Reading Reviews for A Weirder Shade of Midnight
  
214 Reviews Found

Review #1, by phoebe_s Leaping Lethifolds

27th May 2013:
So, I've been reading your Midnight series non stop since yesterday, and I can't tell you how much I love it.
I feel like I'm watching this comedy tv show that has just enough action and drama to go along with it. All the characters are beautifully written, and I laugh so much while reading your stories. It's all fantastic, and I'm so glad you've picked Rose and Scorpius as most of the main characters because they are my absolute favorite!
Amazing job!

Author's Response: Oh yay! I'm glad to hear that you're enjoying the series so much :) I do love to write comedy. Action is tough, so I sort of slog through that and do the best I can. I love making people laugh, though. Thank you so much for the lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #2, by MissDominiqueLysander A Rain of Ketchup

15th January 2013:
Ambrosia Heggs is the girl who was the other bounty hunter/investigator, I think!

Author's Response: Keep reading, you'll see very soon! Thanks for the review :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Fawkes394 Leaping Lethifolds

8th January 2013:
I don't know why I didn't review before, I finished reading both of your Midnight stories a while ago. Huh, where to begin... I really loved both stories, I had so much fun reading them!

Your characters are amazing. I love how Rose and Victorie aren't the super intelligent and perfect role models with a perfect lives they seem to be in most fics but have real personalities.

I loved reading the chapters in which Victorie's kids appeared, the way she and Teddy act around them, Remus/Gerald and Johnny... I love Johnny, he made me laugh SO much, with his believing he is a manticore, the way he acts when he and Rose are kidnapped and all his general weirdness. He was one of my absolute favourite characters, after Victorie, of course.

I also enjoyed reading her encounters with Parminder, they are hilarious. How he screamed 'You'll never get me alive!' even when, at the end, she always caught did, after embarrassing both of them quite a bit.

I loved how Rose seems to leave so much destruction after her every time she goes after a criminal and how she manages to get in so many problems and then claim it wasn't her fault.

I loved how she always relies in her family when she doesn't know what to do, and how she interacts with Ron and Harry.

And, even though it was extremely frustrating at times, I had lots of fun trying to uncover the Rose's mysteries before she did.

10/10

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm glad you liked the first two novels in the series :) and my take on Rose and Victoire. The Lupin kids are a lot of fun to write, especially Johnny. He's definitely a weird kid. And then Remus is so normal, aside from wanting to be called Gerald. lol

Parmenter is probably my favorite of Rose's bad guys. He's so lame. And thinks he's not. Rose is very destructive! Though she claims it's never her fault, it usually is.

The scenes with Ron are probably my top favorites to write. I just love him. Thank you so much for reviewing! I really appreciate it. I hope you get a chance to read the spin-off from this novel (Sparks), and the next in the series - Next Midnight and then Midnight Over Broadway :) If you do, let me know how you like them!


 Report Review

Review #4, by VampireMaidenPhoenix Leaping Lethifolds

8th August 2012:
I love that Scorpius punched Barnes out, although, like Rose I refuse to call, "I told you so."

I love even more the fact that Rose jinxed the bloke.

I love that Merton Graves was so... just so. I don't have a word to describe it. Entitled maybe?

I love that Scorpius hyperventilated. I love even more that the last line of the story is "we're going to have to get a bank vault now, don't we?" As if that's such a huge problem XD

Author's Response: It was therapeutic for both of them, the punching and the hexing. Dude had it coming though!

Merton Graves, ah he's a rock star. A bit of Keith Richards, really. And selling a painting for that much money definitely overwhelmed poor Scorpius a bit, the dear.

Thank you so much for reviewing! I hope you enjoyed the story :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by VampireMaidenPhoenix Up in Flames

8th August 2012:
You know, I enjoyed Sergei. Sergei is such a typical lackey/henchman name but it worked SO well. I had put my gold with the Madame too though.

Author's Response: Sergei made me quite happy, I must say. I'm glad you liked him. Madame might have won in the end, if Ambrosia had stayed and fought. Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #6, by VampireMaidenPhoenix Dammit, Rose

8th August 2012:
Dag-nabbit Rose! *sigh*

And Scorpius. Especially Ambrosia/Xanthe/Elektra/whatever the heck else. She is entirely too thorough with what she does. But seriously. If Rose had even ten percent of a concern for her own safety, she would have went to Harry first, then brought him with her to see Lydia. Dur. Only makes too much sense imo.

