Reading Reviews for In the Air
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by academica In the Air

20th August 2012:
I don't know that I necessarily saw this as funny, but it was very cute and fluffy. I don't know that I've ever read anything where Rose and Scorpius are so normal. I honestly can't tell whether she has true feelings for him or if they're an item, but I know for certain that he means a lot to her and that they're very good friends. It's very nice to get away from all the typical ScoRose drama and angst.

I loved the imagery inside the airport and the way Rose thought about Scorpius constantly, in terms of how he would handle Africa and how he was doing. I especially liked the line about how the otherwise ordinary skies contained him at the moment, and thus they were special to Rose.

I'm planning to do seven chapters total to match what's currently posted on Post Scriptum. I'll see you later this week when I finish the rest :)

-Amanda

 Report Review

Review #2, by SereneChaos In the Air

8th August 2012:
Ah! So short but so sweet! The challenge is great, and what you've done with it is even better! I definitely feel that you did not waste words at all, and even though there was not much interaction between characters, you told a whole story about how Rose feels about Scorpius.

Plus, I loved how witty your story summary was, ahaha.

Good work!

Author's Response: Hey there, thanks for the review!

The summery was actually the first thing I came up with for this story, and then I built everything up from there. Glad to hear that it does feel like an entire story even though it is so short!

Thanks again for taking the time to R&R!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Maybe In the Air

18th July 2012:
Aw, I think this is so cute. Rose worrying about Scorpius while he's so far away - aww! And the idea that he is a Malfoy and so therefore would not be able to handle anything like this. Hehe, and him being seduced in Africa by someone wanting a cushy life. The things that go through Rose's mind are so random and I liked this little glimpse into her random thought processes :)

-Maybe

Author's Response: Hey there, thanks for the review!! Rose is a bit mad, but she does care for Scorpius quite a bit :)

Glad to hear you enjoyed this!


 Report Review

Review #4, by daliha In the Air

29th December 2011:
I liked this piece a lot and I found myself wanting it to be longer :) I like how in such a short you managed to show us Rose's personality. Still I wish we would have gotten to see the reunion!

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm glad you enjoyed this! It was hard keeping this down to 500 words for the challenge, and I did imagine how the reunion would go while I was writing. Maybe one day I'll find the inspiration to write it out! Thanks again for taking the time to review!!

 Report Review

Review #5, by ericajen In the Air

6th March 2011:
HAIMARY.

This was pretty cute. I mean, let's not lie, Rose and Scorpius can be pretty cute (since Scorpius is super hot and everything :P).

I liked that it was just like a little moment in time. Just a snippet of their lives, yet it reflected a lot about them and their relationship. Without saying so, it's obvious that they really care for each other and love each other and are digustingly adorable.

And you said this is supposed to be funny and I am here to say that it is. Not in the "LOL HAHAHA LAWLZ OMG" type of way, but in it's own way it's like. I don't know. I can't think of the words. It's like funny in how Rose and Scorpius are? Like their characters. They're funny because of the way Rose is so attached to him and the way Scorpius stubbornly goes on this trip. MAYBE THAT MADE SENSE?

:D

Erica.

Author's Response: ERICA, I LOVE YOU -HUG-

It didn't make sense, because you are probably the only person in the world that actually found this funny. My humour was a major fail here, but if you got it anyway then YAY because it amused you!

Rose and Scorpius are disgustingly adorable, so it is probably for the best that you don't get to actually see them interact - you'd probably get sick from the high levels of cuteness that would result.

Thanks so much for taking the time to read a review this! -heart-


 Report Review

Review #6, by Pepper Finn In the Air

6th March 2011:
I like the story, but I feel somewhat unresolved by the ending. Does she realise she loves him? Does he care for her? Or are they two friends finally glad to see each other again after a long absence?

But that is also part of the appeal, you can interpret it any way you like.

Excellent spelling and grammar, nice flow, I enjoyed it.

Love Pepper

Author's Response: Hi there, and thank you for the review! I actually meant for the ending to come across as vague and unresolved that it did. Like you said, part of the fun is being left wondering whether or not she loves him? Does she know it?

Thanks again for taking the time to stop by and review!


 Report Review

Review #7, by marinahill In the Air

25th February 2011:
It always amazes me how much you can put into 500 words. I didn't feel like you were short on words, it didn't feel rushed either. The pace was nice and slow and in a few words you built up a history and relationship between Rose and Scorpius and it was really really well written. I want to assume that they're just friends and I prefer it that way because it's boring for them to be paired together all the time. You wrote their friendship beautifully and realistically through Rose's worries for Scorpius.

Lovely :D

Marina

Author's Response: Awww, thank you, Marina! I've always approached writing as telling a story, and not thought at all about word counts and such, so this challenge was kind of approaching it all backwards to me. I really wanted to explore the relationship between Rose and Scorpius with this one-shot without labelling it. They could be just friends (and that's what they are in my mind), or they could be lovers, or it could be a combination of the two.

Thanks again, Marina, for such a lovey review!! xoxo


 Report Review

Review #8, by Care of Magical Creatures In the Air

15th February 2011:
I like it. It Grabbed my attention, and made me want more. :)

Author's Response: Thank you for the review, I'm glad to hear I was able to grab your attention!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Indigo Seas In the Air

15th January 2011:
I really, really like this. I think I've been using that a lot, "really." But anyway, it was really, really good. :)

I don't know why, but for some reason the "flash of gold [that] darted closer" really stuck with me. Maybe it's because I've rarely heard Scorpius as being described as "gold," be the author talking about hair or jewelry or skin or what-have-you. Or maybe it's because of the use of the word "darted." That word is far too underused, in my opinion. I really (again!) like it.

Anyway, it was amazing. It's mind blowing to see what people can do with so little a word count. Here, you've displayed emotion and presented characters and outlined a plot and everything! Magnificent job.

xx Rin

Author's Response: Rin! Thank you so much for another amazing review! I'm so sorry for the long wait with the reply, but real life has been severely limiting my online time lately. You are so sweet, and your reviews just make me grin!

It's funny, I've hardly heard Scorp described as "golden" either but that was the first thing that came to mind when I was writing this. Strange how the brain works, isn't it? Also, so agree with you on the word "darted." It is far to underused.

Thanks again for such a wonderful review!
xoxoxox


 Report Review

Review #10, by MusicOfTheNight In the Air

11th January 2011:
Aww, this is so cute.
I love the idea of Scorpius going to Africa on a plane- because it is so unlike him. And i like how pessimistic Rose is about it.
It was very well written, and so cute. I can tell Rose is in love with him, even though you only wrote it in 500 words, and never directly said it. That is hard to accomplish, i really like it!

Author's Response: Hi there! Thanks for checking this out, I'm so glad that you enjoyed this, and that you think I did your idea justice!

Rose is rather pessimistic about the whole thing, but it's mostly because she is so obviously in love with dear Scorpius, and unfortunately has no idea of the fact. She has the "just friends" label stuck in her head, despite having distinctly "more than friends" feelings. She just doesn't take the whole thing very well.

Anyway, so glad you enjoyed. Thanks again for a lovely review :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login