Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for La Souvenance
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by lia_2390 First encounter

20th May 2012:
I really love this idea of her recounting her memories with him, so she can find her reason. For his sake, I hope she makes the right decision in the end.

Can I just say now, that if Susan doesn't want him, can I have him? Please? He is exactly like I envisioned Theodore Nott to be. There's a quiet mystery about him, confident, a bit sensitive, and oh so very Slytherin. I think Susan acted very well here, not quite sure what I would've done if he were staring me down like that.

Loved this, Gill. Don't let work keep you from writing more of this!

Lia

 Report Review

Review #2, by lia_2390 One

20th May 2012:
Hee. Susan and Theo. It just fits, you know? The mood of this story reminds me of one of Jo's stories - The Lonely Heart's Club? But that's how it always is, isn't it? Girls lamenting over boys, or swearing them off for brief periods of time.

I love how this began with Susan calling up all her friends, and them rushing to her aid, because as you said, after 7 whole years their relationship ends? It is absurd.

I'm trying to understand her reasoning behind dumping him. Honestly, most couples would love for the other to take him into account, instead of making decisions without the other's knowledge or something. But on the other hand, there would still be these feelings - the what if's. Hmm, it is quite complicated.

I love Lavender's characterisation too. She's the single lady out of the bunch (which sort of sucks), and still it makes sense based on the type of girl she was characterised as at Hogwarts. It also makes sense that she's the one who came up with the idea of going over Susan's memories because as a single female, this isn't something she will take for granted.

I thought this was a great opening chapter! I'll continue on to chapter two :)

Lia

 Report Review

Review #3, by Resha First encounter

6th May 2012:
hi there i know this is kinda of a weird question but you beta'd Childish_Fairy's Fever and it has not been updated in sooo long do you know what happened to her? is it just abandoned? love your story btw update soon xoxo

 Report Review

Review #4, by charlottetrips First encounter

28th March 2012:
I didnít mention this in my first review, but I L O V E ♥ ♥ ♥ your banner! Hugh Dancy is so cute and I loved Confessions of a Shopaholic. Funniest movie Iíd seen in awhile and Amy Adams was great in it, so thinking of Susan and Theo as those two makes me have more liking for this story (than I already do, mind you).

Ah, Susanís a Hufflepuff! I love Hufflepuff stories! To be honest, I donít remember much or anything at all about Susan or Theo so I feel like Iím learning about these new characters as we go along.

Oh, a mysterious beginning. Iíd forgotten that Theo was a Slytherin. This gets all the more interesting now: a Slytherin and a Hufflepuff. Why did Theo start up that conversation? What is it about Susan that caught his eye (besides the potion journal)? I like how he seemed all suave and stuff but also sincere with his random approach. I kind of wish that the chapter was longer so that weíd get more Susan and Theo but I guess that thatís what the rest of the story is for!

Again, your writing is excellent. I really felt like I was just experiencing the moments with Susan and didnít have to be distracted by any awkward descriptions or misspellings. The pace went along fine and I donít have anything else to say other than keep going! :)

xChar

(as an aside, I think you have an open < b > tag on your last chapter as everything tends to be bolded after your author's note)

 Report Review

Review #5, by charlottetrips One

28th March 2012:
Hello! Here from the TGS Review Swap! A Theo/Susan story. Two minor characters Iíd never given a second thought to and therefore a whole new vista for you to explore as an author and call it canon! :)

I like how youíve started out with an established Susan and Theo relationship (though theyíre currently broken up). Itís true that when one is in a long-term relationship, you can get too comfortable unless you do things to make it new and constantly moving. I can understand Susanís dissatisfaction with the relationship being the same, of always being asked about Theo as part of a ďHow do you do?Ē conversation opener. I think youíve clearly established, with the example of the two not taking different opportunities in their careers, what is the crux of this unhappiness Ė the inability to decide as individuals without losing their other half.

Just as I like stories with New Love, I like reading stories about Old Love growing back together (if this story turns out to be that way). So Iím looking forward to seeing what this is going to be about!

divulging [a] some kind of [consipracy], - [a] is added; and itís [conspiracy]

Itís true. Lavender is being unusually deep for what weíve known of her character. But Iíll give her some years and some growing up experience and take her at what sheís saying. Iím surprised you didnít have Hannah say it but I guess we got to give Lavender a break sometimes (though I am glad you slipped in that bit about the ďbrilliantĒ idea to go to a Muggle bar).

I wasnít sure how you were going to attack this story and I saw that it was a ďShort Story CollectionĒ so I wondered what that meant in terms of a Susan/Theo story. Now I know! And I think itís brilliant. How wonderful that weíre going to grow with (and apart) the two in such a long-term relationship.