Author's Response: Ambrosia is very thorough. And psycho. Rose has a bit of a death wish haha... She thinks she's impervious too often and gets scared belatedly. If she weren't secretive about what she's doing, she'd get out of all her mishaps much quicker! Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #7, by VampireMaidenPhoenix Andrew Campbell

8th August 2012:
I want a Rose Weasley best friend and a Scorpius Malfoy boyfriend. You can make that happen for me yes? You can? YAY. Thank you very much ^_^

I think Campbell's been potioned. That Ambrosia or whatever that love potion's called -- Amortentia, that one. Got confused with Percy Jackson for a moment XD

I just noticed this, but when I write, I tend to forget the legitimate thought process of being in a certain situation, you know? Like when you're reading a mystery, you're presented with all of the clues right then and everything connects much more quickly for you than for the characters. I like that you stay conscious of that concept. It's definitely something that I admire and wish I could remember.

Author's Response: I kind of want a Scorpius too. My husband will just have to do though. I will totally send you a Rose and Scorpius for your birthday or Christmas, whichever comes first ;)

Ah, Andrew can't even claim potion. He's just a huge git, really. He's too calculated to be dosed out on Amortentia, but that's a good idea!

Reading a mystery is much different from being in one. And sometimes Rose is a little slow on the uptake, but she gets there eventually. That seems to be how it goes in these type of stories - the genre kind of doesn't work unless the leads are a bit dense in the right way, you know?

Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by VampireMaidenPhoenix Crime, Inc.

8th August 2012:
Hermione really is scary when she gets into those fact-finding modes...

Author's Response: She really is! Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #9, by VampireMaidenPhoenix The NLWA

8th August 2012:
Words come to mind to describe Ambrosia Heggs, but none of them are PG. Except for maybe wench. But it just doesn't feel the same.

I liked that barkeep and almost wish he could make a reappearance. It was nice of him to give Rose that warning as well, although it didn't end up helping too much. It isn't in Rose's nature to have that sort of luck. Like she said though, at least her kidnapper this time did not want to kill her. This time. Yet. Makes things more difficult than they already are though.

Is it weird for me to want this Rose Weasley in my life? I just feel like she'd make a kickin' best friend, she and her family. I could never complain about being bored, that's for sure.

Author's Response: It's hard to describe her in PG terms, isn't it? Cruel and insane would be best, I suppose, but I can think of a good 15+ Strong for her ;)

He was a fun barkeep. I love a side character. Minor OCs are some of my favorite parts of a story. Rose never has that kind of luck, but at least no one tried to kill her this time. That's something.

I don't think it's weird! I think it's a big compliment :D So thank you, and thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Afina Kedavra Legendary

29th July 2012:
Umm, I think you've have messed up your own timeline. In the first Midnight Run Johnny was around three, and this is supposed to be some years after, right?

Anyhow, been reading the series with great interest. Good stuff, really :3

Author's Response: Ah timelines in Midnight Run... This happens only about 6-8 months after JAMR, not a few years. And Rose doesn't really know how old any of the Lupin kids are. She just doesn't pay attention. So she's not a reliable witness on that ;) But yes, timelines in here are deliberately vague.

Thank you so much for reviewing, I'm glad you're enjoying the story!


 Report Review

Review #11, by VampireMaidenPhoenix Dinner Party from the Black Lagoon

28th July 2012:
Oh, I feel so sorry for Dominique! Andrew really is a bum-jerk for leaving her the equator he did. What type of human does that?

Just like Rose I don't trust that agent bloke. He and his fees seem sketchy.

Totally honest here, I can legit see my brothers -- and I know my godbrothers have -- pulling something like the Weasley boys. It sort of amazes me sometimes the lengths people go to for family.

Author's Response: Andrew is a total bum-jerk. He's not a good person at all. Poor Dommie.

Rose has zero confidence in the agent at this point. But Scorpius doesn't want to hear it. ;)

Yeah most guys I think would go after the guy who'd done that to their sister. Or cousin. Guys are usually willing to fight when they need to, in my experience. lol. Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #12, by VampireMaidenPhoenix A Model Forger

28th July 2012:
Oh dear this case is getting to be so very interesting. It amuses me how half the DMLE is getting involved... I do hope things turn out well for Rose.

Also: has it ever happened that a guy was hitting on you, but when you turned him down he started cursing you out & calling you names? That was so Joseph McBride, it's happened to me dozens of times.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! There are a lot of people involved in this case. Rose often happens into things that are bigger than she'd expected. lol

You know, I have seen guys do that. Men are so crazy sometimes.


