Reading Reviews for The Store Cupboard
  
21 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Splendiferously_Awesome Chapter 1

3rd April 2013:
I loved this story! Your concept was refreshingly original and Molly/Arthur has now become one of my favourite pairings. Great work!! :)

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! I'm glad you found this story to be original. I love Molly and Arthur :) If you are interested in reading more Molly/Arthur goodness, I highly recommend momotwin's 'The Unsinkable Molly Prewett' series.

 Report Review

Review #2, by TamsynLovegood Chapter 1

10th May 2012:
Love it! It's adorable, these two are probably my favourite pairing, and it reminds me of ootp, when Molly can't get rid of the boggart, and thinks Arthur will think she's being silly!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! I'm so sorry that it's taken me so long to respond.

Molly and Arthur are one of my favorite pairings as well. I definitely pulled a lot from ootp for this story. I thought that this was a teenaged version of the boggart that she sees later in her life. Dead family members seem too intense for an average teenager, but I wanted to keep to the theme of broken relationships and such, so this is what evolved.

I'm really glad that you liked it. Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Aderyn Chapter 1

10th March 2012:
Hi :)

This story was light, and sweet, but at the same time it felt very canon. Molly was a bit insecure about her appearance, which seems to fit. Arthur loved Muggle things :D Molly seems very kind, for the most part, especially when reaction to Tillie.

I loved the connection you made between Molly's reaction to the boggart here and her one if OotP. It seems to be her weakness to not recognize that boggarts aren't real.

I'm glad that everything worked out in the end for Molly and Arthur, and that it was just a boggart after all, and not Arthur cheating. This was a nice fluffy sort of story, which I really enjoyed. The last line made me smile- it really tied everything together, especially since it paralleled Molly's thoughts at the beginning of the story :)

Author's Response: Hey :) Thanks for reading and reviewing! I'm glad you thought this story felt canon, I hoped it would.

There was definitely meant to be a connection between this boggart of Molly's and the one that we see in OotP. I thought that the deaths of loved ones was too intense of a boggart for her as a teenager (especially since most teens tend to see themselves as invincible), so I tried to change it to something that still reflected the importance of family and relationships, but seemed more realistic for a teenager to fear. Plus, it gave me a good excuse to write a happy, fluffy ending (which I also enjoy).

Thanks for commenting on the ending! I'm really glad you liked it and thought it tied the story together well. I struggled a lot with how to write the ending, and eventually settled on that, but wasn't sure how I felt about it. It's nice to get some positive feedback.

Thanks again for your review!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Z Chapter 1

3rd January 2012:
Perfection. Seriously. I adore this. I so love Arthur and Molly, and this story was sublime.

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and reviewing! I'm so glad you enjoyed this story :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Owlpost68 Chapter 1

22nd November 2011:
That was wonderful! Especially since Molly's had trouble with boggarts in book 5, I wasn't expecting that it was a boggart or something, I wasn't sure what was going to happen, and it was a great surprise :) Really, really wonderful job! :D 10/10

Author's Response: Thanks :D I especially appreciate that you read to the ending, even though you didn't know what was going on. If you don't get to the end, it just kind of seems like I completely messed up Arthur's characterization :P

I'm glad that the ending was a surprise for you! Yay :D That makes me happy :)

Thanks so much for your wonderful reviews and for adding me as a favorite author! It means a lot to me.


 Report Review

Review #6, by parashar_harry Chapter 1

14th October 2011:
really interesting story . i like it so cute and funny.


but as i read further and i found out that arthur has no idea why both girls are scolding her and calling her cheater . it surprised me then it popped up in my mind that may be its a boggart so i re-read the paragraph where molly deducted the points i found out that u have not mention that whether they came out of cupboard or not ! i became exited and in the end i found out that owo my guess was correct.

the ending was perfect
and really "IT REALLY WAS A LOVELY LITTLE CUPBOARD"
another good story from u thank you for writing it
i enjoyed it completely

hey what about the points that gryfindor and revenclaw loose due to boggart ^_^
parashar

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing :)

Congratulations for figuring out the boggart bit early! :) Though I am a little disappointed. I like it to be a bit of a surprise at the end.

I'm really glad that you liked the ending. I wasn't really sure what to do with it, but that line seemed sweet, so I thought it would be ok.

As for the points Molly takes. In my head, they never really get taken away because Molly isn't actually addressing the real Arthur and Aurelia. I'm not sure how it really works, but in my head, the rule breakers have to be present to have the points taken from them. So in this situation, the points weren't actually removed, and Molly was too emotionally distraught to notice :P

Thanks again for your review!


