Reading Reviews for Infection
  
13 Reviews Found

Review #1, by starryskies55 Infection

11th September 2012:
Wowzers. What a fic! I've never read anything that dealt with the Bloody Baron/Helena Ravenclaw before, and wow, why haven't I? This was brilliant. I loved the imagery/metaphors of 'infection' - it was really powerful, the idea of his evilness affecting her. Although, to be fair, from what I've just seen of Helena, she wasn't particularly nice to poor Uther. *cough* I actually sympathise with Uther/Bloody Baron here, his self-pity infected me! I love how it fits with canon as well- the pieces of her that covered him- creepy, but fantastic, I loved it. Bloody indeed.

I loved that the knife seemed to have a mind of it's own- I have a question though, why did he run away from Helena?

This was an amazing, and really quite powerful fic, I adored it!


PS. Who is the male actor in your banner/chapter image? I can picture him acting, and his voice, but I can't for the life of me remember what he's been in, or who he is :(

 Report Review

Review #2, by Jchrissy Infection

2nd September 2012:
Wow, this is such a powerful piece. The amount of detail you managed in such a short piece astounds me. Though not in close to an over packed way, it just feels so insanely raw and real.

The additions like the laws of apparation and the sentence regarding pieces of her covering him, gah! It's all so intense!

I've never read the BB so angry and real and... cruel I guess. But he loved her, that's still clear. You don't hide what he did though, you don't make some story of why he killed her up, you just bring out this terrible rage that makes it so incredible.

This was a great one shot! It left me nearly thoughtless - my own variation of speechless :P.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Elenia Infection

16th August 2012:
Wow.

I don't think I have ever read Bloody Baron's tale before, so this was a completely new experience for me. But I'm really glad I got the chance because I enjoyed it very much ^^

I think you did a wonderful job in describing how he was feeling. The way he couldn't really accept and admit it first, calling it only as an infection, that was brilliant. Oh, and Uther! Such a fitting name for him, I really liked that!

And how he comes to realise what he has done and the remorse he feels was very real and believable. And how it all comes to an end... its such a sad story.

But it was so short! Your beautiful story only left me wanting for more! But at the same time I don't want you to change a thing from it because it was perfect as it was. This can only be resolved by me reading more of your work (:

Such a beautiful story. Definitely one of my favourites from the Founders-era. So thank you for writing it ^^ And thank you once more for all the work you did for the House Cup! You guys are brilliant!

~Elenia

 Report Review

Review #4, by Sakurasou Infection

3rd August 2012:
This is one of the best Founder's era fics I've ever read. Right from the very beginning I was hooked. There's a lot of mystery and darkness which was just so intriguing.

The whole infection thing was genius, really. I loved how first, it was him who infected her, then it was her infecting him. Very poignant.

I think that you did an excellent job with the characters. I can't help but feel pity for the Baron, even though he was a murderer. Its a very powerful thing you were able to capture, both pity and anger at the same time. This story was so heartbreaking. And the fact that when he died, it wasn't even next to Helena made it more sad.

Really great one shot, it captured such an important moment and left me wanting to know their story before this point in time. I loved it.

10/10

 Report Review

Review #5, by MrsJaydeMalfoy Infection

18th April 2012:
This was a wonderfully well-written and mysterious piece, dear! I really enjoyed it, and I felt you did an excellent job conveying the emotions as well! I didn't notice any spelling or grammar errors, either! 10/10!

 Report Review

Review #6, by CloakAuror9 Infection

20th January 2012:
Yay for founders!

You did a brilliant job writing this story! Especially describing the Bloody Baron's emotions. I thought of the story as 'heart-breaking'. I like the way you had an 'infection' theme in teh story and the way you used to manipulate the story is just wondeful!

I admit, I thought the story is a bit short for a one-shot since its really good but maybe you did that for a reason...hmmm. Flawless works, truly. 10/10

Ta-ta for now,
CloakAuror9 xx

 Report Review

Review #7, by Drecklin Infection

13th August 2011:
I always feel some amount of pity for the Bloody Baron, even though he killed Helena, and you definitely made me feel it again here. I love the unique way you took this canon story and made it something special, leaving the reader guessing for a bit as to what was going on. I also loved the bit about it being an infection, the hate and evil- its a pretty powerful message when you think about it. I don't have anything to critique on this, because it was really well written and thought out! The last bit about the knife and his body confused me just a bit, but eventually I figured it out :P

Really, this is a wonderful read, though somewhat darker than what I'm used to, I did like it a lot :) Stories like these, about the ghosts, always interest me!

Forum Name: Drecklin
House: Slytherin

 Report Review

Review #8, by NaidatheRavenclaw Infection

12th August 2011:
This was incredible.

First of all, I love the moment on history you picked for this. I can't say I really read Founders era stuff, so I can't compare this to anything, but I don't need to to know that it was great! You made this era sound scandalous, in a way, and though you did have elements in it so that it didn't sound modern, you didn't go overboard with making it sound old fashioned either.

The imagery you used in this was fantastic, especially while describing the emotions of the Baron. I really felt like I was with him and feeling what he felt. You showed me that this era has a lot of potential for heartbreak that I didn't see, and you did it in such a beautiful way.

Happy staff/prefect Friday and thanks for all you do for the site! *hugs*
-NaidatheRavenclaw, Ravenclaw

 Report Review

Review #9, by maskedmuggle Infection

11th August 2011:
I loved this. The idea of 'infection' throughout it, and then the vague way you wrote this, letting me, as the reader slowly realise what was happening. The writing was just amazing. I liked this line: "The laws of Apparition were very clear and strict; One cannot go any further than the kingdom next to his own." Very interesting thought! Is that actually a real law of apparition or one you just made up for the purpose of this story? Either way, I've never thought/heard about it and it sounds like a brilliant law!

Anyway, just a great story! Was the narrator the Bloody Baron? I loved his thoughts throughout it! This particularly: "I did infect her, with my quick and hot temper. My evilness and dark soul. I wonder if I ever had any soul in me at all. No wonder she never loved me." Just really lovely writing! You got so much through in so little words!

By the way, may I say.. absolutely AMAZING banner and chapter image? The colouring and composition just kills me! So talented, you are, with your amazing writing and graphic skills! Fantastic story!

- maskedmuggle, Ravenclaw :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by magicmuggle01 Infection

26th February 2011:
I take it that the young woman you have in this one shot is Rowena Raveclaw's daughter and the man (who is known as) is the Bloody Baron? I liked this very much. I think I will give your other stories a read and see how they look. For this one shot I give you 10/10.

 Report Review

Review #11, by TallestTower Infection

7th January 2011:
Hello! (It's Broomsticks, different username because I'm silly)
I thought I would come and leave an official review. This was a real joy to Beta, your description is beautiful! I love the idea of this moment from the Bloody Baron's point of view. It's so full of action and emotion. Even though he kills her, you managed to convey his passion for her. I feel like you really understood his character and it was written from such an interesting viewpoint. It was all really believable and it's strange to sympathize with what seems in the books like such a strange murder, but in this story you have given it history and made the baron's action's more understandable. It's a really exciting story, my favourite part is when he describes her hair as ebony rays of sun - beautiful!

 Report Review

Review #12, by NervousTruth Infection

6th January 2011:
I really liked your one-shot.

 Report Review

Review #13, by Ayla Infection

29th December 2010:
I loved this one-shot. It is a very interesting approach, as you leave the reader to infer that it is from the Bloody Baron's point of view. Very simple, yet enthralling.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login