Reading Reviews for The House on the Hill
  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by shoveitsunshine we're watching you

2nd June 2012:
It was a bit odd, but I liked it. An interesting view on the Malfoy family (I'm assuming from the Muggles' point of view?) The characterisation of Astoria was also a fascinating one. Really nice.

Author's Response: Firstly - thank you so much for reviewing so many of my stories! It's always brilliant to log on and see something like that. Secondly - I apologise that it's taken me a while to get around to answering them all (exams have been sucking the soul from me, Dementor-like, for the last month or so...)

Oh I completely agree, this is definitely an odd little piece. It's the kind of thing I wrote, re-read, and just thought "um, where on earth did that come from...?" But I'm so glad you liked it as I am quite fond of it, despite its oddness. Yes, it is essentially from the Muggles/some other outside observer's point of view. I just liked the idea of the Malfoys living in a village full of Muggles and being a bit of a local curiosity with their strange pureblood ways xD

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #2, by charlottetrips we're watching you

10th August 2011:
Hey! So I'm here with your review! I like how you started from an outsider's perspective. It makes me feel like I'm part of the local village and am getting a bit of the local lore while sipping some tea or eating some chips at the local shop.

This line confused me: "On four out of five days in the year, that would be all, and not a sound would be heard from the house on the hill until eight-thirty the next morning." because earlier you say this is Draco's routine everyday but it varies only once? Or he only goes out four or five days a year and it varies on the fifth day?

Exceptionally written! I guess I just don't get the ending...maybe it's because I'm hungry. As above I feel like it's being told from a villager's voice, like a tale. It's wonderfully mysterious and I think I'll revisit after eating.

Author's Response: Haha I'm really glad you felt like that about it actually - I was trying to achieve that sort of effect, I suppose, to fit in with the idea that the villagers are always watching and gossiping about these newcomers who they mistrust. The idea that the village is a real community, and the Malfoys, as unsociable newcomers (not to mention wizards...) are complete outsiders.

Oh haha I didn't mean that literally - it was just meant to mean that the majority of the time all that happens is Draco taking his daily walk to the shop etc, but for a few weeks every year, there's Scorpius to spy on as well (i.e. when he comes home for the school holidays). Reading it again, that does sound a bit odd actually... I may have to go and change it :P

As for the ending - basically, it's open to interpretation (this is me trying to be mysterious again... xD) Is she really mad, or was Draco cruelly imprisoning her for some reason? Did she kill Draco, or did he die of natural causes, or even kill himself? How does Scorpius fit into all this? How much does he know?

Glad you enjoyed it!


 Report Review

Review #3, by ChaosWalking. we're watching you

11th April 2011:
You are my faviroute author on this site. I love your work.
I come back every now and then and re-read a couple of your stories. This is probably the 3rd time I've read this.
(and yet it never ceases to amaze me)
I love the way you've portrayed the malfoy and I'm dying to know more. How did he did!? She killed him didn't she?!

I was wondering what inspired you to write this? I just read " to kill a mocking bird" and after reading this again the malfoys remind me a lot of the radleys ( assuming you've read the book). Both of them have the whole suspense thing down. The way everyone loves to hate them
and they way they make people interseted in them by doing absolutely nothing.

(P.s please don't take that the wrong way. I am not accusing you of plagurism. The last thing I want to do is offend you.)

Author's Response: ChaosWalking, you have seriously just made my day/week/life. I don't want it to seem like I'm just saying this in a "oh, well, I need to thank this reviewer because they've said something nice" kind of way - it honestly means so much to me that you've said something like that. It's the kind of thing writers on this site dream about hearing, and it's one thing if you're a super-successful one with thousands of reviews for your stories and get that kind of thing all the time, but for a smaller writer like me it's just amazing to hear that! So thank you, seriously :)

I won't say for certain that she killed him because that would kind of ruin the mystery of it all ;) I'll just say I left it as intentionally ambiguous and there are a number of possible interpretations... (but yes, her killing him totally the best interpretation and my favourite one too xD)

I LOVE 'To Kill a Mockingbird'! We did it last year at school and it's just brilliant isn't it? Yes, I was definitely inspired by the Radleys when writing the Malfoys - haha don't worry I wouldn't be offended at all xP Well done you for spotting the link!

Again, thank you SO much. I've just re-read this review about five times and I'm smiling like an idiot right now :D


 Report Review

Review #4, by Hyenni we're watching you

3rd April 2011:
LOVE LOVE LOVE.

