Reading Reviews for Of Love, Lies and Loss
  
66 Reviews Found

Review #1, by bomberchica Roxanne

23rd July 2012:
These are great one shots! One thing that might make them even more spectacular if the narrator didn't do so much talking, but more explaining of what she's feeling. Show us what she's feeling and seeing, instead of telling us.

Author's Response: Thank you. These are very old though, so I won't be changing them. Sorry. :( --Jenna

 Report Review

Review #2, by bomberchica Teddy

23rd July 2012:
Wow. This is a great start to the story. You have me hooked.

Author's Response: Thank you. ^_^ --Jenna

 Report Review

Review #3, by padmoonyfoot7 Teddy

3rd May 2012:
Absolutely AMAZING!
I found it through Google Images, when I saw your chapter image. This story is so sad and I feel really bad for George, because he was only trying to help!
Teddy's pain is understandable, because he probably felt left-out. But I don't really get who the 'him' is that he hates.
I think you did a really good job and I can't wiat to read more.
Keep up the good work!!

padmoonyfoot7: over and out!!

Author's Response: Google images huh? I didn't know it worked like that, but yay for it.
I'm so glad that you gave my story a shot and thank you so much for your wonderful review. The "him" in reference was Remus. He cried out because Ginny called him by his full name. He doesn't, of course, hate his father, but at a time like that, at such a young age, it's easier to lash out than admit you're upset and lonely. :'(

Again, thank you so much!! :) --Jenna


 Report Review

Review #4, by AshtheAwesomeRainbow Hugo

8th May 2011:
Aawh, Hugo! :o Ninety-nine years? You've got no heart, JENNI. Seriously. (and bytheby, you already call me ASHIE. so, HAH. -does a thriumphant dance-) Why do all your stories make me feel sad? They're good, not denying that, but so depressing. Me wants a happy story? =) Still love you, because I've got a big heart (and after all you're awesome). xAsh

Author's Response: They aren't ALL sad. You're just reading the sad ones, goofy. Go read the ones that say fluff and stuff. Lol. *growls* Don't call me Jenni D: I'll think of something different than Ashie then. Like...I don't know. I'll think of something though. :P --JennA < = see: A

 Report Review

Review #5, by ForeverMarauder Molly

2nd April 2011:
What a sweet story :)
Another great example of how there are many different kinds of love. I'm so glad Molly found hers! Who needs a bossy, condescending boyfriend when you could have a puppy that will love you unconditionally?
I like when Molly notes the whole 'purity' thing as it relates to dog breeding and the wizarding world. That was neat.
Awesome chapter! Keep it up!

Author's Response: Thank you ^.^

So glad that you enjoyed it and thanks for taking time to review! --Jenna


 Report Review

Review #6, by Silversong Hugo

25th March 2011:
very nice Jenna =) I really liked it. Sad though but good none the less

Author's Response: Thanks Cassie. :) --Jenna

 Report Review

Review #7, by SeverusSnape15 Hugo

25th March 2011:
Oh, lord. I really love this. It's sad, though. Poor Hugo

Author's Response: Thank you. :) --Jenna

 Report Review

Review #8, by Marvola Molly

20th March 2011:
I really really like it. But do all of the loss chapters have to be about death? Please update soon!!!

Author's Response: There were 3 loss chapters. Only 1 was about death...
Thank you for reviewing. :) --Jenna


 Report Review

Review #9, by Ginny45 Molly

20th March 2011:
Last chapter. sad times.

Anyway, you had me totally hoodwinked with this chapter. I was expecting her to get together with that muggle man and she didn't she bought a cute little puppy. You plan your chapters so well though, wel I don't know if you do but is certainly seems like it.

This one was dead sweet though and made me all warm and fuzzy inside. Another great chapter, you have to stop churning these out or I am going to sound like I am saying the same things over and over again.

Ginny45/RandomRed xxx
OPERATION:Green With Envy

Author's Response: Thank you. :) Yup, I was trying to do the 'think it's a fellow then it's a dog' thing. I plan way ahead. I'm a habitual planner. Lol.

Thanks again. I'm so glad that you enjoyed it. :D --Jenna


 Report Review

Review #10, by Ginny45 Lorcan

20th March 2011:
Hey again, I am on a roll today haha.

When I was reading this chapter I first though one of the twins was going to die. Then when you wrote the line: "Before I lose you to a Missus." I thought is was just because he was getting married and then Lysander did die. You tricked me! Which is actually a really good thing.

