Reading Reviews for Fairytalesque
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by randomwriter The Fairy Godmother

19th July 2015:
House Cup 2015!
Gryffindor ♥

This is officially my favourite story of yours so far, Katie. This deserves some serious praise, and it's a shame that I hadn't heard of this earlier!

I love your characterisation of both Snape and Lily in this. What really struck out is how you've used canonical information, but put your own spin on it. we all know Snape's parents fought, we know that Lily befriended Snape, while Petunia didn't, etc. But here, you've also painted Lily in a similar light, and that makes sense. Beyond him telling her that she is a witch and showing her how much they have in common, there's also this compelling reason that pushed her towards him. She needed a friend pretty badly. And you can tell that he's the same Snape we know, but you've evolved their relationship as you pleased by making him less doting than the usual take on child-Snape that we see. I can see these characters growing up to be who they were in the books. I'm excited to see how you develop their relationship as your story moves forward. I'm a little sad that there's only one more chapter up so far.

You're a brilliant writer. You've written a lot of different types of stories with the same level of skill. I enjoy how crisp your writing is despite the amount of information you convey. Your writing is well edited, and the words clearly work well.

I have plenty more to say, but I'm trying to keep it short. Feel free to PM me if you'd like to know anything about anything I've read :) Great work!


 Report Review

Review #2, by randomwriter It Inciting Tragedy

19th July 2015:
Gryffindor for the Cup (2015)!

Oh my, Katie. This story is seriously drawing me in. I love how you manage to still keep the dark and mysterious tone alive in this as well.

The first section was simple. I liked David and Ruth. They are, as you point out, average people leading average lives. I also completely got Ruth as she was satisfied, but not overjoyed with the life she was leading. We all, at least I feel, strive to be great. We want to leave an impression. So I understand why Ruth felt that way. Also, I may not be a mother, but I also thought that er desire for her daughters to be something more than her was realistic. I've often seen a lot of parents project their unfulfilled wishes on their offspring. Here, she didn't ask anything of them. Rather, she hoped that they'd be great, and that, I get.

I also thought that, that section was quite sweet. It was nothing extra ordinary. I loved how described David and Ruth's love, and how you portrayed motherhood, and her love for her children. You managed to tell us the story of a whole lifetime in so few words, and you did it so well, without compromising on emotion at all.

When it comes to the second section, the whole thing changed. Of course we know who Lily is, or rather what she is. But I can imagine how Ruth must have felt when her exquisitely talented girl took a turn for what she believes is the worst. It was painful to read about it, almost.

What saddened me the most was how the same mother who loved and doted on her child in the first section deemed her a tragedy in the next. I don't blame her, not yet. She doesn't know what's happening, and it's natural to be worried. I just hope she doesn't do anything cruel.

As for the tone, the second section was as chilling as the first section was sweet and simple. But I loved it. I love that you've written this thing that is slowly becoming consuming in nature, and I like how're ending it in cliffhangers, because I enjoy suspense.

Great job, Katie ♥ I have so much to say, but not enough time, so I shall march on!

 Report Review

Review #3, by randomwriter Prolouge: Once Upon a Time

19th July 2015:
I almost forgot to mention after this breathtaking prologue, but this is for the House Cup 2015, and I am from Gryffindor.

Wow, Katie. This took a sudden turn from everything of yours that I've read. But I love dark, mysterious things. So this is a possible favourite. In fact, I've already favourited it ^_^

I had to go back to the story shell to check if this was actually a James/Lily after reading the chapter, and now, I do feel like it may be. And that only makes me more curious to see how you integrate that into this.

My mind is burning with questions. Is Lily the narrator? How does she fall for James? Did she fall out of love with him? Who is this muggle boy? I suppose I'll have to wait for answers, but this was so worth reading.

Your writing here is absolutely perfect. And some lines just caught me, and I actually had to stop and appreciate how great they were. I can't possibly list all of them back to you without feeling as if I'm just quoting the whole chapter. But I'll give you an example:
I miss believing in the possibility of them. This is a seemingly normal sentence in the middle of a paragraph. But I just felt like it help so much weight. The moment someone stops believing in fairy tales is always a big one, in terms of growing up and understanding reality. It's clear the protagonist has lead a difficult life and she repeats on numerous occasions that she has grown up before her time. But to me, that line summed the whole thing up perfectly.

The last sentence too was pretty clever. It left me feeling so much, and while it's definitely not nice being on the receiving end of that, I can appreciate it for how the line serves as a perfect closing for this prologue.

I really, really need to know what happened to this woman, but I'll hold off. I'm upset that I can't stop to give you a whole review, like I noramlly would when I come across something this brilliant, but the House Cup calls for certain things. Let it be known that I thoroughly enjoyed this, and that I have no criticism, only curiosity. In that regard, it was the perfect prologue. But in all, I enjoyed it. Great job ♥

Author's Response: Oh my goodness, I'm so flattered by this!

I stopped writing this story because it didn't get very much praise, and honestly, I don't think I had quite the skill I needed to pull it off the way I wanted to, but I think I'll have to start reviving it :)

Thank you so much for this.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Nicole The Ball

18th July 2011:
Wow this is really great!!!

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you enjoyed this!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Fanifical The Fairy Godmother

18th March 2011:
Well there no denying that your a brilliant writer, that's for sure. I, personally am excited to see what you come up with, how you twist and mold the story so it's yours but still has the obvious JK Rowling characters. I'm very interested in seeing how you portray all the other characters and can't wait til you get into the Lily/James stuff and longer chapters. So really, keep writing because you have, whatever it is you have it, and I am expecting a VERY good outcome for this story. As far as good fanfictions go, this is a very good one. 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #6, by LaMignonette The Fairy Godmother

16th March 2011:
This was way to short, but a good beginning to the lily/snape friendship that I despise so much.

Author's Response: I know. This was short even by my standards. What can I say? I just get excited, and want to share! :) Despite the brevity, and the fact that it involves Snape, I'm glad you like it! :) BTW, I totally understand about hating the lily/snape friendship. I'm trying to portray him fairly, but it's so hard because I hate him so much. Uck, Snape

 Report Review

Review #7, by C A L M The Fairy Godmother

11th March 2011:
Loved the story so far, can't wait to read more :)

Author's Response: Thanks! I hope you enjoy it!

 Report Review

Review #8, by LaMignonette It Inciting Tragedy

7th February 2011:
I'm impressed. Really, I am, and I'm usually quite the critic. I love your descriptions of the mother. They're something so sad and realistic about getting exactly what you wished for. Please update soon!

Author's Response: LaMignonette, I Know you're a critic, and that's why I appreciate your reviews so much. :) I'm so glad you like this story too. It's completely different than my other so I was a bit worried people wouldn't like it. :) I'll try to update soon, I actually want to get started on this next chapter right now, but I'm afraid that I'll have knives thrown at me or some other terrible things if I update this before Kiss and Tell is finished... lol :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by emeraldeyes77 Prolouge: Once Upon a Time

25th January 2011:
Hey Sunny! I'm a dedicated follower of Kiss and Tell and you posted about this story in your authors note so I decided to go onto your page and take a look. Fairytalesque looks like its off to a good start :) I can't wait to keep reading!


Author's Response: Hello! I'm glad that you decided to come take a look! It's certainly very different than Kiss and Tell, but I'm pretty excited for it. :) I'm glad you like it so far, and I hope you keep reading! Thanks for the review! :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login