Reading Reviews for Lion, Eagle, Badger, Snake
  
151 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Leonore End of Term

4th October 2013:
This is a really nice story, well written with a good plot. The Quidditch scenes are excellent - for some reason I struggle with writing that kind of action. I find it easier to concentrate on people, so I admire authors who can come up with a good imaginative plot like this and consider the relationships between so many people. And your original characters are well developed. Although the formal apologising thing gets a little repetitive and not entirely realistic, it suits the story. And the situation with the small House adds an original and interesting twist.

Well done for keeping the House point situation reasonable and pretty consistent. It is good that you've set 20 points as being a lot and are keeping that consistent. Although the "you just saved two people's lives, have a few house points" always seems to trivialise the rescue/big up the House point system too much. But that happens rather more in the original books.

Brilliant story; I have your sequels on my reading list so I will move on to them when I next have time.

Leonore

Author's Response: Thanks very much. The Quidditch scenes, as I think you probably realise from trying to write them, are a real pain to script as you need to strike the balance between the narrative, plot and the game itself. The trick is to have as little actual Quidditch as possible happen.

Sorry about the apologies ;-) ... fair point, though, I did try to make them varied, and it is somewhat relevant for the plot. There isn't too much of it in the sequel. Honest. Only a little bit, but you need it after you have a fight.

Hope you enjoy the sequels - Snake Bites is nearly finished!


 Report Review

Review #2, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing Chudleigh

14th March 2013:
Hello!

I thought this was a great first chapter to your story! It introduced the two characters, Greg and Matt really well and it was really sweet to see an eleven year old get his Hogwarts letter for the first time! You did the whole thing really well. I always imagined that a teacher would go and speak to the Muggleborn students straight away as everything would need explaining although I'm not sure if that's because I read something or just an idea I have in my head. Either way it was nice that Greg had someone there to answer all his questions.

I really like your characterisation of Matt, he was making me smile all the way though. He seemed to really enjoy the fact that he could tell Greg everything but he didn't have to tell him straight away. He kept making him get a drink or wait until later - poor Greg's got more patience than me!

This was a really great start though so well done :) I look forward to reading more in the future.

Lauren :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the read - a long time since anyone read this one, I think, so thanks for taking the trouble to dig it out!

I am glad you like the characters - they have a long way to go and a lot to learn over the course of this story, but I hope you follow them on their journey.

See you around,

Sheriff


 Report Review

Review #3, by spreaddapoo93 Chudleigh

29th November 2012:
Hello! I made a guarantee quite a while back after reading yor oneshot contribution to Shedding Our Skins, very much eager to read the rest of the story! This is a bit later than I would have liked but here I am!

This opening chapter is superbly written; you really have a fine touch with depicting children (Greg) and the relationship between adults/adolescents and children - few ever get it right, so props to you!

It was also wonderful seeing how you embodied the letter-enrolment tradition so very well - it's the first time I've read an HPFF with a Hogwarts acceptance letter and it was so well achieved - I was entirely sold by it! :D

Anyways, I thoroughly enjoyed it! I really am intrigued and if the title and summary is anything to go by, things aren't going to stay as adorable and innocent as Gregory ;)

Author's Response: Thanks very much for dropping by :-)

This opening chapter was rewritten several times, notably after I finished about Chapter 7, and I'm pretty happy with the way it stands now. It's part of my job to get adult/children interactions right so I hope I'm good at gauging things!

And yes, you're right. Innocence gets about as far as Chapter Four.

Sheriff


 Report Review

Review #4, by Gabriella Hunter End of Term

18th November 2012:
Hello!

