Reading Reviews for Undeniable
  
13 Reviews Found

Review #1, by amandatonks Undeniable

16th July 2013:
This was very beautiful. I loved seeing Tonks over the years, and how she dealt with being a Metamorphagus. And it was sweet how it was sort of mirrored with her son Teddy.

The way you narrated the story through Andromeda's eyes works perfectly. It shows how a mother sees her children for how they really are. This was short and sweet, but I think that's what makes it so lovely. It's like just a brief (yet detailed at the same time) glimpse into Andromeda's mind, as well as Tonk's life. :)

Author's Response: Thank you for the review! I'm sorry for the terribly late reply. This was one of those stories I wrote in more or less a single sitting, because I felt like it was writing itself. I'm glad you enjoyed it.

 Report Review

Review #2, by HarrietHopkirk Undeniable

16th July 2013:
AAAH THIS IS THE SADDEST THING! ANDROMEDA FICS ALWAYS ARE THE WORST BECAUSE SHE LOST SO MUCH AND AHHH THE FEELINGS AND CREYZ ... I'M SO SORRY!

But seriously, she did lose her husband and her daughter and her son-in-law, as well as her sister (and that would still hurt, I reckon, because maybe Andromeda had wanted to be finally friendly with Bellatrix before her death - I don't know, maybe some kind of resolution). And that's why Andromeda fics are the worst.

But obviously they're the worst because of that and not because your writing, which is very good and it is your skills as well as general Andromeda-ness that resulted in tears on keyboard. Your imagery, you choice of words and sentences, the second person tense - all great and brilliant and wonderful. Such a good job.

I also love how you've explored the idea of Metamorphagi. I tried to do it with Teddy as well in one of my stories, and it is really is difficult to grasp. I loved (italics for emphasis, because I think this bit was the best) how you mentioned Tonks/Teddy's interest in what they actually look like - and, how they discovered that beauty did not equal happiness. Gahh, such moving stuff.

OVERALL IT WAS WONDERFUL, WELL, WELL DONE!

Author's Response: Hahaha thank you for the review. I'm sorry that I'm replying to it embarrassingly late. This was a story that I wrote very quickly, in about one sitting, just because Andromeda's voice worked so well and I could see everything so clearly in my head. I'm glad you liked the bit about Metamorphmagi wondering what they truly look like-- I was proud of that one.

 Report Review

Review #3, by AC_rules Undeniable

4th December 2011:
Oh wow. I love what people can manage to achieve for this challenge... and this really is fabulous. At first I thought the beginning was about Teddy, but it was even more brilliant when I worked out that it was all about Tonks. Honestly, this was so heartbreaking and beautiful and poignant Ė gah, I could read it over and over. It seems fitting that Andromeda would be able to recognise her daughter, her frustration about that and the idea that she didnít know what she looked like which is just inspire and wonderful.

Owh, I just loved everything about it. I mean, so much.
-AC

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. It makes sense that for awhile in the beginning, it could be Teddy. I just chose to draw on the similarities at the end rather than at the start. ;) I'm really glad you enjoyed it, it was a spur-of-the-moment one shot and it's nice to hear its messages got across. Thanks!!

 Report Review

Review #4, by alicia and anne Undeniable

14th August 2011:
This is incredibly adorable and sad, I love that Andromeda is remaniscing about Tonks.
It's so nice to see Tonks as a child and hear about how she used to change her appearance all the time.
And I'm glad to hear that Teddy is doing that as well.
This is such a cute little story and an enjoyable read.

alicia and anne
slytherin

Author's Response: Thank you for the review! I've always hoped that Tonks (and Lupin, though he doesn't make an appearance here) live on Teddy.

 Report Review

Review #5, by TheProphecy Undeniable

30th March 2011:
Wow.

You wrote this so beautifully, at the end it made my heart wrench. I loved your descriptions of tonks from a mothers point of view and then you transferred it perfectly to Teddy.

You wrote it so perfectly, the description was amazing. The characterisation perfect. I loved it all and I have nothing to fault.

Ahh! I'm gushing again! Um, the only small fault I can point out is you spelt Blonde, Blond. Although I think in America they spell it Blond so that might just be the British in me :)

Well done, I adored this! :)

Hannah x

Author's Response: Thank you! This started out as being solely about Tonks, but then I realized that she probably would've been in Andromeda's shoes with Teddy, so I added the end.