This emotion in this story is really well done because it like a double hit. Lucy loses him as well as Lorcan. I know the chapter is about Lorcan but you can just feel the pain that Lucy will go through too.

I think you did a really smart thing, the whole set up. I knew as soon as he asked for his wand what was going to happen. It was excuted very well.

I can't say enough good words about this chapter.

Ginny45/RandomRed xxx
OPERATION:Green With Envy

Author's Response: Ha, so my trickery was successful. Yup, I'm most likely going to be doing Lucy's story on the aftermath of this event. So sad times for her. :(

Thank you so much for all your kind words. :) --Jenna


 Report Review

Review #11, by Ginny45 Victoire

20th March 2011:
Hello.
I realy like Victoire but this is the first time I have seen her characterised in this way. To be fair as much as I love her it is a new love so I have not read that many. Most people tend to make her more like Fleur though, I personally put her in between Fleur and Molly. You way is different though but good different.

You show the compatitibilty between her and Teddy brilliantly as well. They seem so perfect together, which they should because they are so cute. (Can kind of tell I love this pairing...)

All in all this is a great chapter, the best one so far in my opinon. You get the emotions across really well and athough you are summarising their whol relationship into a short chapter it doesn't feel rushed.

Ginny45/RandomRed xxx
OPERATION: Green With Envy

Author's Response: Sorry it's taken so long to get to these answers. Been in a bit of a slump. :(

Thank you. I really wanted to show all the Next-Gens in a way that I hadn't seen them much; sort of break them from the mold they've been getting into.

I'm pretty new to the Teddy/Vic shipping so I'm really glad you thought they worked well together. Thank you so much. :) --Jenna


 Report Review

Review #12, by Ginny45 Hugo

20th March 2011:
Hello again.

This chapter struck me. For some reason people, myself included sometimes can't see the children of the Golden Trio doing anything wrong which is just stupid it doesn't matter who your parents are. Although saything that you made his crime believable, you didn't turn him into the male Bellatrix.

You don't see that you struggled with this fic because you don't like the character. It came across just as well as the other chapters.

Ginny45/RandomRed xxx
OPERATION: Green With Envy

Author's Response: Hello! *waves happily*

I sooo get what you mean. It is pretty hard to imagine Hugo, of all of them, acually doing something wrong. That's why I had him more negligent than mean. :) I figure that Ron and Hermione woulda raised him well enough that he wouldn't hurt anyone on purpose. Poor boy just acts like Ron too much, brash and heart-minded.

Thank you ^.^ You're so kind! --Jenna


 Report Review

Review #13, by Ginny45 James

20th March 2011:
Hey, I made my way back to this story!

This is amazing. I was reading it and waiting for the lie, expecting it to be something huge and life destroying but it wasn't it was really sweet.

The one thing I would say is the jump between his being really good and him being injured was really fast. I got a bit muddled.

I think you have characterised him really well. He is nothing like James I except for the Quidditch thing which is quite popular anyway. Most people seem to think he would be a carbon copy of James I.

Anyway, I stil love this story and I am off to read the rest!

Ginny45/RandomRed xxx

OPERATION:Green With Envy

Author's Response: Oh my, lots of reviews! So awesome of you ^.^

Hehehe I'm a tricky one. :)
You mean in the fall or...just in general? Ah, I'll have a read through it, see if there's a spot I can smooth it out. Stuff always looks different after you don't read it for a month or so.

Thank you! I was really aiming to break all of those molds that people are getting the Next-Gens into. Sort of just showing them all in a way that readers won't expect. So glad that you like him this way too. :)

Thank you so much! --Jenna


 Report Review

Review #14, by Siriius Molly

19th March 2011:
Aha, that was so adorable! :) I actually never got round to reading this. I thought I did but I didn't. But now I have! Jackson; you're obsessed with that name. So, you know me, being a crazy dog person, I freaking loved this! And it was different. It was nice to read a chapter about a little puppy making a woman happy instead of a man :) Great job, Jenna < 3

Author's Response: Yes, I love that name. It's a perfect doggy's name. And now there's a real doggy with it! *happy dance*
Crazy dog person. :P Does that mean you like crazy dogs or that you are crazy and like dogs? Kidding, kidding.
Thank you. ♥


 Report Review

Review #15, by AshtheAwesomeRainbow James

17th March 2011:
All your stories make me feel kinda sad. I feel so sorry for Jamesie. I mean, quidditch is what he loves right? I do think you write and describe the feelings kick ass. I always have difficulties with that xd I really am in love with your writing style, it touches me. Very curious for the next chapters and especially the chapter about Dominique. Waiting for it!
x

