Reading Reviews for The Brightening Glance
  
15 Reviews Found

Review #1, by hp_gwrocks "I'm not one of those who can easily hide"

29th April 2011:
ahah i love this chapter. so sweet and simple. :)

Author's Response: hey! thanks, thats really what i was going for. glad you like it so much! :D

 Report Review

Review #2, by BellaFan202 "It's a little bit funny, this feeling inside"

27th March 2011:
Hey! I'm here with your review swap review! I'm gonna review this chapter for review swap, the next for part of your second place prize from my challenge and then review a one-shot for the last part of your prize. :)

So, on with the review! :)

I think you really captured Ginny's emotions AND personality, which, for me, is really hard to do. I, personally, think she's a really complex character.

I did find a mistake: "Her words became the language of romantic muggle films, completely contrived and not really meaningful at all" The word "Muggle" should always be capitalized.

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks for that! Oh and for catching the mistake, I should fix that!

So glad I got Ginny right - this fic is about characters more than anything else, and Ginny ad harry are so intimidating to write!

thanks again, hope you liked it! :D


 Report Review

Review #3, by NeverGotHerLetter "I'm not one of those who can easily hide"

12th March 2011:
This chapter was so sweet too :) You perfectly captured Harry's awkwardness while having to do an interview, and I think his response to the final question was great. Couple things for CC: You should check over it for spelling, there were a few small mistakes, and also the spacing was a little iffy. Just edit it using the Paste as Plain Text button, or the Simple Editor to fix it up. Anyway I think the song was perfect to go with this too! I listened to the Ellie Goulding version while reading, and it made the experience really nice. I really really loved it :) Well done! 10/10 x

Author's Response: Hey! first off, glad you listened to the song while reading - since im so into music, i really think my stories work better with the music that inspires them in mind :)

Hehe I'm glad I got the awkwardness right, poor harry!

Thanks for the CC, I really love getting it! I'll def have a look and edit!!

So so so glad you liked it! I'm so flattered! Thankies for going to the trouble to read and review! :D xxx


 Report Review

Review #4, by NeverGotHerLetter "It's a little bit funny, this feeling inside"

12th March 2011:
Hey!
This was really really sweet :)
It gave a great detailed insight in to Ginny, something I've never seen before.
I think your Ginny was really good, very canon and really believable. The fact that she knew she was lying in her letter to Dean really stood out for me and really made me believe your writing on her characterisation.
One little bit of CC: Is Harry really that stubborn? I mean, he is when he needs to save someone, as Hermione said in OotP, he has a "saving people thing" but is he stubborn?
Anyway, I really liked this story and your characterisation of Ginny was just perfect in my opinion. I think I just might go and read and review your second chapter after I do Sarah's review for the swap ;)
Can't wait to read the next chappie though!
~NeverGotHerLetter x x x x x x x x

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks so much for the review! Just getting to yours now, so sorry for the delay!

Thanks so much - I've always loved Ginny, and wanted to do her justice here. I always felt really sorry for her and dean - though i think she liked him, it was always harry... I also wonder did he know this too (dean i mean), id say so.
Personally, I always thought he was stubborn, but maybe thats just me! Perhaps I shouldnt have stressed that too much!

Wow, thanks! You really didnt have to review (though im so happy you did!)
I am actually delighted you liked this!!! :D xxx


 Report Review

Review #5, by adahpfan "I'm not one of those who can easily hide"

10th March 2011:
brilliant harry/ginny-sequel??! you might think about breaking up the chapters more so that they are easier to read...

9/10

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for taking the time to review, and I'm so glad that you liked it! I'm not planning a sequel, but my fics are all consistent with one another and so "Trains, Tea and Engagement Rings" is kind of like one!

Good point, I'll consider it - I am a bit more useed to fanfic now.

Thanks again, so lovely to get a review :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by Bitterblue "I'm not one of those who can easily hide"

19th February 2011:
I'm here to fulfill your reviewing wishes!!
Awww, so cute!!! I really haven't read a Harry/Ginny in a while, so this is kind of like a breath of fresh air. I really really like this fic! I am so adding to favorites! You rock my socks!
10/10

Author's Response: Oh! Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! Glad you liked this so much, you've really made my day with the review, thanks again so much :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by Aderyn "I'm not one of those who can easily hide"

10th February 2011:
Hello again.

This chapter is much better than the first, which is impressive. I really like your writing style, it's sentimental, without being saccharine.

I like how this chapter is told from Harry's perspective. Good job again keeping things canon (Hermione at Hogwarts, Ron at the Joke Shop). I wish you'd focused a bit more on how Harry feels about that- he's probably very lonely. I also like the scenario of the chapter-the interview.

You do a pretty good job of capturing Harry's character. The only small thing I have to say is that at points the descriptions are a bit much for him. Don't get me wrong, they're gorgeous writing, I'm just not sure if that's how sentimental Harry would be.

Overall, though, this is fantastic. If you're going to write more, let me know when it's up and I'll be happy to review.

Author's Response: Hi! I much preferred this chapter, and I'm glad you think it has moved forward. I really struggled with the writing - I has made it clear in the firsst chapter that I didn't want to be too sentimental - though I think I may be secretly quite sentimental myself!

Thanks for saying that you'd like to see my emphasise Harry's lonliness more. At some point I might edit and stress this a little more. I thought it would be interesting to have the story told from both sides, and I'm glad you agree.

True - the language here is probably a bit too romantic for Harry, though I think here he's just letting himself go and think all the sentimental thoughts he never had time for when fighting voldemort - though perhaps i should justify this when I edit.