Your writing is excellent. The characters, of what Iíve seen, have distinctive personalities, the pacing was great, and you managed to introduce a plot in less than 2000 words. And I only spotted one grammar/spelling point! I know that thatís like ďWhatevĒ but I love it when Iím not distracted in reading something because of a misspelling or grammar thing.

Off to Chapter 2!

 Report Review

Review #6, by PenguinsWillReignSupreme One

23rd January 2011:
Gill ♥

I feel so dreadful for taking so long to get to this. I know this was my Secret Santa gift and I did read it and I didn't have time to review but also never got around to PMing you to say sorry about that...and then it went past the point where it was acceptable to say sorry it's late and I was stuck in a bit of a quandry.

-takes breath-

But I'm here now, right? I hope that's okay and that this doesn't sound completely fake and terrible or anything because honestly, I've been meaning to do it for so, so long.

I'm going to give you a nice little bullet pointed review:

- Susan/Theo is one of my new favourite ships. It's gorgeous and even if he's only been mentioned so far, I'm finding him rather attractive. I think the way you've set up their relationship here is really interesting and I can't wait to see these significant moments unfolding for us. I really do hope they figure everything out.

- Hannah and Lavender as Susan's friends. I must admit, I was a bit sceptical about Lavender being there but she really seems to have grown up yet still retains her canon teenage self within her. Hannah is a darling and I really like the dynamic the three women have.

- The title is perfect.

- The writing. Oh, the writing. It's improved so much since I first started reading your stuff (and it was good back then.) I simply adore the style you've written this in, and that last line especially was really sad and heartbreaking. I love the pacing of it, the sentence structure, the vocab choices. It works really, really well.

I'm still so sorry that I put off reviewing for so long. I hope you carry on with it - though I understand it might be a little difficult for you now - because I think it has so much potential.

But most of all, I love you and I do miss you (you're on my Must Send Catch-Up PM to [name] list) and I hope everything is okay. This is a fantastic piece of writing and I am still hugely apologetic and thus owe you a billion squishes next time you're around.


xx

Author's Response: *flails*

*squishes*

Rachel ♥

Please don't feel dreadful. Honestly, it's enough that you know this is dedicated to you. This review is just the icing on the cake and whatnot. ;)

Woo bullet points! XD

- I'm finding readers' impression of Theo to be quite similar. Teehee. Like I've said in the review response below, I know how I want Theo to be as a character, and I'm hoping I'll be able to portray him as such.

- I get where you're coming from. Susan and Hannah would be a whole lot easier to understand, but Lavender was kinda random. Teehee. I was basically looking for a different voice/personality to throw into the mix, and she was the first person that came to mind. No idea how that will go, though. I'll find out along with the readers. :D

- Snaps to Marina for helping me translate the English version (which was too blah for me). xD

- *blushes* I honestly don't know what else to say except THANK YOU SO MUCH. For you to say that means the WORLD to me. I'm not even exaggerating. ♥

Oh my gosh, Rachel, you're simply the best. Honestly, this review made me smile like a lunatic (and I'm still smiling as I'm typing this response :P). Your support and friendship deserve more than this dedication. Thank you. I love you. BIG TIME. ♥


 Report Review

Review #7, by xtinjsc One

20th January 2011:
Hello, my lovely soulmate! ♥

I had no idea what the title meant, except that it was probably French, so I asked my adorable father to translate it for me. Never mind that I received a short sermon about my neglect of learning the language when I was supposed to (remind me never to ask translation favours from him again, btw), he did tell me that La Souvenance can mean 'The Memories' or 'The Reminiscences' - I prefer the latter, it's more posh. :P And you know what? I loved it. Perfect title. Very fitting and it made me excited to read more from this story.

Have you ever heard of the saying Aim high, shoot low? This might not be a very pleasant beginning, but it was rather promising. I mean, sometimes in long-term relationships, when things start to get too complacent, going back could really help and remembering the good things, the ones that made it work, would be the best way to do it. Kind of pointless, if you remember the terrible fights, tbh. :P So I kind of predicted more blissful chapters to follow. And you clever, clever girl, there was a lot of little foreshadowing in this introductory chapter and I loved it. Not only with your main paring, but also with the supporting cast. I'd be willing to bet we'd get to know the other girls better as well, especially Lavender, because there was definitely a hint of bitterness there. *wink*