Author's Response: Yeah James loves Quidditch but he loves his family more. :) Thank you for that. Ahhh Dominique is going to be the last chapter or one of the last three. Right now she's the last, but I'm thinking of moving Lily so that'll move Fred and then her. I'm rambling, but yeah. Lol. Thanks hun. --Jenna

 Report Review

Review #16, by AshtheAwesomeRainbow Roxanne

17th March 2011:
This story makes me feel depressed. I cannot do anything else than hate the Joshua-guy. I mean, I understand that he couldn't take it anymore, when you're used to such an adventurous lifestyle, it's difficult to get use to an every-day, general life of working and coming home and working again, etc. But still, you don't abandon your wife and child! That's so suckish. You wrote this perfectly well, Jenni, really. xoxoxoxox

Author's Response: We shall all hate the Joshua-guy!
It really bites because there really guys like this out there; needing to be hated. Thanks but...no stop saying Jenni :P Imma call you Ashii or something. I'll think of a good one. Lol --Jenna


 Report Review

Review #17, by AshtheAwesomeRainbow Teddy

17th March 2011:
Jenna! I now understand. To start off, I think all the stories in this collection will be awesome, as are you. Then, this one. Teddy made me cry, true story. It's just so sad. And then, when Harry's crying and he understands that he is loved, that's just so..Aawh. Seriously. Looking forward to the rest of this (although there already are some stories up, I know xd). I think you're doing a great job, so keep it up! 10/10 ;) xoxoxo

Author's Response: Thankies Ash! Aww don'ts cry. :(
Glad that you liked it. Thanks for leaving a review too! --Jenna


 Report Review

Review #18, by emmapotter Lorcan

13th March 2011:
This was absolutely moving! :')
I don't know how but you do emotional very well! ;)
Continue the awesome-ness!

Author's Response: Thank you. ^.^
I'm glad that you enjoyed it and thanks for taking the time to review! --Jenna


 Report Review

Review #19, by xxpetrapan Lorcan

10th March 2011:
AW...that was so sad! Lysander died! Well, I hope he is not really dead and you are only tricking me, he needs to marry Lucy and you have not even done his story yet, so he can not be dead! Jenna, gah he better not be dead!

I liked it, it was well written

-Kattia

Author's Response: He's dead. :( Lysander's story is going to go back to his sixth year in Hogwarts and cover when he actually got together with Lucy. So it'll take place technically before this one. :) Sorry. :'(

Thank you for reading/reviewing. :D --Jenna


 Report Review

Review #20, by TenthWeasley Victoire

6th March 2011:
Hello! This is TenthWeasleyWriter from the forums, popping by with your requested review! =]

I've read the first five stories of this collection, as stated in my review thread, and I must say that I very thoroughly enjoyed them all! ^^ They're all so different, and yet they have some sort of intangible, common thread running through them that makes for a very easy and pleasant read. I'm not sure if the previous statement makes any sort of sense to you whatsoever, but it's meant as a compliment!

You have also avoided many typical next-generation cliches quite nicely, which is very nice to see, as you know I'm not much of a fan of them. ^^ I could find no flaws in your stories (any of them!) - and I really enjoyed them all! Thank you for making a request in my thread. ^^

OPERATION: Green With Envy

Author's Response: Thank you for coming by. :)

It made sense. Lol. And thank you for it! Yay no clichés. I don't know what else to say. You're so kind, thank you again!! --Jenna


 Report Review

Review #21, by ForeverMarauder Lorcan

5th March 2011:
This was another sad chapter, but for some reason... I don't know... it didn't touch me the way the other stories did. I'm not sure what it was. Maybe it moved too quickly for my liking.
There were some parts I really enjoyed, like when the boys were discussing the camping trip and Lysander said that it didn't count as a birthday present.
I also enjoyed when Lysander announced he was proposing to Lucy.
As a whole, however, I personally didn't enjoy this story quite as much.
Obviously I understand Lorcan's guilt, but it doesn't seem to me as if there is any message behind the guilt... except always bring your wand...? I don't know, I just didn't really understand what the story was trying to say, but maybe that's just me.
I feel like the previous five stories had many layers, whereas I couldn't really find any deeper meaning in this one.
Maybe I'm just being stupid and missed something. You're an awesome writer, and this story does nothing to refute that, but I'm just left with a lot of questions as to what the story was trying to say. Maybe you could tell me?