So I've come to the end. There's always a bit of sadness when I come to the end of a good story and this isn't any different even though I know that there are some sequels waiting for me. I'm really grateful to you for taking the time so slowly instead of jumping on ahead to a few quick scenes and then ending the story altogether. I had a book end like that on me a while back and totally freaked out because I didn't get a feeling of closure! I think I tossed it somewhere in my room...
Anyway. Its great seeing that the boys have finally gotten treated a bit better after what happened at dinner and the events leading to the Hunt's demise. I wasn't surprised by some of the older Gryffindor's reactions to them either, they seem awfully stubborn that way. Hahaha.
But I think the boys, by that time had obviously had enough of being famous and I couldn't blame them. And their thoughts, while a bit dark on some things, especially with Tregeagle still in recovery. I'd like to know a bit more about that myself and some of his family history, maybe there's more to be revealed? Hoping so! :D
Anyway, I don't know what a Spice Girl is either, just as a random thing. They weren't a group I was too fond of. Haha.
Right. They won the Championship! Great game by the way, I don't know how you do it, I would have expired several paragraphs ago. I envy you...
There's still a few questions towards that ending that I think you purposely left open for us and I really like that you did. It makes me even more excited for the sequels! :D
But, really, all in all this was a wonderful and very unique NG and I'm really happy that you wrote it. There are alot of stories with the Weasley kids and such and I fall into that cliche myself with my own NG but I can't resist bullying my Misfits. Moving on! You're truly gifted and I'm going to be keeping an eye on you.
Freaky?
I do believe so!
Be sure to check your closet tonight! >:D
Much love,
Gabbie

Author's Response: Nothing worse than an unresolved plotline, right? There's a few questions that still need to be answered - particularly about Josh Tregeagle - but seeing as they're only questions that have been asked in the last couple of chapters, I'm sure they can wait...

Spice Girls were horrendous; I just needed a poor pun as a one-liner for a bit of levity before I heaped some more misery on poor little Josh.

Sequels:
Snake Bites (2017 Next Gen) - 18 chapters in
Snakes and Ladders (2006) - 7 chapters in

Snake Bites is getting all of my attention at the minute, so I'd go with that one next. It also has lots more Albus/Louis...

Thanks for everything

Sheriff


 Report Review

Review #5, by Gabriella Hunter Answers

16th November 2012:
HELLO!

I'm back! I told you that I would be and I'm sorry that it took so long for me to read this for you! I've been annoyingly busy and writing and trying to get my laptop fixed and...and...stuff!
So. We finally got some answers! I wasn't able to stop reading as the truth was revealed and I've said this before but the history you have going on with this story just blows my mind! With great ancestry coming into play and the children voicing their fears and concerns and coming together, I thought every bit of it was excellent! :D
I really liked that ending as well, it reminded me of the first book with the gang getting their well-deserved points for all the things that they'd done. Some of the points were so full of great encouragement too and I enjoyed the way you portrayed McGonagall, she's such a hard character to write for! :D
But its almost over! I have on more chapter to read and I'm going to leave you a gigantic review! I'm sort of fangirling so you'll have to excuse me! This was amazing! :)
P.S.: Expect the Misfits eventually. Not sure when I'm updating for them again, I've got some angsty stories to get out of the way. I'll let you know on the forums!
Much love,
Gabbie

Author's Response: I got really, really confused by the end of this... trying to keep straight who's in which house, who's related to who, who's friends with whom... Minerva knows her business. You wouldn't mess with her, would you?

Good to hear your laptop's fixed!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Gabriella Hunter Sunset

19th October 2012:
HellO!