I am American. ;) I see blonde/blond both ways here, although I think blonde is used more as a noun. Ie, "She is a blonde." I'm not too worried, but thanks for spotting that.

Thanks for the nice review!


 Report Review

Review #6, by strawberrydarhling Undeniable

5th March 2011:
Aw, this is so sweet. I don't know who the narrator is but I'm guessing she is talking about Tonks, and then at the end Teddy?

I loved this, and I admire that you could get to be exactly 500 words, I have never been able to do that :)

Megan
xx

OPERATION: GREEN WITH ENVY

Author's Response: Yep, it's Andromeda talking about Tonks and Teddy. A mother-daughter story, I suppose. I'm glad you enjoyed it! Give 500 words a try sometime; you might just surprise yourself.

 Report Review

Review #7, by Aiedail Undeniable

14th February 2011:
Iím back, and again, happy valentines day!!!

I have to be honest, here. There are very few stories that I consider to be well-crafted enough to produce tears. By manipulating a single, unexpected, and beautiful moment, there have been some that have moved my heart. Sometimes it isnít enough to be moved and my heart wants to share it with the outside world, and tears happen. But not in a bad way. And not that the tears themselves are a mark of this storyís brilliance, because it stands alone--not that if I hadnít been in a mood to produce any would it have been any less resplendent--but I thought that, at least a little, the tears did matter.

Itís hard for me to be completely intelligible after coming into contact with 500 little words like these. But Iím going to try :)

Iím a big proponent, contrary to what my lengthy chapters would tell you, of simple language. I believe that as simple language is the vehicle of basic human understanding, so too is it the vehicle of basic beauty.

You had me enraptured at the summary--I believe that I probably have an overactive maternal instinct, because Iíve always been drawn to stories from a motherís perspective and they usually make an impact. I didnít lose interest even one time throughout the short, but sweet, array of thoughts. It was really inexplicably complete.

The ending caught me off-guard (hence the crying), but it was so appropriate that it just felt right and wonderful and gave me warm-fuzzies, for lack of a more eloquent expression. I really feel that youíre a wonderful writer, and that probably no one else could have handled this as well as you.

I hope that Iím not just another one of those ones supplying you with another unhelpful review--I hope that encouragement and awe are two things that you love to receive, because honestly, theyíre all that I can give to you.

--lily

Author's Response: Don't worry, your tears do matter to me! I'm touched. It's the simple things that bring tears, after all.

It's easy to imagine complicated, eloquent language bringing meaning, but simplicity is definitely more human in many cases. Going back to this chapter, it sounds a little choppy, so I think I'll have to work on that a bit. But I'm so glad you enjoyed it. Criticism is helpful, but I won't say no to a bit of ego-inflation! These reviews are so detailed, so enthusiastic, it's clear you're putting your real thoughts into them. Thanks so much!!!


 Report Review

Review #8, by DemetersChild Undeniable

26th January 2011:
Oh, wow. This was magnificent and beautiful. 500 perfectly chosen words, not a single one out of place. I love word-count challenges because they really make the writer think about every single word.

I love that this piece never used names because it didn't have to. I absolutely adore the parallel between Tonks and Teddy, and how her mother has to go through two lifetimes of a child who doesn't quite understand. The last paragraph was the best. Andromeda not only wants her daughter to know what she knows, but she wants Tonks to be able to experience it--this spark.

The ending is beautiful and sad. It's bittersweet, but calming in a way.

The only thing that I might change would be to combine the last two sentences. "Then you would know, undeniably, as I do, that no one can escape themselves." That's how I read it, that's how it flowed to me even as two separate sentences.

This was truly beautiful. Short, sweet, and full of so much more than some of the lengthier pieces I've read. I love it.

Magically Yours,

Dem

Author's Response: Thank you! I love word count challenges too. This is at least my fourth or fifth go at the Every Word Counts challenge, even if not all of them are posted up here. It's funny, because I always start out with a small idea, knowing I don't have a lot of space for it. Then, just as often as I write 500 words really quickly, there are many times when I feel like 500 words it is a lot! It gets me working, for sure.

Thanks for the suggestion on the last sentence. It's arguably the most important part! However, even as someone who makes use of long sentences and lots of commas regularly, I still like it my way. I think it gives more weight to that last half. However, if it flowed to you as one sentence, I won't argue with that!

