Reading Reviews for Cries in the Night
  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Sarah A Cry in the Night

26th May 2011:
This is wonderful. I love all the descriptions and the memories. You captured the closeness of Ron and Hermione perfectly. This is my favorite One-Shot so far. Its so perfect! great job!

Author's Response: Wow! Thanks so much! I'm so glad you liked it! I have a terrible weakness for reminiscences, something that seems to have escaped into my writing! I'm also addicted to descriptions ;) Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Nicole A Cry in the Night

13th February 2011:
Aww.very touching. I liked the memories tied in...

Author's Response: Thanks very much! I'm so glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #3, by annaawakening A Cry in the Night

27th January 2011:
I find myself biased against short one-shots as a general rule. 'There's no way to develop a plot in 700 words'. You my friend, are the exception to this rule. It could have gone further, no doubt about that. However this flash moment into Ron and Hermione's life is really picturesque. Another bias of mine though is Ron/Hermione so... who knows :) Bravo.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! One-Shots are good if you just have the urge to read a really quick story when (just say) you're supposed to be studying for your physics exam. But I agree that they're just plain annoying if you want to read and actual story with plot and good characters etc. Another plus for one-shots is that they're easy to write, if you're a beginner (like me!); that's probably why there are so many of them out there! Thanks for giving this story a chance... and thanks for leaving a review! You're awesome!

 Report Review

Review #4, by ekroman A Cry in the Night

25th January 2011:
Aww how cute:) I love how you portray them without names! Keep up your amazing work:)

Author's Response: Thanks again! You're so nice! I'm glad you liked how I didn't say who they were; I was testing my writing skills! I'm so happy that you've read and reviewed!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Lets All Be Squibs A Cry in the Night

23rd January 2011:
AAAW
i love it! good job! the ending was especially emotional!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm super glad that you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #6, by GryffinClawTherin_Vicky A Cry in the Night

17th January 2011:
I'm sure I've said it before, but I'll say it again. I love your writing.
This piece of prose doesn't have as many words or dialogue as your others have, but it's not needed. Your description is beautiful. Poetic, even.
I love how even on a normal night, their thoughts are on their past experiences. On times when nothing was safe. It conveys a lot of meaning. It shows, to me, that even though the war is long over their thoughts are still on Harry who helped them, on how nothing was safe, on how there wasn't a lot of happiness. It's absolutely lovely. Especially how you didn't even use dialogue to make us see this.
I knew that it was Rose was crying, but I loved how at first both Hermione and Ron thought it was something else.
Beautful piece of writing. Absolutely loved it.

Author's Response: Thank you again. Your reviews are so lovely. I'm so happy you've been enjoying my work. Originally I was going to have this story seem like it was set during the year when they were on the run, with Harry having nightmares, but then at the end have the twist that it was really Rose... but when I was writing it I thought it would convey what I was trying to say more if I wrote it like this. The lack of dialogue was an experiment of mine; I wanted to get the emotions and the storyline across with minimum speech. And it made Ron talking to his daughter just a bit more emphasized, I thought. Maybe it was just me... I think that Ron and Hermione would never really get rid of all the paranoia that grew in them during the war. Thanks again for all the spectacularly wonderful reviews.

 Report Review

Review #7, by Julie A Cry in the Night

16th January 2011:
This is so good. Your writing is so descriptive and poetic. I love it. write more. The only suggestion I would make is to like put dialogue in between the descriptions more. But honestly, it doesn't even need it. This is really great. :) keep writing!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! Most of the time I do put in more dialogue, but for this story I was trying to convey as much as I could without having the characters actually say what they were feeling. I'm definitely going to keep writing... keep your eyes open for something new :) Thanks again for such a lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #8, by RumbleroarRedvines A Cry in the Night

16th January 2011:
That was awesome! You did it really well: how they were so tense, how Ron grabbed his wand, how they were thinking about Harry. It was beautiful, I loved it!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I think that they would all be a little paranoid after what they've been through, don't you? Being woken up in the middle of the night wouldn't help either! Thanks again for reading and taking the time to review!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Ahmeni A Cry in the Night

15th January 2011:
This was a beautiful piece of prose, sensitively and elegantly written. You have such a talent for language. I shall treasure your stories and read them often.

Thanks so much!

Author's Response: No, thank YOU so much! You've got no idea how glad I am that you've taken the time to give me your thoughts on my work. Your reviews are so amazing! They've given me a lot of confidence in my writing, something that I'm in dire need of. You've helped me out a lot. Thank you times a hundred million!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Hyacinth Dursley A Cry in the Night

15th January 2011:
Short, poignant,and very well written. I like the verbal images you've written that give the history without overshadowing the present. Very enjoyable, thank you for posting it.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reviewing; it means the world to me. This story was kind of weird for me to write, because it was so short; all my other stories are at least 1000 words. I was really trying to convey their emotions with as few words as possible. It was hard, since I'm normally cramming as many adjectives into a sentence as I can! I'm glad that you thought that the past and the present in the story were balanced; I wasn't sure myself... but I thought I'd post it and see what everyone else thought! Thanks again for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Another Weasley A Cry in the Night

15th January 2011:
Beautifully written. Well done x

Author's Response: Thanks you very much for a lovely review! I'm glad you liked it :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by jkelly A Cry in the Night

14th January 2011:
I like it!!! I hope to read more from u keep it up

Author's Response: I'm very happy you enjoyed it! I've got a few other stories, if you're absolutely dying to read more, and I may put a few more out there. It depends if I ever have time to finish them... Thanks for a great review!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login