Reading Reviews for Afternoon Dust
  
31 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Your Secret Santa. O_O Afternoon Dust

16th December 2013:
Ah hello again Gina, from your overawed Secret Santa. This was beautiful. (Yep, let's cut straight to the chase here. :P) I have to say I donít really read love triangles, but this piece was just beautiful and the love triangle was toned down a lot, without the making out with a whole lot of different people but just more sedate.

I love your writing here. I'm not sure whether it was stylised like this on purpose or not, but the whole atmosphere kind of suggested a really quiet cowboy movie. like you said in your author's note, like the American Midwest. I don't know how you did it, I really don't, but everything here was just simple and descriptive at the same time, and it was really just perfect.

As always your characters are just wonderful. It isnít easy to sacrifice your life for someone else, but thatís really what Victoire is doing, and I respect her so much for that, especially when thereís temptation to be found in the form of Scorpius Malfoy. How sheís caring for Teddy is lovely, but I do hope that she rediscovers her love for him, because itís really quite sad if sheís going through all that without loving him even a little bit. I love how Scorpius really does care for Victoire and her wellbeing, even though he is being selfish by trying to seduce her, so to speak.

The Scorpius/Victoire pairing you used here was very unique and youíre right, I donít see much of it on the archives. The pairing hadnít really crossed my mind before, but now that youíve raised it, Iím finding it pretty interesting. I mean, I guess once theyíd left Hogwarts the age gap wouldnít be so noticeable. Anyway, the love triangle was very interesting, especially because one of the members was so much younger than the other two.

Your descriptions of everything here were just amazing Ė your writing was really sparse here, but somehow it was so descriptive, and I could visualise everything perfectly as it progressed and the story unraveled.

I loved your ending as well, it had the same bittersweet touch as Unraveling, and it was just perfect and realistic and beautiful. I enjoyed reading this so much, Gina, Iím so happy that Iím your Secret Santa. :P

Author's Response: Bahaha, the style was semi-intentional. Back then, I didn't really bother with style; my writing was still very much developing, so I went with what my mind spat out.

It's odd because I never think of this story as a love triangle story. It is, obviously, but in my mind, Victoire already made a choice, and her choice speaks more about her than her relationships. The kind of details in this fic, too, make us invested in her--not Scorpius or Teddy in particular.

But I still love whenever I'm able to make readers feel for everyone. No one's entirely at fault here--Victoire needs to live her own life, Scorpius just wants her to be happy, and Teddy can't control his condition. And even with how this one-shot ends, everyone is trying for a happy ending still, as best as they can. That's the kind of feeling I leave with a lot my stories, like Unraveling too--not getting entirely what one wants but hopeful nonetheless.

♥! I'm very glad you're my Secret Santa ^__^ Your reviews have given me a lot of nostalgia over old writing.


 Report Review

Review #2, by Ribbons Afternoon Dust

26th August 2013:
I loved this story! It was simply written, but very detailed. Your imagery was admirable as well, you really captured the feeling of Shell Cottage. As a last note, I thought that you made the love between Victoire and Scorpius seem very exciting (and he did say he loved her), but you also made the love between Victoire and Teddy very real. I loved the beginning, middle and end. Well done!

Author's Response: Thank you! It's a rather old oneshot, but I love this love triangle dynamic, where it's a little bittersweet on all sides, and the choice can go in any direction.

 Report Review

Review #3, by spreaddapoo93 Afternoon Dust

21st November 2012:
Beautiful!
It was really interesting to read something written by you that wasn't slapstick or comedy; of course, as ever, this was brilliant.
The atmosphere is so splendid, like a film with a very particular colouring that delivers a specific type of mood?

Anyway, I really enjoyed it. :)

Author's Response: Thank you! :) It's one of the first dramatic pieces I wrote. It's definitely inspired by that western-grainy kind of film and Victoire's inspired by pioneer women, both their perseverance and values. I had a huge pioneer phase as a kid with the Little House books.

 Report Review

Review #4, by meadowlarks_cries Afternoon Dust

25th March 2012:
WHY HAD THIS SHIP NOT BEEN IN MY LIFE BEFORE. OH MY GOD. This was GORGEOUS, honestly you made me tear up and reread it (TWICE). Am I the only one to desperately want to know the backstory to this, but at the same time not want to spoil the absolute perfection you created here. GAH. The feels are too much for me, I'm going to go curl up in a ball and think about this for a bit.

