Reading Reviews for This Ends Today
  
55 Reviews Found

Review #1, by TotallyNotVernonDursleyInDisguise Perspectives

1st April 2014:
You gave me shivers!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading! (Though I'm interested in how the April Fool's Day filters played into your enjoyment of this story. I can imagine a bit of the dramatic value was lost when Harry became Hash Browns :P)

Love the username!


 Report Review

Review #2, by Tino Perspectives

20th August 2013:
It was intelligently written especially Luna's part.

Author's Response: Thank you, I'm really glad you enjoyed it :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Siriusly89 Perspectives

8th December 2012:
Hi there! Siriusly89 here, repaying you for the wonderful review you left me in the review swap :)

Molly calling Harry her son almost moved me to tears! Really and truly! And how she stalled her mourning, and kind of got a small bit. . . . . dare I say it angry! I loved her 'don't you mess with me' attitude! And then Ron's memories were so heartbreaking, one part I particularly loved was when he said he wasn't some fantastic hero, that he was just Harry! And then your description of his anger to all of Voldemorts lies was just spot on! Hagrids piece was just. . . . . there aren't words! The first two pieces had ended with Molly and Ron getting angry, but Hagrid was just so hopeless, and it almost made me cry when he said that he'd tell everyone how brave he was! That was just ahhh! No words! Hermione's memory was really well chosen! And her calling his a generally terrible, moody student prone to getting into trouble was just so Hermione-ish! And I seriously love her for it :) Mc Gonnagals piece was very true to character! It was emotional, but not overly so, and I think that just describes her to a T :P Ginny's piece was true to character as well! She is firey and passionate, and your first line was pure genius! I laughed a little when I read it! Draco's piece was very good! He obviously wouldn't be sobbing all over Harry's body, but I always believed he would be a little shocked to hear of Harry's death! And you portrayed that perfectly! Neville's piece was just perfect! It showed him as the brave person he was! Luna's piece just blew me away! She was never one to get upset, and her calm demeanor when everyone had lost their heads around her reminded me of why she is one of my favourite characters! I love how she didn't go crazy and start shouting when she saw Harry, because to be honest, it wouldn't have been true to her character, instead she took a closer look, and that is why she was the only one to realise he was still alive! You got her particular way of looking at the world just perfect! And that is why I just have to favourte this story!

Happy Holiday Review! :)

Author's Response: Sorry for taking so long to get back to you on this. I hope you had a good holiday.

Wow, thanks for such a lovely review. I really appreciate that you took the time to comment on each of the sections. That part in Hermione's is actually one of my favorite lines in this story, so thanks for mentioning it :P Also, I'm glad you thought McGonagall's was true to character. I have a tendency to be overly dramatic and sentimental so I'm glad you didn't find hers to be overly emotional.

Thanks again for all of your kind remarks! I really appreciate them :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by Debra20 Perspectives

19th July 2012:
Hey Jennifer! I would like to say that you killed me tonight. In a very pleasant and sad way though. This story is surreal. I have honestly been left totally speechless. I have no beginning and no end for a coherent review that could match up to the brilliancy of this little one shot. I will try my best to just express my feelings and thoughts about it.

Overall: heart wrenching. It's the kind of story I've been looking all over this Archives for. I always crave for missing moments and finding a story that explores what at least part of the characters felt when they were told Harry died was one of my most ardent desires. I can truly die happy now.

The length of the little snap shots incorporated are not too long and not too short. They are wisely chosen for each character in part. Even though this one shot is comprised of 9 different characters thoughts, there is a general flow about the story that runs very smoothly. I particularly loved how each and every single one of them ended their trail of introspection with the resolve to carry on. Continue fighting. It's not easy. When you've lost so much and think that there is no reason left to continue fighting, finding the needed strength to do so is not common for many. Thus, when we do encounter examples of this force of life, we should appreciate it at it's best.

