Reading Reviews for Dudley Departing
  
25 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Miss MarlaG A cup of tea

16th April 2014:
This was a really lovely oneshot. I really enjoyed it. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #2, by toomanycurls A cup of tea

10th November 2013:
Hi!! I know this is a bit older and has quite a few reviews, but I wanted to read it after your other one-shot about Harry and Dudley after DH. :D

I love Dudley's awkward sweetness about the tea cup. It's almost like he doesn't quite know how to connect with Harry (which I get but it's kind of adorable).

Harry is being quite patient with Dudley here (well, more than he usually seems). I'm really glad he bothered to ask why Dudley was acting this way and invited him for a chat.

ha, Dementoids always makes me laugh. :D

I like Dudley trying to dig into why it has to be Harry (versus another wizard) who is off to do these things. One reason Harry could have had for not explaining everything to Dudley is that he'd be in danger if he knew more.

This feeds very well into your story about them meeting up later. It really shows that Dudley did change through the series even though he didn't get to show his maturation.

I quite enjoyed this!
-Rose

Author's Response: Hi, sorry it took me so long to get back to this.

You are definitely right that Harry is showing much more than his characteristic patience with Dudley at this point, but I think he's just really curious. For the most part, once Dudley realized he couldn't bully Harry any more, he actively avoided him. So, when Dudley does something nice, and then lingers, Harry very much wants to know what has caused this change and what Dudley is playing at.

That's a good point, that Harry couldn't explain everything because the more the Dursleys know, the more danger they could be in. And, despite everything, I don't think Harry has ill wishes toward the Dursleys (well, maybe Vernon...)

Thanks for choosing to review this story. I always enjoy when some of my older stories get a little love :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by Melissa A cup of tea

25th January 2012:
I liked this. The scene was changed enough to make a difference but did make Dudley seem ooc.

I almost wish Harry would have been nicer but Dudley was cruel to him for year so I understand. Maybe it's me wanting a happy-ending-for-everybody-syndrome.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! I'm sorry that you thought Dudley seemed out of character.

I think the Dudley we see in Deathly Hallows is a very different Dudley than the one we're introduced to in Sorcerer's Stone. I think he's grown up a bit. Plus, the incident with the dementors and seeing Harry stand up to, and defeat them, really effected him. I think this incident would have awoken a bit of gratitude and possibly even some respect. I mean, he finally sees Harry as the powerful wizard he is, rather than the powerless little kid he always picked on.

In addition, I think that when Dudley found out that Harry was not going with them, he realized that he does, in fact, care about Harry. Granted, it's in a twisted, Dursley-ish way that he is unable to express well, but I think it's still there.

Sorry, that's way too much information, but that's the Dudley I was trying to write, because that's how I see him in Deathly Hallows.

I also have happy-ending-for-everybody syndrome :P I don't know that Harry and Dudley can ever get all the way to "happily", but I am working on a follow up to this story that takes place a year after, so maybe that will offer a bit more closure.

Thanks again for reading and for sharing your thoughts and opinions. They are very much appreciated :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by HD A cup of tea

16th December 2011:
That was great! I always wanted to see a conversation like this at the end of the series, more fleshed out.

Author's Response: Thank you :) I'm actually working on a bit of a sequel that happens after the war is over. Hopefully it will be up soon.

 Report Review

Review #5, by writeyourheartout A cup of tea

6th September 2011:
Eeee, this was so lovely! It's the perfect example of how beautiful simplicity can be; how intriguing and powerful and memorable a simple scene between two characters just -interacting- with one another can be. ^.^

I love the beginning. Honestly, the choice to use a canon line immediately to grab us, to choose something that we're already so familiar with, was just so brilliant of you. And then it continues to be incredibly similar throughout the entire first two paragraphs, not really shifting until we see Dudley there, standing surprised, afraid, and frozen on the stairway. I thought it was so clever of you to structure it that way because it really pulled me in, and it actually surprised me a bit to see Dudley still there, even though the summary clearly states that that was bound to happen!