 Report Review

Review #13, by VampireMaidenPhoenix Dipped in Sludge

28th July 2012:
Omg I totally called it when Vic had that craving cashews like, that sounds like a pregnancy craving XD

I know exactly how Rose feels about getting up so early. I absolutely refuse to wake before ten am unless I absolutely have to, although Rose takes that a step further and doesn't wake before noon XD

That motivational poster issue sounds like something you've experienced before. Something like that would irritate the crap out of me as well. Motivational posters are actually kind of annoying imo but they are fun to look at.

I LOVE Johnny. He is so adorable! He reminds me of my baby brother, only a little less bad and a little less naked. BTW how did Rose set the Quidditch stands on fire?

Author's Response: Hehehe... A lot of people noticed the cashews. Yep, Victoire is preggo again!

I used to never get up before 10 when I was younger, but I'm generally up by 8 these days. One of the "perks" of parenting.

I have to admit, grammatical errors like that bother the crap out of me. But the motivational poster was included because this novel was written during NaNoWriMo, and it was a NaNo dare.

Johnny Lupin XD haha. I do love him too. Although I'm glad he's not my kid.

Thank you so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #14, by VampireMaidenPhoenix Royal Hippogriff

28th July 2012:
I had planned to leave you such a nice review but then I had to give my aunt back her phone and I never finished v.v

I can't remember my comments but I can say that I am enjoying the story and cannot wait to see what happens next. Ambrosia is rubbing me totally the wrong way.

Author's Response: Well I appreciate you coming back to review! I'm glad you're enjoying the story :D Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #15, by VampireMaidenPhoenix A Rain of Ketchup

22nd July 2012:
Ah, I am so glad that my parents don't do things like Ron and Hermione. I doubt I could live with the scars... XD

I am enjoying how interesting this case is getting and can't wait to see where this goes ^_^

Author's Response: Ah yes, Ron and Hermione and inappropriate office behavior. lol. But really, who would say anything to them about it? They're war heroes. Only Harry would come in and go "Oh, get a room" or something. XD

Thank you very much! I'm really glad you're enjoying it :)


 Report Review

Review #16, by VampireMaidenPhoenix Legendary

22nd July 2012:
It is called plausible deniability, Rose, and between those two, Teddy will really need it. You know, in case their regular law-bending catches up with them ever. It amuses me how the children of war heroes are so. Idk what the word I'm looking for is. Most next gen fics I have read make the kids seem so much like their parents, very moral, very powerful, very meek by-the-book types. And sarcastically cynical. Or shadow huggers... you get the point I hope. These kids are a lot less thier parents and a lot more themselves. I like that.

That blonde. The one Skone was going on about? Totally Ambrosia Heggs. Just sayin.

I really hope that the art guy Scorpius is talking to is not trying to scam him. I hate to be a pessimist (and I really am an optimist by nature) but that would hurt so much, especially because it would be like a shattered dream, you know?

Author's Response: Ha! So true! Plausible deniability should be his watchword. Poor Teddy. I try to make the Next Genners their own people and not just copies of one or the other parent, so I'm glad that's working out :D

Ah I can't give away future plot details. I don't want to spoil it for you ;) So I'll just say, thank you very much for reviewing! I really loved reading it :)


 Report Review

Review #17, by VampireMaidenPhoenix A Nogtail in a Blanket

22nd July 2012:
Parmenter!!! Yay I love him so that you included him after all makes me very happy ^_^ I am very curious about nogtails now. Rose should have known she would have to get messy before she could have brought Parmenter in XD My question now is, why on earth did Rose think that ballet flats would be good bounty-hunting shoes? I am pretty sure that she could dye some combat boots pink... Or cover them in glitter.

Author's Response: Oh Parmenter is eternal! He has to appear at some point, you know? haha... Nogtails are in Fantastic Beasts And Where To Find Them (very interesting book), and you can read a bit about them on the HP Lexicon too. Rose is the queen of inappropriate wardrobe choices, including footwear. Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #18, by VampireMaidenPhoenix A Man Named Annable

22nd July 2012:
I am going to try to finish this story tonight so that I can catch up with the rest of the series. Gosh I have missed this universe.