Mrs Weasley. I think this one is the saddest of all. At least for me. I'm not a mother yet but I sincerely cannot imagine how hard it is to lose a child. As she says, Harry wasn't her son but she loved him so much that in the end, he might as well could call her mother. She has been a mother figure for him, and we have witnessed countless instants when she almost seems to care more for Him than her own children. Maybe because Harry was carrying the heaviest burden of them all on his shoulders. This is one of the reasons I find Molly's story heartbreaking.

Ron and Hermione. I couldn't expect less from them. Loyal friends until the end. I wished they wouldn't blame themselves but in a way I understand. You always blame yourself when a tragedy happens and you think you could have done something to prevent it. Yes, they had to see it coming but also, who can stop Harry when he makes up his mind about something? I really enjoyed that they searched for comfort in each other. Support is always the best in these kind of moments. "a relatively terrible student with a proclivity for moodiness and getting into trouble" - this line is SO much like Hermione that it made me smile amidst the tears prickling down.

McGonagall: In terms of the intensity of feelings transmitted McGonagall must be my second top, after Molly. I have always enjoyed reading the interactions between Minerva and Harry. I have had teachers like her that taught me more than I could ever thank them. A really tight bond is created when you share the same passion (and we could say one of the passions they shared was Quidditch - albeit, for different reasons clearly). When I read Deathly Hallows the first time and saw that it was she who yelled 'NO' with such distress, I couldn't go on reading. I am immensely grateful that you portrayed her as well. A spot on characterisation. Tear jerking all the way through.

Ginny. I don't now what I could say about Ginny really. Even though they shared very sweet movements, I have always felt their relationship just bloomed out of thin air. Nonetheless, he was her love interest so seeing her hurt this way was very painful for the reader as well. Again, well done!

Draco. Well, Draco was plain Draco. I ADORED how you portrayed him. You couldn't have stayed truer to the way JK wrote him. A bit cowardly, but who's to say everyone that points a finger at the coward ones from the books (Peter) wouldn't do the same if they were put in the same extreme situations. It's very easy to point fingers and accuse someone of different acts but everyone seems to be forgetting that we all react differently to events in our lives. And courage in the Harry Potter series is very much romanticised. I can't believe there are many people around that would do what the characters have been capable of doing.

Neville. My baaaby! I'm sorry for this reaction but I have grown to care so much for this boy. The first time I read the series I didn't pay that much attention to him, but re-reading them I had time to pay attention to other things than the general plot line and Harry. And I have grown to love Neville. We all know that he was the first to stand up to Voldemort after the moment he had announced the boy's death, and having had the opportunity to read about what he might have felt in those previous moments is simply incredible.

Luna. Luna is a very difficult character to get a good grasp on, but you make it seem effortlessly. I don't know if it's true, but she comes very natural and in character to you. I couldn't have imagined a better person to have a suspicion that Harry was not really dead and follow her instincts until proving Voldemort differently.

Hagrid. I missed him earlier. Tried to write everyone in order but I got messed up. Hagrid's little snap shot is indeed heart wrenching because he was the only one who was there when it all happened. He had to sit and watch a friend being murdered. I can't fathom how hard that must have been. I could never be sane again if I had to watch a scene like that. The guilt would churn my insides for the rest of my life. I couldn't live with myself knowing that I was helpless. That he had been a few yards away from me and yet I was useless. This sole reason made Hagrid's tale much harder to read.

I can't really express in words how I loved this story. There is something in the way you word your images, how it seems you always choose the words with most impact. Your style resembles JK's a whole lot.

Thanks for reading my rambling

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much for the absolutely amazing review! I'm sorry that it's taken me so long to respond.

I can't even tell you how much this review means to me. It's so amazingly sweet. :* I'm so glad that you enjoyed this story so much and took the time to leave such a long and heartfelt review. You are absolutely fantastic!

I love Molly as a character. She's so complex and real. On one hand, she's this weepy mother who spends most of her time in the kitchen, fretting over her family, while on the other, she's this incredibly strong pillar of support and a very talented and powerful witch. Her relationship with Harry was also really interesting, and I really enjoy writing it.