And then as I continue to read, your wonderful talent as a writer starts to shine. Your writing style is so similar to JK Rowling's, which is probably what sold the story the most for me. Especially with Harry's character. I've only read so many Harry-centric fanfics that try so hard to capture him, but they always seem to be off by at least a bit. But your version of him and of this scene is so in character and so similar to JKR's style that I actually found myself surprised when I reached the end of the chapter only to see that just two of the lines were borrowed from the books. It felt so authentic! You managed to capture his inner monologue as if he were your character all along. Especially the bit about Hermione. I think the books themselves have a line similar to that, but I may be remembering incorrectly? Maybe your writing really is so close to JKR's that I'm just baffled as to what was canon and what was simply you! Ah, confused! LOL But that's what makes this story so wonderful! I'm just entirely impressed by your abilities as an author to have tricked me so thoroughly! :-p

Dudley is fantastic here, too. Obviously the story is from Harry's POV and so we don't get the same sort of first hand thoughts with Dudley's character, but the way Harry sees him is exactly how it felt in the books. But what I really loved about Dudley was his dialogue and the inner battle he had with himself -about- his dialogue. Like how he tiptoes around saying what's really on his mind, or saying something that was actually complimentary of Harry. He's fishing for information, but struggling so hard to not come right out and say that maybe he's worried, or disappointed, or sad or something! I mean, Harry's been in his life for so long, and now that Dudley is growing up, maybe he's finally realizing that his parents brainwashing him about Harry was wrong, and maybe he was hoping for a second chance? I never really thought that much about Dudley as a character, but this story just really made me curious about him and about the -why- he was changing, you know? It takes a truly talented author to inspire curiosity, and even more so when it's with a character that I've known for so long, but wasn't curious about until -you- wrote them. :-)

The dialogue and interactions between Harry and Dudley were spot on, in my opinion. I think you really captured both Dudley's desire to say what he felt needed to be said along with Harry's hesitancy, and especially the awkward tension that was almost palpable between the two. This isn't a humor piece, obviously, but that underlying layer of complete and utter awkward made me giggle and helped to keep the piece from becoming too heavy or too simple - so simple that it borders on boring. I feel like writing is such a balancing act, and you seem to have the perfect weight distribution to create unforgettable pieces.

I also think that you use description so well in this story. It's never over the top or layered on so heavily that I feel like I'm drowning in adjectives and tiny, insignificant details, but it's also not so simple that I question what's happening because you didn't provide enough information. And the little extra details that you do add in just make the story flow with perfect ease while also adding a light layer of humor between the two characters.

The finale of this piece is so hopeful and heartwarming, and I think that's why I enjoyed it so much, because it takes two people who made mistakes with each other their entire life and gave them a chance to repair, to start over and have a chance at a positive relationship. The ending is just so sweet, but because it's awkward, too, it feels completely plausible for the two to have said those things! And I especially loved the line about Harry planning to ask Hermione if it was possible for dementors to blow new souls into people, hahaha! It's kind of a really intriguing idea! You're so clever. ^.^ hehehe

I wonder if Dudley waddles during this time in the series? I remember that after he gets attacked by the dementors, he starts taking up wrestling and ends up losing a lot of weight. He's still large, but in a more muscular way, and I'm not sure he would waddle anymore. That's a tiny detail, though, haha ^.^

"Yes, probably and dementors are really the least of my concerns." - I would maybe shove a comma after probably? Also tiny detail! LOL

This is a bit random, but I really love that you didn't mark the lines that you borrowed from the book, but saved all of that information for the end. Most people either make a note at the start or they put a little asterisk in to mark it, but leaving yours completely unknown until the end seriously boggled my mind between "Wasn't this in the books? Or is this all her? I'm so intrigued and confused!" LOL

So I'm constantly hearing wonderful words about your writing and your stories, and now I understand why. You're truly talented and I sincerely hope it won't be too long before I'm back to read another of your stories. :-)

Please keep writing,
Tanya

Author's Response: Wow, I just...wow. I'm dumbstruck by how awesome this review is. Thank you! A millions times, THANK YOU! :D

It always amazes me a bit when people respond so positively to this story, since it's so similar to canon. I actually almost didn't post it because I was afraid that it would be too much like the version we already have in DH.

I try really hard to make my characterizations as close to canon as possible, and it makes me really happy when people think that I've done that well. Some of the internal dialogue from Harry was definitely borrowed and paraphrased from canon (like the bit about asking Hermione about healing spells, and the 'did the dementors blow a new personality into you?' bit :P)

When I started writing this, I was convinced that a lot of Dudley's worry that Harry wasn't coming with them, was kind of Dudley being selfish. He hasn't had a very good track record with wizards (pigtail, ton-tongue toffee, attacked by glasses of mead, etc) and Harry had saved his life once. So, part of him wanted Harry along for protection. However, the more I was writing it, the more I realized that Dudley actually did care about Harry in some weird, twisted way.

