Reading Reviews for In Ruin
  
114 Reviews Found

Review #1, by ruby_slippers ten

16th April 2012:
oh my goodness! oh my goodness! oh my goodness! I am so addicted to this story now!! I LOVE it!! Started reading it yesterday arvo at work (not my most productive day in the end) then stayed up half the night reading more till i finished it this morning! I seriously can't get enough and i cant WAIT to see what happens next!!
I love that you didn't change either Rose or Scorpius's character at the climax to make the scene's easier. You have stuck to who they are which makes their relationship difficult, complicated and confusing but true! Seriously well done! I love the history you have inbued this story with and how amazingly you have executed it!! Awesome job!
Looking forward to chapter 11!!

 Report Review

Review #2, by ravenclaw_princess eight

25th November 2011:
YAY!!! She's gone. I love the last sentence of the chapter and I'm really happy that Scorpius is glad she's gone too. He's really growing in this story.

Rose is so confused, I don't think she knows what she really wants. She seems so afraid to let someone love her, and she also seems afraid to love someone back. I love how much her moods swing so easily from fired up to vulnerable. There is a lot in her character. She also has some really feisty dialogue :)

Scorpius was awesome when he jumped into save Rose and then worked his magic on Frank. He's come a long way from being a teacher at Hogwarts. Now that both 'other halves' our out of the way, it's going to be interesting to see what happens between Rose and Scorpius.

 Report Review

Review #3, by ravenclaw_princess seven

25th November 2011:
Lily is a right piece of work...Scorpius finally seems to be seeing this though. She is so manipulative and so selfish and I was hoping the Scorpius would get up the strength to say no to her. I was so happy when he did.

Lily is so scathing of her family, ans she thinks so high and mighty of herself. I relaly hope she gets brought down to earth in a really dramatic fashion.

All the interactions were brilliant. It was a quite an emotional time with lots of confrontation between Rose and everyone, and Frank and Lily and Rose, but through all of it, it helped Scorpius to really see Lily and Rose in a new light.

Great chapter, it was so enjoyable.

 Report Review

Review #4, by AccioAmore ten

12th September 2011:
I really enjoy this story a lot. It's such a unique plot! Soo excited they finally got together! Hope to see an update soon [:

Author's Response: thank you so much. i'm really pleased you're enjoying it and i hope to get the next chapter up soon!!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Loony_Scorpy ten

6th September 2011:
This story is amazing. Ridiculously. :D heh. I love where you have set it, it is soo different to most other stories but it still makes sense and is interesting! From what we know, I really don't like Lily, she is quite annoying! I actually quite like Frank as a character, even though he really doesn't seem to fit in with the other characters of this story :P I loove Rose and her story and the multiple layers of her personality, I think it will be interesting to find out more about Scorpius as well, even though we already know a fair bit about him. I can't wait for your next chapter! :D also, do you have any idea how long this will be?

Author's Response: thank you so much. i am really pleased you are enjoying this so far. rose is amazing to write in this - she keeps unravelling and she surprises me sometimes. hopefully the next chapter will be up soon. i'm not sure how long it will be. possibly another five or six chapters.

thank you!


 Report Review

Review #6, by ravenclaw_princess six

1st September 2011:
What I really love about this story is the characters. They are all so brilliantly flawed in their own right and the reasons are all very much based in their histories.

Rose having a son was a bit of a shock, but a good one. It adds a whole new level to her and explains a little about why she is not so keen on 'perfect' Lily. The interaction between her and Scoprius is very exciting and they seem to be able to read each other very well.

I'm glad Frank stood up for himself at the end and told Lily what he really wanted. He is so interesting with his bi-polar and self destructive habits. It was interesting to see the concepts of the id being so well applied in you characters. I did basic psych so I've heard about the terms and it was really cool to see them it so nicely weaved into this story in a way which was so easy to understand.

And Scorpius.I really hope he man's up a little. He was getting there before Lily came along. He's in the jungle, he is going to get dirty, it can't be avoided.

 Report Review

Review #7, by ravenclaw_princess five

1st September 2011:
There is nothing that can make a chapter more exciting than running from a dragon :D I love the whole scene, it was dramatic and exciting, full of lovely description, was really embarrassing for poor Scorpius and had a sweet little Frank and Rose moment.

And the ending was so funny. That must have been awkward for Scorpius to walk in on Frank and Rose together. I really liked seeing a little bit more of their relationship coming through in this chapter. I also really liked the effect that the letter from Lily had on Rose. Great chapter.

 Report Review

Review #8, by ravenclaw_princess four

1st September 2011:
Poor Scorpius. He is not doing himself any favours and I'm sure everyone is wondering how he is going to survive out in the jungle.

Rose is a piece of work. She is so different to any Rose I have ever read before. She is so ambitious and driven, and has some really deep issues which I'm looking forward to seeing.

