Reading Reviews for Easter Affairs
  
18 Reviews Found

Review #1, by JustBrilliant Six

11th July 2011:
Yay new chapter! :D
I was a little surprised that it was just that Michelle doesn't like her sister's friends because I was assuming that she just didn't like him because he's a wizard.. HOWEVER, I do understand the whole not-liking-your-younger-sister's-friends thing.. Seeing as I have a younger sister...
I thought it was kind of cute how it ended though, what with Michelle avoiding eye contact with him and all..
One last thought - all I could think at the end of this chapter was: "And the plot thickens.."
Believe me, I know how frustrating it is when your muse leaves - mine left for three and a half years and only just recently came back - so I hope it comes back to you soon. :)

Author's Response: Yes :) Sorry it took me so long to respond to your review.
Well, to Michelle, her sister's probably the most annoying person in the world, so whomever Lori befriends is automatically not in Michelle's good books :)
I'm glad you liked that, thanks!
Ugh, I know. I hope it comes back soon :P
Thank you for your review!


 Report Review

Review #2, by JustBrilliant Five

26th June 2011:
So I really love where this story is going and I really wish you would update it soon :)
But I'm kind of disappointed that I'm the only one that's reviewed this chapter :/ So I understand if that's why you haven't updated it in a while.
Anyway, I wonder if Michelle will ever be mature enough to just say what her problem is. . .

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm very glad you liked it! I'm sorry about that - I haven't been very motivated to write for this lately. I do have some more chapters written, so maybe I can update soon, but I'm just a little frustrated that my muse has just left. Hopefully it'll be back soon as well :P
Anyway - sorry about my rambling. Michelle will reveal what her problem is before too long, don't worry :)
Thank you for your review! :D


 Report Review

Review #3, by iheartzuko Four

20th March 2011:
UPDATE UPDATE UPDATE. This is turning out really good :D

Author's Response: I'll do my best! I'm glad you like it so far!

 Report Review

Review #4, by iheartzuko One

20th March 2011:
HAHA, I like it a lot :D

Author's Response: Thank you, that's great to hear! :D

 Report Review

Review #5, by Akussa Three

15th March 2011:
Hello !

Nice chapter once again, although a bit short compared to the previous ones. I like the conversation between Oliver and Michelle and him acknowledging how much he doesn't know about the muggle world. I chuckled a bit when he lit his wand at the bathroom; that was just such a great way to demonstrate his lack of information.

I have to agree with him though, they are not the greatest hosts in the world. They do not realise how lost he can be in this world and it must be irksome for him.

I'm really interested in where you will take this story although I have an idea, I can't wait to read the rest! Please request when the next chapters are up, just so I don't miss them once again!!

Akussa

Author's Response: Hey!

Thank you, I'm glad you liked it! You're right, it was a bit short. But longer chapters will be coming up! :)
I'm glad you liked those parts, thanks! :D

No, they're not... I think that besides the fact that they're not used to magic, they're not used to being hosts either. And you're right, it is pretty irksome to him.

Thank you, that's so nice of you! There's a new chapter up already, actually, but I'll check out your review thread for that :)

Thanks a lot for your review! :D


 Report Review

Review #6, by Akussa Two

15th March 2011:
Hello dearest,

I'm was very excited to see you requested/ had written new chapters for this story (I didn't see them get validated, sorry). I had to skim through the first chapter again to make sure I remembered everything and check if this new chapter was flowing, naratively speaking and it does.

Really, its a nice continuity and such an original idea, I enjoyed this chapter very much. I have to agree with Oliver, this sounds like the worst possible holliday he could have. Lori is very annoying to him and having an older, jealous sister around sounds to Oliver like the worst thing possible. I'm very curious as to how you'll take the "Michelle" plotline.

Your writting is very clean and I didn't spot any huge mistakes; it was a very enjoyable read. Going straight to the next chapter!

Akussa

Author's Response: Hello! I'm sorry it took me a while to reply :(

That's alright, I can't really expect everyone to just keep up with me, right? :) I'm glad you thought the chapter was flowing, that's always good to hear!

I'm glad you like the idea, too! Thank you! Haha, yes, poor Oliver. He should almost be glad he's supposed to be studying all the time, right? ;) And I agree, the family doesn't sound very nice at this point.

Thanks a lot for your review!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Gypsy_Girl One

9th February 2011:
Oh, I love it when stories are written about characters in different age brackets - I swear it never happens!

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm glad you like it so far! You'll just have to wait and see what happens ;)
Thank you for your review!


