45 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Phoenix_feather123 The Sorting of Albus Severus Potter

13th September 2012:
pretty good. I just don't like how scorpy and al get along. :P yeah, call me picky... just in my fan fic, those to are much like their fathers...

Author's Response: Maybe during the many years after the war, Harry and Draco have grown up and tried not to put their prejudices on the children, who knows? Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by Aguamenti123 The Sorting of Albus Severus Potter

13th May 2012:
This is great, I love the conversations between Scorpius and Albus, it's really sweet how Albus doesn't judge him. I wish there was more, but it's great as it is as well :)

Author's Response: Thank you for your lovely review! :D

 Report Review

Review #3, by Your Ravenclaw Secret Santa The Sorting of Albus Severus Potter

2nd January 2012:
An excellent take on one of my favourite plots in fanfiction!
I always love reading the different takes on the sorting of the nextgen kids, and love how you set this up, and stayed true to your characters' personalities.
One thing to be careful of is the age of your characters, although I liked the thought process and sincerity about their declaration that they weren't their parents, the wording was perhaps too eloquent to belong to an 11 year old.
Otherwise I really enjoyed it!

Secret Santa

Author's Response: Yes, I know how overwritten this plot is and I hope my version has some originality in it. :P Argh! I always trouble with writing the speech of younger characters. I'll work on that when I next edit the story. :)
Thanks for reviewing! :D

-Sophia


 Report Review

Review #4, by megaaan  The Sorting of Albus Severus Potter

12th November 2011:
Aw, this is adorable! I've always wondered whether Albus would be in Gryffindor or Slytherin, but thought that him being in Gryffindor after all he was worrying about would be great - and you've captured this day for him very well :-)

I have one point on the way you've written - the dialogue of Scorpius, Albus and Rose is almost a bit wooden -- "he said this, she yelled that" type thing. I don't want to be hypocritical here, because I know that in my story I've done exactly the same thing, and so I don't really have any tips. Eugh, this is a useless comment, haha. The only thing I can say is that I think it is better in the chapter I am writing now, because I feel more connected to my character - I know how she's feeling and exactly what she'd say, instead of just a generalisation of what anyone could say at that point. Does this make sense? No? Okay, moving on...

Very cute how they befriend Scorpius, and I like how - unlike with Draco - he automatically assumes he will be disliked (and that he most probably would have been, because of his parents). Although, did Ron not tell them to stay away from him? Or are you ignoring that part of the epilogue - because I'm not sure Rose would actively disobey her father like that :-)

All in all, another wonderful one-shot - I really enjoyed it and it was very cute and fluffy; I just wanted to hug them all!

Megan xox

Author's Response: Thank you for this wonderful, long review!
I can sort of understand what you mean in that second paragraph. I guess I need some more practise writing. :)
Ron did tell Rose to stay away from Scorpius (although I didn't write it in), but I think Al and Rose make the decision themselves to give Scorpius a chance and to try and trust him.

Thank you for reviewing! :D

-Sophia


 Report Review

Review #5, by KatnissMalfoy The Sorting of Albus Severus Potter

8th October 2011:
Cute, but I want him to be a Slytherin.

Oh well. Good story :)

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing. :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by LilyFire The Sorting of Albus Severus Potter

6th July 2011:
I like it. The entire time, I expected a switch up-for Albus to go to Slytherin and Scorpius to go to Gryffindor. I like it though, and I think you've done a wonderful job with coveying all the emotions first years go through during sorting!
~Lily

Author's Response: Thank you for the surprise reviews, Lily :P I'm glad you liked it. :)

-Sophia


 Report Review

Review #7, by Kevin The Sorting of Albus Severus Potter

27th June 2011:
I liked the story, it was uncomplicated and sent a good message.

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by charlottetrips The Sorting of Albus Severus Potter

4th May 2011:
This was quite enjoyable. The similarities you drew to the Golden Trio were nicely done and I liked thinking that there was a new generation really forming. I haven't checked out your other stories but hopefully you're carrying on with the characters you've introduced us to.

The little details you entered in from Albus' point of view really helped me to see what was going on around him. As always when reading NextGen fics, what I enjoy most is if the author can pull off the family aspect that is quite prominent (given that there are nearly 20 cousins). And you did pull it off!

