Reading Reviews for Love Story
  
18 Reviews Found

Review #1, by slytherangoddess Say 'Yes'

18th April 2012:
Sing-

Lovely song fic. The way you told the story definitely did justice. Usually once you've read a romeo/juliet story you've read them all but not this time. You found a way to make it your own and apply it to realistic wizarding situations :)

great job!!!

~SLy

Author's Response: Hey there! Thanks for reading :D I swear, when I mentioned that I had written two Taylor Swift songfics I was not shamelessly self-promoting!(though I do tend to do that from time to time ;)) Thanks so much for stopping by and leaving a review! I'm glad you liked this :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by starkidfan142 Say 'Yes'

18th August 2011:
This is a lovely Ron and Hermione story and you chose the perfect song and fitted it really well to the story!! :)

Author's Response: Thanks :) I'm glad you enjoyed the story. Some sections get a bit long for a songfic, but I'm glad you thought it fit the song well.

 Report Review

Review #3, by momotwins Say 'Yes'

6th August 2011:
Okay, I must admit, the Taylor Swift lyrics nearly turned me off from reading this story. I can't stand her, and normally in the queue Taylor Swift songfic = a story that annoys me. But it's you, so of course I'm giving it a chance. I'll just ignore the song, if that's all right with you.

Can I just say, I absolutely love you for being canon. Canon is my favorite thing to read, and to write, and the fact that you said her dress was blue (not pink like in the movie) made me ridiculously happy. Thank you! Canon, yes.

The scene with Ron throwing rocks (well, enchanting them) at her window, oh I love it. I love your take on her parents' return, also: of course they would be angry about what happened, and probably scared too which would fuel their anger, and I don't think I've ever seen anyone write the aftermath of Australia that way. Very interesting, and smart. I tell you, I really enjoy seeing the way you plot out logical character interactions and where they lead - you have a real knack for it that I think you should pursue. And by that I mean, write an original novel so I can go buy it at Barnes & Noble.

Oh my GOD, I am totally shrieking with romantic glee. I love love love this story. Ron's proposal, oh it was perfect, I just love that she was lecturing him without letting him get a word in edgewise so he got on one knee to shut her up. Your writing is just lovely in this, very emotional (I know *I'm* feeling everything Hermione's feeling!) and poignant. And I giggled at the "No confundus charms?" bit. I love this story! I still hate Taylor Swift, though.

WTM - Ravenclaw

Author's Response: This review had me in stitches. I can completely see why the lyrics would turn you off. I'm not really a Taylor Swift fan myself, but she tells stories with her lyrics, meaning that they lend themselves really well to songfics. But yes, feel free to completely ignore them.

I, too, absolutely adore canon. I've read the books so often that when people change little details, it kind of drives me nuts. I'm glad you noticed the dress color. Canon for the win!

Of course, that being said, the timeline of this story makes it a bit non-canon, since the timeline means that there probably wasn't time for her to return to Hogwarts for her seventh year, but hopefully it's close enough to not be obnoxious.

I'm glad you liked the scene with Ron throwing the rocks. It's cheesy and cliche, but I'm a cheesy, sentimental kind of person, and I really wanted to include it. Plus it's in the song, so...:P

It never seemed realistic to me that Hermione's parent's would instantly forgive her and be completely understanding. I mean, they didn't even want her to fix her teeth with magic, and now they find out that she has been messing with their brains and their memories? Not to mention, that they've missed out on an entire year of their lives without their knowledge. I think they might be a little angry at first. However, I also think Hermione's parents are good people who love her, and eventually, they'll understand why she did what she did and will forgive her. I just think it'll take time.

I really liked Ron's proposal too. For some reason, there is no scenario in my head that ever involves Ron's proposal going smoothly. I just honestly don't think it would happen.

Thank you for giving this story a chance, even if you couldn't stand the song. As for an original novel...I'm pretty good at writing one-shots and characterizing other people's characters. I'm not so sure I could create my own, and then keep it going for the length of a novel. Maybe some day though. I'm pretty content with my fanfics for now. If it ever happens, I'll let you know :P

~Singularity


 Report Review

Review #4, by theelderwand Say 'Yes'

7th January 2011:
I'm an incorrigible R/Hr shipper. Pacific Wizard is a friend of mine and I went purusing his favorites tonight.

I'm very glad I did, because I found this wonderful tale.

Your characterizations of Ron and Hermione are spot on and brilliant. Especially the way you've matured Ron. JKR left us all very strong clues that Ron had finally turned a corner when he got into the chamber of secrets during the Battle of Hogwarts. You've captured that and run with it. So much fanfic misses this important point.

This tale was heartwarming and delightful. It put a big silly grin on my face.

Great work

Eldy

Author's Response: I think Ron and Hermione are probably my favorite pairing. They are definitely quite fun to write :)

Thank you for your kind remarks. I'm really glad that you enjoyed the characterizations and thought that I captured them well, especially Ron. I think you're exactly right, Ron has grown up a lot what with destroying a horcrux, getting into the Chamber, and seeing his brother die. He's not the same person he was growing up. Granted, some of that classic Ron is still there.

I really appreciate you reading and reviewing this story. You're one of the writers I really admire on this site, so it's great to hear from you. I'll have to thank PW the next time I 'see' him. :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by DaBluBanana Say 'Yes'

2nd January 2011:
*Sob*

Aw...that was so sweet! And extremely realistic, which is really hard to come by - I love it!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you found it realistic and sweet :) That's kind of what I was going for :P

 Report Review

Review #6, by maskedmuggle Say 'Yes'

30th December 2010:
Awwh! This is such a wonderful story! The lyrics fit in perfectly with the plot, and the plot itself is.. very original! I've never read this plot before, so I love it! The idea of it is quite realistic. We never knew much about her parents anyway, so it is very plausible for them to be angry/annoyed, etc.