 Report Review

Review #8, by philly94 Two

16th January 2011:
hey there
great chapter, i'm glad we got a look at Lori's family before we met them, Michelle sounds... interesting :) That should make for some good conflict in later chapters.
Oliver's attitude is understandable, he's being sent off to a stranger's house to study instead of playing Quidditch, that would be enough to make anyone angry. Lori is doing a good job putting up with him though :D
Let me know when the next chapter is up!
-K

Author's Response: Hey! Sorry it took me a while to reply :S
Thank you, I'm glad you liked that! Haha, that's good to hear. Oh, there will be some conflict... :)
I'm glad you think Oliver's attitude makes sense :) I don't think anyone would like that indeed. And well, Lori sort of has to put up with him, but I suppose you're right. Things haven't gotten completely out of hand yet :P
I will definitely let you know! Thanks a lot for your review!


 Report Review

Review #9, by blimmchen Two

9th January 2011:
Ok now I am really looking forward to the next chapter. Oliver surrounded by muggles, two annoying wizarding kids and a girl who hates everything about magic... that just screams for funsies... I really hope you update soon since I am enjoying reading this story a lot ;D

Author's Response: Ah, that's great to hear! :D Haha, I'm glad you like it so far, and I'll try to update as soon as possible!
Thank you for your review!


 Report Review

Review #10, by blimmchen One

9th January 2011:
Very interesting take on an Oliver/OC story. I am curious to see where you're going with this, but I did enjoy reading the first chapter so far.

Author's Response: Thank you, I'm glad you think so! That's good to hear :)
Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #11, by Hyacinth Dursley Two

6th January 2011:
I really like it so far, can't wait to see where you go with it.

Author's Response: Thank you, that's great to hear!
Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #12, by maskedmuggle One

10th December 2010:
Intriguing!
Hope you add more chapters to this!
Never seen this situation before, so kudos to you for coming up with an original plot!
Lovely writing!

Author's Response: Thanks! :) I will definitely add more chapters, I just don't know when (with 3 other WIPs and the queue closure coming up) :S I'm glad you think it's an original plot, thank you! And thanks for the compliment! :)
Thank you for your review!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Athensgrl One

6th December 2010:
I love this! Lori is interesting (I love ulterior motives!)and I like the way your Oliver's priorites are set. I would his parents to come in sometime! update quick!

-Zanna
p.s. sorry I took forever to review. Real life caught up with me :(

Author's Response: Thanks, that's great to hear! I'm glad you think Lori's interesting :) Haha, yes, his parents were bound to come in at some point. I'll do my best!
And that's alright :) Happens to everyone, right?
Thank you for your review!


 Report Review

Review #14, by Akussa One

3rd December 2010:
Hey!

This is a very interesting first chapter; quite original and very well written. The situation is believable for Oliver - and his parents (I can imagine them being a bit worried about their son's over enthousiasm for sport). I really love the way you write - and I say this regarding other stories I've read from you - you give your stories a rythm that is entirely yours and there is a quality to your description and detailing that I really enjoy.

Your characterization of Oliver is excellent so far; his passion for Quidditch and lack of interest for studies are believable and make him an original character. So far he seems canon in all his craziness. I can't wait to see how it will turn out for him in the muggle world!!

Excellent begining, let me know when the rest is up, I'll definitly want to check it out; you have managed to arouse my curiousity.

Akussa

Author's Response: Hey! :)

Thank you, that's great to hear! I'm glad you think it's original and well written :) It's also good to know that the situation seems believable for both Oliver and his parents.
Thanks for the compliments! :D I'm very glad, and also very flustered right now.

I'm glad you like his characterisation so far, and I'll definitely try to keep it up. It's good to hear that he seems canon so far too :) Oh, the Muggle world... it'll be interesting for him, I'll say that much ;)

Thank you, I will. That's great to hear, thanks! :D

Thank you very much for your review!


 Report Review

Review #15, by CornishPixie One

3rd December 2010:
Hello!

Very cute start!

Your Oliver is very likeable and realistic, I think. Yes, he is obsessed with Quidditch, but you manage to show the struggle he deals with concerning Quidditch/classes. That's something I haven't seen very often, but for someone who loves Quidditch that much, it really is an unavoidable sort of complication.

Lori is cute! I kind of like that there's a tad of an age difference between the two of them. I can't really explain why, I just do. -Shrug- She certainly is a helpful student, but who Wouldn't take Oliver Wood in? Hehe! I thought it was a little bit rushed--as in, he just meets this girl and then BAM, he's going to be staying at her house to study, but I can understand that you want to get the main part of the stoy going. Perhaps if they had known each other a little bit more in the past it would seem even more likely to happen. But, as I've said, I know that you want to get the real story rolling!