Sorry that its been a while, real life came in the form of me getting sick and actually having something to do for my Navy stuff. Anyway, on to this!
I can't imagine how much work you had to do to come up with this story! I was incredibly interested in what you had hinted at in the last chapter with the elemental magic but it was such a great visual in this chapter! The information that the boys got from Slughorn left me wanting to know so much more and I really liked that you put in Harry's experience. It tied in eerily well and I'm surprised that no one else has ever done this before so bravo! :D
Also, I really liked what you did with all the Houses, having them so closely related to one another. Fire, air, water and earth was a really unique way of looking at them all and perhaps is why they're so different. Or why alot of people consider them to be different and I really, really love the history that you've brought into this. I'm far too lazy to do something so ingenious! *Gives fat kitten*
Anyhoo, can I talk about the ending to this? Not only was it shocking and creepy to have the Hunt coming back, but the teachers were unsettled as well! That's never a good sign and Tregeagle! I never thought that he would go to them (Nice use of the Killing Curse in there too. I didn't expect that) and I was really worried when the boys gave their blood. It worked though, which poses millions of other questions! I could go on for hours about how amazing this was! Nothing wrong with your flow, grammar or characters, it was an excellent read as always. :)
I shall be back!
Ah! In case you weren't on the forums, the Misfits are back and I really have to start finishing that story up. Sigh. This story has actually really inspired me! :D
Much love,
Gabbie

Author's Response: Thank you :^D

I'd forgotten just how much had gone into this one... if I'm honest I can barely remember where and when the ideas for the four elements and the bloodline came together, but it all fits, doesn't it? Makes me proud to re-read it! The next chapter is entitled "Answers" - so hopefully that should wrap things up a little bit!

I am now heading away for a week into North Wales (Glyn's bit of the country). It was probably being here last year that inspired the whole elements thing, actually... incredible place! Will make sure I find the time to track down the Misfits whilst I'm there.

Sheriff


 Report Review

Review #7, by Gabriella Hunter Elements

3rd October 2012:
Hello!

So, I got your advice from the forums not too long ago and thought, "Of course I'm going to read more of LEBS!" and so as always, I'm glad to be here!
For a moment, I was a bit concerned that Greg was cracking under the pressure but it was good advice that Ossie gave him I think. He really can't do everything on his own, which is excellently displayed in the last few scenes. Its been a while, obviously, that the Houses have helped each other with anything and I can tell that everyone has something they need to know. Its a scary situation of course and all the various dynamics with the boys is really amazing to read, I can't even begin to ask how you developed them so well! D': Jealous!
The fact that they want to destroy the Wild Hunt is pretty brave of course and I wish them all the best but I know that it's not going to be easy. What with ritual human sacrifices and all that ruining the party...
I'll be back soon to see what happens and I really like that ending to this chapter! Amazing as always. :D
p.s.: I have to decide whether to delete one of my stories but I'll most likely be back to the Misfits reasonably soon. So, uhm, be on the look out for those pink panties! ;)
Much love,
Gabbie

Author's Response: Simple answer: "write what you know". When you've seen / watched / helped group and team dynamics evolve every year for the last decade you get rather used to the subtle clues that fit within it.

Why do you need to delete one of your stories? Getting distracted with two many plots?!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Cassius Alcinder Day One

30th September 2012:
As I suspected, Greg is in Slytherin! It seemed like it was heading in that direction all along, but you threw in just enough of a misdirection with the Hufflepuff stuff, but it kind of felt similar to Harry's sorting in the books.

It's interesting to see how the boy's seem to be ashamed of Slytherin's repuation, while the Slytherins in the books seemed to revel in it. But that's probably realistic given the events that occured and the light that would cast Slytherin in.

The sorting scene was really well done, and it seemed to capture the dynamics of the hat and ceremony well. Greg's sorting showed a lot about his character and the challenges he will likely face. Theo adds a new dimension to the story as well, and it will be interesting to watch the new friendships develop.

Author's Response: What gave it away?!

The world of these muggle-born Slytherins is completely removed from the world of JKR's books. The last of the pupils (not) present at the final battle, and "taught" by the Carrows, have graduated, and there's a void to fill.

Thanks again for the reviews!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Cassius Alcinder House Points

30th September 2012:
So it's been quite a while since I read the first couple chapters, but luckily I was able to get up to speed pretty quickly and remember where I left off.

It was very interesting to see the dynamics of how the houses would interact in the post war years, and how far Slytherin has fallen. It was very easy to believe, since the snakes didn't exactly aquit themselves well in the final battle, and I would imagine public opinion would have turned very much against slytherins and purebloods in general after voldy's defeat.