It really means a lot that you not only reviewed, but enjoyed it. I most certainly will be plaguing you for more! :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by Aderyn "It's a little bit funny, this feeling inside"

10th February 2011:
Hello, I'm here for your review.

So, I quite like this. Your Ginny is very real and you've done a great job adding details that seem canon to me. The entire premise is interesting, Ginny thinking of Harry while writing a "love letter" to Dean. It makes me wonder if Ginny ever even liked Dean.

This line: "Perhaps this was why the letter to Dean was coming on so nicely – she didn’t mean a word of it." is my favorite in this chapter. It really sums up the entire point and is quite poignant. I feel sorry for Ginny, but can also sympathize with her.

Overall, this is a good start. I"m interested to see where you take this next.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! sorry I didnt seem to submit my response with the other one. I'm really glad you liked it, and you liked Ginny. I still havn't made up about how much she liked him, so I left that open here.

Anyway, thanks!!! :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by firefly910 "I'm not one of those who can easily hide"

10th February 2011:
Back with your other review :)

I LOVED this chapter.
It was so well written.
The way you use language is excellent.
I loved the way you described Ginny's eyes.

Harry was so sweet in this chapter.
You captured his emotions for Ginny brilliantly.
The last sentence was amazing!

You deserve a massive round of applause for making me like a story with Harry/Ginny as the central pairing. Seriously you do!

Again with mentioning Ginny has a writer it brought back that connection I had with her in the previous chapter.

I loved all the detail you gave about what everyone was doing now the war is over. I totally agree with where you've put everyone.
Harry would definitley be involved with the Ministry and Hermione would have been back at Hogwarts quicker than you can say ancient runes.
I especially loved that Ron was working at the shop to support George. *cries a little about Fred*

Well done, I loved it :)

Author's Response: Hi! As I say in a note at the start, this was my preferred chapter. I really am glad you liked the chapter, again I'm sorry you had to read a pairing you don't like!

Since hearing the interview in which J.K.R. said Ginny writes later in life for the Daily Prophet in regards to sport, I couldn't let this go. She's a writer, like all of us here, and so we can sympathise with her.

Thanks! I have definate ideas of what happened post DH, but tried to keep them as canon as possible! poor fred *has a little sniffle*

thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #10, by firefly910 "It's a little bit funny, this feeling inside"

10th February 2011:
Hi firefly910 here with your review :)

I must say that I really liked this chapter.
I like your writing style, everything flows very nicely.
There were some sentences that I loved,

'Behind her closed eyelids she began to see Harry – bright flashes of his face, his eyes, and his hands moving while he spoke to her, memories of him flying, or showing her spells during Dumbledore’s Army meetings.'

That was my favourite, I love how you wrote 'bright flashes'. Brilliant imagery.

A well done is in order as well. You actually characterized Ginny in a way that made me almost like her. The fact that you made her love writing enabled me to connect with her in a way I normally wouldn't. You did a really good job with Ginny.
Youd didn't make her too weak or too headstrong, she was just right. Which is something I NEVER say about her.


Overall it is a really strong first chapter, you introduced Ginny and her feelings about Harry and Dean extremely well.

Well done :)

Author's Response: Hi Firefly! Thanks so much

So delighted you liked my writing - the sentences where I mention their eyes etc (for example the one you quoted here) were, i felt, extremely important and im glad it worked out well!

To be honest, I felt bad about making you read Harry/Ginny. It's my favourite, but I wouldn't have blamed you if you turned it down.

I'm so happy you were able to connect with Ginny here. I wanted everyone who has been in a situation even a little like hers, to identify with her here.

Thanks a million for reviewing, I really can't thank you enough :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by soccerj18 "I'm not one of those who can easily hide"

9th February 2011:
Me again!

So no new additions to my suggestions list. Good job with Harry. Good luck with the rest of your stories, and I enjoyed reading!

Author's Response: Hi! I'm glad you enjoyed reading. Thanks for the advice, I really do appreciate it! I plan on popping by some of your stuff later, looks cool! :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by soccerj18 "It's a little bit funny, this feeling inside"

9th February 2011:
Hey love :),

I really like how you've personified Ginny in this chapter. I can really see her coming to life. I only have two suggestions for this chapter. The first is to vary your sentence length just a bit. You tend to go for longer sentences, which is perfectly fine, but just throw in a few shorter ones in there. Secondly (and this isn't important), there are a few spelling errors, but nothing that disrupts the flow of the story. Well done!

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks a million for the review. I tried really hard to get the character right, so I'm glad that worked. Excellent advice about the sentence length - I find when reading others work I get lost if they are too long. I'll definately make sure to think of that next time, and I will edit the story again. I was in such a hurry to upload I never even proofread, a horrible weakness of mine! Thanks again for reading and reviewing, great to have the feedback!

 Report Review

Review #13, by lizmusic45 "I'm not one of those who can easily hide"

7th February 2011:
I love this chapter I can't wait until you write more!

Author's Response: Hi! This is the last chapter of this story, but I have loads of story ideas, don't worry! Thanks so much for reviewing, I'm so happy you like it!

 Report Review

Review #14, by lizmusic45 "It's a little bit funny, this feeling inside"

31st January 2011:
I love this story beautiful!

Author's Response: Hi! Really glad you thought so, and so happy you reviewed. Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #15, by awesome247 "It's a little bit funny, this feeling inside"

30th January 2011:
Aww! So cute. I hope chapter 2 validates soon.

Author's Response: Hi! Glad you liked it! The queue is less than a week so should be up soon! Thanks for the review and I hope you come back for the next chapter :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login