Grammatically sound, this is a solid starting point for a fanfiction. In the next couple of chapters I think it would be good to delve into Lori's character a little bit more since we don't know much about her yet, but we are going to follow Oliver to her house, so I'm sure it will be happening. Keep up the calibre of writing and you'll have a really great story to your penname! =)

Author's Response: Hello :) Thank you!

I'm glad you like Oliver so far! It's good to know that struggle is realistic; I agree with you, it must not be easy to balance those two things when you love Quidditch so much.

Thanks! I'm glad you think so! Haha, okay :) Some things just can't really be explained, right? I agree, who wouldn't want to help Oliver Wood out? ;)
I understand that it seems a bit rushed, with them just meeting and all that, but Lori knows much more about Oliver than he does about her, but that's something for later chapters. He may not have known her, but she certainly knows him, so she was glad to help him out. It'll be a bit difficult to explain, since I know what Lori's going to do/try, but I don't really want to start writing from her POV all of a sudden. Well, we'll see, of course :)

Thank you, that's great to hear! You're right, it would. I'll do what I can! Thanks, that's a great compliment!

Thank you very much for your review!


 Report Review

Review #16, by lunalovegood520 One

2nd December 2010:
Definitely an intriguing first chapter :)
I always love finding a well-written Oliver fic and that's exactly what this is :)
Your writing style and development is great - you find the balance between giving enough background information and keeping the current story moving (which I find many authors lack).

Also, I really enjoy your Oliver. He seems easy to relate to and is a really likable character so far. His reactions and such are believable and I'm really looking forward to see you develop his character further!

Perhaps it was because your Oliver character was so great, but Lori seemed to fall a bit ... flat. It might possibly be too soon to judge simply because you haven't gotten to the Lori development and that's totally understandable (being that this is the first chapter), but she just came off as a bit odd and forward and not exactly in an endearing way. I feel that there's a need to give some insight on her character in the next chapter to make her more likable, or at least relatable.

I also love this idea! A tad cliche (with the jealous teenager bit), but hey! who doesn't love a good cliche? :) And it looks like you're taking this on a completely different path than the usual 'making someone else jealous' plotline which, most of the time, leads to great results!

I'm looking forward to reading more! Great start! :)

Author's Response: Thank you, that's good to hear :)
Haha, thanks! I'm glad you think so. And thank you for the great compliment, that's always a nice thing to hear!

I'm glad you like him! It's good to know that he seems easy to relate to. Hopefully he won't disappoint you in the future!

Hm, I see what you mean about Lori. But I suppose that's how Oliver sees her - as a rather strange and open, almost too confident girl whom he doesn't know but who seems to know more about him than he'd like. He's not exactly happy with her at the moment ;) I suppose Lori is a rather straightforward girl, which might be good, but not in Oliver's eyes right now. I'll definitely try working on making her more relateable, thanks for pointing that out :)

I'm glad you like the idea so far :) I realise that it's a bit cliche, but I needed a reason :P There's actually another reason, but it'll take some chapters to get there. I don't think this will take the usual path indeed, so hopefully, you and everyone else will like that :)

Thanks a lot for your review!


 Report Review

Review #17, by philly94 One

2nd December 2010:
great start!
I liked Lori's character, the teenager wanting to make her bf jealous never grows old :P
Oliver's reaction was believable, it would suck to have to go to some stranger's house for Easter break, and without being able to play Quidditch for him would be even worse.
I suppose that Oliver could say "no, I'm 17, I'm not going", but it makes sense that he wouldn't want to make his parents mad, especially if he'll need money in a few months after Hogwarts ends.
let me know when you have more chapters up!

Author's Response: Thank you! :)
I'm glad you like her, thanks! Technically, Fred isn't her bf, although she would like him to be ;)
It's good to hear that his reaction was believable. I know that I wouldn't like something like that either!
You're right, he'll need his parents in only a few months, so he should try not to make them mad now.
I will! :)
Thank you for your review!!


 Report Review

Review #18, by FollowTheButterflies One

2nd December 2010:
I like it :) I like where I think it's going, too.
Can't wait to see more :)
FollowTheButterflies

Author's Response: Thank you! :D That's great to hear. Hm, and now I wonder where you think it's going ;)
Thanks for reading and reviewing!!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login