I think I am enjoying the friendship/bromance developing between Scorpius and Lenny. It was cute how the boys were chilling in the house when Rose came around, just being all artistic and stuffs. I would probably feel a little left out if that were me, although that might be because I am pretty artistically inclined... plus they are two adorable boys being arty. And Scorpius's hair! (I have a bit of a fetish...)

While I like the name Ambrosia, I feel a little uneasy by her... Like maybe she is the blonde Skone was talking about. The woman investigating the new dealer. By the way, you have such a talent for naming characters! I mean, a man named Annabelle, the Gorky bloke now... I did really enjoy your old bad guys as well ^_^

Author's Response: I hope you get a chance to finish it! And let me know what you think! :)

I had a lot of fun writing the little budding bromance between Scorpius and Lenny. Two artistic types, yeah! Oh the long hair - that can be very sexy on a guy. Thor comes to mind ;)

I enjoy thinking up character names. I like them to be interesting when they need to be, or fade into the scenery when they need to as well. Sometimes names can trick you, or reveal character info. It's a lot of fun!

Thank you so much for the review! I really appreciate it :)


 Report Review

Review #19, by pennyardelle Leaping Lethifolds

16th June 2012:
Okay, I finished this a while ago (bad reviewer here), but I knew I eventually needed to come leave another review! So, here I am.

Lenny was such a great character, and it was AMAZING that his involvement in the plot was wrapped up on such a triumphant note. You've created such a relationship between the reader and Rose and Scorpius that I felt truly invested in their well-being. When they got that money, I kind of had to refrain from jumping up and down in celebration for them.

As I've said before, you are an amazing writer. How are you not a published author? Seriously. You're prolific, and what you write is incredible.

Thanks again for another wonderful read! And I see I have many other Rose/Scorpius adventures to continue on with... :)

Author's Response: Sorry for the late response! I didn't see that you'd reviewed :) Thank you so much for coming back to review again!

I'm glad you liked Lenny! I really enjoyed writing him in this. He's such a hoot. And it was nice to give Rose and Scorpius some money for once. Of course, they're not known for being responsible, so they'll blow it all, but they can at least pay a bit of rent! haha.

Aw thanks *blushes* you're so sweet. I really would like to be published one day, I need to get something together and try it.

There are a few more - the two one-shots if you haven't read those yet, then Sparks and Next Midnight, and I'm just starting Midnight Over Broadway. I hope you like them! Thank you for reviewing, I really appreciate it :)


 Report Review

Review #20, by Gryffin_Duck Leaping Lethifolds

27th May 2012:
Didn't take me long to read this one! Three days, I think? Your stories are addicting. I think I liked this one even more than JAMR.

I LOVED the Lenny plot line. He was so funny and I like to think he and Scorpius had a sort of bromance going on with all the time they spent hanging out in Rose's flat while she was off getting kidnapped.

I also really liked learning more about Harry, Ron, and Hermione's lives at the Ministry. Your take on it is very realistic. Again, their personalities are spot on and you write them as adults very well. The funny bits were great. I love that the whole "Weasleys never turn down free food" came back.

It was really interesting to read more about Dominique in this one since there was a bit about Victoire and Louis in JAMR. The contrast between the two sisters was so big, but I loved that. One of my sisters and I are vastly different, so it's great to read about sisters like that. But they still care about each other, which is great. I felt so bad for Dom during the dinner party scene. But I love that she went through with the divorce even after Andrew's memory got erased.

I think one of my favorite parts of this was the fact that the bad guys were girls. That's so rare, so it's great to see. The duel between the two was awesome, especially Sergei's commentary. The ending was awesome, especially the bit where Scorpius got paid 2K for that painting. Although I somehow doubt it'll last long, with him and Rose's luck.

Definitely going to read all the various one-shots now! And Next Midnight, I think that comes next, right? Great story!!! :)

Author's Response: Yay I'm glad you liked it! I totally think Scorpius and Lenny had a grand old time sitting around singing and playing guitar together. I had a lot of fun writing Lenny, so I'm glad you liked him. :)

Funny bits are my favorite XD I really enjoy writing Harry, Ron, and Hermione as adults, and having them still be very close. I totally picture Harry and Ron having lunch every day and popping into each other's office just to hang out when they're supposed to be doing paperwork. And of course, Hermione coming to see Ron and locking his office door and thinking no one knows it's cause they're making out in there haha.

