Reading Reviews for Fallen
  
17 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Pretense Of Perfection And so she dances

8th July 2014:
I wasn't sure what to expect when I first started reading this, but i'm pleasantly surprised that I did.

You set the mood and tone of the story really well in the beginning, what with the rain and the storm being only in her mind. Yet she still dances to the sounds, even though she is the only one that can hear them. It's sad how she's basically waiting for him to come and watch her, to laugh at her, even though she knows he won't come. am I detecting that perhaps she has gone mad with her longing and desire for him?

It seems like maybe she tries to convince herself of his cruelty and indifference as a coping mechanism. Telling herself that he doesn't love Lily definitely seems like a form of denial, and it really makes me feel very sympathetic toward her.

I really like the details and descriptions that you've used, particularly more toward the end. i know that you repeated a portion of the beginning, probably for emphasis, and i think the overall effect is pleasing. I really enjoyed the ending, especially the last few sentences about how the imagined storm and winds are caressing her.

I didn't really notice any spelling or grammar errors, so good job there. Excellent word choice, and an overall enjoyable read.

---House Cup 2014 review---
pretense of perfection, Gryffindor

 Report Review

Review #2, by ImagineHarmony And so she dances

15th July 2013:
Hi!

This is such a beautiful one-shot! It is crafted and moulded and worded so perfectly that every word and emotion just melts you away because it is so amazing! The wordplay is top notch, specially that part of 'words are weapons'. This is a smart, romantic and distraught fully beautiful story that I'm so angry at you for writing. It's just perfect. The feelings created, reactions, realisation on Dom's part! Truly amazing and vivid, a fantastic read!

 Report Review

Review #3, by LittleWelshGirl99 And so she dances

23rd February 2012:
This held a very special moment in perfect harmony. Amazing.

 Report Review

Review #4, by ohtasha And so she dances

1st September 2011:
Beautifully written and I like the concept, as well as being an avid Scorpius/Dominique shipper (: ~Tasha

Author's Response: thank you so much, i am pleased you liked it

 Report Review

Review #5, by alicia and anne And so she dances

14th August 2011:
I can't believe that Scorpius cheated on her with Lily! poor Dom. You described scorpius to be so horrible and dark and I like it.
This was a really good story to read, I love how you've described it so well and managed to fit a great story in only 500 words. I am extremely impressed and am envious, I may have to try this out myself.

alicia and anne
slytherin

Author's Response: i know right! thank you once again for another lovely review. i really appreciate your kind words and i am glad you liked it. oh do, it is such an amazing challenge!!

cheers hun
xx


 Report Review

Review #6, by Giola And so she dances

21st April 2011:
Wow.

You said at the start you didn't know what to make of this...I feel similar.
I really want to know the backstory of Dominique and Scorpius' relationship. The statement that Scorpius loved himself seems very fitting to his character (what little we see of it) and it seems like Dom has resigned herself to this fact a while ago.

So why did she date him? Of course, that's the point of only posting a little snapshot like this, to leave us all guessing.

I loved the symmetry you provided with the 'internal' rain at the start, and the rain at the end. To me it symbolizes the fact that she's free from him now.

You also say that Scorpius never tried to hold onto her, yet I get the feeling that she's truly 'free' now, even though she knew he never loved her. That makes me wonder, again, why she tried to stay with him? He didn't force, or so it seems, so it feels to me that she had genuine feelings for him, despite all she thought of him (a typical man).

Anyway, I'll stop rambling :) This got me thinking way too much.

-Julia

Author's Response: hi darling! so sorry its taken me forever to respond to this!! i am horrible i know!

to be honest, i have no clue about how they got together or what their history is. i just saw this moment in time for them and in particular this moment for Dom and what it means for her.

thank you hun. you have completely understood my characters, even if they are a little ambiguous. i am glad it made you think though - i like writing things that have that effect.

Kate xx


 Report Review

Review #7, by ericajen And so she dances

16th April 2011:
Oh wow. This is a beautiful little one-shot. I was automatically hooked because it's Dominique/Scorpius, but wow. This was great. All the imagery in this is so beautiful and captivating. I loved all the similies and metaphors and personification about the dancing and war drums, etc.

For such a short piece, it really holds a lot in it. I love stories like that. It's great when a writer can pack so much into a shorter story. It makes it seem all the more interesting and powerful.

Great work! This was lovely.

Author's Response: hey hun
thanks so much for such a lovely review! i had never written this pairing before but i liked it, so i might have to write more!