Thanks again so very much for this review. It's incredible! Feel free to read and/or review my stories any time :P

~Singularity


 Report Review

Review #6, by AC_rules A cup of tea

4th September 2011:
I really liked this. I love thoes 'what if this happened' senarios and as much as I really loved the Dudley-Harry farewell in the book I think I like this one almost as much. Dudley has been characterised really well as has Harry. There was one moment near the beginning when i felt like Dudley was a little off, but other than that it was practically perfect.

It also made me like Dudley a lot more. I don't think I ever disliked him - he was always just a silly comial figure more than anything but I was really glad that JK fleshed him out a bit at the end.

Anyway, I really enjoyed this :)

Author's Response: Thanks for reading :) I really enjoyed the Dudley/Harry farewell in the book, too. I was super happy to see Dudley get a tiny little bit of redemption.

I'm glad you enjoyed my version. I know it isn't /that/ different from the canon version, but I wanted to flesh out the scene and give them a little more time to talk without Petunia and Vernon around.

You should pm me on the forums if you get a chance and let me know which part seemed ooc for Dudley. I'll go back and try to smooth it out a bit.

Thanks again for reading and for reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by Flower n Prongs A cup of tea

6th August 2011:
This was a cute little fic. I could honestly picture something like this happening if Harry would have just stepped into the hallway a moment or two earlier in the book.

I like the fact that you can really tell that Dudley cares about what is going to happen to Harry and that he wants to make sure that he's going to be okay, even though he doesn't come outright and say it. I also think it was exceptionally Dudley-ish that he made a comment about how he didn't say thank you to Harry for saving his life, but he never actually got around to saying "thank you".

I think you set the stage perfectly for what JK said happens later, with Harry and Dudley having a kind of "Christmas card" relationship.

Lily Flower (Ravenclaw)

Author's Response: I know this chapter isn't really /that/ different from the version in the book, but I wanted to expand on it a bit more and see what they might've said to each other if they had more time and hadn't had such an audience.

Thanks for reading and reviewing :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by ginnypotter242 A cup of tea

5th August 2011:
Ooh, I liked this. It was intersting- I liked how you kept in mainly the same, but they were able to talk a little bit more. I awalys like the Harry and Dudley conversations after Dudley started to be a bit, well, nicer. You really kept them both in character, with Dudley acting a bit nervous and scared, and Harry acting confused and all. It was really good, you should write more of Harry/Dudley interactions. Great job!

~Sara
puppyluv242 (Gryffindor)

Author's Response: Thanks for your review :) I'm glad you liked this little bit of drabble. I know it isn't a whole lot different than the book's version, but I just wanted a little more I guess.

I'm toying with writing a Harry and Dudley reunion fic set a year after this one. The war is over and Dudley just spent the past year under the protection of wizards. We'll see how it goes :)

Thank you for the positive feedback!

~Singularity


 Report Review

Review #9, by PotterandPadfoot4eva A cup of tea

18th July 2011:
Every story you've writen that I've read I have LOVED. Every one, there is not one author on this site who I've opened up a new story of their's and went "I can't wait to read this one! Wonder if it's just as good as the rest?"
Dudley Departing: 11/10
You (as an author): 50/10
Do us all a favor and keep writing!!

Author's Response: Aww, thank you. That's lovely to hear. I always feel extra special when people take the time to review more than one of my stories at once. Thank you! I'm honestly so glad that you have enjoyed my stories :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by UH60TI A cup of tea

12th July 2011:
Nicely done. Again a wonderful piece. To see the change in Dudley in DH was interesting.

I think I actually like your rewrite better than the original. It puts Harry's and Dudley's relationship in a new light.

I wonder what would have happened if Harry had been treated differently by the Dursley's, as a real member of the family.

Thank you again for wonderful work.

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and reviewing :)

You raise a very interesting question...what if Harry was as spoiled rotten as Dudley? Would he have wanted to go to Hogwarts? Would he have had any desire to save the world? Hmm...very very interesting questions.

Thanks again for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #11, by BillieCottonhouse A cup of tea

12th July 2011:
Tear :(
It's so great that you wrote this story because the Dudley/ Harry farewell was such an important moment, it was so sad in the book, too poignant to be left out of the movie in my opinion but oh well i guess that's just a drop in the bucket of all the things they've skipped haha I still love them though!
Another reason this story interested me was because we get to see that lighter side of Dudley which we only fleetingly see in the book, and seeing this side of him is heart-breaking because it shows the person he could have been, after all he is somewhat a product of his environment, Dumbledore even says he is glad that Harry escaped the "appaling damage" that the Dursley's did to Dudley.
Anyway, really good work-
I loved it!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! I'm so glad that you enjoyed this little piece. It's not too far off from the book, but it was kind of fun to expand upon this sweet little moment.

