Reading Reviews for Mania
  
17 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Iellwen Mania

11th July 2014:
For the House Cup 2014, I was looking for stories to review and felt like reading about Bellatrix; boy, am I glad that I read this!

This is wonderfully, beautifully twisted! And hateful and despicable, yet the yearning and vulnerability made it fascinating.
Honestly, I had never really picture Bellatrix being anything close to passionate with her husband, but the way you've described it just fits... Mutual destruction.
They use each other, whether they like it or not, as tools to release their anger.

I love that Bellatrix is drawn to the pain she knows his eyes have seen as he inflicted it.
I also love that you managed to make a companionship out of the Lestrange couple, even so twisted (but this is Bellatrix we're talking about, it couldn't possibly have been of butterflies and rainbows! ^^) and self-destructive as described!!

And that she tastes blood and he smiles? Almost as if to state; 'yeah, you drew blood but that's what make the adrenaline pump!' WOW!

Also, I'm very impressed that you managed to pack to much information so smoothly with only 500 words!!! That is quite the impressive feat and you have my awe! :D

*Gee

 Report Review

Review #2, by nott theodore Mania

11th July 2014:
Hi! It's been so long since I read anything about Bellatrix and Rodolphus as a couple, and even then, I think I've only read one or two stories that focus on the two of them, rather than Bellatrix and her obsession with Voldemort. So this was a really nice story to read, something very refreshing and different.

I think that the twist you took on their relationship was really interesting and I loved reading it. I've always thought that Bellatrix only really loved Voldemort and the idea of power and control, but here you showed a sort of love/hate relationship between Bella and Rodolphus that I'd never imagined.

The two of them seem such a good fit for each other. They're obviously very passionate, but just things like the fact that he's excited when Bella gets the Dark Mark on her arm shows how well they fit. I think it was really clever that you didn't say their names, either, and the description was great.

Overall, a brilliant one-shot that I really enjoyed reading.

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #3, by Pretense Of Perfection Mania

8th July 2014:
Hi there!!!

Wow, what a dark and intense story. I always love reading anything about Bellatrix, and this was no exception. I think you really managed to capture both her and Rodolphus perfectly here, and with very few words, great job!!

You had such wonderful and detailed descriptions and feelings, that this story like almost literally came to life for me and jumped from my computer screen. You managed to go in depth and to a level that most people can't bring Bellatrix to, simply because of who she is as a character. I'm literally amazed. You truly managed to take both Bellatrix and Rodolphus' character to such an interesting and believable place, I'm almost jealous.

The imagery you create and the feelings and thoughts you evoke set the scene really well. It's so interesting how their relationship transitions into their everyday lives with the death-eaters and Voldemort, blurring until it's almost impossible to tell them apart. I think this is so realistic, and could plausibly provide an explanation for how and why Bellatrix became so fixated on Voldemort. It would explain so much.

I didn't notice any spelling or grammar errors, and the pacing and plot were perfect. I'm definitely going to have to check out more of your writing, and I typically never "rate" other people's work, but I just can't help myself here.

---house Cup 2014 Review---
Pretense of Perfection, GRyffindor

 Report Review

Review #4, by ImagineHarmony Mania

7th July 2014:
Hello! I'm truly in awe at your writing. In five hundred words you captured them in a new dark and twisted light and I am just sitting here gaping. I love your description of their relationship; they feed on each other's emotions and destruction and I love how your characterization just felt /so/ right. And that line in the second paragraph "but even that night..." wow. Just wow. This entire story is chilling to the core and I loved every second of reading it.

-House Cup 2014 Review - Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #5, by Debra20 Mania

6th July 2011:
OHH, what a very nice piece you have done cia!

I imagine you are talking about Rodolphus here, right? A very fitting description of their relationship. I can almost feel their hatred and attraction for one another! Although it is known that she married him only to preserve the purity of blood of her family, I can't imagine never being something between them!

I enjoyed it thoroughly :D

 Report Review

Review #6, by morningstarroost Mania

25th April 2011:
thats some wedding night. "hey my lord, ive done the deed will you mark her so i can get it up again?"

 Report Review

Review #7, by TenthWeasley Mania

22nd April 2011:
WHOA, Ciara. This was, hands-down, one of the coolest fan fictions I have ever read. And in 500 words, too - that takes MAJOR talent!

I think this view of Bellatrix and Rodolphus is really interesting, and totally opposite from my own view of them - which is really, really neat for me to read about, because I love different takes on characters. You managed to tell a whole story in such few words, and conveyed everything exactly as it needed. The best bit, in my opinion, was when they were branded with the Dark Mark - you had to know what was going on to understand it, and I just love it when authors include stuff like that. :)

Your imagery blew me out of the water - it was more like painting than writing, really, and I can see exactly what you're talking about, even though you write metaphorically. I can find nothing to critique about this story. :D My mind is reeling from it a bit, so pardon me if I make no sense. Just know that I truly enjoyed reading all five hundred words of this story. :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by SeverusSnape15 Mania

22nd April 2011:
This has VERY good wording. I could write all day, and my work would never be this descriptive and realistic. Though, I only know who's in this fanfic because of the description. :) Which confused me a bit, but I caught onto who it was.