Ron and Hermione are the two povs that I started out writing. I'm so glad that you liked that line. I really like it myself and I love when reviewers pick out their favorite lines :)

It really caught me off guard when it was McGonagall who first yelled in DH. I, like Harry, had really overlooked how much she obviously cared for him. She's another character (like Molly) who has this wonderful hard and soft to her. Her section might actually be my favorite. I have never written her before, so I'm glad you found her to be in character.

I'm in the minority, but I always really liked Harry and Ginny's relationship. I thought it made sense and worked well in the books.

Thank you so much for the compliments about Draco. I had never written him before either, and was really concerned over the reaction this section would receive. You make a really good point. Draco was put into an extremely difficult situation, and in that situation, I can't guarantee that I would make any better decisions than he did. I definitley do not have Gryffindor courage, that's for sure.

Neville is my very favorite character. I've loved him since the beginning and was so excited when he finally got the recognition he deserved in DH. I'm glad that you like him as well.

Luna is a very difficult character, indeed. I shied away from writing her for awhile because I like her so much and was very much afraid of ruining her. So thank you very much for the compliments. I'm glad she seemed natural and in character.

Hagrid is really in the worst situation here (with the possible exception of Harry himself). I can't imagine how horrible that would be.

Thank you again for taking the time to read this story and leave such an incredible review. It means the world to me :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by BKL8008 Perspectives

3rd April 2012:
This is probably one of the most wrenching and emotionally draining pieces I have ever read. That's not criticism, by the way. Anyone who has lost a loved one can truly appreciate the sentiment in this, sadly left out of canon perhaps because of space constraints. I don't even know where to begin. I think the analysis of Draco's predicament is the best original concept. One would never expect such remorse from him, although canon hinted oh so vaguely at something like it. McGonagall's is next, but the one with the most effect is Molly. Anyone who has ever seen a mother react to news of her son's death, at the moment of announcement, can surely know what she is going through. I have no more words for this piece. It was excellent, although draining - just as it should be.

Author's Response: Wow, that's such a wonderful compliment...I don't even know what to say. Thank you.

This is the first time I had ever written Draco, so I wasn't sure how my portrayal of him would go over. I always wanted redemption for Draco. Before DH came out, I had this glorious image in my head that Draco would see the error of his ways and be instrumental in the downfall of Voldy. In retrospect, that's far too out of character for him and would never happen. I think this little bit of remorse is maybe the best we can hope for. Deep down, Draco is a coward who is only beginning to find his courage, at least, that's how I see him.

McGonagall is a great character and her section was really one of my favorites to write. She's got this tough outer shell and is a extremely formidable witch, but inside, she's an old softy, especially when it comes to Harry. I loved that she was the first one to cry out at Harry's death.

With Molly's section, I was really just hoping to demonstrate that she saw no difference between Fred's death and Harry's. She was equally crushed by both because she considered them both equally her children. I've always loved Molly and Harry's relationship, though I've only written it once or twice. I'm really glad you found her section so poignant.

Sorry, I have a tendency to ramble on in review responses. Thank you so much for this review and for all the others you left. It really made my day to see so many from you :D


 Report Review

Review #6, by Hippothestrowl Perspectives

25th January 2012:
Brilliant. Stays with original fiction. Believable. I also like the idea that Luna would not believe it as that fits something she refuses to accept in my own story. Excellent Work.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing. I really appreciate it. I'm especially glad you liked the bit about Luna. She's one of my favorite characters, but also one of the ones that I find hardest to write. Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #7, by ForeveReveille12 Perspectives

8th January 2012:
So perfect.
You obviously know the characters well :)
It's like you opened my brain, pulled out everything I understood about Ron, Hermione, Draco, Luna, Ginny, Hagrid, Molly, George and Professor McGonagall and put it in writing.

Nothing but admiration for you!