~Char

Author's Response: Hey fellow Team Blue Claw! :D

I'm glad you liked this. I love all the next gen kids when they're cute and innocent. :)

All of my stories, although not directly related, are in canon with each other. Like in this story, Albus is Sorted into Gryffindor and Scorpius into Slytherin. They're both still in those Houses in my seventh year one-shot 'Sunny-Side Up'. As I'm sure you noticed. ;)

You and I are going to win this month's Blue vs. Bronze! For sure! :D

-Sophia x


 Report Review

Review #9, by Carina The Sorting of Albus Severus Potter

25th April 2011:
Very good! I enjoyed that short story

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by NaidatheRavenclaw The Sorting of Albus Severus Potter

10th April 2011:
Well done! I think you did a really great job of this. I love how you did with characterizing the characters. Even in a one-shot, I managed to get a picture of every one of them. I also like what you did with Albus's sorting. A lot of people put him in Slytherin, but judging how worried he was in the DH epilogue, I personally agree with what you did. I do think he'd pick Gryffindor.
Well written, good job overall!

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks for reviewing :)

I'm glad you think I did a good job especially with characterisation. :D

-Sophia x


 Report Review

Review #11, by Alcy The Sorting of Albus Severus Potter

5th April 2011:
Hi there,

This is a really awesome one-shot. I love your writing style; it has such good flow and is absolutely lovely to read.

I particularly enjoyed how you portrayed the tensions between the new generation of wizarding families – how the old rivalries are still very much there and just how hard it would be to try and break away from all that. I wanted to tell James and Fred to stop harping on about Scorpius' father and how Malfoy’s are the enemies so the younger kids can make up their own minds. Which meant of course that I was thoroughly engaged with the story and the set-up! (Although I did kind of hope that Scorpius would be Sorted into Gryffindor). And I liked how Rose was so certain of her house.

I think I only spotted one grammatical error in the fic where you used 'you're' instead of 'your'. That one stood out as it’s one of my pet peeves ;-)

'you're brother was easy but you're a very different person.'

I can imagine the cross-house diplomacy continuing with Albus being friends with a Slytherin after the conclusion of this one-shot.

Thanks for sharing! I really liked it.

Cheers,
Alcy

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks for your lovely review.

I'm glad you like the story and in particular the way the characters interacted :)

Thank you for pointing that mistake out. I can't believe I didn't see it before! *hangs head in shame*

Thanks again!

-Sophia x


 Report Review

Review #12, by katebabelovesharrypotter The Sorting of Albus Severus Potter

21st March 2011:
I loved it! It was totally adorable :)

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by BrightStar The Sorting of Albus Severus Potter

13th March 2011:
Hey! I really enjoyed this, very realistic and trhe charaters are all very like what I imagined them to be like. Rose reading her spellbook was brilliant - though in my last fic she was trying not to be like her mother, id say on her first day she couldnt WAIT to start classes! I really liked Al and Rose accepting Scorpius - why should this be such an odd thing to do? They belong to a new, more hopeful generation.
Also I liked Albus' kind of exploration of his identity, i think his choice mirroring his fathers was very effective.

Anyhoo, well done on this GREAT fic :D

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks for reviewing :)

You've really understood what I was getting at in this story. The next gen students can actually become friends even if they're Sorted in different Houses.

Thanks you!

-Sophia x


 Report Review

Review #14, by silverstarletworld89 The Sorting of Albus Severus Potter

6th March 2011:
Aww this is so cute!! I adore next generation stories, but I have never read one about the sorting before. I was wondering whether or not if you were going to tell us what houses they were sorted in or try and make us guess from the their characteristics and what they say lol. I can never decide what house I want Al to be in but I am glad that you placed him in Gryffindor.:-)

Enjoyed how you portayed them all and liked the little insight of Al at the end and how he wanted to remain friends with Scorpius dispite the House differences and their family's past.

Cute little one shot:-)
Silverstarletworld

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks for reviewing :) I'm glad you liked it.

