad I made a good character choice with it.

Luna's letter wasn't in my first draft of this, but I felt that the ending was much too vague without it. I'm glad that was a smart choice on my part.

Thank you so much for your review and flattery!
from,
Liberty


 Report Review

Review #3, by TheProphecy The Hogwarts Jaguar

13th March 2011:
Hello!!

I have to say this is my favourite of yours that I have read so far.

I love Gilderory and how you wrote him, I thought you did him perfectly. It was well written with good characterisation all-round.

The ending had me in fits of giggles, you wrote that little note so Luna, I wouldn't be surprised if it was written by JK herself. :)

Well done my dear, you did really well :D

Hannah x

Author's Response: Hi Hannah!

I'm so flattered that this is your favorite of my stories so far. It's definitely one I enjoyed writing.

Gilderoy...well he was a bit easy to write; I just tried to not make him sound too childish and put some professor-like characteristics about him while still maintaining an utterly ridiculous arrogant countenance. (Did that sentence have too many adjectives to make sense?) I'm glad that technique worked! I'll make sure to use it if I write him in the future.

I struggled a bit with the note from Luna, I was afraid it wasn't long or whimsical enough, but I'm so glad it has a canon feel for you that makes it enough like the original stories/characters we know and love!

Thank you so much for your flattery *blushes* and the review. :)

from,
Liberty


 Report Review

Review #4, by Aiedail The Hogwarts Jaguar

13th March 2011:
AVPS! i love them :)

i thought this was very clever !! although there are some minor typos, the story has an interesting flow. i admit i was expecting to hear what lockhart (love him, by the way!) had to say immediately after luna asked, but i like the way that you intended the release and withholding of information. i love the way that it ends with luna's letter--i dunno exactly why, but it all strikes me as well-done and it's a silly, light way to end the story. even though i knew luna was taking notes i didn't even imagine that they'd end up being so important!

i think lockhart's speech is hilarious, especially the "merlin bless the Hogwarts Jaguar" bit. it just seems like him to make a grandiose deal out of something he's pulling out of thin air! i might have liked to see him defend the jaguar to snape though, since in the books he was always at least partially convincing himself that whatever he made up was magically true.

i also think it's silly that snape is the one to confront him. take the craziest teacher, and then the one who's most down-to-earth (besides maybe McGonagall) and put them in a confrontational situation, and things are bound to get messy! :P

i also love the way that lockhart is always trying to make sure he looks the best that he can. and that he's all-around ridiculous.

great job! i might have liked it to be a little longer but the idea is so good that it's okay how it is :) :)
--lily

Author's Response: Hey Lily!

AVPS and AVPM-I literally quote/sing them every single day.

I'm glad you like the idea of the fic! I just started thinking of who would believe in the Hogwarts Jaguar, that got me thinking of Luna. Then, like a light from above, I remembered blustering Lockhart who liked to be a know-it-all and I had a plot!

There's typos? Uh-oh...gotta proof-read this again...

I'm there's good feed-back on the letter, I was really worried it was out of place, but I felt like it was a good ending.

Lockhart's speech very much incorporated Remus's speech from AVPS, but I tried to add in his own flair to it-I mean, Lockhart makes a grandiose deal out of everything, especially himself.

Defend the Hogwarts Jaguar to Snape? Hmm...never really thought of it...Now I feel the need to go back and edit, but at the same time, I feel like the Quibbler is such a ridiculous magazine in itself (it must've had other ridiculous headlines on its cover) that Lockhart would realize that this wasn't something he wanted his name attached to...

I'm glad it was a good choice to have Snape confront him! McGonagall was on my mind as well, but I thought Snape would be much funnier. There's also the fact that Snape hates Lockhart anyways for having the DADA position and is a bit of a damper on other people's parades anyways...

I wish it was longer too! I just couldn't think of any way to lengthen it without ruining it!

Thank you so much for your review and the input you've given! It's been really helpful! ...and now I'm very confused as to what to do... :)
from,
Liberty


 Report Review

Review #5, by silverstarletworld89 The Hogwarts Jaguar

4th March 2011:
Oh gosh, this sounds like something Lockhart would do totally lol, make up something absolutely ludacris, so people think that he actually know what he is going on about! So glad that he got caught out and it was Snape that did it. I think it just mae it even more amusing when he tried to worm out of it. Good story and I thought the characterisation was great =D!!