Author's Response: Hmm I'm not exactly sure what it is you mean. I didn't really write these to have deeper meaning or be Aesops. They're just stories. Just glimpses into each life.

I suppose if you really sought out meaning, it could be: Never take a day for granted. One day you could be 17, fresh out of school, ready to get married, having the time of your life and the next moment...gone. Nothing is assured, nothing is solid. There is no promise for tomorrow.

That's a stretch though. I'm just trying to offer up something for you. :) Maybe a more simple lesson: Don't go camping. Lol.

Yes I agree with feeling it moved too quick. I shoot to make these small and relatively the same size, so I did feel like I had to pack too much into this one. Maybe the lack of connection comes from my own. Lorcan has never been a character I connected to. :/

Anyways, I've rambled enough. :P Thank you again for reading and for taking the time to review!! Next chapter is Molly and all about love. :) --Jenna


 Report Review

Review #22, by Canadian_Hogwarts Lorcan

4th March 2011:
Oh no! That's way too sad! Lysander! And he was going to go get married! I'm sorry I can't write a good review right now... but I'm way too sad. Good work on that though... you've really made me cry.

Author's Response: Thank you and sorry.
Thank you for the nice review and sorry it made you cry. :(

I don't really know what to say. :P --Jenna


 Report Review

Review #23, by ForeverMarauder Victoire

4th March 2011:
Another story that made me smile :)
Not much that I can say about it, except that you illustrated exactly what true love should be all about: finding someone who makes you feel beautiful.
Great chapter... Vic, Teddy, and Bill were all exactly how I pictured them to be. I can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Aww thank you. I'm glad that you enjoyed my take on Teddy/Vic. :) I don't know much of what to say, just thank you so much. --Jenna

 Report Review

Review #24, by ForeverMarauder Hugo

4th March 2011:
That's so harsh! Ninety-nine years! And considering that his father just died and that he was in a state of distress... that's horrible.
I'm guessing that Hugo wanted the time-turner to bring his father back... further proof that he could have pleaded innocent by virtue of temporary insanity (no magic can bring back the dead and time is a closed loop, all of which Hugo would, in his right mind, know if he was half as smart as his mother).
The fact that he didn't try to get away with it, and that he didn't explain why he was using the time-turner are both excellent ways in which you show us Hugo's character instead of telling us about it.
I like the way you don't tend to state anything overtly. Instead, you heavily imply without spelling it out for the reader. For example, you reveal that Hugo was after a time-tuner without stating outright why he was using it.
Great chapter, but oh-so-sad :[ I always wanted a happy ending for Hermione and her family, but I guess if about one third of these stories are about loss, I won't get to see everyone live happily-ever-after.
By the way, the guy Hugo claimed to be a fellow Hufflepuff... am I missing something? Is he any name the reader would know? Maybe I skipped a part while reading your story.

Author's Response: I know. :( It's a common sentence here in America for First degree manslauder. I don't really know about England, I took a chance. The up side is, with good behaviour and such, Hugo could probably get early release.

That's exactly why he wanted it. Hugo is smart, but not the way his mother was. I think of him more like his father. He reacts with his heart rather than with his head. While Hermione was logic and clear thinking, Ron was always brash and quick acting and his emotions really drove everything he did.

Well, you never know, not all loss is bad loss. :) There's more happy stories than sad ones.

No, the other Hufflepuff was just a school friend. No need for a name or backstory really. Just a random person who he was in school with. :) --Jenna


 Report Review

Review #25, by ForeverMarauder James

4th March 2011:
I actually laughed out loud when I finished this. In your face, Ballycastle Bats' manager!
Knowing that this was a story about lies, I kept waiting for everything to go horribly wrong and for something awful to happen to James or his family. I think my laugh was half relief that everything turned out okay.
This was just a great snippet that I really enjoyed. I did see one tiny mistake; I think you put an extra 't' in later in this sentence, because latter doesn't really make sense here: "The two had their interview, then they had dinner and three months latter, they had a wedding."
Anyway, I truly loved this story: it was well-written, humorous, and the ending was punchy. Great job once again!

Author's Response: :) I had myself a little snigger over his trickery as well.

You're not alone. I think James II has been painted as a player and a trouble maker so much, his character is starting to get a stigma about him. Most people were just waiting for that cheating/lying/jerk James to emerge.

Yes, too many ts. Thank you for pointing that out. *off to edit*

Thank you once again. You're too kind. :) --Jenna


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>