 Report Review

Review #9, by Jenna822 Mania

21st April 2011:
Oh my this was good. I've seen so many people paint these two as just a cold, untouching couple forced together by politics, but THIS was something truly realistic. Not a moment passed that I didn't find this completely proper. I love the dark and sinister feel to their relationship. It's just the kind of cold and brutal love that you'd expect from Bella. And him. Wow, he was just amazing. Loved this characterization. And I like the anonymity of them. Great work. --Jenna

 Report Review

Review #10, by Cleopatraa Mania

18th April 2011:
Great! You put so many emotions in so little words. Iím glad I decided to read it. It lured me in because itís a Bellatrix/Rodolphus and the way you made their realtionship it was so fitting the way I imagined it to be. Not love but a crazy kind of intense passion, desire, pain, loathing. Their realtionship is so twisted just as twisted as they are. The way you writed this was also amazing you wrote in a different manner instead of using the normal way you added to the sentence that little poof. I know it sounds crazy and if you donít understand what I mean just ignore it. The great thing about this story is that you could feel this raw intense emotion. It made me want to have my own twisted relationship, my own rodolphus. Only for a short time though. And now Iím just rambling and repeating things. But like I said I really liked this.

 Report Review

Review #11, by RiddlexQueen Mania

22nd February 2011:
This is unashamedly evil and I LOVE it! Perfect example of how powerful a well-written one-shot can be. I wanted to know more about them after reading this. It was gripping, chilling and your description is crazy!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I really loved writing this, they are such creepy and intense characters, they practically write themselves. Thanks so much for r&ring!

 Report Review

Review #12, by lia_2390 Mania

30th January 2011:
Holy crap! You wrote Bella/Rodolphus!!

Honestly, you continue to amaze me. This piece was beautifully written and the description was out of this world. I could feel everything. The characterisation of both characters was raw and extremely fitting. And as a Bella/Rodolphus 'shipper', I think you got them down to a 'T'. From how their relationship was described in the books, I can see something like this happening...really. This is the epitome of a 'love/hate' relationship but not in the way people may think...especially when it comes to the 'love' part.

You did a fantastic job, Ciara!

Lia

Author's Response: I did! I am trying to branch out from ONLY writing my beloved D/P.

I think when I wrote it I was actually thinking of a love/hate relationship, but rather than loving and hating one another, which is a typical version of that, Bella and Rodolphus, in my story at least, kind of have a love/hate relationship with the whole world. They just like to watch the world burn. But they take enormous pleasure from it, it makes them feel alive. It's a very twisted perspective. Which was appropriate, I thought, for Bella.

Thanks so much love! I always love your reviews :]


 Report Review

Review #13, by Indigo Seas Mania

15th January 2011:
It's not often that things will leave me speechless, but this certainly has.

Not only was your style so addicting, flawless, and gorgeous, but the way you chose your words is just breathtaking. I mean, it seems like it should be a poem, almost, but your lines are entirely prose. Still, it was really lovely. And I mean lovely as in your style, not lovely as in "what a fluffy, lovely plot!" :)

I loved the words you chose throughout, as I briefly mentioned earlier. This, for some reason, is my favorite line: "...ran his teeth against the places where where her pulse beat." You could have just said "he bit her neck" or something, but you didn't. You chose beautiful words that got your point across without being flowery while still being beautiful. And that takes definite mastery of the craft.

Anyway, I ramble. It was gorgeous. All of it.

- Rin

Author's Response: Wow, that's incredible to hear! You know, to be honest, I can't write poetry for the life of me. So that's lovely to hear :D
I think part of the reason I wrote it that way is because trying to get into Bella's head, the words come out in this weird, abstract way... I mean, she's barely sane. So I didn't want to say anything that would sound simple or commonplace.

Thank you so much darling!


 Report Review

Review #14, by winterbaby Mania

15th January 2011:
Hardly any stories I read give me chills up my spine like this one. I mean: WOW.

Yeah.

That's the only thing I can think of right now. Plus the fact that I'm so impressed by how you only used 500 words to write this!

Amazing, definitely giving you a 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Well to be honest, writing Bella, who needs more than five hundred words? Being in her head is scary.

That means a lot to me, thank you!


 Report Review

Review #15, by larosedahlia Mania

15th January 2011:
Wow! I had to read this three times through just to fully appreciate it. I love how you manage to create such a vivid scenario in so few words. Bella and Rudulphous are such an interesting pairing and you did such a wonderful job describing the hidden passion behind their twisted romance. I absolutely love this and can't wait to read more from you!

Author's Response: I have never written any Bella before, so this was a fun piece for me to write. So many people write Rodolphus as this kind of throwaway, meek, useless guy, and I didn't want to do that. For some reason the idea of Bella marrying out of duty didn't appeal to me, she's so evil, but she's also so incredibly passionate and dedicated, that I wanted her to have this really twisted, dark romance.
Thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #16, by i love you sort of Mania

14th January 2011:
i love all the description, symbolism, and irony (i just took my English midterms if you can't tell!) of this whole thing! i really really really loved it!! 10/10

Author's Response: Oh, congrats, I hope you did well! Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #17, by long_live_luna_bellatrix Mania

14th January 2011:
Wow. Very dense. A lot of emotion in so few words. And, what do you know, the part that spoke to me most was the last sentence. Meaningless, in any story, but as the finishing touch to an eloquent, passionate, short story, it really did wonders. After all the pain and chaos and loathing that they embraced, he's smiling. Wow. The bit about Bellatrix's choice to lose control was fantastic, as well. It's a fair point, and true. This was a great read, you really did well with the challenge.

Author's Response: Thank you! When I decided to do the challenge, I was immediately drawn to using a character who is so intense and hard-hitting that 500 words would be enough to actually complete a picture of them. With Bella, writing 500 words seemed like a lot, even.

I write a lot of stories about people losing control despite how desperately they cling to it. Writing about someone who chooses to throw it away was actually really refreshing.
Thanks love!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login