 Report Review

Review #9, by ravenclaw_princess three

1st September 2011:
whao...those Scamander twins sound like hard work. They are going to drive Scorpius crazy, although they are very good comic characters and their banter was so amusing.

I love all the descriptions of the environment, especially the insects. It really set the scene as far away from the comforts of Hogwarts. Scorpius was great and his discomfort was shown very well. It was the small things like his sweat drenched shirt and keeping his mouth closed because of the insects that brought so much detail into the story.

Flow and pacing and grammar was all really good. Awesome chapter. Well done

 Report Review

Review #10, by DarkLadyofSlytherin ten

15th August 2011:
Kate!

I've been meaning to get to this chapter since it was posted. I started to read it at work, but got busy and had to wait. Then by the time I got back to reading it...well lets just say its been a while.

Anyway, I absolutely loved this sweet moment between Scorpius and Rose at the end. It's about time that boy stood up for what he wanted. And I'm rather glad we know what was up with Rose. I bet between Rose and Scorpius they could find out about the mask and even about the scar that she has. Which, I'd rather like to see.

As for the story itself, I'm still very intrigued. I've been avoiding looking up the actual legend that you're using so that I can be surprised when it finally comes out in this. Its such an amazing fic, Kate, and as always, you do your plot and characters justice.

I will, like everyone else who reads this, anxiously await the next chapter.
Len

Author's Response: Len, hi darling. forgive me my late reply!

i am so pleased you enjoyed this chapter and that you're still reading this fic. i feel slack cause i've got nothing ready for the next chapter - a bit of a slump on this one actually :(

i'm using bits and pieces of the legend. there are many stories about lost cities in south america and patiti just happens to be one. its location changes depending on what source you read.

thank you so much darling. i really love that you are still into this!

Kate xx


 Report Review

Review #11, by missdagane ten

13th August 2011:
I cnzn't wait for the next one, now that things are slowlt into place.

Author's Response: thank you hun. glad you're still enjoying it.

 Report Review

Review #12, by Crescent Moon  ten

8th August 2011:
Yay!! They have finally gotten together!!
Great chapter. XD
It's great to know what the whole thing with Lily was about.
I can't wait to read the next chapter and see what's going to happen next. Please update as soon as you can.

Author's Response: thank you so much for your lovely review hun. i am really pleased you're enjoying it and i will try and update as soon as i can get the next chapter flowing!
xx


 Report Review

Review #13, by Iloenchen ten

7th August 2011:
Yay, an update! I've so much been looking forward to this. I absolutely love your story. Your Rose is one of the most interesting characters I've ever read about. She's moody, she's happy and she's sad, she's unpredictable and yet, you manage to make it all sound consistent. Congratulations on managing to write her like that, I know that I'd never be able to achieve such a task.

I enjoy the dynamics between all of the characters. You've created such depth that I just want to read more and more and more. What an awesome story!

Oh, and by the way, have you been in the jungle before? You describe the setting very well.

Author's Response: i know, i've been really slack on updating this. i am so glad you're still enjoying it and you are still loving the characterisation of Rose. i love writing her like this - a bit rougher than what i normally do, lol.

thank you. i have never been in a real jungle, not like this one, but i live in the sub-tropics so i just imagine a hotter, wetter more annoying place, lol.

xx


 Report Review

Review #14, by dkmnky ten

7th August 2011:
Just read this one through a couple weeks ago, and I am so pleased with the update. I love the piece, its so different from the standard Rose/ Scorp story. Oh and great chapter, glad to see the romance kicking off! Keep it up :-)

Author's Response: thank you so much, i am glad you are enjoying it and thanks for the lovely review.

 Report Review

Review #15, by Amy ten

7th August 2011:
Finally an update! Haha I got so excited when I saw that this has been updated. Another great chapter as usual. I was curious as to what happened to Rose and I'm glad we got to find out. Scorpius and Rose's relationship is taking off...maybe..hopefully..haha well they're super cute. Definitely keep up with the amazing chapters and update more often! :)

Author's Response: thank you so much hun for a lovely review. i am really pleased you are enjoying it and that you're enjoying the characters and their developments. thank you once again!
xx


 Report Review

Review #16, by Hope's Mom ten

6th August 2011:
Your title means more now. Lily and Rose certainly have a complicated past. Good update - thank you for writing!

Author's Response: thank you - i am pleased you're enjoying it and thanks for reading!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Hope3101 ten

6th August 2011:
Absolutely brilliant story! Captivating plot and really interesting characterizations.
Just found it and couldn't stop from first to last word.
Sorry for such short review, but I and English spelling are not in the best relationship...
Thank you for such a wonderful work!!