You make some good points about what kind of person Dudley could've been with different parents. Honestly, I think spending a year under the protection of wizards probably did him a world of good. Hmm, that might be a good plot bunny :)

And I completely agree with you. I was so disappointed when this was left out of the movie! But you're absolutely right...they leave out so much, what's one more thing :P

Thanks again for reading!


 Report Review

Review #12, by marinahill A cup of tea

26th January 2011:
Wow, this was amazing. I've kind of got chills at the wonderful characterisation you show here. All the way through I was wondering if you'd quote each bit of dialogue from the book, because it felt so familiar - then in your author's note you only listed two things and I felt kind of shocked. Everything you wrote sounded perfectly canon and I can imagine this taking place if JK had decided to include a scene like this. Really really superb. Not many people can get into Harry's character this well.

Marina

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your review! Sorry it took me so long to respond. My computer crashed...blah. But I'm back now and I really appreciate your comments!

I might have to go back and make sure that I've quoted everything that needs to be quoted...I think I did a lot of paraphrasing. I'm really glad that you thought this seemed true to canon. I especially appreciate your comment about Harry's character. I work really hard on my characterizations, so I appreciate hearing that you thought I did them well.

Thanks again for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #13, by orderofthephoenix A cup of tea

11th January 2011:
Ha ha. That was a good, light-hearted story. I didn't realise until now that they cut out that scene in the film but you're right.

Well written with good grammar and spelling :)

Author's Response: The Dudley/Harry scene was one that I was most looking forward to in the movie. It made me quite sad that it wasn't included, but it gave me the ambition to finish this story, so I guess it's not all bad. Thanks for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Aether A cup of tea

9th January 2011:
Beautiful one-shot! There really isn't enough fanfiction about Dudley Dursley. You did an excellent job showing the depth to his character that was suggested in Deathly Hallows. Dudley didn't seem the least bit out of character, not only because you substantiated his mood change with proof from DH, but also because his dialogue sounded very... Dudley. This was a great idea for a one-shot, and I really enjoyed reading it! 10/10. Oh, and I love the banner! :)

Aether

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much. You're right that there isn't much fanfiction about Dudley. And I'm pretty sure the few stories I have read about him have all had to do with him having a magical child :P

I'm really glad you enjoyed this. I know that I stretched Dudley's character a bit further than Jo did in DH (and her version is much better and more realistic of course) but I'm really glad that you thought I was still true to his character.

The banner is great, isn't it? Oh those talented, talented people at TDA...

Thanks again for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #15, by Black_Lupin_Ravenclaw A cup of tea

3rd January 2011:
Aww! Dudley and Harry sorta had a moment there. :)

Author's Response: Or at least came really close to having one :)

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #16, by Siriuslover177 A cup of tea

31st December 2010:
That was SO good!
I SO wish that really happened!
I mean really it was so good.

Author's Response: Aw, thanks :) I'm really glad you enjoyed this. I think the original version is much more likely and true to Dudley's character, but I couldn't help but add a bit more to the scene. :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by Alopex A cup of tea

27th December 2010:
Awww, oh my gosh! This just made me melt into a little puddle! It was just heartwarming to read this. Of course, at this point, it's probably a little too late for a real reconciliation between Harry and the Dursleys, but it's also nice that he had a decent conversation with his cousin for once in his life. I think that's something positive for Harry to take with him on this difficult journey.

It's not like getting someone a cup of tea is some huge, loving gesture, but coming from Dudley, it's huge! I was actually quite moved when he came back upstairs with two fresh cups and offered one directly to Harry. It's interesting to see Dudley in a different light. He's a spoiled brat, but he's human too, and naturally he'd have worries about the impending uprooting he's about to experience. Not to mention, Harry has been a presence in his life as long as he can remember, so it must be strange to contemplate never seeing him again, to know Harry won't spend another summer there.

It's interesting to contemplate that a dementor might have blown part of a different soul into Dudley. I suppose that would explain things to some extent, if it's even possible.

Very enjoyable story. :)

Author's Response: Thanks for your review! I completely agree with you that there is too much history between Harry and the Dursleys for them to ever completely reconcile, but that doesn't mean they can't be civil to each other...well, Harry and Dudley at least. Vernon and Petunia might be lost causes...Vernon for sure.