 Report Review

Review #7, by SourceoftheTicking Chapter 1

21st September 2011:
The snake detail? If it's the reference I've decided to assume it is, excellent. Jolly and fluffy, like a gang of cats hosting a pantomime.

Author's Response: The snake is a bit of a nod to Arthur's attack in OotP, even though that takes place in the future. Not sure if that's the reference you thought it was.

A gang of cats hosting a pantomime? XD lol, That's awesome! Thanks for reading and reviewing :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by Aphoride Chapter 1

10th September 2011:
I love this one-shot! It's the perfect length, perfect flow - pretty much perfect everything, actually. Your characterisation is brilliant (I can rarely get them to work, so props to you!) and I can really see it happening. The Boggart is so sweet, and definitely ties in with them in canon, so well done!

Aph xx

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed this story and thought that it was done well. That means a lot :) I also appreciate that you thought he boggarts were tied in well with canon :)

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Aiedail Chapter 1

8th September 2011:
It took me a while--then as I passed into the third section when Molly was going to go back to the cupboard and she was thinking that Arthur couldn't be dumb enough to be back there...I FIGURED IT OUT WOOO!! Boggart. Of course!

I thought this was a sweet story! It was a bit short--I think especially Molly could lie in bed thinking to herself or something, or the characters could interact more--but it was enough to give us time to guess before we came upon the answer in your story :) I liked that it took her a while to realize--a lot of time Boggarts seem to be very ridiculous things in the context of a cupboard, but since Molly's was something that could actually happen there, I like the reality of her not figuring it out right away.

Your writing is really good--there were a couple things that I think you could leave out, like saying that Tillie is Molly's best friend...and I thought it was a little off-beat to have Arthur call Molly her full name twice, although in a way it was endearing :)

I love the little details you included in this, especially at the beginning--how Molly's mum could go on for days about cleaning products, and that you have a name for the product, and you've brought into question the effects of cleaning spells on color-changing ink. It's all really interesting and propels you right into the story. Props for that!

The detail does seem to ebb a little throughout the rest of the one-shot, though, although I think you dealt very nicely with Molly's embarrassment at not having figured out it was only a Boggart. The scene is very clear and you can see them there standing in the dark, being awkward and not knowing what to say. The ending is cute--I love that Arthur can't ever pronounce Muggle things correctly when really in the magical world it seems that things are a little more complicated to say. And that he would turn his snake (apt, I think--reference to Nagini in book 5? SO CLEVER) into a Slinky :D

Overall, this is a wonderful little story! I love Molly/Arthur and I think you captured them really well here!

-lily

Author's Response: Aww, I'm a bit disappointed that you figured it out before the end, but at least you didn't get it right away :P

I'm sorry that you thought it was a bit short. Short one-shots are kind of my specialty. I like to just kind of get a glimpse into these character's lives and then scurry away :P

Being more descriptive is definitely something I need to work on as a writer. I'm glad that you enjoyed the details I did put in, however. Mrs. Scower's Magical Mess Remover is canon, FYI. I think it was one of the products advertised at the Quidditch World Cup.

As for Arthur's boggart, I was thinking about what it could be and Nagini instantly popped into my head, followed by the idea of a snake morphing into a slinky. So, even though the snake incident doesn't come until much later, I was too in love with the slinky bit to change it. Plus, I did kind of like the tie-in.

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! I'm glad that you enjoyed this over all and thought I did well with Arthur and Molly. I love them, too :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by Georgia Weasley Chapter 1

6th August 2011:
This one might be my favorite. I think I've said that about every little one shot of yours I've read today. But Arthur and Molly are just perfect here. I felt Molly's pain and betrayal in the beginning, and I just couldn't imagine what you could be thinking. It was so out of character for Arthur. Then, you brought it all together with the Boggart, and it was such relief. So well done. Another perfect little glimpse into JKR's world. Love these. ~GW

Author's Response: You hit upon my biggest fear there about this story...I'm always afraid that people will get halfway through this story, think I'm a nutter for writing Arthur so terribly, and run far, far away from my writing :P So thanks for giving it a chance and reading through to the end :)

I was a bit concerned about writing Arthur and Molly as teenagers, so I'm glad you thought I wrote them well.

Thank you again for this and all of the other wonderful reviews you left for me. I really do appreciate it immensely :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by momotwins Chapter 1

6th August 2011:
Aww! I love it! I love a good Molly/Arthur in their Hogwarts days, and you know, I think this is the only one I've read that I really, really loved. Mostly I think they missed the boat a bit, but you got it spot-on. This totally gave me the romance-novel high feeling (you know that lovely romantic glow from reading a good Declaration of Love scene in a romance novel? Romance novel squee? No? Maybe I read too many of them), I just loved it. I've seen you write these characters a few times now so I'm not surprised that you got their characterization so well, but I am very pleased! I also loved your OC friend for Molly - Tillie is a great 60s name, and so often with stories set in this era, or the Marauders, everyone has a very modern name. So well done there!