Since it's the era between Hogwarts and Next Gen, you pretty much have to make up all your own characters, which you have done a good job of so far. The way the boys interact with each other and thir banter was a very believable depiction of how boys around that age would act (since I'd like to think it wasn't that long ago that I was one of them haha) And I absolutely loved th football references, very well played.

Overall I think the story is moving at a pretty good pace and it will be interesting to see which house he ends up in, although I think I might have a guess:)

Author's Response: Thanks very much - pleased to read that the momentum is easily retained and the setting feels realistic.

I spend too long on football terraces to give it up that easily... tables have turned a little for Exeter and Plymouth since this was written, though!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Hater. Clearly. End of Term

29th September 2012:
This story was insane! I basically just read the whole thing in one sitting, like, without breaks. I can't even name one thing that I really liked about it, it was all amazing. Except, well, I did like that you kind of did your own thing - a new thing - with the elemental magic element (excuse the pun...), because it was fresh and generally awesome. Oh, also, I like how this is kind of all OCs, just in the HP world, with sort of starring main characters (Harry and Ginny - woo!). And I really liked your characters too (though I wish Seb spoke more!) and you know, your whole story wasn't too bad either. :P
Thank you thank you for writing such a good story, I really enjoyed reading it. Going to check out the sequel(s?) now. Who needs sleep..?

Author's Response: Thank you!

There is *nothing* better than a random review, particularly one that's so excited to have read the story. I am delighted that you've enjoyed it so much, and really pleased to see you've recognised so much of the detail that went into developing the background and fitting it together into the main story.

Sequels are very much a work in progress: "Snake Bites" (set in 2017, merging my OCs with the semi-canon NextGen) will likely be finished before "Snakes and Ladders", which needs a bit more inspiration as to how I get a bad guy involved!

Thanks again - and I'd love know what you think of the sequels so far!

Sheriff


 Report Review

Review #11, by Gabriella Hunter Loyalties

29th September 2012:
Hello!

Since you bullied me on the forums about reading and reviewing the next amazing chapter for this story, here I am! I was going to do it anyway after I finished uploading, crying and kicking at the computer screen about my own work. But, alas, that can wait until later in the afternoon. >:D
Anyway, I should start reading and reviewing this story more often because I always forget how much I really love it when I haven't read it in a while.
Its really interesting to see the kids doing their own investigations about The Wild Hunt and even getting a bit of help from people they wouldn't have really spoken to before! There's so much going on that I have no clue about but I really enjoy the rich history that you've built up around the story though, using actual legends in a HP universe. Its excellent!
I'm really anxious to see what the boys discover but at the same time I have this feeling that its going to be dangerous. And that's usually the best sort of adventure, right? Anyway, I was really surprised by the end of this! Enemies becoming allies and protecting one another and I really liked that Greg made it a point for Spencer to not be a bully towards Ciaran any longer. I wonder how long it'll last though? Its got me extremely curious...
Anyway, I'm just scratching the surface of this and I'll be back alot sooner to leave another review and get sucked in! Oh! I have no boring things to note, like grammar or pacing or anything like that so you don't have to worry about it! :D I make so many of them that I hardly care right now. Speaking of...I have to go and clean up that last chapter of Albus. :(
Until I'm back! Psst, you should also leave questions for my MTA! >:D If you have the time, anyway.
Much love of course,
Gabbie

Author's Response: Bullying is such a strong word... I was just thinking of things you might like to do as you seemed bored... I very much enjoyed building the depth of mythology that goes into the climax of this story, and I hope you enjoy reading it just as much as I've enjoyed writing it!

I shall see if I can think of something for your MTA!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Gabriella Hunter The Hunted

11th September 2012:
Hello!