Author's Response: wow thank you so much, i am really pleased you are enjoying it, especially the characters as i wanted to do something different with them.
xx


 Report Review

Review #18, by Giola ten

6th August 2011:
Hi Kate :)

Finally a new chapter! You know exactly how much I love this story, and this chapter was no exception. We FINALLY get the backstory here, something I've been waiting for. I did not expect the involvement of a manticore at all, that completely threw me, but it makes sense. This was a nice development chapter, I feel like Rose and Scorpius may, finally, be making some headway here.

Anyway, lovely chapter dear.

-Giola
(Slytherin)

Author's Response: i know, i've been terrible in updating this and the next chapter could be ages away :(

anyway, i am really pleased you enjoyed it and that the backstory worked.

thanks once again darling - i am so happy you're still waiting for me to write this!! i feel so slack!

xx


 Report Review

Review #19, by goodbyetoyou one

19th July 2011:
i'm so glad you stumbled upon my review page! i think its fantastic! you are such a great writer, its so smooth and has such great details, but doesn't over due it to the point that im bored. i think your scorpius is a really great character, and interesting. i find the paragraph length refreshing too, not all broken up with every other line being dialogue. this is definitely interesting, and i cannot wait to go onto the next chapter ^_^

Author's Response: wow thank you so much for the lovely comments. i am really pleased you are enjoying it and that you like my scorpius. i hope you continue to read! thanks so much!
xx


 Report Review

Review #20, by WeasleyTwins nine

1st July 2011:
Hi :]]]

I should have left a review a bit sooner, but I got caught up. This, this piece is wonderful. Excellent style, description, dialogue, characterizations. I could go on and on. Fantastic read, and I can't wait for more!

Shelby

Author's Response: hey darling!
thank you - i am really pleased you are enjoying this and thanks so much for a lovely review!!

Kate xx


 Report Review

Review #21, by the_edge_of_love nine

28th June 2011:
Amazing story! How haven't I seen it before?
I believe you're a great author with amazing ideas: this one is really original but somehow can fit into canon.
I like the characterizations very much, and the dialogue in this last chapter. Also, I really like how Scorpius is honest with everyone and how he isn't the kind of person interested in other people's lives.
And, although, I'm all about RoseScorpius, I was really sad when she and Frank broke up: a very well-written scene.
Finally, I think that Will's existance is a lovely touch and the whole LilyRose antagonism is perfect!

Author's Response: thank you for such a lovely review hun. i am really pleased you are enjoying it and that you like the characters. i took a little risk with rose and scorpius in this one and i am pleased it is working out!
i love frank. i didn't want to break them up but i love ScoRose more, lol!
thank you once again!!
xx


 Report Review

Review #22, by SunSation Gal 07 nine

23rd June 2011:
ooh, sexual tension in the bathroom there :P hehe. and that spell was cool, well until it all went to pot that is and they had to get out of their lest the die. but it sure was pretty exciting. and about damn time those two kissed! been waiting for that ;) anyway, awesome story this and I definitely look forward to when you update!

Author's Response: god i am sorry its taken me so long to answer these! please forgive me!!

i am really happy you're enjoying this darling. hahahaa i love writing these two in this. they are both so...clueless and annoying!

xx


 Report Review

Review #23, by SunSation Gal 07 eight

23rd June 2011:
wow, their relationship lasted long. and why did I just know that something was going to happen to him shortly after they broke up? my gut told me something would happen to him and it was right. but at least he isn't dead and Scorpius was able to contain it. and Lily is finally leaving! thank the lord! that girl does not belong in a jungle.

Author's Response: hahahah poor rose and frank are well-practiced in the breaking up! yeah it all happened in this chapter! i hoped it wasn't too much you know, but i guess it can happen like that in real life - everything at once!

xx


 Report Review

Review #24, by SunSation Gal 07 seven

23rd June 2011:
oh good lord. Lily just needs to leave. I really want to smack her. and yet she has Scorpius around her finger since he came back and apologized when I believe he shouldn't have. yay! they finally got something clean! good for them! and Frank and Rose are back together. that sure didn't last long. ooh, and Scorpius wished Lily was someone else. ooh. ;)

Author's Response: hahahahhaa she does, she does. she makes me groan. yep, all these tangled relationships are starting to fall apart.

thank you so much darling!


 Report Review

Review #25, by SunSation Gal 07 six

23rd June 2011:
oh jeeze. Lily is now there and I can see that causing all sorts of problems to come. and look! there they are! Rose is already on edge and WTH?! She has a son? Wow, so did not see that one coming. and Scorpius really needs to stop whatever he has going on with Lily. Nothing in common and I find her annoying. And now Frank and Rose have ended their.whatever it is they have. :P anyway, onto the next chapter!

Author's Response: it is so amusing to imagine lily there. hahahaha i love seeing people's reactions to lily and her relationship with scorpius. they are very unevenly matched. frank and rose, on the other hand, really are suited to one another. just not what the other needs right now.

thanks darling!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>