Okay, I have to say, I don't have a lot of authors on my favorite author list (I tend to just favorite stories). But I am totally favoriting you, my dear. Your stories are love, and I think you are a great writer. :)

WTM - Ravenclaw

Author's Response: Honestly, having my characterizations of Molly and Arthur complimented by someone who writes them as amazingly as you do, is one of the best compliments ever. I'm so glad you approve and didn't stop halfway through in disgust. I'm always a little worried about that with this story, since Arthur is quite ooc until you know what's going on.

And thank you so much for favoriting. I've loved reading your reviews and have appreciated your comments so much. Thank you so much. :)

~Singularity


 Report Review

Review #12, by RupertsPheonix Chapter 1

25th January 2011:
Very cute! Loved it. :)

Author's Response: Thank you :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by Ravenclaw333 Chapter 1

17th December 2010:
This was such a great little fic! I love Arthur/Molly, I think they're such an adorable couple *happyface* and the Boggart was just pure genius! Well written, an original idea and the characterisation of both of them was just spot on! Merry Christmas! :)

Author's Response: Merry Christmas, RC Trip 3! Thanks for all the lovely compliments. I'm really glad you chose this story. It's currently one of my favorites :) Thanks for your review!

 Report Review

Review #14, by arthurandmollynerd Chapter 1

4th December 2010:
All I have to say about this story is AWWW!! So cute and romantice.

Author's Response: Aww, thanks :P I'm really glad you liked it (especially with a username like yours :)). Thanks for your review!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Pacific Wizard Chapter 1

27th November 2010:
Nice little twist in a very sweet story About Molly and Arthur. Well done. PW

Author's Response: It always makes me happy when people read to the end of this story :P I often wonder if people start it and then stop halfway through at the terrible representation of Arthur.

I actually found them kind of difficult to write as teenagers, so I'm not sure how well I did on that extent, but hopefully it wasn't too bad.

Thanks for reading and reviewing, PW!


 Report Review

Review #16, by LidaRose Chapter 1

7th November 2010:
Aww! It's so cute! Absolutely wonderful writing, I belived every bit of it could have actually happened.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! I was a bit worried that it seemed unrealistic and out of character, so I'm glad you thought it seemed believable :) Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Canadian_Hogwarts Chapter 1

2nd November 2010:
Soo sweet :) I love it! Anything that's got Arthur and Molly, and I'm there! I loved how Molly's boggart was Arthur cheating on her... it really shows how much things changed during the war, when her boggart became her family dying. (That probably wasn't what you were thinking of when you wrote it, but I think it's a cool little tie in to the books) Anyway, awesome story (as always) and I hope you write some more like this!

Author's Response: I'm really glad you enjoyed this story! Thanks for reading and reviewing! I wrote this for a challenge, and since we already knew what Molly's boggart was when she was older, I wanted to write about her younger. So I tried to think what the teenage equivalent of your family dying would be and this is what I came up with. It's got the same overtones (destruction of relationships), but is less dramatic, because teenagers see themselves as invincible. Besides, I wanted something that would show how much Arthur meant to her, and BAM! This little one-shot was born :)

Thanks again for reading and reviewing! I always appreciate hearing from you :D


 Report Review

Review #18, by Jenna822 Chapter 1

1st November 2010:
I actually have tears in my eyes! That was probably the sweetest thing I've ever read. And I'm not a soppy romantic person. This was just gorgeous. It was sweet and so well written! I can't thank you enough for entering my challenge. I usually leave longer reviews, but honestly there is only so many ways to say wonderful! I ♥ this. --Jenna

Author's Response: Aww, thanks Jenna :* I'm really glad you enjoyed it! I thought your challenge was fabulous and I had a lot of fun writing this. :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by Aidenk77 Chapter 1

1st November 2010:
I enjoyed this, it was short, sweet and fun. Nice one :D

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by Joi de Coeur Chapter 1

31st October 2010:
Awww, how sweet. I loved it.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! Glad you enjoyed it :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by charlottetrips Chapter 1

31st October 2010:
I liked it a lot! At first I couldn't believe Arthur but it turned out brilliant :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I was a little worried that people would get to the part with Arthur and Aurelia and stop reading due to the ooc-ness, so I'm glad that you read on to the end and enjoyed it :) Thanks for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login