Characterisation wise is fantastic. Ron and Hermione are almost like main characters, and in so many fics they are portrayed very out of character, but you did it so well here.

The one thing I was a bit unsure of was Mr. Granger's blessing. I got the feeling it was the father, not Mrs. Granger that was insisting on shutting Hermione out from the Wizarding World. I was a bit surprised at the fast change of mind for Mrs. Granger, but that's totally believable. I wanted to hear something from Mr. Granger as well, we didn't get to hear about his change of mind.

The whole proposal thing is sweet. And the ending lines tie it up very nicely. A very enjoyable fic to read! :)

Author's Response: Thanks for your review :) I always thought it was kind of unrealistic to assume that the Grangers would be completely understanding and forgiving right away. These are the people who didn't want her to fix her own teeth with magic, and now they find out that she has been messing with their minds? I just think there might be a bit of anger and resentment there.

On the other hand, I think Hermione's parents are inherently good people who love their daughter and will, eventually, get over it. They might just need a bit of a push.

I know the bit with Mr. Granger isn't really written into the story, but I thought that section was already so long that I didn't want to get into exactly what was said on both sides. Ron did say he was there for hours, so I don't think it was probably an easy conversation, but Mrs. G was already on his side, that I think that helped.

I'm glad you enjoyed this fluffy little bit of fluff and thought that Ron and Hermione were in character. I think their relationship is my favorite to write so I'm glad you thought I did them justice :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by Samantha Miranda Say 'Yes'

29th December 2010:
Absolutely beautiful! Every line of the song is connected to the love of Ron and Hermione! You're one of the great interpreters of a life of one person or couple! You interpreted their love greatly by a song! You are such a great writer! Absolutely great! Keep writing and you'll find your talent in it.

Author's Response: Aww thank you. You're sweet. I think Taylor Swift's songs make for the basis of a nice songfic because her songs already tell a story.

I really appreciate you reading and leaving such a kind review.


 Report Review

Review #8, by mauradified Say 'Yes'

27th December 2010:
I love love love this! It was so cute. It gave perfect closure to me about her parents and hey how Ron proposed is great. Good Job!

Author's Response: Aww thanks :* I was never satisfied with the idea that Hermione's parents would be instantly understanding and forgiving when they got their memories back. I think it would take a bit of time at least, although this is probably a bit extreme. I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Thanks for your review!


 Report Review

Review #9, by spencefa Say 'Yes'

25th December 2010:
that was truly lovely.

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #10, by NessaMahtar Say 'Yes'

23rd December 2010:
Oh gosh, this was truly beautiful! Very well written, going along perfectly with the song lyrics. I loved it! Amazingly written.

Author's Response: Thank you for your sweet review :) I'm really glad you enjoyed this and thought it fit the song so well.

 Report Review

Review #11, by the-exceedingly-amazed-by-your-story Girl Say 'Yes'

22nd December 2010:
WOW. just WOW. amazing!! YOU ARE BRILLIANT!! COMPLETELY BRILLIANT!!

Author's Response: Tee hee, why thank you :P I take that to mean that you enjoyed this story? Your username is hilarious, by the way. I hope you'll read some of my other stories and enjoy them just as much :)

Thanks for reading and reviewing! You're awesome :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by TheProphecy Say 'Yes'

17th December 2010:
Awww bless ron sometimes you just want to hug him :D Erm i really like this i thougt you did really well and it made me smile :D

Author's Response: I love Ron, even when he's being a complete and utter prat :) I find his lack of tact endearing. Thanks for reading and reviewing. I'm glad this made you smile. Your review made me smile. :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by Dalek194 Say 'Yes'

30th November 2010:
A truly brilliant son fic! I love this song, and it fits so well with the story (though you have to read very fast for it be in sinc LOL)

I don't read as much R/H as I do H/G, but this is an excellent fic about what may have happened after Hermione returned to her parents. It was always going to be hard for her, and you've written this fantastically with realsitic characters how JK would have written them; Ron shows his gentlemanly side that only his love for Hermione could bring out in him.

On the whole, a very cute, well-written song fic with a great song, great plot and great author! Well done :-)

Author's Response: Yes, this story definitely fails in being in sync to the song :P I'm glad you seem to think it doesn't fail in some of it's other attributes!

Thanks for your really sweet comments and for such a nice review. I always look forward to hearing from you :)


 Report Review

Review #14, by ekroman Say 'Yes'

28th November 2010:
Aww ! How sweet :) I love it.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Pacific Wizard Say 'Yes'

27th November 2010:
Singularity: You continue to amaze me with your excellent story telling. ( Always a tone of surprise...?) No surprise here with your talent but this was a sweet and amazing story just the same. Not much more to say other than...Very Well Done. PW

p.s. Your characterizations and plot were spot on. Must have had a charming spell on this one. 10/10

Author's Response: Hey PW, nice to see you again. *waves* Thanks for another fantastic review. 'Always a tone of surprise' is one of my favorite Ron/Hermione lines :P It just sums up their relationship so well, don't you think?

You're far too sweet to me and your reviews always make my day. So glad you enjoyed this little piece. Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #16, by potterprincess07 Say 'Yes'

22nd November 2010:
Aww. This is so sweet. I love it.

Author's Response: Thanks :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by orderofthephoenix Say 'Yes'

21st November 2010:
Aww. This is such a sweet story. x x

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Marybeth Say 'Yes'

17th November 2010:
Ah so cute - loved this story!!!

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! I'm so glad you liked it :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login