Author's Response: Wow, what great compliments. Thank you so much! I'm really glad that you enjoyed this story and the characterizations. Thanks for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #8, by potter_epic_riddle Perspectives

3rd January 2012:
Wow...I'm crying...this is breathtaking...literally...

Author's Response: *hands tissues* Thank you for reading and for the kind remarks.

 Report Review

Review #9, by letters Perspectives

30th December 2011:
I can't say that I'm a huge fan of one-shots. They often make me feel wanting more, but they are one chapter that well I usually am a little frustrated with. So when I do read them, I find myself scoffing at myself. You are an amazing writer and I hope that you continue to do so because if this shows any of your talent than you are extremely talented. Keep writing.

Author's Response: Aww, one-shots are my favorite! (You can probably tell that if you look at my author's page :P) I'm glad you enjoyed this story. Thank you so much for reading and taking the time to leave a review.

 Report Review

Review #10, by Moonyxluna Perspectives

30th December 2011:
Wow. just. wow.
I think you captured every one of these characters so beautifully.
I'd have to say my favorite was either Ron's or Luna.
Brilliant job.

Author's Response: Thanks for your review! I love hearing which section was people's favorites, so thanks for sharing!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Dreaming_of_Daisies Perspectives

30th November 2011:
I just about burst into tears at this! It's beautifully written and I like the concept, I think you captured Ron, Hermione, Neville and Luna perfectly, and I am extremely impressed :)

9/10 xD ~ Alice x

Author's Response: Aww, *hands you tissues* Thank you so much! I'm glad that you liked it and thought that the characters were portrayed well. I really appreciate you reading and taking the time to review :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by sydne Perspectives

18th October 2011:
this story put tears in my eyes. the emotion that you captured was awesome, great work!!!

Author's Response: Aww, thank you so much for reading and reviewing. I'm glad that you liked this story :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by parashar_harry Perspectives

13th October 2011:
hiii
i was searching for one shot when i stuck with ur one shot true grffindor as i finished that one i knew that i have just found out one of the best author. the way u have portrayed neville in that one is amazing .
so i went for ur another story and now i am going to read all ur fiction.
coming to this one what to say !! just one line " i forgot that it is written by singularity , i thought that i am reading again the great j k rowling work."
even though it is a collection u have attached all the part very well .
molly was the best to start the story. it was so touching when she said that " Iíve already lost one son, shouldnít that be enough? "
what to say about the ron feeling owo my god that was fabulous. u have described his feeling best.
hermoine - i was also feeling sorry for her as harry was like his brother.
coming to ginny - the main thing about her was that u didn't forget her angry side. and so touching was that when she thought how her dream shattered.
the most surprising one was draco one ( he is my one of the fav)
luna make me smile


just thinking what sybill was thinking ( may be " oh at last i predicted his death correctly isn't it?) hahahaha
thankyou very much for this amazing one shot
parashar

Author's Response: Hi :) Thanks for reading and reviewing. There are so many amazing stories and authors around this site. I'm sure if you keep looking, you'll find many more :)

I'm glad you stumbled upon my stories though, and that you seem to like them so much :) I would love it if you read all of my stories!

I think you're right that writing a bit about Sybill would be hilarious :P Doesn't really fit with the rest of the story, but could be a fun one-shot or something :P

Thank you so much for all of your kind words and thanks for reading!


 Report Review

Review #14, by The Last Marauder Perspectives

4th October 2011:
Oh wow! I loved EVERYTHING about this! The very idea itself is brilliant, so simple, yet brilliant! I loved how Molly grieved as though Harry were her own son. I loved how Ron saw Harry the man, his best-mate, his brother, not Harry the hero. Hagrid's piece gave me chills, really did, had goosebumps while I read it! McGonagall's bit was also really moving, just perfect! I think you had her spot on! Draco's piece was the most interesting of all really, I really liked the Draco you portrayed! I liked how while he hates Harry, he realises that he didn't deserve to die.