-Sophia x


 Report Review

Review #15, by hp_gwrocks The Sorting of Albus Severus Potter

5th March 2011:
i like this story. so nice and smiple. :)

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by MalfoysCarolinaGirl2010 The Sorting of Albus Severus Potter

5th March 2011:
This is really good i loved the way the sorting hat gave Albus the choice like it did Harry. Honestly i was expecting him to be sorted into Slytherin but i'm glad he chose Gryffindor. As a combination Potter/Weasley it's where he belongs.

~Operation Green With Envy~

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by iamlilypotter The Sorting of Albus Severus Potter

20th February 2011:
Roses are red,
violets are blue,
I'm very late from the forums,
but I still love you!

Ok, I finally made it over here! So sorry again, and I'm just going to start with my review!

Overall, I though this was a really sweet and cute story! I will break it down a little more than that though, of course.

I liked - The characters the most. They were all written very well and acted just as you would expect, which I like a lot. You seem like you knew them personally! I also like how it follows the Epilogue not exactly, but you still get the general idea, too. I'm a big fan of Canon, so that's probably why! And Scorpius is my favorite, and this 'Bronze Trio' as I call it, is adorable. Aren't 11 year-olds the cutest? :)

What I don't like - Nothing really that I disliked, I just have some opinions that wouldn't make it a better story at all, it's just what I feel. So basically I'm going to say stuff, but I want you to keep your story just like this. (;

For whatever reason, I just feel like maybe Al would choose Slytherin, although he would probably be too nervous to in front of his family. I dunno, maybe if he looks back like Harry did he might think about it?

Also, why isn't there any more chapters! You make Renee sad. :(

~Renee

10/10

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks for all these amazing reviews :D :D

'The Bronze Trio'. That's an amazing name! I love it! I might even use it in the future if that's ok? :)

I love writing eleven year olds. They're so cute and innocent and makes me feel like a child all over again! ^^

I know this doesn't EXACTLY follow canon but I prefer my version :P

This is only a one-shot at the moment but I've had a few requests to make it into a story. Well, I've been thinking about it, and I will eventually write a proper story out from this. But only when I have some good plot bunnies, so any ideas are welcome ;)

Thank you for your lovely review ^^

-Sophia x


 Report Review

Review #18, by TheProphecy The Sorting of Albus Severus Potter

6th February 2011:
Hello fellow 'claw :)

Well i enjoyed your story immensely, it was very well written and very sweet and even funny at times. :)

I thought your characters and emotions were believable, and i have to say i was quite surprised how vicious you made James towards Scorpius. But i liked it anyway :)

I thought how you made scorpius' character was very sweet, i was sitting there reading it going Aw! :D I also likd how you made Al, Rose and Scorpius like a next gen trio. That's what they reminded me of.

I thought your description of the castle was brilliant :D

Now, one and only criticism, I was hoping you would do a twist at the end and have Al, go into Slytherin and have a change of heart and want to branch out of the norm of his family. But then again it was more believable and likely that he would go for Gryffindor :D

Overall i really enjoyed your story. Well done. :D

TheProphecy

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing :)
I'm so glad you liked the story and only found one criticism.

Some people have asked about Albus in Slytherin or Scorpius in Gryffindor but personally, I can't see it myself. I know it's a possibly but I thought it would fit best with my storyline.

I like the idea of those three being the next gen trio so I decided to use it. :)

Sophia xx


 Report Review

Review #19, by Z The Sorting of Albus Severus Potter

5th February 2011:
I know that it was meant to be humorous but I didn't find it particularly so.

Author's Response: Fair enough. Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by Hyacinth Dursley The Sorting of Albus Severus Potter

3rd February 2011:
Well Done. A light fun read that gives a good look into a 'afters' moment. Though I do think it would be fun to see Albus end up in Ravenclaw or Malfoy in Gryffindor. ;) But I like this story, it fits in well with the books and makes me want to read more about Albus next seven years and see if he, Rose and Scorpius can make it all the way and still be friends at the end. Thanks for sharing it! :D

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing :)
I can see Albus in Ravenclaw but I just can't see Scorpius in Gryffindor. It doesn't make sense to me :/ I'm glad you liked it; I have plans to write more about these first years :)

Sophia x


 Report Review

Review #21, by DemetersChild The Sorting of Albus Severus Potter

3rd February 2011:
Hmm, this is always something I was curious about. Of course any one would be with how the series ended. I think you did a wonderful job going through the scenes and emotions of that day. Albus was obviously very worried. I thought it odd that you changed Harry's answer so much, but the "talking to the hat" bit made sense because Harry went through the same thing.