Silverstarletworld89

Author's Response: Hi!

Lockhart has always come off as ludacris himself to me, so when I got such a dare with a ridiculous concept, I had to use him!

While reading Chamber of Secrets, I was so surprised that no one caught Lockhart while he was busy fooling everyone! (Of course, he fooled me until the near end, but still!) So I wanted some small occurence where someone else caught him for just being ridiculous as he always was. And, of course, he would attempt to protect his reputation to the very end.

I was so worried about the characterisation, as I don't usually write professors (they've always been a bit too professional for my writing), so I'm so glad you thought it was great!

Thank you so much for the review!
from,
Liberty


 Report Review

Review #6, by hpgrl The Hogwarts Jaguar

3rd March 2011:
Hi!

This was a nice unique little one-shot. I loved the chapter title and the ending letter. Your characterization of Lockhart is spot-on. Snape was also well written. The chapter flowed smoothly and the dialogue was plausible.

This is my favorite line-
May Merlin bless his soul and his soft, adorable paws that he trips over when he's running too fast

one mistake- "Professor Looked up"- looked shouldn't be capitalized and you should say "the professor" or "Professor Lockhart"

Overall great job! I absolutely loved your Luna :)

Author's Response: Hey!

I'm glad it's unique! I always am afraid I'm being dreadfully unoriginal and just feeding my readers cliche after cliche.

I've never really written Snape before, so I was scared he'd turn out too mean, or too emotional, or too something that would ruin everything.

Lockhart was easy enough, but he's an easily ignored character. I'm so glad I managed to incorporate him in here because I like writing those sort of characters.

Glad you liked the line, it's adapted from A Very Potter Sequel.

Urgh, I didn't catch that! Note to self: Proof-read better.

Thank you so much for the review and compliments! Luna is amazing!

from,
Liberty


 Report Review

Review #7, by marinahill The Hogwarts Jaguar

19th February 2011:
Haha, this was really amusing! I love AVPM & AVPS, so it was great to see you use the idea of the Hogwarts Jaguar in a story. I can really see Gilderoy making up something like this in class to cover his poor teaching skills. I loved how he had to answer to Snape, too. It was very witty and I really enjoyed reading this!



Author's Response: I didn't get into AVPM and AVPS till a couple months ago, and I have adored it ever since! So the dare inspired me to create something where the teacher was a crackpot, in canon-land, Lockhart fills the bill perfectly. I'm glad you liked it! Thank you so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Insert_witty_comment_here The Hogwarts Jaguar

13th February 2011:
Ha! I love AVPM, but I love how it still made sense out of that context - this is a really smiley piece of writing, I really enjoyed reading it. I was in the NaNo dares challenge too and When I saw what you'd been given I couldn't wait to read it :)

Well done, it was perfect! Gilderoy and Luna were perfectly in character, brilliant job.

Author's Response: AHHH! AVPM and AVPS are some of my absolute favorite things to watch. I'm glad it still made sense, that was a giant worry of mine. I'm assuming that your challenge was the one with Terry Boot and his sister and how she was the reason he was fighting in the war? That story was great, it made me really sad and hopeful at the same time.

Thank you again for the review and the compliment!


 Report Review

Review #9, by mugglemania The Hogwarts Jaguar

11th February 2011:
Haha that's good. Lockhart can be such an idiot sometimes :D and I love Luna!!!

Author's Response: Thank you! I love Luna too! (she's my favorite character!) Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #10, by leannemariesnape The Hogwarts Jaguar

10th February 2011:
:D I love how Snape interrogated Lockheart. That is exactly the kind of thing Luna would believe, and the exact kind of thing that Lockheart would say!

You characterised all of the characters very well, yet still managed to ensure the humour of the story. Very good :)
Leanne

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad the characterization worked! I was worried they would seem too fanciful. I'm also glad it turned out humorous, as I was afraid that it was the sort of dry humour that people get, but never laugh at. :)

Thank you so much for the review!
from,
Liberty


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login