Truly lovely though!!

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much :33 I've always quite liked the subdued nature of this fic, especially since it's quite different from what I typically write. I have a vague backstory in mind, but it's mostly just snippets of inspiration, and it changes depending on my mood.

I'm so so glad you like it ♥


 Report Review

Review #5, by lizmusic45 Afternoon Dust

29th February 2012:
Aw I liked this, the sad part is it seems as though Teddy really loves her, like adores her and she seems to be doing this just because she doesn't want him to hurt, which is lovely, but...Oh I don't know I'm torn.

I really, really, really loved this story though. I thought it was wonderfully written, I like your one-shots, I mean your novels are amazing, but I really love your one-shots. This one was just as good as the rest of the stories that I've read of yours.

I'm still torn just so you know...I think I'm rooting for Teddy though...I don't know.

Lizzie

Author's Response: Aw thanks! :) It's really a situation where there's no clear right or wrong, and I admire Victoire for being as strong as she is. I'm glad you like my one shots! :D I haven't written any in a long while!

 Report Review

Review #6, by icouldn'tcomeupwithanawesomename Afternoon Dust

25th February 2012:
Ah... I can totally picture Victoire fifty years later, thinking back to the time that she had something with Scorpius. The melancholy.

How old is she here? Isn't Scorpius, like, five years younger? If he's not in school anymore it's not a big agegap, but I figured that if she was twenty or something he'd be fifteen which is a bit early to declare your eternal love. Well, eternal... I hope he'll be happy with someone else. And I hope Victoire finds her love for Teddy back, I kinda pictured them as the forever happy couple; almost too perfect.

I would ask what's with Teddy, but you don't need the information in this fic, in my opinion. As with Little Red, I like the way you make your reader feel what the main character feels.

You're very clever with words!

xx The Plant

Author's Response: Victoire's in her late twenties hehehe. Scorpius shouldn't be driving around in a baby blue car when he's 15 anyhow.

I think Victoire definitely loves Teddy, but it's tough. It's definitely not the same anymore now that he's sick and not entirely in control of his mind, maybe. She must ask herself a lot whether she's being selfish. There's no right answer to her situation, I think. It takes a lot of strength to cope with a loved one's illness.

♥ hehehe thank you again~ :3


 Report Review

Review #7, by StEpH_M Afternoon Dust

26th September 2011:
As usually your writing is lovely, it flows beautifully and the wording really makes the story that little bit more special.

So I love how you made Scorpius and Victoire lovers, it was really sweet, that Scorpius cared for her well-being even though he was being slightly selfish with trying to steal her away as well. I must admit that I had torn feels about whether she should have left with Scorpius or not or stayed with Teddy. Also, Teddy's condition? That was really something that intrigued me, I am still wondering what it is. Victoire is defiantly a Weasley in this one-shot, in a lot of the one-shots I read Victoire is either swooning over Teddy or is shallow. I liked that you should her to be kind at heart and determined to stay with Teddy even though she has fallen out of love with him.
A few small things you could fix, "Victoire reached the edge of the road at the same his car stopped." You forgot to add 'time that'.
Also
"The memories of spring moved farther and closer all at once." It would be better if you made it 'farther away'.

Overall, it was once again lovely to read, you are defiantly one of a kind in your writing and I am glad of that cause it means all your stories are special.

Author's Response: That's probably the favorite part of this oneshot - that it isn't clear who she should be with, and whether or not she made the right decision.

I hardly write characters who are truly self-sacrificing, actually, so Victoire is something I do admire greatly.

Oh noes, more typos galore! D;

Aww, thank you so so much :3


 Report Review

Review #8, by Snapdragons Afternoon Dust

9th September 2011:
Confession: I think I stalk your author's page. -hides- It seems as though my mission in life is to review everything you write? err. I sound a bit creepy now, so apologies for that!

Anyways, the whole point of pointing that out was how did I miss this before? I HAVE FAILED IN MY DUTIES because this is gorgeous and beautiful and so so perfect.