Dominique and Victoire are definitely very different. I do think they have their similarities though, and they do still love each other of course. Victoire's very much the matriarch of the group of cousins, and Dominique being the only other one to have children at this point gives them something else in common. Poor Dommie, she thought Andrew was her happily-ever-after. The big jerk. I think it's best she held strong after his memory was erased and he wanted her back. There's more of Dominique in "Sparks" ;)

Bad guys who are girls ftw! haha. You don't see a lot of that, but it does happen so why not? And Scorpius's 2k Galleons is going to be spent quickly of course - those two don't have a ton of forward-planning happening.

I'm so glad you liked it, and thank you so much for reviewing! The next sequentially is "Sausages and Cookies" (a Teddy/Victoire one-shot) and then "Sparks" and then is "Next Midnight" :)


 Report Review

Review #21, by pennyardelle Dipped in Sludge

21st May 2012:
Okay, another thing I love is how vibrant and unique all of your characters are. They're quirky, but not just for the sake of being quirky (which many people tend to do with characters). They seem so real and developed!

I'm mentioning it in this chapter's review because O'Toole is awesome. That line about "Gammon" had me almost laughing out loud on the train. :D

Loving all the twists and turns in the plot!

Author's Response: I like to make them real people. I know just what you mean about the deliberately quirky for no reason. If you're not just quirky because that's who you are, then you're trying too hard ;)

Gammon is the name for the language of the Irish Travellers. Linguists call is Shelta, but the speakers call it Gammon. O'Toole has Traveller blood. I think O'Toole is pretty awesome too ;)

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #22, by pennyardelle A Man Named Annable

21st May 2012:
So, as you know, I'm reading this on my Kindle, and I've been adding highlights to it as I go to mark down the parts I want to mention in reviews. First off, the story is wonderful. It's so engaging, and you are a fantastic writer. :)

In this chapter, what really struck me is the line about "Why do people think you should be friends years later when you had nothing to do with one another in school?" THIS. Times a million. This has happened to me so often since leaving high school. So, it was brilliant for how spot-on it was, but then the REAL genius of it became apparent to me later. You completely distracted me from the obvious fact that this was the girl that Skone mentioned with how realistically you wrote Rose and Ambrosia's interactions. Really great!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! *blushes* I'm glad you're enjoying it.

I'm glad that line distracted you ;) Since that was the point of that section. Rose is thinking too much about how silly and annoying the whole "oh let's act like we were friends when we NEVER SPOKE" thing is and doesn't make the connection to Skone's description. Plus, that really does annoy me when people do that (usually on facebook).

Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #23, by abbynormalluvsluna Andrew Campbell

26th April 2012:
AK! I can't believe she doesn't see it-- Xanthe is Ambrosia! This is such a great suspense piece. I love it

Author's Response: Poor Rose, she's a little oblivious. I'm so glad you're enjoying it, thank you so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #24, by Gray Raven Leaping Lethifolds

24th April 2012:
O my! I can't believe it! I was just reading it and then... it ended already... I really really like this story. It has that quality that kept me reading and reading. I think the villain is less darker than in the previous one, but it's still great. I might actually like this one better.
Reading the beginning of this sequel was really like watching the 2nd season of a film series: with all the introduction that reminded us of our beloved hero/heroine. It's a really good intro.
I really like the fact that Rose is this poor, somehow clumsy, bounty hunter.
I love this series, love all the characters, and I'm so happy for Scorpius finally getting his big break. He so deserves it!
Great work ;)

Author's Response: Yay, I'm glad I could get you hooked on the story! ;) I'm really pleased that you enjoyed it. I do think Ambrosia is less dark, but still a very bad person of course.

Introducing a sequel without going overboard on the "previously on..." bits is sort of a tricky balancing act - there's a tendency as the author to assume everyone already knows, so you don't remember to explain something as much, or you go too far with explaining it all again. Anyway, hopefully that worked well, thank you for the compliment :)

It's good for Scorpius to finally get some recognition for his art. Maybe he should've tried portraits instead of landscapes a while back haha. Thank you so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #25, by alicia rose potter Leaping Lethifolds

19th April 2012:
This! This is absolutely brilliant! I loved your first story, and I came immediately to this one. Please, please write another sequal or three. Rose is hilarious, as is Victoire, and I love your portrayals of the "war generation." I can't believe all of the random mishaps Rose gets into, yet they all seem so believable. I laughed out loud so many times. I'd love to read more!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm working on a Rose story in this series right now, a short story (it's called Next Midnight), and then there'll be another novel. :) I'm glad you liked it! Thank you so much for the review!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>