I'm back and I bet you were celebrating not hearing from me again, eh? Well, too bad! >:D
So it seems like this story has taken on a route I never would have expected and I really enjoy what you're crafted! I'm nearly done with the story but I sort of don't want it to end, how dare you! It was more than a little eerie with the Wild Hunt bursting into the Great Hall but I was able to envision it very well in my head. Creepy things keep happening at Hogwarts! I don't mind though because I think I like frightening small children and reading about other people who don't mind it either. Mwhahhah.
Anyway, the brief history with the Wild Hunt was rather interesting but I have to know what's going to happen with Tregeagle. I have a feeling that it shall not be pleasant! I really love that the story was passed around too, it reminded me of The Chamber of Secrets for a moment and once again, McGonagall is not in the mood to hear it! Hahaha. Argh, I can't wait to read the rest! Greg and the others are going to be getting into some trouble if they keep being so nosy but that's the thrill for little boys for you! :D
p.s: I'll be updating the Misfits in the next few days so look forward to that and I apologize for the ridiculous wait on it.
Much love,
Gabbie

Author's Response: This would be the 200th review on the LEBS series. Thank you :-)

I think the story went on a route that I didn't even expect it to - heck, Glyn didn't even exist until I wrote the first Potions lesson and the idea crossed my mind.

You are an evil person - you realise that? I'm not judging: I know I am, too...

Sheriff


 Report Review

Review #13, by Gabriella Hunter Broken Glass

21st August 2012:
Hello!

I told you that I would be back but I bet you weren't expecting it to be this soon, right? Surprise! I left you some questions on your MTA as well so have fun answering my questions! :D
Anyway, I'm reminded of how much I love this story with this chapter. Ciaran's torment is so unfair but I didn't think that he would attack the teacher! Although I sort of figured that Tregeagle deserved it, he shouldn't have let him get bullied so much by the Gryffindors! His anger was very well placed but what a surprise for me with that...disruption! The Wild Hunt?! Why would he have that and I must know where they went, it was such a spooky part that I wasn't sure how to handle it. I could imagine it all so well in my mind and I really don't blame Greg and the others for wanting to know more. I have a slight feeling that things won't work out so well but maybe I'm just too used to how I write my Misfits...hm. Anyway, I'll be back for the next piece! I have no complaints about anything, its simply excellent! So many secrets and lies and boy-angst! :D
P.S.: As soon as I get my laptop fixed, you'll be one of the first to know!
Much love,
Gabbie

Author's Response: Ooh, I shall go and get cracking with that MTA...

This is the point where everything all starts to kick off: I had tremendous difficulty keeping everything straight in my head and tying up all the loose ends - do let me know if anything feels unresolved when you reach the finish line (or, even worse, if it all turns into a big Deus Ex Machina!)

Sheriff


 Report Review

Review #14, by Gabriella Hunter Total Quidditch

21st June 2012:
Hello!

Been a while and I am so sorry! My precious lover, aka, my laptop still needs to be fixed and library computers are such a bother. But anyway, what a delightful chapter as always! I loved all the detail you put into the game, it felt very real and I wanted to be there! That was the moment when I realized that I might just hate Greg...just a little. Hahaha.
Anyway, nice little addition in the form of Harry, Ginny and the babies! :D I really enjoyed that little bit and the advice that he gave them, I'm sure it won't be something you'll have them forgetting. Eager for their match and hoping that they win! They need to demolish Gryffindor! As I am a Hufflepuff, I shouldn't be so picky but go Slytherin! :D Until next time!
P.S.: I shall try to update soon, I may or may not have my laptop fixed next week. The rock gods haven't forsaken me...:D
(I hope)
Much love,
Gabbie

Author's Response: It's pretty hard to hate Greg, I think... and you're right, that's a meeting he never forgets.

There's rather more to happen before the Quidditch final, however (and not just because I got sick and tired of writing the damn game)...

Sheriff


 Report Review

Review #15, by Gabriella Hunter Veritaserum

7th June 2012:
Hello!