(also, why is it that you have to be good at humor and action/adventure and romcoms and descriptively gorgeous stuff and angst and graphics and please, save some of it for the rest of us mere mortals. Seriously. stop hogging it!)

Victoire/Scorpius is a severely underloved ship, and it's sort of weird, because Ted/Rose is the same age gap but they're much more popular. Archive stats are weird. -shrugs- Anyways, I loved the love triangle here, because it was something unexpected and new to me and yet done so well.

It was heartbreaking, because everybody really loses, all three of them. I could feel something vaguely Western about it - I can't really describe it. Maybe it's sort of influenced by the banner? I DUNNO.

On one hand, I wanted Scorpius and Victoire to be together, so they could have their happily ever after. Yet... at the same time... I ended up really liking Victoire. She seems strong, to me. She's doing what's right, versus what's easy, although it's hurting someone else in the process too.

"It was... enough." That's the best way to describe it, and what a good sentence to end it on. yay for strong final sentences!

I loved this. ♥ It's so different from things like Capers and yet equally brilliant in its own way. -showers love on this fic- I loved it all, really truly!

Author's Response: Confession: your reviews are like the chocolate chips of a cookie -- the very reason why you eat the cookie in the first place. That metaphor made no sense, but you're chocolate chips ♥

Baww, ♥ I really am quite limited most of the time -- I never can do prompts!

A big influence for Victoire were pioneer women. I used to be really interested in those sorts of stories when I was a kid (devoured the Little House books). Self-sacrificing for their family and moves forward even after bad years. Lots of admirable women from those times.

Thank you so much! ^__^ ♥


 Report Review

Review #9, by MajiKat Afternoon Dust

6th September 2011:
why have i not read this before? why have i not seen it? why gina, why?

this is tremendously sad. i want to cry now. i really do. i want to wail. for all of them - Vic, teddy and scorpius. they are all so sad and lost and missing something.

gah.

i love the way you keep mystery around teddy. i love the way you have written Vic - like a broken florence nightingale, because i get the strong impression that she is broken and for a moment, all i wanted was for her to let scorpius take her away. and scorpius. he had this aloofness that i feel was just an act, but then again, maybe, even though he loves her, he wouldn't be happy with her.

alright i'll stop gushing. i need to catch up on my reviews for Capers, which i will do soon, i promise!!

Kate xx

Author's Response: Kate! I don't know how you stumbled onto this, but I'm glad you like it! :D It was one of my first real forays into description-y things, and I'm still really proud of it.

I think what always made me really sad, is how their problems are no one's fault, but they all must suffer and lose something because of them. There's no easy way to be happy.

Thank you so much ♥ I'm super excited, take your time!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Bobby Dazzler Afternoon Dust

5th September 2011:
Hi there, how're ya going? :)

I'm leaving you a review for the Blue vs. Bronze battle, but to be honest, I would've read this one without the challenge behind it because it was quite a lovely read.

Your description was very engaging and dont be offended by this, but simple as well. When I say simple, I mean as if it suited the setting you'd created beautifully. It wasn't over the top and just fitted in with the atmosphere and plot of the story wonderfully. I could feel the wind and hear it whispering by throughout the story, but it didn't distract from the plot or the love affair coming through. You did a very nice job of engaging the readers senses with this one, well done :)

My only question I suppose is what was Teddy's illness exactly? Either I misread it or it wasn't officially said. I'm assuming it would have something to do with his being a werewolf though, but please correct me if I'm wrong :)

I thought the flow of this story was very nicely paced and although a bit more backstory in parts could have been nice, just describing the depth of the relationship between Victorie and Teddy, I found it a most enjoyable read and am very happy to have read it. As you said, there are not enough of this ship on the archive lol.

Wonderful read, very enjoyable and I'm sure I might just have to poke around your authors page again for some more lovely stories. Well done :) x

Author's Response: Aw, thanks! :D

Not something to be offended about! xD I tend to write very simply for description in general. I'm big on actions and things -- stuff you can see. This oneshot was a lot about me toying with that. I don't write much that's dramatic, see.

Teddy's illness is never specified, but I figured that detail isn't too important, since it's more about how life dealt him and Victoire a bad hand. Though, in my head, it's something wrong with his werewolf blood.