What I really liked though, is that while you show several people's grief for Harry, it didn't get repetitive. Each person's grief is their own, I like how you personalised it. It is very easy, in a fic like this, to end up getting very repetitive, but you haven't fallen into this hole, which is brilliant!

I love the refrain: This Ends Today. It's a great end to each chapter and it links each little piece together brilliantly!

I think all your characterisation is spot on, I can't fault it! I will just tell yah that Ron's piece is my favourite, I just think it's both beautifully written and very moving!

Anyway this fic is great and I can't wait to read some more of your stuff!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm really glad that you enjoyed it. When I first wrote this, I worried a lot that the sections were too similar and it would feel repetitive, so I'm glad it didn't seem that way to you.

I'm also really glad that you liked Ron's section. I adore writing Ron and am working on a short story/collection about him and Harry at the moment. I would say that it is one of my favorite sections, but I think that looking through my other comment responses, I've probably said that about most of the sections by now. Oh well, I do love Ron's section, because I love Harry and Ron's relationship. It's real. In life, we often don't have people who are always there and never let us down. No, we fight over stupid things, we stop talking and avoid each other, then we get over it, apologize, and make up. That's kind of how friendships work, to varying extents :)

Sorry, I'm a rambler :P Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!



 Report Review

Review #15, by april_dahlia Perspectives

3rd October 2011:
hahahaha! All i was thinking was WOW and then I saw Luna's thoughts and I'm thinking, yeah of course Luna would notice that!! Nice one!

Author's Response: I figured if anyone would notice Harry was just faking, it would be Luna. She always sees things that others overlook (often because they don't exist, but you know..;)) Thanks for reading!

 Report Review

Review #16, by applecake Perspectives

3rd October 2011:
Oh wow, I really love this! This is one of my favorite oneshots of all time :D
All the characters were stop on- it didnt feel weird or out place like it sometimes can be with our canon/main characters because we just know them so well, but this was really good!
I love the feeling this gave me- that all of those people were sad not because they lost a hero or whatever he might be for them- but a good person. At least that was I got from this :P
So again, wonderful ! Thank you

Author's Response: Thank you for such a great compliment. That's really sweet of you. I'm glad the characters didn't seem weird or out of canon.

That's what I was trying to go for, so I'm glad you liked that feel. Obviously, most of the characters knew that Harry was 'The Chosen One' and the one prophesied to defeat Voldemort, but that came second to the fact that he was Harry. They knew and loved Harry the man, not Harry the hero (with the exception of Draco, who didn't like Harry in any form ;))

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #17, by teamdobby Perspectives

2nd October 2011:
I thought this one-shot was brilliant! You wrote the characters very realistically and gave me an insight to what happened after Harry was announced "dead". My favourite characters were probably Luna and Draco, as they were extremely Canon Luna being open minded and seeing through Harry's "death" and Malfoy not really caring about what happens anymore and just wanting to be with his family. This is one of the best one shots I've ever read and I'll be checking out your other stories! Well done :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! I'm glad you thought the characters seemed to be in canon. I try really hard to keep them in canon. I'm especially glad that you liked Draco and Luna's sections. I've never written Draco before, so I wasn't completely sure how well I had done, and Luna is one of my favorite characters, so I'm always afraid of messing her up.

Thanks again for your review! I'd love for you to check out some of my other stories. Let me know what you think if you get the chance :)


 Report Review

Review #18, by Astra Perspectives

2nd October 2011:
I. Am. In. Love. With. This.

I'm shocked on how this simple one-shot could hold practically the power of a novel, but it truly is amazing. The characters are realistic, and I compliment you for not changing their personalities in the least, as most people seem to do. I am left purely amazed by this. This reflects on the characters Jo made us know and love, and you haven't changed them a bit. It takes a lot of skill to write out so many characters so right.

Brilliant.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! I put a lot of effort into characterizations, so I'm really glad that you thought I got them right.

 Report Review

Review #19, by TheTenthWeasley Perspectives

2nd October 2011:
This was wonderfully written. I can't even put into words how heartfelt and moving it was.
Brilliant job.