I would have read this yesterday but I'm glad that I waited! I'm glad that the interrogation went well and for a moment I thought Glyn's mum would ask him something really personal and Greg might say something he hadn't really wanted to. That's what I thought anyway, but I'm glad that it worked out, I was a bit worried for a minute there. Anyway, I'm thrilled that Glyn was able to express himself and that the others accepted him regardless of what he thought. I really do love how you've continued to show the "actions" of each House and continue to disregard them. Its great! Anyway, I'm going to really enjoy the next chapter, I have no idea where this story might be heading next and that's the thrill!
P.S. My Misfits have another chapter! You can now read it on my site whenever you get the chance and go easy on me, I was stretching it a bit.
Much love,
Gabbie

Author's Response: I'm not sure what Gwenog would have asked in Glyn had let her continue much longer, but there was no way he was standing by and letting it happen. Also, after that, he could have said pretty much anything and Greg would still have stuck up for him.

I've just checked out the misfits - Sheriff the Piranha indeed...

:-)


 Report Review

Review #16, by Gabriella Hunter Family

4th June 2012:
Hello!

Whaat?! Things just aren't looking up for these guys! Slytherin prejudice and regular prejudice just everywher, if there is a difference at all. :p
Anyway, I'm really eager to see what they do for their Quidditich match once they get back to school, I have a feeling that its going to be really exciting! But that ending! You stunned me! I had no idea that you were going to go in that direction, I thought Gwenog was just going to tell them to go home but that's not what happened! Really? Gosh, I'm going to save the next few chapters for later so I can have more to read but amazing! Can't wait to chat again!
Much love,
Gabbie

Author's Response: Is there a difference? Funny you should mention that given what happens next... Glyn has reached the stage, following his fight in the corridor last time out, that he's not standing by and letting it happen any longer.

I hope the description works in the next chapter... I actually went to Harlech to get it right!

Thanks again

Sheriff


 Report Review

Review #17, by Gabriella Hunter Lessons Learnt

4th June 2012:
Hello!

Sorry its been forever but here I am! And yes! OMG, I could hug Glyn for beating the crap out of Dawlish, how hilarious was that? Then again, I just like justice and a good fight. :D
Anyway, I knew something was going to go downhill with the way his temper was getting and I like the burst of surprise you gave us with the fight itself. It was really unexpected and I loved it!
And surprise, they've got a new friend. At least, I hope so and I really would like to see where they all go from here and how their next Quidditch match goes. Excellent as always! :D
Ah! The Misfits should be up by tomorrow, I hope and I hope to hear from you whenever you can! I'm rooting for your Slytherins!
Much love,
Gabbie

Author's Response: Dawlish has been asking for it for several thousand words. Glyn's right, it was well worth it.

More to happen before the next Quidditch match, mind...

Sheriff


 Report Review

Review #18, by alicia rose potter End of Term

28th May 2012:
I thought it was brilliant that you wrote an entire story with almost none of the original characters (minus professors, and the one appearance of the Potters) and yet it was still canon in all the details and more importantly, it was the world that we all know and love from JKR's books. This was a wonderful story, and I loved how you handled the Slytherin house and ol' Sluggy. He was spot on! McGonagall's comment about houses being your family was also extremely well-played. I'm off to see if you did write a sequel with these characters, and if you haven't, I hope you do!

Author's Response: I went for both, and consequently neither are progressing particularly rapidly - as real life, and its altogether more ridiculous plotlines, keeps getting in the way...

Thanks for the review - glad you liked it. I very much enjoyed exploring this particular corner of JKR's sandbox as there was both a structure to build upon, and sufficient space to impose enough of my own identities. I had worried that Slughorn had been a bit underdeveloped here, so thanks for that, too!

Sheriff


 Report Review

Review #19, by ScorpiusRose17 End of Term

28th May 2012:
Hi there! Here with your last review for this story...=(

This was such a great story. I am so happy that you asked me to review because I would have missed a great story if you hadn't.