"No one mourns the wicked, darling." - that right there gave me goosebumps. Ah, such a good line, and so...insane? I'm in love with the mystery of the story, and how I can draw my own conclusions (she killed him. she SO killed him) about it.

Such an interesting way to write it, and a totally different way of portraying the Malfoys...I loved how you wrapped it all up with Scorpius imitating his father and that first/last line. "They were right." - chills, chilling chills.

10/10. Faaabulous XD

Author's Response: Thank you!! -squees- So glad you liked it!

Mystery = totally not my thing, mainly because I can often be incredibly dense myself, so in a weird way I'm really quite proud of this xP But yes, allowing the reader to draw their own conclusion was part of my aim (though yeah, that's my favourite interpretation too xD)

Thanks for the review! :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by HarrietHopkirk we're watching you

21st February 2011:
Oooh. I like this. This is very intriguing. There are so many parallels to the Malfoys and the Riddles. It's all very mysterious, and I love it! Well done! :D

Author's Response: (*squees at getting a review from an amazing author*)

Thanks so much! I'm really glad you enjoyed it :) This is one of those slightly random stories that just sort of grew up out of nowhere, but I'm rather fond of it all the same. Thanks so much for the review!



 Report Review

Review #6, by baletgir we're watching you

21st January 2011:
Yes odd, but it a good and interestingly odd way. This was really something different, and I really enjoyed reading it.

I like how no nonsense this seemed, very pureblood/Malfoy like. I'm not sure why I got that impression, but it seemed very pristine and to the point in a way.

You got me really thinking about your characters, I was so intrigued by them. Like how did Draco die? What made them decide to have Scorpius called "Scott"? What's wrong with Astoria? I really got into your story. Great job!
:)BaletGir

Author's Response: Haha good, I'm glad you liked my oddness x) I've never written anything like this before and I was a bit worried people would just be like "um... ok..."

The point of the story is largely the ambiguity, and leaving all those questions unanswered. What's wrong with Astoria, how did Draco die... It's my attempt at mystery xP The only question there that has an answer is Scorpius/Scott: I had him change his name to emphasise how out of place the Malfoys are in the village they live in - he's working with Muggles, so announcing that his name was 'Scorpius' would seem more than a little strange to them... I'm very glad you liked it though and got into the story :)

Thanks so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #7, by charlieee we're watching you

16th January 2011:
i LOVE this. :') the line you have in the summary drew me in, and once i read past the second paragraph i was completely hooked. the narrative was beautiful. usually, little dialogue in a story puts me off but your style is brilliant and i really enjoyed it. the last line astoria says - 'no one mourns the wicked, darling' - i got chills. :3 awesome job! 10/10 (:

Author's Response: Thank you! Haha I'm incapable of writing summaries so all my stories ever get is a single line xP Oh that's so encouraging because I've been trying to cut down on using dialogue so I can focus on narrative and description, so I'm very glad it's working out :) Thanks so much for reading, and for the lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Indigo Seas we're watching you

15th January 2011:
This was really, really good. And those words seem stale next to the story you've just beautifully crafted, but it's true! Really, really good.

I mean, I'll admit that I don't think of the Malfoys much. With the exception of Scorpius, I don't tend to read them in everyday fiction very often. But this... this was lovely. Just to shine a little light on them, and to make that light completely, utterly believable, is just amazing. And I know you said it was a 'bit odd,' but I quite liked it that way. :)

Your style is gorgeous. It's simple at times, but that's just part of the charm. It really is quite lovely.

And now I'm gushing, so I'll leave now. But I did, really, enjoy it.

xx Rin

Author's Response: Wow, thank you Rin! Not a Malfoy fan? Honestly, what's wrong with you! xD But in that case I suppose I should be rather honoured :D

I'm so glad to hear you say it was believable - as I've put them in a rather odd situation, I was worried people would have an "um... WHAT?" kind of reaction. I'm also very glad the simplicity of the writing works, because my other main worry was that people would just find it boring.

Thank you so much for this review, it's really got me smiling :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by HereComesTheSun we're watching you

15th January 2011:
wow, that was very well writen and really sad. I like how you portrayed the Malfoy's. 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you so much! As I said I'm a bit obsessed with the Malfoys at the moment, so I'm glad you liked my portrayal of them :) Thanks for reading, and for taking the time to review!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login