Author's Response: Thank you for such a sweet review. So glad you liked it :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by marinahill Perspectives

30th September 2011:
Oh my gosh, this was superb! (happy QTR anniversary, by the way :) )

You write canon better than any other author, and that's why you're one of my all-time favourites. I honestly spent a lot of time trying to figure out if there were more quotes from the book than there actually were.

I believed every word, the characters came to life so easily and they're just as I imagined them from the books. You put them onto paper so easily, it's astounding.

I empathised with all of the characters you included here. Molly lost another son, and Arthur comforted her in the only way he could have done, it was so touching. And Draco... he was the right left of selfish and self-centred, the fact that if the chosen one couldnt do it then they were all doomed. You spun the repeating phrase "it all ends today" to give it so many individual meanings for all the characters. It was truly marvellous.

Wonderful writing, this was so beautiful.

Marina

Author's Response: Happy QtR Anniversary to you as well! *throws confetti*

I'm super excited that you got my name. Thanks so much for the reviews! You leave really excellent ones, so I feel very special :*

Am I really one of your favorites? *squee* That makes me ridiculously excited :D Thank you for saying that! I work really hard to make my stories and characters fit into canon, so it really means a lot when people think that I do that well. Seriously, I'm grinning like an idiot as I type this. :P

I had never written Draco before, so I'm glad you chose to talk about him a little. I also sometimes worry that this gets a bit repetitive and redundant by the end, especially with repeating the "This Ends Today", so I'm glad you thought it was spun in different directions and that you could empathize with them all.

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing. It made my day :D


 Report Review

Review #21, by kjp Perspectives

25th September 2011:
i keep coming back to this story, i don't know how you wrote it but its amazing. I nearly cried reading this, its all to emotional

Author's Response: Thanks :) I'm really glad that you enjoyed this story enough to read it more than once. It means a lot. Thanks for your review!

 Report Review

Review #22, by purpleflower818 Perspectives

22nd September 2011:
Brilliant, beautifully written

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and reviewing. I'm so glad you enjoyed this.

 Report Review

Review #23, by Amanda Perspectives

13th September 2011:
This is so beautiful. I loved each perspective of the story. Many of them made me cry. I could hear each voice in my ears and I especially loved reading Luna's side of the story. She has such a graceful and calm demeanor and it was written so true to character. This is just wonderful.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading and reviewing, Amanda. I'm really glad that you enjoyed this story and thought that the perspectives seemed true to character.

 Report Review

Review #24, by kjp Perspectives

8th September 2011:
wow! that is so amazing! i love it. This is so good. please write another story soon

Author's Response: Thank you for reading! I'm really glad you enjoyed it :) I've written several other stories if you'd like to check them out, and am constantly working on more :P

 Report Review

Review #25, by Woodrow Rynne Perspectives

8th September 2011:
Hey, :)

This is a really nice story you got there. I loved the way you stole the missing moment in DH and described everyone's reactions. Your summary is really, really powerful and that is what drew me to this :). The characterisation was really great too! :)

A few problems I had with this, though. The emotions and the inner thoughts you conveyed weren't exactly hard-hitting for me. Of course, that might just have been a personal preference, but I still found them a li'l off. I mean saying 'Ginny's heart sank' seems like an understatement of sorts. I mean, shouldn't she have been shocked and even more pained to know that Harry had walked to his own death? And Ron saying continuously that Harry was his brother seemed a little formal and soap- operaish to me.

Sorry, if that came out as a little harsh, but I do like this a lot apart from that, and I do applaud you for your creativity. :)

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing.

I always think that I stink at summaries, so I'm glad that you thought this one was good, and it made you want to read the story. I'm also glad that you liked the idea of the story and thought the characterization was mostly good.

I don't think you sounded harsh, and I appreciate your honesty. I'll look back through the story, especially at those bits and see if there's something I could do to make it a little more realistic.

Thanks again for your review :)

~Singularity


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>