I would love to see more of all of the characters again. I want to know the answer to the unanswered questions that are now out there. I want to see more of Glyn, Jai, Cameron, Josh, Spencer, Isaac, Lucas, Ossie, Matt, Neal, Seb and Ed. Not to mention Greg. I think that whatever you do with these characters is going to turn out amazing. It shouldn't matter how many reads or reviews you get as long as you love what you are writing others will too.

I was really glad with the way things ended. I liked following them on this journey, to experience what they experienced. You did an amazing job from start to finish and held the attention of your readers until the very end. I love the Quidditch in this chapter. It seems like it comes so natural to you and I would never suspect that it was difficult with the way that you have written it.

I loved all of the characters and the way that you personally characterized them. It made them believable and fun to read.

Keep up the awesome writing! I know I look forward to reading anything you have written!! =)

-SR17

Recenseo 2012

Author's Response: I'm not sure it was too difficult - just a bit dull by the seven or eighth match of the book. It's a bit of a limited sport to write about, as there are only so many things that can happen with that scoring system (hence why I had to change it in the first place...)

Do I assume you want me to kill off Theo, then? ;-)

Thank you so much for all your reviews, they've been great to read and have really given me a great deal of pride in the story.

Sheriff

:-)


 Report Review

Review #20, by ScorpiusRose17 Answers

28th May 2012:
Hi there again!

I love Professor McGonagal and the way that you characterize her. I can just picture her in my head acting just like that and the way that she sounds when she speaks. I can also do the samething with Greg, Glyn, Theo, Zac, Lucas, Neal, and all of the rest. All because your descriptions are awesome! You did a great job keeping to their characterizations in this chapter as well.

I really liked the story line and the way that the plot is slowly dwindling down to a close. It was and has been done flawlessly throughout the entire story. The pace has been wonderful too because you haven't rushed through anything. This is easy to fully understand and get through.

Keep up the awesome writing...it is with a heavy heart that I proceed to the final chapter...

-SR17

Recenseo 2012

Author's Response: I've done that teacher's conversation enough times to know how they pan out. They're usually the sort of interaction where you're about three steps ahead of the kids.

Glad the plot seems to fit properly - never easy to judge whether something as complex as this is rushed and hence hard to follow or, conversely, if it drags on (and on, and on...)

I have to admit to getting totally lucky with Phyllida Spore's timeline, though. The only canon headteacher any time around there, and she happens to share an era with Owain Glyndwr!

Sheriff


 Report Review

Review #21, by ScorpiusRose17 Sunset

28th May 2012:
Hi there! Okay so this is a huge deal to me because this is my 400th review! I am glad that this is the story that I am leaving it for. I know we are nearing the end and I'm kind of sad about it.

Oh my goodness this was awesome!!! I truly loved this chapter. It had to be the best chapter I've read so far. Look at Glyn go! That was a huge shock! I am so glad that they were able to figure this out and stop it from not only taking Josh, but his father too.

I really liked how Greg and the others stood up for Josh. It really added to the "we aren't the old Slytherins" ideals. I finally figured out Ravenclaw now and feel kind of dumb because he was always there...Neal. I truly laughed when Isaac informed him of what word he was thinking of...typical boy. =)

I loved the way that you described the kitchen and having the way that the Great Hall's floor is transparent. They could be safe and yet see what else was happening. I love your descriptions they always paint a wonderful picture in my mind as I read.

I also really loved the characterizations of your characters. I have grown to love all of them even the ones that I didn't quite like at first. You do such a good job at making sure that each of their personalities, quirks, and mannerisms come right out and that each make them individualized.

Keep up the awesome writing! =)

-SR17

Recenseo 2012

Author's Response: Thank you - 400 and counting :)

It took a long time to plan out the details of the final showdown here but I hope I've done it in a way that has avoided too much Deus Ex Machina.

To be fair, I did have an entire chapter titled "Ravenclaw"!

Sheriff


 Report Review

Review #22, by Gabriella Hunter Ravenclaw

26th May 2012:
Hello!