Thank you for your review! :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by charlottetrips Afternoon Dust

12th August 2011:
Not boring. It was wonderful, stupendous, romantic, sad, bittersweet, intangible, ethereal, dramatic and touching. There. Does that relay how I experienced your story? I went from "what is this about" to "oh, she was having an affair" to "no! Don't keep cheating on Teddy" to "darn, I kind of like him" and finally "that's noble but painful all the same".

charlottetrips
Ravenclaw (ignore how this is in the middle of your review pls. I haven't quite figured out fully how to use my iPad in reviewing and can't scroll down to what I started before and also can't see it :/ hopefully I didn't stop mid sentence.)


I loved the Western feel to it (might be my Southernness talkin'). The dust, the hot weather, the hand washing of pots and classic cars. Gotta love it!

Author's Response: Hahah! That's quite descriptive of your experience! xD I've seen lots of different reactions to this oneshot and it's great to know yours!

And snerk, silly iPad. Trolling your reviews.

Oh my Little House days show up so much in this fic xD IT IS ALL I KNOW ABOUT THE COUNTRY LIFE.


 Report Review

Review #12, by Shelby Weasley Afternoon Dust

23rd July 2011:
I thoroughly enjoyed this (:
I love the vague quality, lets my mind wander and think about what may have happened before this encounter.

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by flozoeoreo Afternoon Dust

12th July 2011:
here is why there is no Victoire/Scorpius:
It goes against the DH epilogue. It says that Teddy was kissing Victoire and he'd come to 'see her off.' That implies that Teddy is out of Hogwarts, and probably is about a year older. So Victoire would be a seventh year, while Scorpius was going into his first year. Of course, there's no reason you have to follow the epilogue (or any part of the books, really) unless you want to. Not to criticize you at all, I'm just explaining why most people don't write Victoire/Scorpius. Anyway, this was really good! I liked it. I've seen your name around here a lot, and on TDA, so I decided to look at your stories, and I wasn't disappointed! Good job! You have a great writing style!
10/10 --Flo

Author's Response: Oh no, I totally get that. I was just saying it in an offhand way. Because Rose/Teddy pops up in a decent amount, and their age gap is even -bigger-. It's just that older woman/younger man is rarely ever written about, when compared to older man/younger woman.

But I'm glad you like it! :D and thanks!


 Report Review

Review #14, by silverstarletworld89 Afternoon Dust

26th April 2011:
Dude, this is sad!!Beautifully written, but very sad lol. I felt so much empathy for each character which is I guess what you wanted =p and is I think very hard to do, so Well done for that. I liked the limitations you gave to us reguarding the relationship of victorie/teddy and victorie/Scorpius because it kept me so intrigued that I kind of wish that this wasn't a one-shot lol. Your desciptions were wonderul, as where your little references to the sand and the afternoon dust, it just made everything flow and sound beautiful. You managed to get me feel sadness in such a few words. And because I can't really handle sad stories because I am such a sap, I am going to end on a high. Victorie is a TOTAL cougar =P and who can blame her, when such a dishy toy boy is on offer *swoons over Scorpius*

Great Story!
Silverstarletworld

Author's Response: Aww thanks. This was my first real attempt at description-heavy writing :) It was a fun break! I suppose it's not entirely sad. I don't like to write entirely sad things. I think every character understood their situation and was ready to accept their fate.

Teehee, no one ever minds Rose/Teddy! xD That's even older! But yes, mmm Scorpius~


 Report Review

Review #15, by zeegraciejones Afternoon Dust

4th April 2011:
This is so beautifully written. Every description creates the most stunning pictures in my brain and clears away all the other strange things that bubble and brew in my cerebellum (thats a part of the brain, isn't it? I'm not just making brain facts up?)

I think what I love most about your writing is how stinking different all your characters are from story to story. I read so many authors who have great fics, but when I read another one with a different character its: different name, different plot, exactly same person. Ya know? And you definitely don't do that. All of your characters are so their own. Like real little people that you grow, raise, and harvest. Like a mother. Or something... Ehem.

So anyways, this made my heart-ache. It was vomit-inducingly fluffy and heart-singingly spectacular. (Which is code for perfect in my brain.) I felt so terribly sad for Victoire, for missing what she had had with Teddy and feeling she could have that with Scorpius, but knowing where her duties lie. She's inspirational, really.