Thank you for the wonderful review. And you left me two more in one turn, too! Happy battling. :P


 Report Review

Review #9, by AndrinaBlack Undeniable

25th January 2011:
Wow! That was so beautiful. You captured a mother's (and grandmother's) love so beautifully and got the metamorphmagus description so right on too. I loved how she would somehow always know them and see something in them that was her or him, and how she knew that Tonks would understand it now as well if she could see Teddy. I think this is maybe a bit similar to how twins mums know the identical twins apart.

I've always wondered a bit if they have real look and somehow I believe that the metamorphmagi would have some kind of base that was themself, but I really like your interpretation too. I like the idea Andromeda had that they had to find themselves in some way because they don't have a fixed form like others. And I think it's great how you have made them both frustrated in the fact that they don't know what they look like and that they can't hide from her.

This was really really well written and very well thought out. I think you also handled the size of the story very well. You got in everything that was needed and that was just enough. Good job! I loved it!

Author's Response: I was thinking about the mother of a twin thing! I think I may have slid it in there at some point, but then deleted it because it took up too many of my precious 500 hundred words.

I think that Metamorphmagi need some sort of base, otherwise they would lose their minds. But from DH we know that they're changing their looks, voluntarily or not, from babyhood, so I also think that they need to make their own base. If they were born with a base, and they didn't like it, they wouldn't be forced to keep it like us normal people are. So they make one for themselves.

Thanks for the lovely review! I really appreciate it.


 Report Review

Review #10, by baletgir Undeniable

24th January 2011:
Aw, I loved that. It was soo sweet, and a little sad. I love that it was from Andromeda's POV. I think she is often forgotten about in FF, she could be such a great character too! I think you showed a really beautiful side to her, the mother in her.

To think about Teddy growing up with out Tonks is one thing, but to think about her missing out on seeing him grow up is just as difficult! I never realized that until now. And I really enjoyed every moment you created in these 500 words. It was amazing. And the flow through out was just beautiful! I don't think it could have been written any better! Great job!
:)BaletGir

Author's Response: Thank you for the lovely review! I love the Black sisters, and I agree Andromeda is often forgotten. I think she has a lot to say, running off with Ted, having Tonks and then having to raise Tonks' child as well. I'm glad you enjoyed it.

 Report Review

Review #11, by onestop_hpfan18 Undeniable

13th January 2011:
Ah, this was such a sweet one-shot of Andromeda recalling memories of her daughter and her various alterations of herself; right up to those last couple sentences about Teddy and how she wishes she were there to know her son. It was so sweet and made me smile. :)

Author's Response: Thank you for the review! You're right, it is sweet. A mother remembering her daughter's childhood is supposed to be sweet. It was Tonks' death, and my belief that she had some identity issues, that overshadowed the good memories.

 Report Review

Review #12, by Singularity Undeniable

12th January 2011:
This was really lovely. I think you've done a brilliant job and using those 500 words to their fullest. It's a short, simple story, but there is a lot of emotion involved. I loved the way that Andromeda described Tonks growing up and the comparisons between her and Teddy at the end. The whole idea of Andromeda always recognizing Tonks no matter what she looked like really speaks to the power of a mother/child relationship.

Well done :)

Author's Response: Thank you! Sometimes, when I reread this story, I think it sounds too plain. Other times the emotion comes back again. I think the problem is that splitting the story into paragraphs makes it lose all meaning, and only by taking it in as a whole do I remember what emotion I was trying to write. :P The Andromeda/Tonks relationship in this is a lot like the Molly/Fred and George one: the kids try to fool their mothers, but the mothers have that instinct somewhere. The kids can't see it, but if Tonks and Fred had lived, they would then have understood.

 Report Review

Review #13, by marinahill Undeniable

12th January 2011:
Oh my goodness... I don't know how I'm coherent after that. That was... incredible! Every word was so perfect and beautiful and so sad. It wasn't ridden with angst, it was quite light but there was such a sad note running through it that the last lines had such an impact. Really really beautiful, I don't know how else to say it. You really touched me with this and it was so realistic. Simplicity at its best. Superb!

Author's Response: Thanks for the spontaneous review! You know, when I was choosing a genre for this, I was really split. I didn't think it was angst at all, it was like you said, simple but sad. I ended up going with "general", I think, because I remained pretty indecisive no matter how I approached it.

I'm really, really glad you liked it so much. As I wrote it, I pictured it being really wistful and reflective, but when I reread again I thought it sounded plain and too simple. Good to know it still came across correctly. Thanks!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login