I wonder why the hat speaks to certain people and just automatically yells out for others. And I wonder why the hat thought Albus would do well in Slytherin? Harry was only given that option because of the part of Voldemort that was in him.

Very nice read!

Magically Yours,

Dem

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing :)

I think the Hat can tell that certain people belong in certain Houses so it calls the name of the House out straightaway. But other students may be more complicated, or may have traits of more than one House perhaps.

Anyway, again, thank you for reading and reviewing :)

Sophia x


 Report Review

Review #22, by ravenclaw_princess The Sorting of Albus Severus Potter

31st January 2011:
This was a nice one shot and fairly well written. It flowed nicely from one paragraph to the next and had a nice pace.

I dialogue did seem a little too mature for 11 year olds, but that is about the only thing of note. All the characters were done well. I liked how Scorpius was so unlikehis father on the first day, and Al's nervousness really came across. I also loved how James was the mean older brother.

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for reviewing :)

I'm glad you liked it and when I go back to rewrite this story, the dialogue is one of the things I'll be changing a little.

Sophia x


 Report Review

Review #23, by kaileena_sands The Sorting of Albus Severus Potter

29th January 2011:
Hiya! This one-shot was adorable. :)) I really like the idea how you based the one-shot around the sorting of Albus. And the way you wrote it certainly makes sense why he was put in Gryffindor. :))

Scorpius and Rose were also adorable. I like the contrast between Scorp and his father - that he was a quiet one, reading his book alone, because no one liked the Malfoy family anymore. I am a fan of stories where Scorpius is very different from his father, because in my mind that's how it is. xD

Otherwise, it was generally well-written and enjoyable. I am glad I came to read it because of the (uh... snowball) fight. Cheers! :)

P.S. Almost forgot - I love the bits with mean James. xD He made me smile like crazy.

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for reviewing! :)

I'm glad you liked my choices for the characters personalities. I don't think Scorpius should be like his father at all. I'd like to think that after the war, relationships between families improved. :)

I think James acted in a typical big brother way - winding his brother up all the time :D

Thanks again! I'm loving the so-called snowball fight at the moment :P

Sophia x


 Report Review

Review #24, by AndrinaBlack The Sorting of Albus Severus Potter

26th January 2011:
This is a something many write especially when they are writing longer stories. Some things sound a bit familiar, but that is inevitable with a plot like this. I like it that you added an OC there to mix it up a bit. I was expecting Scorpius and Albus to get into the same house and I was pleasantly surprised that they didn't. I mean, they could still be friends. What I also liked about that part was that neither of them suddenly decided on the train that they would like to be in the other house while they talked to each other. They've heard so long about their house that they wouldn't change their opinion that fast, unless they were already unsure about which house they wanted to be in.

What I liked best about the story was the part where Harry said that Albus should talk to the hat, and then how Albus understood it later on. This was well written and you did a nice job with this moment.

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing this :)

I have been thinking about extending this one-shot and I have a few ideas. I just need to find the time to write them up properly. What with RL and the challenges I've entered, time is a little hard to find at the moment :/

Thanks again :)


 Report Review

Review #25, by justonemorefic The Sorting of Albus Severus Potter

25th January 2011:
Hey! Here from the not-quite-snowball xD

Hee, little eleven year olds, not a lot of fic about them. I think the younger friendships are the cutest. Ickle Albus and ickle Scorpius with ickle Rose. Always reminds me of a new Trio or something. And James's teasing. Oh James, so mean :P But that's what brothers are for.

There's a lot of points where you state the action very plainly though, and I think it could be improved by adding a few more interesting emotions, to really experience to awe and anxiety of the first year of Hogwarts :)

Very cute oneshot!

Author's Response: Hi. Thanks for reviewing :)

That's exactly what I like about little eleven year olds. They're so cute and innocent :)

Thanks for saying that. I never noticed it before but now that I've read through it again, I've realised you're right. I think I'll have to ask a beta to look over it and give me a bit of help.

Thank you!
Sophia xx


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>