Mama, when I grow up, I wanna be juss like Vicky.
(My brain said that in a southern accent.)

I adore and worship you.

Huzzah!

Author's Response: Teehee, your brain does wondrous things. And indeed, that is a brain part! (It's one of like, two parts I know)

Baw thanks :D I generally have a lot of similar themes in my lengthier stories, but I like to play around with my one-shots. This little fic was just sort of a spur of the moment thing, really different from what i typically write.

I never really had to chance to write a romantic, that sort of aching from the heart, emotional kind of girl. A lot of this was about that too.

Thank you again for all your lovely reviews ^__^


 Report Review

Review #16, by TheProphecy Afternoon Dust

13th March 2011:
I really enjoyed this!

It was a nice little read, it had tension in it when Scorpius arrived which I thought you write very well :)

I liked the characters and the way you wrote them,especially Scorpius. I always like him when people write him slightly more like his father then the fluffy version :)

Well done I really enjoyed this! :D

Hananh x

Author's Response: Hey! ^__^ And thanks! I've written Scorpius in many different ways so I rather liked trying out this slightly spoiled, romantic version of him.

 Report Review

Review #17, by Jenna822 Afternoon Dust

20th February 2011:
First off: Congrats on TA!

Oh I really like this. I've tried my hand at Scor/Vic once for a gift, so I was intrigued to see yours. I thought it was lovely. Your writing is quite nice. The descriptiveness was catching and sweet. I could so see this being a short stories final chapter. It left me wanting the rest, wanting details and imaging all the possiblities of what could have come before it. So well done! --Jenna

Author's Response: Thanks ^___^ Ooh, I must go take a look; I really haven't seen any Scor/Vic before this. The oneshot was just a random idea I had, so I suppose extend-able into a short story, but my muse was unwilling. I'm glad you enjoyed what I had!

 Report Review

Review #18, by ericajen Afternoon Dust

16th February 2011:
Hey hey hey(:

I don't think it's too vague, but then, I've always been a fan of vagueness. But really, I think it works. I love that in one-shots; because it's never really necessary to know the entire back story. None of it matters, if you write it right. Which you did. I think the mystery of it adds to the feeling of it. Makes it better. Soo, basically, you did well.

And yeah. This fic proves there should be more Victoire/Scorpius on the archives. I mean, why not? Although I do like me some Dominique/Scorpius.

Anyway, great job! I really liked it. It was very enjoyable. And kind of heartbreaking. But beautiful.

Erica.

Author's Response: Hey hey hey! :D

Teehee, I've learned to enjoy vagueness, though I'm still fairly wishy-washy about it. I like the idea of leaving some of the backstory to readers, so it can relate differently, you know?

Scorpius invades the whole Weasley family eheheheh >:D

Thanks so much!


 Report Review

Review #19, by orderofthephoenix Afternoon Dust

15th February 2011:
Aw, that's a sad story. I've never read a Victoire/Scorpius story and although I'll always support Teddy/Victoire, I liked it.

You had some great description in there which I liked and you characterised the three characters really well.

However, I'd have liked to know a bit more about Teddy and how Victoire coped. I know that's sometimes difficult to put in a one-shot though. :)

I want to read more Scorpius/Victoire but I'm guessing there aren't many fics out there. It's quite an interesting relationship.

Well done! ^^

Sophia x

Author's Response: Thanks :) I stayed away from describing too much, I decided, focusing on the moment rather than the full story. The full story sometimes isn't important, and I'm not sure if it's important yet in my head. They may not be a resolution to their story. I've got a few mentions of wanting a little more, so I am pondering it.

Thank you! :)


 Report Review

Review #20, by moonbaby11 Afternoon Dust

25th January 2011:
Okay, I just want to say that Scorpius' car is the coolest! :) Really, I loved how he had a vintage blue car. I'm sure that Lucius would have LOVED that. ;)

Anyways, I love your descriptions. I think that you have a very good way of writing, and this one-shot reflected that. I like the words that you use, as well as the descriptions.