Then again, that could probably just me again thinking too much. >.<

Speaking of your characters, I found it curious that you've chosen those three girls. I mean sure, Susan and Hannah, being both from ♥ Hufflepuff ♥, must've known each other from school, but Lavender was a surprise for me. Hmmm. I wonder how the characters would play out. So far the interactions were great. Great job, btw. The whole conversation felt so easy and natural and really something that you'd expect from a girl's night out, you know? I loved it. Nothing like having your girls with you to 'celebrate' a break up, right? Teehee. :P

Theo's name was mentioned what, 2-3 times? But gosh, Gilly, he was very sexy here, no? Must be the whole mystery deal. The only thing we know about him was that he was a Slytherin loner and a son of a Death Eater, and it made me wonder how he and Susan could've possibly worked. Susan seemed like a thoughtful girl, though, so she must've done something. Eee! Again, I couldn't wait to read more! *pleads for you to post the second chapter soon*

This is it for me, love. No CC's for you. Haha. Sorry. :P This was rather well-written and that was one of the reasons why I enjoyed this. I didn't have to be distracted by the nit picky details, so thank you for that. I'll see you around, dear! Keep writing, kk? *hugs* ^_^

Author's Response: ARE YOU TRYING TO KILL ME?! *spazzes*

Just kidding, soulmate. Though I have to admit, when I saw that this review was from you, I panicked a little bit on the inside. XD I'm always like that when a review comes from a friend -- the pressure multiplies times a thousand. Teehee. But of course, there was nothing to worry about as this was such a GORGEOUS, GORGEOUS review. Like whoa!

Frankly, I was really very nervous about posting this. First of all, it started with a break-up. WTH, right? I wasn't sure how to pull it off, or what the response would be, if it would be too confusing, etc. But I'm very happy to hear that you thought it was promising, and I hope the next chapters will live up to your expectations. ;) And err, yeah, the supporting cast... That was actually quite random. xD Well, Hannah's probably not, but I have no idea why I put Lavender there. o.O Oh well, like they say, paninindigan ko nalang. ;)

I have a pretty clear picture of what Theo is like in my head, though that doesn't necessarily mean I will be able to translate him as clearly on paper (or web :P). I hope I do, though, and I'm glad you think he's sexy so far. Teehee. They have a lot of stuff to go through, and I hope I'll be able to capture the essence of their relationship in the next chapters.

Thank you so much, my dear! I honestly don't know how to thank you enough for this ridiculously encouraging and flattering review. It really means a lot that you like this. THANK YOU (AGAIN AND AGAIN AND AGAIN). ILY MUCHLY. ♥


 Report Review

Review #8, by jane pinkerton One

25th December 2010:
Merry Christmas BBG!! :D so on a regular day if i had come across this story I probably wouldn't have clicked on it bc I'm such a die hard James&Lily reader, but I'm so glad I read this!
First off you give readers a really good and relatable subject! I personally am constantly going through this (my boyfriend and sister **rolls eyes**) so it's nice to read about someone else going through it and (eventually) learning how to deal with it!
I also like that you used minor characters for this. It's not everyday that you read something strictly about Susan and you give her a really good personality that, like the subject, readers can relate to!
The way you set up the story both in the intro and showing how the rest of the chapters will be written is really good. Cause sometimes authors kind of throw you into the middle of the situation like a break up and it can just get confusing! But you did it straight to the point without complicating it. I think it'll be really interesting to read the future chapters and see how they go through her memories and then see Susan's reaction to it afterwards.
I can't wait to learn more about Theo's character. At one point Susan says, "You know how he is..." but I don't! So I'm wondering if he has a small temper or something? I don't know! So it'll be interesting to get to know him.
With all of that being said, I really like it! LOL! I'm definitely going to be keeping an eye on this for future chapters!
Again, Merry Christmas!! I hope you enjoy every moment of them!
p.s. I tried to be cool like tinny cause she leaves awesome reviews that hit on like every aspect of the chapter, but I still can't reach her awesome detailing! lol! anywho...haha merry christmas!!

Author's Response: Haii, lovely! ♥

Thank you so much for leaving such a wonderful review -- and the very first one, at that! *hands over some chocolate bars and cookies*

As you might have noticed, I have a thing for obscure ships, and I also completely understand that it might not appeal to readers right away. However, I'm so happy that you enjoyed this and liked Susan despite being a minor character. But what makes me even happier is the fact that you thought I wrote this in a relatable manner because that is what I want to achieve with my writing -- for people to be able to identify with the characters and the events, even if they haven't necessarily experienced them (yet). I was also a bit worried that starting out with a break up might not work or might be too confusing, but I'm glad you thought otherwise. *does happy dance* I certainly hope the subsequent chapters won't disappoint (if I ever do get around to posting them :P).

Again, my sincerest thanks for such a lovely review/Christmas present. I truly am all smiles right now. :) :) :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login