Go boys! They flattened Ravenclaw with an amazing score and you had me hooked on the game! I was so happy that I almost did a dance, but that would have been embarrassing for many reasons. :D
I'm hoping that their luck continues on during the year and I can't wait for them to rub it in to everyone else, especially some of those snooty Gryffindors! :D
Anyway, I loved Greg as usual and I really enjoyed that last bit with the drinking game. I wish my history lessons had been that interesting but sadly, I was bored to tears but somehow managed to pass. :p
Looking forward to more and will be plowing through once more, I've got a long way to go and I really love all of your characters and I'm trying to wonder what might happen next. Its so hard to tell!

P.S.: My Misfits latest chapter is finished and should be up, hopefully be next week. I had a horrible writers block and all that but hold on!
Much love,
Gabbie

Author's Response: Thank you :)

I have to admit that I got rid of History as soon as I possibly could - a shame, as it can be a really interesting subject if it's taught properly... unfortunately it wasn't. I suppose you can say that about every class.

Looking forward to the Misfits :)

Sheriff


 Report Review

Review #23, by ScorpiusRose17 Elements

25th May 2012:
Hi there!

Another fantastic chapter!!

It was really interesting to learn about the old welsh magic compaired to the regular Hogwarts magic that we've read about for some time now. I was happy to see that Glyn was able to get that little bit of information about it from his father. I also really liked how Ossie told Greg that you can't do anything on your own. Ossie and Matt have this way of shuttling the other kids around in order to help push them to do their best and be their best. It is encouraging to see. I really liked seeing the other two houses come more into play and I am wondering now where is Ravenclaw?

I thought that you did a great job characterizing everyone as usual. I really liked Ossie in this chapter. He is a comforting character. Glyn was awesome too. The descriptions were really well written and I could follow you along as I read. The wonderful, vivid picture is still there.

I can't wait to find out what is going to happen next. Keep up the awesome writing! =)

-SR17

Recenseo 2012

Author's Response: Ravenclaw's there. You just need to look carefully...

Agreed, I like writing Ossie although he's never going to be a scene-stealer (or Head Boy, come to think of it, he's too much in the background). I do intend to do a one-shot of his and Matt's first year at some stage mind...

Onto the home straight now...

Thanks as ever

Sheriff


 Report Review

Review #24, by ScorpiusRose17 Loyalties

24th May 2012:
Hi there!

Sorry it has taken me a long time to get this review to you.

I really enjoyed this chapter just as much as the ones before it. You capture the mind with the details of the Wild Hunt and the happenings of what is going on with the Slytherin's and who they are friends with. I really liked that Aidan started to stand up for Ciaran and made Spencer stop and think about what it is that he is doing. I am not sure that I trust him though.

I am still curious as to what is going to happen to Tregeagle and his son. I also thought it was nice to see that Ed had to chuckle about what Glyn said about him and his welsh speaking abilities or lack of.

I really enjoyed the description and your attention to small details. It really helps keep my mind towards what I am reading with the awesome vivid picture that is described for me so flawlessly. I think you are still holding the characterization to a high standard and I love how each of them are all different, but some what alike.

Keep up the awesome writing! =)

-SR17

Recenseo 2012

Author's Response: Thank you, as always. It's getting quite tricky to respond to these reviews now without repeating myself - but I'm glad I'm keeping my standards up :)

Sheriff


 Report Review

Review #25, by dobbys_socks Team News

23rd May 2012:
You know what I said before about Greg being more mature and stuff? He's growing even more. I feel like his mum watching him. Oh gosh that sounds weird.

What's really annoying about Recenseo is that our reviews have to be at least four sentences long but all I do with this fic is go on about how fantastic you and this is. Like, if there was something wrong or that I didn't like I would have a lot more things to say but at the moment I don't. You're amazing.

~dobby~
Recenseo 2012

Author's Response: I apologise for any inconvenience caused...

;-)

Sheriff


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>