As I was writing this, it popped into my head that Harry is really the closest thing that Dudley ever had to a sibling and it would be disconcerting to realize that you are, very possibly, never going to see each other again.

Part of me also thinks that part of Dudley's reasoning for being so concerned about Harry not going with him is purely selfish. Harry did save his life/soul at one point. Really, Harry's the only wizard Dudley has had contact with who has done something good for Dudley and not done something to harm him (i.e. pig tail and ton tongue toffee). It's pretty realistic to think that he might want Harry around for protection.

Anyway, this response was way longer than I meant it to be. Thanks again for your review!


 Report Review

Review #18, by BrightStar A cup of tea

26th December 2010:
Hi! Decided to look at your stories after you reviewed mine and I decided to read this one, the idea really interested me. I wish this had actually had happened in the book, so sweet and well written :)

Author's Response: Aww, thanks BrightStar. This version is probably a bit unrealistic, but I couldn't resist throwing a bit more sentimentality into it :) I'm really glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #19, by long_live_luna_bellatrix A cup of tea

26th December 2010:
Hey there! This was a really cute little one shot. Dudley's little change of face at the beginning of DH always touched me, and this gave me more to go on. I like when hpff authors can see good in thoroughly bad characters, and you did well with Dudley. You kept him slow and slightly stupid, but gave him a real soul.

One thing I would've liked to see is more description. You were good with dialogue, it flowed well and everything, but that was pretty much all you wrote. Now, I rely heavily on dialogue too, so I shouldn't be talking, but I do need to mention it. Dudley's reaction to Harry's spartan room, perhaps, or how much Dudley squirms. That sort of thing. But really, this was a sweet one shot. I really enjoyed it!

Author's Response: Thanks for your review! One of my favorite things about reading/writing fanfiction is getting inside the heads of unlikeable characters and trying to find out what makes them tick. I'm glad you thought that I accomplished this, at least a bit.

Thanks for the cc and the suggestion. I really appreciate you pointing that out. I know some of my stories tend to be a bit dialogue heavy. I'll definitely try to work on that in the future and probably go back through this story and edit in a bit more description.

Thanks again for reading and reviewing :)


 Report Review

Review #20, by Pacific Wizard A cup of tea

26th December 2010:
Singularity: Thanks for the closure. I agree that DH1 left a void there and that scene could have been a "moment" in the movie that would have made it very special. They set the stage nicely for that scene in the OoTP. Love the interaction between Harry and Dudders in this story. Too bad you weren't one of the screenwriters for their movies. Well, at least we have you here to share your talent with us.

Your are amazing. Well Done, PW.

p.s. Hope you had a great Christmas.

Author's Response: Hey PW :) Going into see the HP films, I always try to remind myself that they can't include everything, but I always find myself disappointed by the things they leave out anyway :P Thanks for your review, I'm glad you enjoyed it :)
(And thank you for the sentiment, but it would probably be terrible if I were a screenwriter...Neville would keep popping up in unexpected places, everyone would be very huggy and sentimental, and the movies would all be six hours long :P)

P.S. My Christmas was lovely. How was yours? You should join the forums and we can chat a bit :)


 Report Review

Review #21, by spencefa A cup of tea

25th December 2010:
I thought it was very good and very believable.

Author's Response: Thank you :) I'm really glad you thought it was believable.

 Report Review

Review #22, by RumbleroarRedvines A cup of tea

16th December 2010:
EPIC! Great idea and keep up the good work!

Author's Response: First of all, I LOVE your username. I bet they serve Redvines at every meal at Pigfarts.

Thanks for reading and reviewing :)


 Report Review

Review #23, by FriendofMolly A cup of tea

16th December 2010:
Brilliant! I too, was very disappointed that the Harry/Dudley scene was not in the film. I think it would have been a very interesting part. It would have been nice if just one blood relative had cared about Harry. Perhaps it would have strengthed the Blood Magic I really enjoyed this fiction.
FoM
PS Any ideas on the meeting after the War between Harry and Dudley?

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm really glad that you enjoyed this :) That's a really interesting idea about the blood protection being strengthened if any of the Dursleys had actually cared about Harry.

I hadn't really thought about writing anything else, but that's not a bad idea. I'll have to see how the plot bunnies are feeling :)

Thanks again for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #24, by myname A cup of tea

16th December 2010:
Love it! Very sweet!

Author's Response: Aww, thanks :*

 Report Review

Review #25, by awesome247 A cup of tea

16th December 2010:
That was so amazing! Fantastic job!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! So glad you enjoyed this :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login