I am really pleased you liked this - thank you for the wonderful compliments!

xx


 Report Review

Review #8, by fairy blown away And so she dances

6th March 2011:
im paralyzes, this story somehow gwts me i dont know its so full of pain, i dont know why it is still alive

Author's Response: thank you for reading hun and i am glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Hatxx And so she dances

10th February 2011:
Wow, really powerful little one-shot there. I really like the rhythm throughout the story, with the dancing bringing it to a really good stop.
great fic. xx

Author's Response: thank you sweetie - i am pleased you liked it and that the rhythmical nature came through!

xx


 Report Review

Review #10, by LovelyMioneWeasley And so she dances

15th December 2010:
Kate!

Oh goody goody goodness. What a heartbreakingly beautiful little ficlet. I could feel the saddness and sorrow create a little black hole of emotion within me. It was brilliant.

I could totally feel and understand your characters and for this to be done in less than 600 words reveals the clear depth and thought that you put into this. I've missed your writing and I'll be swining by again soon to hopefully read some more.

My favorite part about this one-shot was the very heavy warlike imagery being intermignled with love-- something we normally associate as light and lovely. All this tied together with the neat bow of the idea rain as a sound, not just a healing agent or a mood but a sound, a rhythm.

Lindsey

Author's Response: hello my dear!!
thank you so much. i have no idea where this fic came from - i just wanted to write Dom I think, and somehow, Scorpius snuck in there. it could have been any boy really, but i chose him.

gah! i am stoked you picked up on that imagery! love, in my opinion, can indeed be light and lovely, but more often than not, it is heavy and intense, powerful and aching.

thank you sweetie!!
Kate xx


 Report Review

Review #11, by Novadestin And so she dances

14th December 2010:
Another example of your poetic writing that I like so much :) So many lines in here that I just adore; 'The drumming, the tapping, rests in her and so she dances' and 'she did not expect to find him with an armful of fire and his lips on someone elses' to list a couple. Certainly every word counts, but not simply because of the word count. Each word adds to and builds the wonderful imagery you've created and I am sure I am not the only one left going 'wow.'

Author's Response: hi there
thank you so much hun! i have no idea what to say in response to this review other than I am really pleased you enjoyed it and thank you again for the lovely review!!

Kate
xx


 Report Review

Review #12, by The Quick Quotes Quill And so she dances

7th December 2010:
Love this.

Beautifully written. 3rd person POV are often impersonal, but this is a perfect snapshot, and the way the dancing is woven into the piece in really lovely, it gives it all a rythym and a direction, without being too controlling. xxx

Author's Response: thank you so very much for such a lovely review! i am really pleased you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #13, by Elysium And so she dances

18th November 2010:
This was utterly gorgeous, Kate. No surprise at all. You have such a beautiful, lyrical way with words that creates evocative imagery but also very tangible emotion. You don't tell us what we should feel, but rather let your readers infer and read between the lines. I love the diction in this, but also that staccato rhythm of her feet as a drum, to use your own words. It creates a wonderful tempo that builds throughout this piece. There's always something beautiful about short pieces like this... so brief that it's like looking through a window and capturing just one moment which represents their whole relationship to this point.

Lovely :)

xox Kylie

Author's Response: oh kylie thank you darling!
you totally got this piece, and i thank you for it! i don't know what else to say other than i am so pleased you liked it and that it worked for you!!

xx Kate


 Report Review

Review #14, by Miss Lily Potter And so she dances

17th November 2010:
Wow.

This is so powerful. I love the wording, the phrasing. It's... it's wonderful.

Especially the end. It's... chilling, I think is the word for it.

Wonderful job. (:
-Jasmine

Author's Response: thank you so much Jasmine! i am really pleased you liked it. you found the end chilling? wow that is so different to what i thought, but thats a good thing - it shows how something can be read on different levels!

Kate xx


 Report Review

Review #15, by Miss MarlaG And so she dances

17th November 2010:
wow. This was amazingly written and very, very powerful. its brilliant! i think you should win :)


sorry, too lazy to log on :p

Author's Response: thank you so much, i am really pleased you liked it!!

 Report Review

Review #16, by ThePhoenix17 And so she dances

17th November 2010:
I think this may have been the most beautiful thing I have ever read... Bravo!

Author's Response: really?? wow thank you. i am really happy you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #17, by _hedwig_ And so she dances

17th November 2010:
This was so beautiful and eerie! I loved it.

Author's Response: thank you so much. i am happy you liked it!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login