I found this too be very interesting, though it was a little vague at points. I think you should maybe add just a little bit more information on Scorpius' and Victoire's relationship. I think if you maybe just added a sentence or two, it would have the perfect amount of both vague-ness and understanding. I was also a little confused as to what was going on with Teddy, so maybe you could add a sentence explaining that?

Other than the slight vauge-ness, I really enjoyed this one-shot! I've never read a Victoire/Scorpius, let alone a Teddy/Victorie/Scorpius! Is this the only one on the archives? I mean, if people can ship Teddy/Rose, why can't they ship Victoire/Scorpius? I don't know, but that's just my two cents on the pairing.

Overall, really great idea and writing! Keep up the great work! :)

Author's Response: Heee everyone loves the car ;)

I shall keep the vagueness in mind! It is such a balancing act. It's been high time I take another look at this one-shot again, anyhow.

Hee, I've never seen another one either! Older woman/Younger man ships really are quite rare.

Thank you for the lovely review! ^___^


 Report Review

Review #21, by YouHadMeAtHogwarts Afternoon Dust

15th January 2011:
haha.it wasnt enough...i like it of course but i kinnda wanna kno what happend before this

Author's Response: I kind of have an idea, but I decided that it was this specific moment that was important, so I just wrote this. :)

 Report Review

Review #22, by Marzipan Afternoon Dust

11th January 2011:
Gina, this was awesome! I've never read a Vic/Scorpius - I've never even dreamed of such a thing. You have therefore rocked my world. People need to start writing more of this ship; I'm in love!

I love the way you've characterized all three here. Victorie is just wonderful; the dilemma she must have faced, having fallen out of love with Teddy yet still feeling obligated to him because of this mysterious illness, finding the same sort of passion she had with Teddy in Scorpius, then having to choose between the two. She's clearly such a strong person with a good heart, whatever mistakes she might have made in the past. This line just kills me:

She would never consider herself on a similar level to Mama or Grandmama, but she let him put her on a pedestal one last time.

Scorp, I see as a sort of spoiled player, whether you intended him to be or not. I find myself doubting whether he really loved Victorie or if it was all about him. Showing up at the cottage, a month after she had evidently chosen Teddy over Scorp just reeks of selfishness. If it was really about Vic he should have protested - fought for her - when she made her choice. Don't mosey over a month later to see if she's changed her mind. Men. Will admit to shouting at Vic responding with something harsh when he said he loved her before driving off. Vic was too lady-like to oblige.

I'd love to see you write more of this: what happened to Teddy? Do he and Vic manage to stick it out? Does he manage to stick it out? What other lives does Scorpius drive around destroying? I want to more about these people and their lives, and that is really the greatest accomplishment a writer can achieve, right? To write characters that your reader is truly invested in? You've certainly done it here, so kudos! xoxo

Author's Response: I've never ever heard of another Vic/Scor, so I haaad to totally write one. Older women/Younger men are quite rare in general though. Rose/Teddy gets so much love, on the flip side.

I've always wondered how those people who have to care for loved ones whose minds slipped away find the strength to do it. It's always been my own fear that something like that would happen to people I know so it was very interesting to write a character with that sort of heart.

That line's one of my favs as well :) I think most would sympathize with her situation and wouldn't blame her for her adultery, but it does prey on her mind. I could never be as strong as her, but I don't think she sees herself as very strong at all.

Scorpius, I pictured him as a bit of a romantic and spoiled, indeed. I think he did truly love Victoire, but I also think he's never had to make sacrifices and he is yet to fully grasp what love is. Victoire loved him back too in a way, but she won't ever be ever to fully see him as someone that isn't a replacement for Teddy.

Heheh, I love seeing my readers reactions and yours of Scorp is certainly one that will be sticking in my mind.

I have brief ideas of what happens surrounding this, but I think I also like the ambiguity of it all. Me and my happy endings say that Ted and Vic make the best of their lives and it is, indeed just "enough". I'm amused you say Scorpius goes around destroying lives 8D It certainly does seem so with the way I always portray him (I bet he goes through all the other Weasley women, that's what. There's too many; he won't ever run out!)

I'm so happy you like it and my characters really stuck with you. This review made my day :heart: THANK YOU~



 Report Review

Review #23, by maskedmuggle Afternoon Dust

7th January 2011:
Wow. So much emotions, feelings.. and a very well written piece!

I checked this out because I finished reading Game and your writing is awesome ;) This did not disappoint!

I loved how you had Teddy/Victoire/Scorpius.. certainly don't see that very often, at all! Nice characters, original plot.. lovely writing! = a very enjoyable read :)

Author's Response: Hullo again! :) I had the idea after having a sudden love-triangle plot bunny and I never understood why Victoire/Scorpius doesn't really exist when Rose/Teddy does. Thank you for the review ^___^

 Report Review

Review #24, by Indigo Seas Afternoon Dust

31st December 2010:
That was lovely. Really. And I don't have much more to say other than the fact that I really loved it. :)

Author's Response: Ahh thank you :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by HarrietHopkirk Afternoon Dust

25th December 2010:
Forget about the writing, I'm more in love with the fact that Scorpius owns a vintage baby-blue car. I'm pretty sure he's reached the top of my love list without even breaking a sweat.

Swap my James for your Scorpius?

Your writing though, is a superbly close second on that list (followed by James Franco and then the entire cast of Gilmore Girls). It is just so beautiful: especially the opening paragraph. 'The wind whipping around Shell Cottage died at the cusp of summer, stifled by heat. It breathed its last in a lingering sigh and its skeleton toppled over the bluff, where it remained.' That is some quality writing, my friend, some high quality writing. It sets the scene for the entire story, I think and there's definitely a sense of mourning - over the loss of the wind or over the loss of Victoire and Scorpius' relationship.

I like how Scorpius only bought the car to see his father's/grandfather's reaction. It really gives more insight into the character, as well as the comment about how he had once likened her skirts to fairies and queens and that. Actually, I think the latter could be directed at either Teddy or Scorpius (you only use pronouns), and I think it could be Teddy because Victoire looks after him like a mother and I always associate fairies/queens with bedtime stories. Plus Ted and Vic probably spent their childhoods together and Scorpius is far too hot and cool driving in his vintage car to talk about fairies!

Eh, I'm probably completely wrong.

I love, love, love and completely adore you interpretation of Scorpius. That 'I love you'. Classic.

The ending was perfectly sad. Read 'Colour My World' by marinahill and there is a most perfect Ted/Vic about how Victoire looks after Teddy (I'm not giving all the deats) I think you will really enjoy.

Overall: AWESOME STORY. Definitely not too vague or boring. LOVE IT! *Favouriting*

Author's Response: SNERK, I love you already for loving Scorpius based on his car. I never appreciated cars, but I figure if I was going to go midwestern with this mood, I was going all the way.

Oh definitely on the swap. Scorpius is my weakness (forever the brooding bad boy), but adorably-dense-gentleman-puppy James is what I stick by.

Whoa, I beat out James Franco and Gilmore Girls? James Franco is a tad overrated for me, though he's pretty darn cute when his facial hair doesn't ruin it. But Gilmore Girls! My childhood right there.

I had a really good muse whenever I wrote this; the line you quoted is one of the first things I wrote down and I had to build a story around that. That's also why it sets the mood. This is so different (re: descriptive) from what I usually write, so I'm glad you like.

Back to the car, I think I first gave him the car and then I realized, 'Wait, why would Scorpius have a car? He's pureblood.' Then the muse came tromping through field, dropping off the word 'rebel', and the idea was born from that. Once again, my muse was extra happy that day. Maybe it was eating macarons or something.

In my head I was thinking of a Scorpius whispering the words to her, being the romantic charmer he is, telling her what he thinks she misses hearing from Teddy. So it's a bit like both men telling her that in a way. But I am forever amused by your description of Scorpius hot and cool in his vintage car. I am totally imagining sunglasses on him. Ahh those noble bad boys.

I love Marina !I will go check that fic out. This fic is actually not my typical fare though, in that it's kind of sad and about Ted/Vic. I actually almost never read sad things and Ted/Vic (you have seen me capslock at your fluff, and that is generally what I do, and sadly, sad fics do not elicit capslock). Except when they're from authors I know. And I do know Marina! And I have heard of that fic. So I shall put that in my queue.

THANK YOU FOR SUCH AN AWESOME REVIEW :D


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>